DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: processing device in claims 1 and 4.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasuga et al (US 2017/0295349; hereinafter referred to as Kasuga).
Regarding Claims 1, 6 and 7, Kasuga teaches a projector (Figure 2; Projector PJ1 to PJn) comprising:
an optical device (Figure 2; Projection Section 20); and
a processing device (Figure 2; Control Section 10), wherein
the processing device (Figure 2; Control Section 10) executes projecting image light of a projection image having a first length and including a first image whose length relationship with the first length is known onto a projection surface (Figure 2; Projection Surface 2) by using the optical device (see Paragraph [0050]; wherein it is disclosed that the projection section 20 receives a projection image supplied from the control section 10. The projection section 20 projects the supplied projection image on the screen),
receiving an input of a second length that is a length of the first image on the projection surface (see Paragraphs [0143] and [0153]; wherein it is disclosed that the projectors PJ project a screen for prompting the user to input a desired inch size, wherein the user inputs an inch size, the user may input a desired inch size by using the remote control or by using an upward/downward button and a rightward/leftward button provided on the remote control or the input section 60 of any of the projectors to select any of values set in a numeral field and a digit field), and
outputting information indicating a third length that is a length of the projection image on the projection surface (Figure 2; Projection Surface 2) based on the second length and the length relationship (see Paragraphs [0143] and [0153]; wherein it is disclosed that the projectors PJ project a screen for prompting the user to input a desired inch size, wherein the user inputs an inch size, the user may input a desired inch size by using the remote control or by using an upward/downward button and a rightward/leftward button provided on the remote control or the input section 60 of any of the projectors to select any of values set in a numeral field and a digit field).
Regarding Claim 2, Kasuga teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kasuga further teaches the projection image further includes a user interface image that receives the input of the second length, and receiving the input of the second length is receiving the input of the second length via the user interface image (see Figures 13-15 and Paragraph [0143]; wherein it is disclosed that the projectors PJ project a screen for prompting the user to input a desired inch size, wherein the user inputs an inch size, the user may input a desired inch size by using the remote control or by using an upward/downward button and a rightward/leftward button provided on the remote control or the input section 60 of any of the projectors to select any of values set in a numeral field and a digit field).
Regarding Claim 3, Kasuga teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kasuga further teaches when the projection image is horizontally divided into two equal parts, the first image is disposed in a lower region (see Figure 19; wherein 9 projectors arranged in a matrix formed of 3 rows and 3 columns project images).
Regarding Claim 4, Kasuga teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kasuga further teaches an input device (Figure 2; Input Section 60) configured to receive a change operation of changing a projection position of the first image (see Paragraphs [0055]-[0056]; wherein it is disclosed that the input section 60 accepts an input of the projection image display range of the projector PJ from the user. The input section 60 supplies the image changing section 70 with the inputted projection image display range and that the image changing section 70 changes a frame image showing the projection image display range supplied from the input section 60), wherein the processing device (Figure 2; Control Section 10) changes the projection position of the first image based on the change operation (see Paragraphs [0055]-[0056]; wherein it is disclosed that the input section 60 accepts an input of the projection image display range of the projector PJ from the user. The input section 60 supplies the image changing section 70 with the inputted projection image display range and that the image changing section 70 changes a frame image showing the projection image display range supplied from the input section 60).
Regarding Claim 5, Kasuga teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Kasuga further teaches outputting the information indicating the third length includes projecting a second image representing the information indicating the third length onto the projection surface (Figure 2; Projection Surface 2) by using the optical device (see Paragraphs [0143] and [0153]; wherein it is disclosed that the projectors PJ project a screen for prompting the user to input a desired inch size, wherein the user inputs an inch size, the user may input a desired inch size by using the remote control or by using an upward/downward button and a rightward/leftward button provided on the remote control or the input section 60 of any of the projectors to select any of values set in a numeral field and a digit field and that the main projector acquires a projection size desired by the user via the input section 60 provided in the main projector (step S501). The calculation section 50 provided in the main projector uses the projection size desired by the user to calculate a magnification factor by which the longitudinal and lateral lengths of the projection size are multiplied (step S502). The control section 10 provided in the main projector updates the upper left end coordinates and the lower right end coordinates of the projection size (step S503)).
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882