DETAILED ACTION
This office action is set to be a second non-final action, thus replacing the non-final action posted on 11/14/2025. A new ground(s) of rejections have been made, therefore, the office action posted on 11/14/2025 is withdrawn. Claim 4 cancelled.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahani (US 2022/0390181 A1), in view of Tiwari (US 11,002,497 B1), in view of Boyd (US 2016/0290741 A1), and in view of Kim (US 2020/0191489 A1).
Claim 1: Akahani discloses an anti-freezing pipe (anti freezing) having a built-in tube, the anti-freezing pipe (FIG.3) comprising:
a heat transfer pipe (70) configured to allow a fluid to move therethrough (intended use); and a hollow tube (12) located and supported in the heat transfer pipe (70), wherein the tube (12) has a sealed space (90) defined therein,
wherein the heat transfer pipe (70) is made of metal (paragraph [79]: metal),
Akahani discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose sealants sprayed into both end portions thereof at high pressure and is provided on an outer diameter surface thereof with a wing formed in a spiral shape, wherein the heat transfer pipe is provided with a stopper to prevent escape of the tube therefrom, wherein the stopper is implemented as one selected from among a sleeve provided on an inner diameter surface of the heat transfer pipe, a diameter-contracted portion, a vortex fan unit, and an extension portion.
However, Tiwari teaches sealants sprayed into both end portions thereof at high pressure and is provided on an outer diameter surface thereof (tube 12 filled with sealant 66) for the purpose of avoiding leakage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Akahani to include sealants sprayed into both end portions thereof at high pressure and is provided on an outer diameter surface thereof as taught by Tiwari in order to avoid leakage.
Further, Boyd teaches a wing (flaring 440 used as wing) formed in a spiral shape (sealant 470 adhesive between flaring 440 and pipe 420) for the purpose of providing protection from corrosion (paragraph [30]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Akahani to include a wing as taught by Boyd in order to protect from corrosion.
Further, concerning a spiral shape. The court held that the configuration of the claimed limitation was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that particular configuration of the claimed wing was significant in order to provide protection from corrosion - Change of Shape: MPEP 2144.04.
Further, Kim teaches the heat transfer pipe (101) is provided with a stopper (118) to prevent escape of the tube therefrom (paragraph [78]: stopper 118 to prevent tube 116 from escaping from cylinder 114), wherein the stopper (stopper 118 used as reinforcing member) is implemented as one selected from among a sleeve provided on an inner diameter surface of the heat transfer pipe, a diameter-contracted portion, a vortex fan unit, and an extension portion (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, 118 interpreted as inner diameter surface; to clarify one is required from the group of selection parts) for the purpose of limiting movement of the tube preventing it from escaping from the cylinder (paragraph [78]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Akahani to include the heat transfer pipe is provided with a stopper, wherein the stopper is implemented as one selected from among a sleeve provided on an inner diameter surface of the heat transfer pipe, a diameter-contracted portion, a vortex fan unit, and an extension portion to prevent escape of the tube therefrom as taught by Kim in order to limit movement of the tube preventing it from escaping from the cylinder.
Claim 5: Akahani as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the heat transfer pipe (70) is connected to a separate linear connection pipe or a separate U-pipe via a joint portion or is connected to an external structure (paragraph [118]:member 70 is connected to feed pipe 72), and
wherein the heat transfer pipe (Kim, 101) is further provided with a reinforcing member (Kim, heat transfer pipe 101 includes stopper 118 used as reinforcing member) implemented as one selected from among a sleeve mounted on an inner diameter surface (Kim, 118; based on broadest reasonable interpretation, 118 interpreted as inner diameter surface; to clarify one is required from the group of selection parts) or an outer diameter surface of a portion of the heat transfer pipe adjacent to the joint portion and an extension portion overlapping an inner diameter surface of the heat transfer pipe (Kim, 101).
Claims 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahani (US 2022/0390181 A1), in view of Tiwari (US 11,002,497 B1), in view of Boyd (US 2016/0290741 A1), in view of Kim (US 2020/0191489 A1), and in view of Cummins (US 2016/0238330 A1).
Claim 2: Akahani as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wing (Boyd 440) or the tube is provided with a coating layer (Boyd paragraph [27]: coating on pipes coating 112 on outer surface) integrally formed on an outer surface thereof so as to minimize friction (functional language),
Akahani discloses the claimed limitations in claim 2, but fails to disclose the coating layer is implemented as a Teflon coating layer or a chrome plating layer.
However, Cummins teaches the coating layer is implemented as a Teflon coating layer (paragraph [20]: spraying coating such as Teflon on tubes) or a chrome plating layer for the purpose of mitigating erosion and making tubes more resistance to corrosion and creating additional seal in tubes (paragraph [17]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Akahani to include the coating layer is implemented as a Teflon coating layer or a chrome plating layer as taught by Cummins in order to mitigating erosion and making tubes more resistance to corrosion and creating additional seal in tubes.
Claim 3: Akahani as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sealants (Tiwari tube filled with sealant 66) defining the sealed space (90) in the tube are made of the same material as the tube (12), wherein the tube (12) and the wing (Boyd 440) are made of different materials (Boyd paragraph [8]: tubes are aluminum or copper),
Akahani discloses the claimed limitations in claim 3, but fails to disclose wherein the wing is made of metal or thermally conductive plastic and is mounted such that at least a portion thereof is in surface contact with an inner diameter surface of the heat transfer pipe.
However, Cummins teaches the wing is made of metal or thermally conductive plastic and is mounted such that at least a portion thereof is in surface contact with an inner diameter surface (inner diameter surface is inherent to the tube) of the heat transfer pipe (paragraph [5]: apply coating to graphite tube and baking the graphite tube to plasticize coating) for the purpose of mitigating erosion and making tubes more resistance to corrosion and creating additional seal in tubes (paragraph [17]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Akahani to include the wing is made of metal or thermally conductive plastic and is mounted such that at least a portion thereof is in surface contact with an inner diameter surface of the heat transfer pipe as taught by Cummins in order to mitigating erosion and making tubes more resistance to corrosion and creating additional seal in tubes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered, and they are moot. This is second non-final, therefore, a new ground of rejections have been made and a new reference is used.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to heat pipe:
Fujii (US 11,460,254 B2).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763