DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-9, and 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/23/2026.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following non-limiting informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the first wrap” and “the second wrap” on lines 16-17 of the page. These should recite “each respective first warp”, and “each respective second warp”.
Claims 2-5 each recite “the recess” on line 1. Since this is clearly referring to each recess, this should be amended likewise.
Claim 5 recites “the perforation” on lines 1-2, but this is clearly referring to each perforation and should be amended as such.
Claim 5 recites “provide”, which is clearly a spelling mistake, and should recite “provided”
Claim 5 recites “the other end” on line 3 of the claim, which should recite “a second end” for proper antecedence.
Claim 11 recites “with first warp” on lines 2 and 3 of the claim. These are missing a “the” in front.
It is up to the applicant to find and correct all similar issues. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nien (US 7556080) in view of Judkins (US 6263944).
Regarding claim 1, Nein teaches a venetian blind (embodiment shown in figs. 1 and 3) comprising:
a headrail (10);
a bottom rail (20) located below the headrail (fig. 1);
a plurality of slats (40s) provided between the headrail and the bottom rail, each of the slats having a top surface, a bottom surface, a first edge connected with the top and bottom surfaces (left edge in fig. 3), a second edge (right edge in fig. 3) connected with the top and bottom surfaces and opposite to the first edge, a perforation (hole in slat for loop, shown in fig. 2) passing through the top and bottom surfaces;
two ladder cords (fig. 1) provided between the headrail and the bottom rail, each of the ladder cords having a first warp (31 on left in fig. 3) adjacent to the first edges of the slats, a second warp (31 on fight in fig. 3) adjacent to the second edges of the slats, a plurality of wefts (32s, one per slat) connected with the first and second warps and supporting the bottom surfaces of the slats (fig. 3), and a plurality of first loops (60s) connected with the first warp and penetrated in the perforations of the slats (fig. 3); and
a lifting unit having a first pull cord (50 on left in fig. 3) adjacent to the first wrap and a second pull cord (50 on right in fig. 3) adjacent to the second wrap.
Nien does not teach a recess proved at one of the first and second edges, nor that at least one of the first pull cord, the second pull cord, the first warp, and the second warp is positioned in the recesses of the slats.
Judkins teaches a venetian blind with a recess (see fig. 5) proved at a first edge, with a first pull cord and a first warp positioned in the recess of the slat (clearly shown in fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nein with teachings of Judkins so there is a recess at the first edge of each slat with the first pull cord, and the first warp positioned in the recesses of the slats. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of making the device more compact, and reducing wear on the cords as the blind tilts.
Regarding claim 2, modified Nein teaches that each recess is provided at the first edge (see claim 1 combination above); when the slats are in a horizontal state, the first pull cord is positioned in the recesses of the slats (after the modification above).
Regarding claim 3, modified Nein teaches that each recess is provided at the first edge (see claim 1 rejection above); when the slats are in a horizontal state, the first warp is positioned in the recesses of the slats (after the modification above).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nein teaches that each recess is provided at the first edge (see claim 1 rejection above); when the slats are in a horizontal state, the first pull cord and the first warp are positioned in the recesses of the slats (after the modification above).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nein teaches that the recesses and the perforations are provided at the first edge (see claim I rejection above);
the slats each have a slot (42 as shown in fig. 8, column 4 lines 63-64 teach that the slat in fig. 8 is useable in all embodiments, thus the examiner is using the slat from fig. 8 in the embodiment of figures 1 and 3) provided with one end thereof forming an opening at the first edge and a second end thereof communicating with the perforation (fig. 8);
each first loop (60) is inserted in the slot through the opening and penetrated in the perforation along the slot (as is described in column 4 line 63 through column 5 line 2).
Modified Nein does not explicitly teach that each recess and slot are located at two opposite sides of the perforation.
The examiner notes that the courts have held that the particular placement of a component was found to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further modify Nein so that each recess and slot are located at two opposite sides of the perforation.
Regarding claim 10, modified Nein teaches that the first pull cord passes through the first loops (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, modified Nein teaches that the first loops (60s) each have a first end portion (top end in fig. 3) provided with one end thereof connected with the first warp (31 on left in fig. 3), a second end portion (bottom end portion connected to the weft in fig. 3) provided with one end thereof connected with the first warp (31 on left in fig. 3), and a penetration segment connected between the first and second end portions and penetrated in the perforation (seen in fig. 3);
a junction of the first end portion and the first warp is spaced from a junction of the second end portion and the first warp (fig. 3 shows space between the two junctions).
Regarding claim 15, modified Nein does not explicitly teach that the ladder cords each further have a plurality of second loops connected with the second warp; the second pull cord passes through the second loops.
The examiner notes that the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further modify Nein so that there is a plurality of second loops connected with the second warp; the second pull cord passes through the second loops. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of further securing the slats.
Conclusion
/M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634