DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on June 12, 2026is acknowledged.
No claims are currently withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 12, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “unobstructed” in claims 21 and 36 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “unobstructed” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what unobstructed requires particularly for a gas such as steam. For example, if a gas flows from a tube to a narrower tube along the same direction, there is increased resistance and energy losses. It is unclear if this would be considered an obstruction. Another example may be a smooth bend in channel. There is some degree of energy loss, but less than a 90 degree right angle. It is unclear if this would be considered an obstruction.
Claims 21 and 36 recite, “a tapered hole section located between the steam inlet and the steam outlet and tapered toward the steam outlet”. The claim recites the tapered hole section as a separate element from the steam concentrating channel member. In the disclosure the tapered hole section is comprised by the steam concentrating channel. It is unclear if the claim requires the tapered hole section to be a separate element or be comprised as part of the steam concentrating channel.
Claims dependent from claims 21 or 36 are also rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsen (U.S Patent 6,640,383) hereinafter Tsen.
Regarding claim 21, Tsen discloses:
An accessory for a surface cleaning device {Column 1 lines 6-9; any portion of the disclosed surface cleaning device may be considered the accessory}, comprising:
a steam inlet connected to a steam supply interface of said surface cleaning device {Figure 2 (2121) connects to steam supply interface (120) of the cleaning device};
a shot accessory housing having a rear end connected to a main body of said surface cleaning device {Figure 2 (21) has a rear end adjacent to (120); the rear end is connected to the main body of the said surface cleaning device as (21) does not move relative to the main body of (1)};
a steam concentrating channel member provided inside the shot accessory housing {Figure 2 (212) is inside the shot accessory housing (21); Column 3 lines 26-47},
wherein the steam concentrating channel member includes a channel extending along a linear channel axis {Figure 2 (212) has a channel as shown to convey the steam and extends along a linear channel axis}, and
wherein a front end of the channel forms a steam outlet and a rear end of the channel forms the steam inlet {Figure 2 (2122) is a front end of the channel and forms the steam outlet; the rear end of the channel (2121) forms the steam inlet; Column 3 lines 26-47}; and
a tapered hole section located between the steam inlet and the steam outlet and tapered toward the steam outlet {Figure 2 (212) is a tapered hole between the steam inlet and steam outlet; Column 3 lines 26-47}
wherein said accessory is configured such that the steam outlet faces a to-be-cleaned surface in an unobstructed manner along a shooting direction {Figure 2 (2122) faces a to-be-cleaned surface in an unobstructed manner along a shoot direction as steam is deliver through (312) and other potential attachments that deliver the steam to the surface; Column 4 lines 41-46. See the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection above}.
Regarding claim 22, Tsen discloses:
wherein the steam concentrating channel member is an overmolded integrated member including a channel member main body and a single nozzle provided in the front end of the channel along the linear channel axis {Figure 2, the right end of (212) may be considered the main body the steam concentrating channel member and the left end of (212) may be considered a nozzle at the front end of the channel along the linear channel axis. (212) is a singular piece and therefore satisfies any structural requirements of the steam concentrating channel member being “overmolded”. Overmolded is a process of manufacturing. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps, see MPEP 2113}.
Regarding claim 24, Tsen discloses:
a nozzle flange extending in a radial direction and embedded in the channel member main body {The nozzle “flange” only exists as an intermediate part before it is “embedded” I the channel member main member. Therefore, a single piece steam concentrating channel member that includes both the channel member main body and nozzle satisfies the claim. This is because any interior portion of the steam concentrating channel member near the nozzle may be considered the nozzle flange}.
Regarding claim 25, Tsen discloses:
a first tapered hole formed in the channel member main body {Figure 2, the portion of (212) that is considered the channel member main body has a first tapered hole}; and
a second tapered hole formed in the single nozzle {Figure 2, the portion of (212) that is considered the nozzle has a second tapered hole},
wherein the first tapered hole and the second tapered hole are connected along the linear channel axis {Figure 2, the channel member main body and nozzle portions of (212) may be a arbitrarily separated by a vertical line in the figure; therefore, these two portions and their respective tapered holes are connected}.
Regarding claim 27, Tsen discloses:
a connection protruding column provided inside the shot accessory housing {Annotated Figure 1 (I)}
Regarding claim 29, Tsen discloses:
a stop portion formed inside a front end of the shot accessory housing {Annotated Figure 1 (IIa)}.
Regarding claim 30, Tsen discloses:
wherein a front end of the channel member main body forms an abutting portion that abuts the stop portion {Annotated Figure 1 (IIb) is a front end of the channel member main body that abuts the abutting portion (IIa)}.
Regarding claim 31, Tsen discloses:
a front end aperture formed at the front end of the shot accessory housing {Annotated Figure 1 (III); (III) is an aperture in (21) at the front end of the shot accessory housing in this central portion},
wherein the channel member main body includes an extension section that extends forward from the abutting portion and passes through the front end aperture {Annotated Figure 1, the channel member main body extends past (IIa) and passes through the front end aperture (III)}.
Regarding claim 32, Tsen discloses:
a contact-type auxiliary cleaning accessory which is selectively connected {Figure 7 (3) and other associated portions such as (33) are selectively connected; Column 4 lines 15-21},
wherein the contact-type auxiliary cleaning accessory has a connecting sleeve on the extension section of the channel member main body {Annotated Figure 1 (3) has a connecting sleeve on the extension section of the channel main body, see the portion that extends through (III) as described above}.
Regarding claim 33, Tsen discloses:
wherein the contact-type auxiliary cleaning accessory includes at least one of a circular brush accessory, a rectangular brush accessory, and a shovel-like accessory {Figure 7, the contact-type auxiliary cleaning accessory includes a circular brush (33) and shovel brush (36)}.
Regarding claim 34, Tsen discloses:
wherein the extension section includes a first extension section and a second extension section {Annotated Figure 1, the extension section includes a first extension section on the right side of the extension and a second extension section of the left side of the extension},
the second extension section extending forward from the first extension section {Annotated Figure 1, the extension section includes a first extension section on the right side of the extension and a second extension section of the left side of the extension that extends from the first extension section}, and
wherein a diameter of the second extension section is less than a diameter of the first extension section {Annotated Figure 1, (212) tapers both internally and externally over substantially the entire length which leads to the left side which includes the second extension section to have a smaller diameter than the diameter of the first extension section to the right of it}.
Regarding claim 36, Tsen discloses:
A surface cleaning device {Figure 1 (1), (2) and (3); Column 1 lines 6-9} comprising:
a main body having:
a cleaning solution supply tank {Figure 4 (121) holds water},
a recovery tank {Figure 2 (22)/(23)/(24); Column 3 lines 26-31}, and
a steam generating device connected to the cleaning solution supply tank {Figure 4, electrical heater (not shown) is in the cleaning solution supply tank; Column 2 lines 43-61};
a hose connected to the recovery tank and a wand connected to the hose {Figures 2 and 7, (3) is connected to the recovery tank; the end of the hose with attachment such as (33) may be considered the wand; other portions of the device may also be considered the wand due to the handle (116) shown in Figure 1};
a steam supply pipe provided in the hose and the wand {Figure 2 (312)},
wherein a first end of the steam supply pipe is connected to the steam generating device {Figure 2 the left end of (312) is connected to the steam generating device inside of (12)};
a steam supply interface connected to a second end of the steam supply pipe {Figure 2 (3142) is a steam supply interface on the second/left of the steam supply pipe};
a shot accessory housing having a rear end connected to a main body of said surface cleaning device {Figure 2 (21) has a rear end adjacent to (120); the rear end is connected to the main body of the said surface cleaning device as (21) does not move relative to the main body of (1)};
a steam concentrating channel member provided inside the shot accessory housing {Figure 2 (212) is inside the shot accessory housing (21); Column 3 lines 26-47},
wherein the steam concentrating channel member includes a channel extending along a linear channel axis {Figure 2 (212) has a channel as shown to convey the steam and extends along a linear channel axis}, and
wherein a front end of the channel forms a steam outlet and a rear end of the channel forms the steam inlet {Figure 2 (2122) is a front end of the channel and forms the steam outlet; the rear end of the channel (2121) forms the steam inlet; Column 3 lines 26-47}; and
a tapered hole section located between the steam inlet and the steam outlet and tapered toward the steam outlet {Figure 2 (212) is a tapered hole between the steam inlet and steam outlet; Column 3 lines 26-47}
wherein the steam outlet faces a to-be-cleaned surface in an unobstructed manner along a shooting direction {Figure 2 (2122) faces a to-be-cleaned surface in an unobstructed manner along a shoot direction as steam is deliver through (312) and other potential attachments that deliver the steam to the surface; Column 4 lines 41-46. See the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection above}.
Regarding claim 39, Tsen discloses:
a vent formed on the shot accessory housing such that an interior of the hose is in communication with an external environment through the vent {Figure 6 (2132) is a vent on the shot accessory housing such that the interior of the hose is in communication with the external environment through the vent; Column 3 lines 41-47}.
Regarding claim 40, Tsen discloses:
a steam chamber cleaning accessory selectively connected to the wand of the main body of said surface cleaning device {Figure 7 (33) is selectively connected to the wand of the main body of said surface cleaning device}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsen (U.S Patent 6,640,383) hereinafter Tsen.
Regarding claim 28, Tsen discloses:
wherein a rear end of the channel member main body forms a connection flange {Annotated Figure 1 (IV)}.
Tsen does not disclose:
the connection flange being connected to the connection protruding column by a connecting screw.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connection flange be connected to the connection protruding column by a connecting screw. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to as there is no relative movement in the configuration of Tsen between the protruding column and connecting flange. A screw is an obvious alternative or additional element of securing these two parts together as a matter of obvious engineering choice. This rationale is substantially identical to that described in MPEP 2144.04 V B, where fastening pieces together compared to other configurations of securing pieces together (such as integral) are obvious alternatives.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsen (U.S Patent 6,640,383) hereinafter Tsen in view of Dehn (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20140083467) hereinafter Dehn.
Regarding claim 23, Tsen discloses the accessory of claim 22, but is silent regarding the material of the single nozzle. Tsen is therefore silent regarding, “wherein the single nozzle is made of metal”.
Dehn pertains to steam cleaning nozzles. Dehn teaches steam cleaning nozzles made be made from metal {[0050]}.
Since Tsen is silent regarding the material of the single nozzle, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen metal for the single nozzle of Tsen based on the teachings of Dehn. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as metals and hard plastics are recognized for its rigidity as a suitable nozzle material {Dehn [0050]}.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsen (U.S Patent 6,640,383) hereinafter Tsen in view of Reese (U.S Patent 7,269,878) hereinafter Tsen.
Regarding claim 26, Tsen discloses:
wherein the steam outlet is formed at a front end of the second tapered hole {Figure 2, the steam outlet (2122) is at the front/left end of the second tapered hole}.
Tsen does not disclose:
wherein a tapered angle of the second tapered hole is greater than a tapered angle of the first tapered hole.
Reese pertains to steam cleaners. Reese teaches:
wherein a tapered angle of the second tapered hole is greater than a tapered angle of the first tapered hole {Figure 7, (44) has a main portion tapers that forms the first tapered hole. The second tapered hole is at the left side and tapers at a greater angle}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the taper angle of the second tapered hole be greater than the angle of the first tapered hole for Tsen based on the teachings of Reese. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as having a second tapered hole with a greater angle further concentrates the steam {Reese Column 3 lines 21-33}.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsen (U.S Patent 6,640,383) hereinafter Tsen in view of Nottingham et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20100126533) hereinafter Nottingham.
Regarding claim 35, Tsen discloses the accessory of claim 34, but does not teach:
a sealing ring assembly provided on an outer surface of the extension section,
the sealing ring assembly including a first sealing ring provided on the first extension section and
a second sealing ring provided on the second extension section.
Nottingham pertains to steam cleaners. Nottingham teaches:
a sealing ring assembly provided on an outer surface of the extension section {Figure 9 (218) are on an outer surface of (216); [0074]},
the sealing ring assembly including a first sealing ring provided on the first extension section {Figure 9, there are two instances of (218), the one closer to (238) may be considered the first} and
a second sealing ring provided on the second extension section {Figure 9, there are two instances of (218), the one further from (238) may be considered the second}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sealing rings as claimed as taught by Nottingham for the first and second extensions of Tsen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to provide sealing at the connection point {Nottingham [0074]}.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsen (U.S Patent 6,640,383) hereinafter Tsen in view of Guo et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20240398192) hereinafter Guo.
Regarding claim 37, Tsen discloses the surface cleaning device of claim 36, but does not disclose:
wherein the wand is provided with a locking button.
Guo pertains to steam cleaning devices. Guo teaches:
wherein the wand is provided with a locking button {Figure 2B/3, wand (13) has locking button (43)}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a locking button and corresponding aperture as taught by Guo for the connection between (313) and (21) of Tsen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as it is a simple substitution of connection type, see MPEP 2143 I B. The results of the substitution are predictable as the two pieces are connected; the functions of both connections are known, and a person of ordinary skill in the art could have done the substitution {Guo Column 3 line 67 – Column 4 line 7}.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Tsen and Guo further teaches:
wherein a button aperture in cooperation with the locking button is provided on the shot accessory housing {Figure 2B/3, (20a) is a button aperture that cooperates with button (43). The button aperture of Guo is provided on (21) of Tsen}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Charlton et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20120204375) teaches a steam cleaner, wand, and sealed connection.
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745