DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 09/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 18-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lucas (US20150136695 A1) herein known as Lucas.
(Fig. 1A, Lucas)
Regarding Claim 1, Lucas is directed to the field of membrane filtration, specifically to methods for cleaning such systems [0003].
Lucas discloses a method for cleaning a multistage cross-flow membrane filtration system (Fig.1A; Abstract, [Systems and methods for cleaning a membrane filtration system using cross-flow geometry]), the multistage cross-flow membrane filtration system comprises a baseline (109), a feed pump (107) configured to supply liquid to the baseline (Fig.1A; [0045], [Feed tank (105) retains the feed until feed pump (107) pumps feed from feed tank (105) to base line (109)]), and a plurality of membrane stages (119) connected to the baseline (Fig.1A; [0045], [Fluid in membrane feed line (117) enters filters (119) and is therein subjected to one or more membrane separation processes]),
wherein each of the plurality of membrane stages comprises at least one cross-flow membrane having a retentate side (retentate return lines 139) and a permeate side (permeate return lines 121), an inlet connected to the baseline and to the retentate side, a retentate outlet connected to the baseline and to the retentate side, a permeate outlet connected to the permeate side ([0045], [The feed which penetrates the filters (e.g., is subject to the filtering, or separation, action of the membrane) is known as permeate. The feed which does not is known as retentate. Each of recirculating pumps (115) pump some portion of the feed from base line (109) into membrane feed line (117). Fluid in membrane feed line (117) enters filters (119) ]; ([0046], [Permeate flows from filters (119) into permeate return lines (121)]; [0048], [Retentate (also sometimes referred to as concentrate) flows from filters (119) into retentate return lines (139), which lines (139) are connected to base line (109). Generally, retentate return line (139)]), and a loop pump configured to supply liquid from the baseline through the inlet to the retentate side and across the at least one cross-flow membrane to the permeate side, ([0045], [Each of recirculating pumps (115) pump some portion of the feed from base line (109) into membrane feed line (117). Fluid in membrane feed line (117) enters filters (119) and is therein subjected to one or more membrane separation processes, the feed which penetrates the filters (e.g., is subject to the filtering, or separation, action of the membrane) is known as permeate. The feed which does not is known as retentate]).
wherein the method comprises: connecting the baseline to a source of cleaning liquid; supplying the cleaning liquid from the baseline to at least one of the plurality of membrane stages, thereby generating retentate and permeate and supplying at least part of the permeate from the at least one of the plurality of membrane stages to at least one downstream membrane stage (Fig. 1A; [0056], [chemical pump (111) begins to pump cleaning solution from chemical storage (113) to chemical feed line (157). This causes chemicals to mix with water in base line (109) at an initial concentration. Chemical feed line (157) is connected to base line (109)]; [0047], [permeate return line (131) to base line (109) connects to base line (109) at a plurality of locations on base line (109). In a still further embodiment, one or more of such locations is between two recirculating pumps (115) in series]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lucas discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein permeates from at least two of the plurality of membrane stages are combined and supplied to the at least one downstream membrane stage ([0046], [Permeate flows from filters (119) into permeate return lines (121) and permeate return lines (121) direct permeate into permeate tank (123)] ([0047], [ permeate return line (131) to base line (109) connects to base line (109) at a plurality of locations on base line (109). In a still further embodiment, one or more such locations is between two recirculating pumps (115) in series]).
Regarding Claim 6-7, Lucas discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the permeate outlet of each of the plurality of membrane stages is selectively connected to at least one other downstream membrane stage (Claim 6), the method according to claim 6, wherein the permeate outlet of each of the plurality of membrane stages is selectively connected to the inlet of the at least one other downstream membrane stage by way of the baseline and the permeate is transported from a respective membrane stage to a respective downstream membrane stage via the baseline (Claim 7) ([0046], [permeate in permeate tank (123) is pumped to permeate return valve (127), which may direct permeate to feed return valve (158) or to permeate return line (131) to the base line (109)]; [0047], [permeate return line (131) to base line (109) connects to base line (109) at a plurality of locations on base line (109). In a still further embodiment, one or more of such locations is between two recirculating pumps (115) in series]; [0067], [permeate return valve (127) is opened, causing permeate to flow to return line (131) and to base line (109) at one or more permeate return to base line connection points (137)]).
Regarding Claim 14, Lucas discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method is performed as part of a cleaning-in-place procedure ([0024], [the method further comprises: flushing at least some heavy solids from the membrane filtration system; removing at least some solid particulates remaining in the membrane filtration system after the flushing step; after the removing step, draining soiled fluid from the membrane filtration system; after the draining step, washing the membrane filtration system with clean wash solution; and after the washing step, rinsing the membrane filtration system with clean wash water]).
Regarding Claim 15, Lucas discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning liquid is water, ethanol, an alkaline liquid, or an acidic liquid ([0014], [a method for cleaning a membrane filtration system comprising: providing a membrane filtration system comprising a base line supplying wash water to a membrane]).
Regarding Claim 16, Lucas discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning liquid is water, and the method is for flushing a target compound from the multistage cross-flow membrane filtration system. ([0024], [the method further comprises: flushing at least some heavy solids from the membrane filtration system; removing at least some solid particulates remaining in the membrane filtration system after the flushing step; after the removing step, draining soiled fluid from the membrane filtration system; after the draining step, washing the membrane filtration system with clean wash solution; and after the washing step, rinsing the membrane filtration system with clean wash water]).
Regarding Claim 17, Lucas discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the multistage cross-flow membrane filtration system is an MF, UF, NF, or RO membrane filtration system ([0089], [The cleaning method described herein may be applied to any industry using a membrane separation or filtration system, including but not limited to microfiltration ("MF"), ultrafiltration ("UF"), nanofiltration ("NF"), and reverse osmosis ("RO") systems]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US20150136695 A1) herein known as Lucas, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Bishop et al. (US 20220323909 A1) herein known as Bishop.
(Fig. 6C, Bishop)
Regarding claim 2, Lucas teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
However, Lucas is silent to the method according to claim 1, wherein all of the permeate from the at least one membrane stage is supplied to the at least one downstream membrane stage.
Bishop is directed to systems and methods for treatment of elevated organic content streams [0002].
Bishop discloses wherein all of the permeate from the at least one membrane stage is supplied to the at least one downstream membrane stage ([0077], [the first permeate stream 606-1 may be provided to the second filter membrane 604-2]]; [0083], [the at least one filter membrane 604 comprises a plurality of filter membranes fluidly coupled together in series and/or parallel to provide a multi-stage, multi-pass membrane system (e.g., permeate from one filter membrane becomes feed to another filter membrane]).
Bishop also discloses the systems and methods provided can provide reliable performance when used to treat feeds with elevated organic levels (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas ‘s method, as taught by Bishop, wherein all of the permeate from the at least one membrane stage is supplied to the at least one downstream membrane stage, in order to provide reliable performance when used to treat feeds with elevated organic levels (See Bishop, [Abstract]).
Claim 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US20150136695 A1) herein known as Lucas, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Antonopoulos et al. (CN113795465A, Machine Translation) herein known as Antonopoulos.
(Fig.1, Antonopoulos)
Regarding claim 4, Lucas teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
However, Lucas is silent to the method according to claim 1, wherein supplying at least part of the permeate from the at least one of the plurality of membrane stages to the at least one downstream membrane stage generates further permeate, and the method further comprises: supplying at least part of the further permeate from at least one membrane stage to at least one further downstream membrane stage
Antonopoulos is directed to treatment of seawater to produce water for injection into oil bearing reservoirs [n0002].
Antonopoulos discloses wherein supplying at least part of the permeate (6) from the at least one of the plurality of membrane stages (NF1) to the at least one downstream membrane stage (NF2) generates further permeate (7), and the method further comprises: supplying at least part of the further permeate (7) from at least one membrane stage (NF2) to at least one further downstream membrane stage (NF3). (Fig.1, [n0015], [In the example shown, a three-stage RO system can be used]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas ‘s method, as taught by Antonopoulos wherein supplying at least part of the permeate from the at least one of the plurality of membrane stages to the at least one downstream membrane stage generates further permeate, and the method further comprises: supplying at least part of the further permeate from at least one membrane stage to at least one further downstream membrane stage in order to filter high-salinity feedwater (See Antonopoulos, [n0004]).
Regarding claim 13, Lucas teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
Antonopoulos discloses wherein each of the plurality of membrane stages except a first membrane stage receives permeate from an upstream membrane stage (Fig.1, [n0015], [In the example shown, a three-stage RO system can be used]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US20150136695 A1) herein known as Lucas, in view of Antonopoulos et al. (CN113795465A, Machine Translation) herein known as Antonopoulos, as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Greenlee et al. (Reverse osmosis desalination: Water sources, technology, and today's challenges) herein known as Greenlee.
(Fig.11, Greenlee)
Regarding claim 5, modified Lucas teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
However, modified Lucas is silent to the method according to claim 4, wherein supplying at least part of the further permeate from the at least one membrane stage to the at least one further downstream membrane stage generates additional permeate and the method further comprises supplying at least part of the additional permeate to at least one further downstream membrane stage.
Greenlee is directed to Reverse osmosis desalination: Water sources, technology, and today’s challenges (Title).
Greenlee discloses wherein supplying at least part of the further permeate from the at least one membrane stage to the at least one further downstream membrane stage generates additional permeate and the method further comprises supplying at least part of the additional permeate to at least one further downstream membrane stage (Fig.11; Section 9.2., Page 2234, Left Col, paragraph 1, Lines 1-6, [four RO passes in series to treat seawater from an open water intake on the Mediterranean Sea (Sauvet-Goichon, 2007), the series of passes, was necessary to obtain the required permeate water quality]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Lucas ‘s method, as taught by Greenlee, wherein supplying at least part of the further permeate from the at least one membrane stage to the at least one further downstream membrane stage generates additional permeate and the method further comprises supplying at least part of the additional permeate to at least one further downstream membrane stage in order to obtain the required permeate water quality (See Greenlee, [Section 9.2., Page 2234, Left Col, paragraph 1, Lines 5-6]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US20150136695 A1) herein known as Lucas, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Yu et al. (EP-4074183-A1) herein known as Yu.
(Fig. 4, Yu)
Regarding Claim 8-10, Lucas teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
However, Lucas is silent to the method according claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of membrane stages comprises a plurality of parallel membranes connected to the inlet, to the retentate outlet, and to the permeate outlet of the respective membrane stage (Claim 8), the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of membrane stages independently comprises one, two, three, four, or five membrane units (Claim 9), The method according to claim 1, wherein the multistage membrane filtration stage has six membrane stages. (Claim 10).
Yu is directed to a concentration method and device, and in particular, to a concentration method for concentrating a dairy product by using a reverse osmosis technology and a corresponding concentration device [0001].
Yu discloses, wherein each of the plurality of membrane stages comprises a plurality of parallel membranes connected to the inlet, to the retentate outlet, and to the permeate outlet of the respective membrane stage (Claim 8) ([0081], [As shown in the Figure 4, each stage of the low-pressure reverse osmosis membrane treatment units 1411 and 1412 may comprise a plurality of membrane assemblies. Taking the first-stage low-pressure reverse osmosis membrane treatment unit 1411 as an example, it comprises six membrane assemblies 1411-1 to 1411-6, which are connected with each other in parallel]).
Yu also discloses wherein each of the plurality of membrane stages independently comprises one, two, three, four, or five membrane units (Claim 9) ([0018], Preferably, each stage of the high-pressure reverse osmosis membrane treatment uses one or more membrane assemblies.
Yu also discloses wherein the multistage membrane filtration stage has six membrane stages. (Claim 10) ([0047], [Through the design of multi-stage concentration, the whole concentration unit can be consisted of 6- to 11-stage concentration modules]).
Yu also discloses the advantages of the multi-stage concentration in which the membrane flux performance is in the optimal state that can be achieved by the membrane. The loss of flow velocity on the membrane surface is less, the fouling remaining on the membrane surface is less, the auxiliary power required during operation is relatively low, the time required for cleaning is less, and the temperature and amount of a cleaning agent are relatively low. As a result, more energy saving and environmental protection are achieved [0088],
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas ‘s method, as taught by Yu, wherein each of the plurality of membrane stages comprises a plurality of parallel membranes (Claim 8), wherein each of the plurality of membrane stages independently comprises one, two, three, four, or five membrane units (Claim 9), wherein the multistage membrane filtration stage has six membrane stages. (Claim 10) because the advantages of the multi-stage are that the membrane flux performance is in the optimal state that can be achieved by the membrane. The fouling remaining on the membrane surface is less, the auxiliary power required during operation is relatively low, the time required for cleaning is less, and the amount of a cleaning agent are relatively low (See Yu, [0088]).
Claim 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US20150136695 A1) herein known as Lucas, in view of Yu et al. (EP-4074183-A1) herein known as Yu, as applied to claims above, and further in view of Al-Samadi (US 6113797 A) herein known as Al-Samadi.
(Fig.3, Al-Samadi)
Regarding Claim 11, modified Lucas teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
However, modified Lucas is silent to the method according to claim 10, wherein the permeate from the first two membrane stages is combined and supplied to the next two membrane stages.
Al-Samadi is directed to the economical purification of water containing soluble and sparingly or partially soluble inorganic compounds using a two-stage membrane process with a unique recycle of "softened" membrane concentrate streams ( Col. 1, Lines 5-9).
Al-Samadi discloses wherein the permeate (14 and 15) from the first two membrane stages is combined (16) and supplied to the next two membrane stages (Fig.3; Col. 4, Lines 26-30, [where the bulk of the water is purified via stream 14. The concentrate from RO-1, 8, is treated further in the second RO or NF stage, 11 (i.e. RO-2 or NF-2) where the remaining water is purified via stream 15, combining with stream 14 to provide the ultimate purified water, stream 16])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas ‘s method, as taught by Al-Samadi, wherein the permeate from the first two membrane stages is combined and supplied to the next two membrane stages in order to obtain very high treated water purity with a minimum discharge of rejects (See Al-Samadi, [Col.4, Lines 55-57]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Lucas teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
However, modified Lucas is silent to the method according to claim 11, wherein the permeate from the next two membrane stages is combined and supplied to the final two membrane stages.
Al-Samadi discloses wherein the permeate (14 and 15) from the first two membrane stages is combined (16) and supplied to the next two membrane stages (Fig.3; Col. 4, Lines 26-30, [where the bulk of the water is purified via stream 14. The concentrate from RO-1, 8, is treated further in the second RO or NF stage, 11 (i.e. RO-2 or NF-2) where the remaining water is purified via stream 15, combining with stream 14 to provide the ultimate purified water, stream 16]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lucas ‘s method, as taught by Al-Samadi, wherein the permeate from the next two membrane stages is combined and supplied to the final two membrane stages, because the same known membrane-routing arrangement would have yielded the predictable result of further treating and reusing the permeate stream (See Al-Samadi, [Col.4, Lines 55-57]) and (See MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD MOTAZ ABDEL LATIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773