DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed October 15, 2025 has been received, Claims 1-20 are currently pending, with Claims 4 and 14 remaining withdrawn from prosecution at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomat (US 6,092,251).
Regarding Claim 1, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe comprising: a recovery footbed (12) comprising a forefoot portion (i.e. toe region of 12) having a substantially uniform forefoot thickness (as seen in Fig.7), a heel section (i.e. heel region of 12) having a heel thickness greater than the forefoot thickness (as seen in Fig.7), and a midfoot section (i.e. midfoot region of 12) having a midfoot slope (as seen in Fig.7); a cup sole (4,8) comprising a last receiving portion (i.e. void of 4,8 that receives 3) and a peripheral sidewall (8), wherein a rearfoot height of the peripheral sidewall (i.e. heel end height of 8) is smaller than the heel thickness of the recovery footbed and a forefoot height of the peripheral sidewall (i.e. toe end height of 8) is larger than the forefoot thickness of the recovery footbed (as seen in Fig.7); and an upper (2) comprising a last (3) attached to a bottom of the upper (Col.2, lines 14-17).
Regarding Claim 2, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe of claim 1, wherein a rearfoot height of the peripheral sidewall is greater than a forefoot height of the peripheral sidewall (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding Claim 3, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe of claim 1, wherein the upper (2) is attached to the cup sole (4,8) using one or more of a stitch, an adhesive bonding, and an adhesive bonding of the last to the last receiving portion of the cup sole (Col.2, lines 33-38).
Regarding Claim 7, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe of claim 1, wherein a material of the cup sole (4,8) comprises one of a thermoplastic rubber, a latex rubber, and a silicone rubber (Col.2, lines 19-20 & 36-38).
Regarding Claim 9, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe of claim 1, wherein the upper comprises one of a lace closure (as seen in Fig.1), and a slip-on style.
Regarding Claim 10, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe of claim 1, wherein the last (3) comprises one of a board last, a string last, a Strobel sock (Col.2, lines 14-17), or a combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 11-13, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomat (US 6,092,251).
Regarding Claim 11, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe comprising: a recovery footbed (12) comprising a forefoot portion having a forefoot thickness, a heel section having a heel thickness (as seen in Fig.7), and a midfoot section having a midfoot slope (as seen in Fig.7); a cup sole (4,8) comprising a last receiving portion (i.e. void of 4,8 that receives 3) having a cup sole thickness, and a peripheral sidewall (8) having a rearfoot height, and a forefoot height (as seen in Fig.7); and an upper (2) comprising a last (3) attached to a bottom of the upper (Col.2, lines 14-17). Tomat does not disclose the recovery footbed comprising the forefoot portion having the forefoot thickness of 10–15 mm, the heel section having the heel thickness of 28–35 mm; the last receiving portion having the cup sole thickness of 5–10 mm; and the peripheral sidewall having the rearfoot height of 22–32 mm, and the forefoot height of 12–23mm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the recovery footbed, the last receiving portion, and the peripheral sidewall of Tomat with the claimed thicknesses, in order to provide the desired sole height for support and comfort to the user when walking. Further, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 12, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe of claim 11, wherein the last (3) is attached to the upper (2) using one or more of, a stitch, and an adhesive bonding (Col.2, lines 14-17).
Regarding Claim 13, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe of claim 11, wherein the upper (2) is attached to the cup sole outsole (4,8) using one or more of a stitch, an adhesive bonding, and an adhesive bonding of the last to the last receiving portion of the cup sole (Col.2, lines 33-38).
Regarding Claim 17, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe of claim 11, wherein a material of the cup sole (4,8) comprises one of a thermoplastic rubber, a latex rubber, and a silicone rubber (Col.2, lines 19-20 & 36-38).
Regarding Claim 19, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe of claim 11, wherein the upper comprises one of a lace closure (as seen in Fig.1), and a slip-on style.
Regarding Claim 20, Tomat discloses a recovery shoe of claim 11, wherein the last (3) comprises one of a board last, a string last, a Strobel sock (Col.2, lines 14-17), or a combination thereof.
3. Claim(s) 5, 8, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomat (US 6,092,251) in view of Pyle (US 5,718,064).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Tomat discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Tomat does not disclose wherein a material of the recovery footbed comprises a polyurethane (PU) foam. However, Pyle teaches a recovery footbed (16) of polyurethane (PU) foam (Col.2, lines 42-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the recovery footbed material of Tomat with the polyurethane (PU) foam of Pyle, as a simple substitution of one well known type of insole material for another, in order to yield the predictable result of providing a comfortable substrate for a user to rest their foot upon.
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Tomat discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Tomat does not disclose wherein a material of the upper comprises one of a leather, a faux leather, a thermoplastic urethane (TPU) leather, a synthetic fabric, and a natural fabric. However, Pyle teaches a shoe upper formed of leather (Col.2, lines
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the upper material of Tomat with the leather material of Pyle, as a simple substitution of one well known type of upper material for another, in order to yield the predictable result of providing a durable upper material.
4. Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomat (US 6,092,251)
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Tomat discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Tomat does not disclose wherein the recovery footbed has a shore hardness of 23–27 Shore A. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the recovery footbed of Tomat to have a shore hardness of 23–27 Shore A, in order to provide the optimum hardness to deliver enhanced support to a user’s foot. Further, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
5. Applicant’s Remarks: Applicant asserts Examiner has erred in interpreting the combination of the "rubber mid-sole 4", and the "peripheral cover band of crude rubber" (reference numeral 8) of Tomat, as the claimed cup sole. The Applicants have clearly defined the cup sole, in the detailed description of the present application, as a monolithic or single-piece component (see at least, para. [0043] - particularly "The cup sole 300 may be formed using, for example, injection molding, compression molding, and so forth."). Further, the single-piece construction is clearly illustrated in FIGS. 3A and 3B. The combination of mid-sole 4 and peripheral cover band of Tomat is distinct from the claimed cup sole, clearly defined in the specification of the present application.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the cup sole, in the detailed description of the present application, as a monolithic or single-piece component) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant, Tomat teaches the currently claimed limitations. For these reasons, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive
6. Applicant’s Remarks: Applicant asserts Tomat not only does not discuss the possibility of the dimensions listed in claim 11, Tomat actually teaches away from the dimensions of claim 11. Tomat states "The main object of the present invention is, therefore, to solve the technical problems referred to above, thereby eliminating the drawbacks faced with the prior art Solutions by providing a method which makes it possible to obtain a shoe which Simultaneously has a large bulk on the last and is lightweight at the same time."(Col. 1, lines 26 - 32. Emphasis added).
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Tomat does not teach away from the dimensions in claim 11. The dimensions claimed in Claim 11 are within the standard range of known sole dimensions and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the recovery footbed, the last receiving portion, and the peripheral sidewall of Tomat with the claimed thicknesses, in order to provide the desired sole height for support and comfort to the user when walking. Further, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Since the dimensions claimed are not out of a normal range for standard footwear and Tomat teaches using lightweight materials to form the sole, modifying Tomat to have such dimensions would not significantly affect the weight of the shoe. For these reasons, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732