DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Claim 1 includes alternative language “the sensing request carries at least one of the following: a sensing data type, sensing configuration information, access network device identifier information, a sensing requirement, and or a sensing service identifier”. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the prior art is required to teach only one of the above limitations. In this Office action, the claim is treated with the interpretation “the sensing request carries at least one of the following: a sensing service identifier”.
Regarding claims 2-20, they are discussed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (US 2022/0304081).
As to claim 1, Wu discloses a communication method comprising: sending a sensing signal in response to a sensing request from a first device NSCS (see at least figure 1; paragraphs [0076], [0077], [0078], [0079]), wherein the sensing request carries at least one of the following: a sensing service identifier (see paragraphs [0074], [0076]); receiving an echo signal of the sensing signal (see paragraph [0079]); and sending a sensing result to the first device, wherein the sensing result comprises sensing data determined based on the echo signal (see paragraph [0079]).
As to claims 2, 10, 17, they include other limitations of the sensing request, namely, “sensing data type”. As discussed above the claim is treated with the broadest reasonable interpretation “the sensing request carries at least one of the following: a sensing service identifier”. Therefore, Wu reads on the claimed limitations.
As to claims 3, 11, 18, they include other limitations of the sensing request, namely, “sensing configuration information”. As discussed above the claim is treated with the broadest reasonable interpretation “the sensing request carries at least one of the following: a sensing service identifier”. Therefore, Wu reads on the claimed limitations.
As to claims 4, 12, 19, they include other limitations of the sensing request, namely, “sensing requirement”. As discussed above the claim is treated with the broadest reasonable interpretation “the sensing request carries at least one of the following: a sensing service identifier”. Therefore, Wu reads on the claimed limitations.
As to claims 5, 20, Wu discloses that the sensing result further comprises at least one of the following: the sensing service identifier, an identifier of a first access network device (see paragraph [0079] which discloses sending the sensing result back to the first access network device NSCS; therefore, the sensing result must inherently include an identifier of the first access network device NSCS), a timestamp, a sensing signal distribution of the first access network device, a beam direction, a scanning periodicity, or a quantity of sampling points.
As to claim 6, Wu discloses sending at least one of the following to the first device: location information of a first access network device (see paragraph [0075]), sensing range information of the first access network device, or sensing capability information of the first access network device.
As to claim 7, Wu discloses sending the sensing capability information to the first device NSCS (see paragraphs [0074], [0077]), and the sensing capability information comprises at least one of the following: a sensing precision, an echo signal processing support flag, a sensing signal scanning periodicity, a sensing signal bandwidth, a sensing function support flag (see paragraph [0077]), or an echo signal processing capability, wherein the echo signal processing support flag indicates that echo signal processing is supported, and the sensing function support flag indicates that a sensing operation is supported (see paragraph [0077]).
As to claim 9, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. It is noted that the claimed “a first access network device” reads on CSC in at least figure 1.
As to claim 13, Wu discloses receiving first information of N access network devices, wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: location information of a corresponding access network device, sensing range information of the corresponding access network device, or sensing capability information of the corresponding access network device (see paragraphs [0073], [0074], [0077]), the N access network devices comprise the first access network device SCS, and N is an integer greater than 0; and determining, based on the first information of the N access network devices, that an access network device performing a sensing operation comprises the first access network device SCS (see paragraphs [0074], [0076], [0077]).
As to claim 14, Wu discloses before the sending of the sensing request to the first access network device CSC, the method further comprises: receiving a service request from a device NCSC (see at least figure 1), wherein the service request is used to request a sensing service, and the service request carries at least one of the following: a service type, a sensing target, a second sensing service identifier (see paragraphs [0074], [0076]), a service precision, sensing configuration information, or a service requirement; and after the receiving of the sensing result from the first access network device CSC, the method further comprises: sending a sensing processing result to the device NCSC, wherein the sensing processing result is determined based on the sensing result (see paragraph [0079]).
As to claim 15, Wu discloses receiving a service request from a device NSCS (see figure 1), wherein the service request carries a service type and the service type is one or more of the following types: an area sensing map, assisted automatic driving, specific event detection, obstacle detection (see paragraph [0075], lane detection, traffic violation detection, or abnormal object detection (see paragraph [0075]).
As to claim 16, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. In addition, Wu further discloses a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor in communication with the memory. See paragraphs [0112], [0116].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu.
As to claim 8, Wu discloses that the sensing capability information comprises information relating to a processing capability (see paragraphs [0073], [0074], [0077]); but fails to disclose various capabilities as claimed. Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary capabilities of the second device. The examiner takes Official Notice that such capabilities are known in the art (for example, determining a range/Doppler spectrum or a range/Doppler/angle spectrum based on an echo signal). In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from such capabilities. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu as claimed, in order to yield predictable results such as providing more service to the users.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US 2020/0292661), Anantha (US 2019/0362508), You (US 2022/0390551), Duan (US 2022/0252709) disclose sensing operations.
/NGUYEN T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646