DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/30/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 3/30/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is “no search burden” on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because: 1) the Examiner clearly establishes that the product claims can be used in materially different process, and the method claims can be practiced with a materially different process, 2) that the sub-combination does not require the particulars of the combination, and 3) that searching all of the claims would involve “employing different search strategies or search queries”. In addition, 37 CFR 1.142(b), on which the MPEP is based, actually does not require the existence of a “search burden” on the Examiner and only requires “two or more independent or distinct inventions” to be present.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
SC § 112
Claim 14 claims “optionally bay grid tabs extending from a top surface of the top walls” (emphasis added). Under MPEP 2173.05(h), the Examiner does not find the claim language indefinite. Applicant is claiming the option of a single structure that is closed ended in nature.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to for the following. Claim 1 claims “wherein each of the one or more bays is configured to be slightly larger than a size of a building block to allow the building block received in the bay to be supported by the lip to retain the building block in the bay” (emphasis added). The language “the bay” should actually be –the one or more bays—for proper antecedent basis. The language of using “the bay” or “the bays” is incorrectly perpetuated through the dependent claims (as noted below) because claim 1 does not necessarily require a plurality of bays and may only have one bay present.
Claims 2-12 and 14 all claim “the bay” or “the bays” in some form or another. Again, the language used in claim 1 is “one or more bays”. Applicant should correct the language in claims 2-12, and 14 to properly refer back to the language in claim 1 (i.e. “one or more bays”). Also, claim 10, line 4 claims “one or mort of the bays”. The Examiner assumes that this should read “one or more of the bays” (i.e. it appears to be a typographical error). However, again the language “the bays” needs to be corrected to be consistent with claim 1. Claim 14, line 2 also includes the drawing identifier “805”. This identifier should be removed from the claim.
Claim 13 claims “a first row of bays” and “a second row of bays”. However, the “bays” are previously referred to in claim 1 (i.e. “one or more bays”). Applicant should correct claim 13 to acknowledge that claim 1 already discusses the “one or more bays” and should not claim “bays” separate and distinct from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “slightly” in claim 1, line 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “about” in claim 2, lines 2 and 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “substantially” in claim 9, line 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Consistent with MPEP 2173.05(h), applicant can use the term “optionally” within a claim. However, claim 10 recites “optionally the bay cover portion comprising one or more protrusions” (emphasis added). The term “comprising” is open ended and allows for more structure to be present. As such, under MPEP 2173.05(h), the limitation creates “ambiguity” and is thus indefinite.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Consistent with MPEP 2173.05(h), applicant can use the term “optionally” within a claim. However, claim 11 recites “optionally the door including a door knob or handle, optionally a bottom of the door insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays and optionally a top of the door insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays” (emphasis added). The term “including” is synonymous with “comprising” as per MPEP 2111.03 (I) and is open ended and allows for more structure to be present. As such, under MPEP 2173.05(h), the limitation creates “ambiguity” and is thus indefinite.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Consistent with MPEP 2173.05(h), applicant can use the term “optionally” within a claim. However, claim 12 recites “optionally the window insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays and optionally a top of the window insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays” (emphasis added). The term “including” is synonymous with “comprising” as per MPEP 2111.03 (I) and is open ended and allows for more structure to be present. As such, under MPEP 2173.05(h), the limitation creates “ambiguity” and is thus indefinite.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Consistent with MPEP 2173.05(h), applicant can use the term “optionally” within a claim. However, claim 13 recites “optionally the track comprising indentations.” (emphasis added). The term “comprising” is open ended and allows for more structure to be present. As such, under MPEP 2173.05(h), the limitation creates “ambiguity” and is thus indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woollett (US Pat. No. 3,577,671).
Regarding claim 1, Woollett discloses an apparatus for building a structure (Fig. 16 being exemplary, also noting this is intended use) comprising: a base (Fig. 5; as also seen in Fig. 4), the base including a top surface and a bottom surface (Fig. 4, item 5; noting a top and bottom surface is obvious), one or more bays included in one or more of the top surface or the bottom surface of the base (Fig. 4, item 6, see specifically col. 1, lines 18-21; clearly stating that a “recess” may be made in the “flat sheet component”), and a lip extending from the base surrounding each of the one or more bays (Fig. 4, noting the lip around items 6), wherein each of the one or more bays is configured to be slightly larger than a size of a building block to allow the building block received in the bay to be supported by the lip to retain the building block in the bay (Fig. 4 and 6 and col. 1, lines 18-21; noting this is obvious as the “projection” may be on the block, and lines 18-21 clearly state that the flat sheet component may have “a hole or recess shaped and dimensioned to receive a projection of another component as a friction fit”; making obvious a “slightly larger” recess size than the projection coming off the block; noting the latter claim language is functionally possible given the structure). The above rejection is given under a 103 as Woollett clearly makes “obvious” the ability to make the flat sheet with recesses (col. 1, lines 18-21), and also makes obvious the ability to insert the block [projection] into that corresponding recess (col. 1, lines 18-21).
Regarding claim 2, Woollett discloses that the one or more bays have a square shape and the lip being formed of a plurality of sides (Fig. 4, items 6; noting this is obvious; noting the Examiner construes a quasi-square shape, even if it has rounded corners, to broadly read on “square shape”; see col. 2, lines 26-28). It is noted that Woollett does not specifically disclose that the bay having a size in a range of about 1.15 square inches to about 1.25 square inches and each of the sides of the lip having a width in a range of about 0.125 to about 0.25 inches. However, Woollett clearly discloses a flat sheet component that has some inherent bay and lip size (Fig. 4). In addition, regarding the exact dimensions of the bay and the lips, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)(see applicant’s spec, page 9, lines 7-24; applicant giving no criticality to the exact bay and lip size). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact bay and lip size would not make the claimed invention perform differently: that is, the block would fit into the recess and be surrounding by a lip regardless of the exact bay and lip size. In the alternative, regarding using a completely square shape, it has been held that, absent a convincing argument otherwise, one of ordinary skill in the art could use numerous configuration in shape or form to accomplish the same purpose. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976)(see applicant’s page 9, again giving no criticality to a completely square shape). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to that a quasi-square shape would accomplish the same purpose: that is, the block would fit into the recess regardless of the exact shape.
Regarding claim 3, Woollett discloses a plurality of the bays aligned side by
side in a row forming a bay row base (Fig. 4; noting a plurality only requires two; see also Figs. 1-3, showing projections, but still making obvious the row arrangement and noting it would be obvious to a POSA to use the projection arrangements shown in Figs. 1-3 for the recesses arrangement shown in Fig. 4 as these are literally side-by-side embodiments).
Regarding claim 4, Woollett discloses that the lip is formed of a plurality of outer
sides, the outer sides surround the bays, an inner side of the lip is a spacer positioned between adjacent bays, the inner side of the lip having a width which is double the width of the outer sides (Fig. 4; noting this double width for the inner side of the lip appears to be obvious from the drawings). In the alternative, regarding the inner side lip being double the width of the outer side, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)(see applicant’s spec, page 9, lines 21-24; applicant giving no criticality to the inner side of the lip being double the outer sides). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact inside lip size and compared to outer lip size would not make the claimed invention perform differently: that is, the block would fit into the recess and be surrounding by a lip regardless of the exact inside lip size as compared to and outside lip size.
Regarding claim 7, Woollett discloses that a plurality of the bays aligned side by
side in a plurality of adjacent rows forming a bay grid base (Fig. 3; noting a different embodiment, but noting it would be obvious to apply this configuration to the recess embodiment of Fig. 4 as it would be a simple substitution of one element (recesses) for another (protrusions) to obtain predictable results (the continued ability to attach a block to a flat base, the flat base having recesses formed in a plurality of columns and rows); i.e. these are side-by-side embodiments).
Regarding claim 8, Woollett discloses that a bay cover, the bay cover including a protrusion on one or more sides of the bay cover (Figs. 1-3), the protrusion configured to be
received in the bay for covering the bay (Figs. 1-3 and col. 2, lines 33-38; specifically stating that protrusions, item 4, can be inserted) or over a block for covering a top surface of the block (Fig. 9; noting this is functionally possible given the structure as Fig. 9 clearly shows a recess on the top of the block in that orientation; also noting this is not required as “or” is used).
Regarding claim 9, Woollett discloses that the protrusion has a substantially similar circumference size as a circumference size of the bay (Figs. 1-4 and col. 2, lines 33-38; noting this is obvious).
Regarding claim 11, Woollett discloses a door insert (Fig. 9, noting opening 10 can function as the door as it is an “opening” in the block), the door insert having a front wall formed as a door (Fig. 9; noting the surface housing opening 10 can be the front surface; and an opening can functionally serve as a door) or a front wall having an opening and a door rotatable to open and close the opening (noting this is not needed as “or” is used), the door insert configured to be received in one of the bays (Figs. 4 and 9 and col. 1, lines 18-21; noting this is also functionally possible given the structure), optionally the door including a door knob or handle, optionally a bottom of the door insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays and optionally a top of the door insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays (noting this is not needed as it all is “optional”).
Regarding claim 12, Woollett discloses a window insert (Fig. 9, noting opening 10 can function as the window as it is an opening), a front wall formed as a window (Fig. 9; noting the surface housing opening 10 can be the front surface), the window insert configured to be received in one of the bays (Figs. 4 and 9 and col. 1, lines 18-21; noting this is also functionally possible given the structure), optionally the window insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays and optionally a top of the window insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays (noting this is noted needed as it is “optional”).
Regarding claim 13, Woollett discloses a first row of bays aligned side by side (Figs. 3 and 4; noting it would have been obvious to a POSA that the projections can be recesses as taught by Fig. 4), and a second row of bays aligned side by side (Figs. 3 and 4; noting it would have been obvious to a POSA that the projections can be recesses as taught by Fig. 4), the first row aligned to a first side of a track forming a bay grid track base (Fig. 4 and col. 2, lines 33-38), optionally the track comprising indentations (noting this is not needed as it is optional). It is noted that Woollett does not specifically disclose that the second row aligned to a second side of the track. However, Woollett clearly discloses a rail connected to a flat sheet component wherein the first row is aligned to the track (Fig. 4 and col. 2, lines 33-38) and the ability to use two rows aligned with one another (Fig. 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Woollett to make the second row aligned to the track and taught and suggested by Woollett because doing so would be use of a known technique (using a rail to run along side a row of indentations) to improve a similar product (a flat base having two rows of indentations aligned with each other) in the same way (using a rail between the two rows of indentations, the rail being aligned with and between the rows).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woollett (US Pat. No. 3,577,671) in view of Greenawalt (US Pat. No. 10,427,028 B2).
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that Woollett does not specifically disclose a first of the bays is a corner bay having a first side of the corner bay adjacent to a second one of the bays and a second side of the corner bay adjacent to a third one of the bays, the first side and the second side of the corner bay being perpendicular to one another forming a bay corner base. However, Woollett does make obvious multiple forms of the base or flat sheet component (col. 2, lines 16-25). In addition, Greenawalt discloses a similar holder for blocks/cubic game pieces wherein a first of the bays is a corner bay having a first side of the corner bay adjacent to a second one of the bays and a second side of the corner bay adjacent to a third one of the bays, the first side and the second side of the corner bay being perpendicular to one another forming a bay corner base (Fig. 2A). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Woollett to use the above structure as taught by Greenawalt because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a block set with a flat base having rows and/columns, and a block/game piece set having a flat corner base with inserted game pieces) according to known methods (using the corner piece as the flat base in the former block set) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to stack blocks on a flat base, the flat base being in the form of a corner piece).
Regarding claim 6, the combined Woollett and Greenawalt disclose that the lip is formed of a plurality of outer sides, the outer sides surround the bays, a connection lip side of the lip is positioned between the first side of the corner bay and the second side of the corner bay, the connection lip side having a width which is double the width of the outer sides (Greenawalt: Fig. 2B; noting this double width for the connection lip side appears to be obvious from the drawing). In the alternative, regarding the connection lip side being double the width of the outer side, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)(see applicant’s spec, page 10, lines 14-15; applicant giving no criticality to the connection lip side being double the outer sides). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact connection lip size and compared to outer lip size would not make the claimed invention perform differently: that is, the block would fit into the recess and be surrounding by a lip regardless of the exact connection lip size as compared to and outside lip size.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woollett (US Pat. No. 3,577,671) in view of Campbell (US Pat. No. 5,830,032).
Regarding claim 10, Woollett disclose a bay cover portion covering one or more of the bays (Figs. 1 and 4; and col. 2, lines 33-38; noting this is obvious; noting Fig. 1 may be inserted into Fig. 4 as per col. 2, lines 33-38). It is noted that Woollett does not specifically disclose a ramp base, the ramp base including a ramp extending at an angle from a top surface of the ramp base to a bottom surface of the ramp base, a bay cover portion adjacent to the ramp, optionally the bay cover portion comprising one or more protrusions. However, Campbell discloses a similar type of construction element, the kit including a ramp base (Fig. 3), the ramp base including a ramp extending at an angle from a top surface of the ramp base to a bottom surface of the ramp base (Fig. 3), an element cover portion adjacent to the ramp (Fig. 3; the section proximate item 30 at the top; see Fig. 3B, the lower portion clearly showing that the connection covers the elements at recess 32), optionally the bay cover portion comprising one or more protrusions (noting this is not required as it is optional). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Woollett to use a ramp base, the ramp base including a ramp extending at an angle from a top surface of the ramp base to a bottom surface of the ramp base, a bay cover portion adjacent to the ramp, the bay cover portion covering one or more of the bays as taught and suggested by Campbell because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a building block kit having a flat base with recesses, and a building block kit having a ramp that transitions to a base) according to known methods (using a ramp to fit the former building block kit) to yield predictable results (using a ramp with a building block kit, the ramp allowing a transition from the flat surface to the elevated base).
Claims 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woollett (US Pat. No. 3,577,671) in view of Ishiyama (US Pat. No. 5,354,224).
Regarding claim 11, Woollett discloses a block insert (Fig. 6), the block insert
having a front wall (Fig. 9, side item 12 can be the “front wall”), the block insert configured to be received in one of the bays (Figs. 4, 6, and col. 1, lines 18-21; noting this is obvious). It is noted that Woollett does not specifically disclose a door insert, the door insert
having a front wall formed as a door or a front wall having an opening and a door rotatable to open and close the opening, optionally the door including a door knob or handle, optionally a bottom of the door insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays and optionally a top of the door insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays. However, Ishiyama discloses a similar construction set wherein the blocks have a door insert (Fig. 1, item 14; item 17 being the door, see Fig. 2, item 14 fitting into or inserted into item 5a), the door insert having a front wall formed as a door (Fig. 14, item 17; noting it looks like and is “formed” like 3a door) or a front wall having an opening and a door rotatable to open and close the opening (noting this is not needed as “or” is used), optionally the door including a door knob or handle (noting this is not needed as “optionally” is used), optionally a bottom of the door insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays (noting this is not needed as “optionally” is used) and optionally a top of the door insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays (noting this is not needed as “optionally” is used). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Woollett to use a door insert, the door insert having a front wall formed as a door as taught and suggested by Ishiyama because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a construction set using blocks, and a construction using blocks that have a front door) according to known methods (using the front door on the block) to obtain predicable results (the continued ability to have a construction set with blocks, the block having a front surface representing a door).
Regarding claim 12, Woollett discloses a block insert (Fig. 6), the block insert having a front wall (Fig. 9, side item 12 can be the “front wall”), the block insert configured to be received in one of the bays (Figs. 4, 6, and col. 1, lines 18-21; noting this is obvious). It is noted that Woollett does not specifically disclose a window insert, a front wall formed as a window, the window insert configured to be received in one of the bays, optionally the window insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays and optionally a top of the window insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays. However, Ishiyama discloses a similar construction set wherein the blocks have a window block (Fig. 1, item 8; item 8 being the figure in a window), a front wall formed as a window (Fig. 1, item 8; the Examiner broadly interpreting “formed” as “formed” to look like a window; but also see Fig. 5; showing an actual window formed into the block), optionally the window insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays and optionally a top of the window insert including a bay protrusion configured to be received in one of the bays (noting none of this is needed as “optionally” is used). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Woollett to use a window insert, a front wall formed as a window as taught and suggested by Ishiyama because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a construction set using blocks, and a construction using blocks that have a front window) according to known methods (using the window on the block) to obtain predicable results (the continued ability to have a construction set with blocks, the block having a front surface representing a window).
Regarding claim 14, Woollett discloses one or more of the building blocks received in the bay of the base (Figs. 4, 6, and 9 and col. 1, lines 18-21; noting this is obvious). It is noted that Woollett does not specifically disclose a gable insert, the gable comprising angled top walls extending from an apex 805, a bottom support extending laterally between the angled top walls, the bottom support including one or more gable bays, configured to be received on, optionally bay grid tabs extending from a top surface of the top walls. However, Ishiyama discloses a similar construction set with a gable insert (Figs. 7-9, collectively items 93 and 92 as seen in Fig. 9), the gable comprising angled top walls extending from an apex (Figs. 9, collectively items 92 and 93), a bottom support extending laterally between the angled top walls (Fig. 9, proximate item 92a, i.e. the bottom by item 92a), the bottom support including one or more gable bays (Fig. 9; noting on either side of the bottom surface near item 92a or within item 92a), configured to be received on, optionally bay grid tabs extending from a top surface of the top walls (noting this is not needed as it is ”optional”). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Woollett to use the above claimed gable structure as taught and suggested by Ishiyama because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a construction set using blocks, and a construction using blocks that have a gable insert) according to known methods (using the gable insert with the construction blocks) to obtain predicable results (the continued ability to have a construction set with blocks, the block having a gable insert).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
4/20/26