DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
2. The amendments and response filed 08 April 2026 is acknowledged and has been considered in its entirety. Claims 8, 10-12, and 19 are pending and subject to examination on the merits.
Change in Examiner/Locale
3. The location and examiner assigned to the instant Application at the USPTO has changed. Please direct all further correspondence to Art Unit 1656 and to the Examiner signed below.
Priority
4. This application is a CON of 17/320,471 filed 14 May 2021, which is a CON of 16/239,871 filed 04 January 2019 (US Pat. No. 11041217), which claims benefit of 62/614,096 filed 05 January 2018.
Specification
5. The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (p. 2, lines 20 and 24). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
6. The use of the terms Qiagen QIAprep™ (p. 25, line 27), Qiagen HiSpeed™ (p. 25, line 28), Invitrogen Novex™ (p. 27, line 27), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Withdrawn Rejections
7. The previous 35 US.C. 103 rejection of claims 8, 10, 11, and 19 as being unpatentable over Moscoso et al. (Virulence 9(1): 604-620; 11/7/2024 IDS, NPL doc# 2; previously cited), Cabral et al. (Nature Communications 8: 15480 doi: 10.1038/ncomms15480 (2017); 11/7/2024 IDS, NPL doc # 1; previously cited), and Zhang et al. (Molecular Microbiology 49(6): 1577-1593 (2003); 11/7/2024 IDS, NPL doc #6; previously cited) is withdrawn. Said rejection has been withdrawn in view of the new rejection below.
Modified Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
8. Claims 8, 10-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
8. Claim 8 is unclear because it refers to a method of making a recombinant Staphylococcus bacterium but then recites an introduction/administration step at the end. Specifically, there are two methods recited in the single claim; i.e. “a method for making a recombinant Staphylococcus…” and “introducing the bacterium…” For increased clarity, it is suggested the claim preamble be amended to recite “A method of making and administering a recombinant…” Claims 10-12 and 19 are included in the instant rejection, since they do not mitigate the issue. For examination purposes the claim will be interpreted as suggested, i.e. drawn to a method for making and administering.
New Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 8, 10-11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German (German et al., 2017, ES 2586979 B1—cited on the IDS dated 07 November 2024; English translation provided herein) and Zhang et al. (Zhang et al., 2003, Molecular Microbiology—cited on the IDS dated 07 November 2024). Regarding claims 8 and 10, drawn to a method of making a recombinant Staphylococcus bacterium with D-alanine auxotrophy for introduction into a human microbiome comprising: (i) transforming a plasmid comprising D-alanine aminotransferase (dat) knockout into competent cells of a Staphylococcus strain, wherein the Staphylococcus strain comprises inactive alanine racemase genes air1 and alr2 (SEΔalr1Aalr2), and wherein the Staphylococcus strain comprises a bacterium from the S. epidermidis group; (ii) detecting the presence of the knockout plasmid in transformed cells; (iii) incubating the transformed cells identified in step (ii); (iv) purifying isolated colonies; (v) testing the isolated colonies for D-alanine auxotrophy with PCR (claim 10); (vi) selecting those bacterium from the isolated colonies with D-alanine auxotrophy; and (vii) introducing the bacterium with D-alanine auxotrophy into a target environment, wherein the target environment is a human microbiome, thereby making a recombinant Staphylococcus bacterium with D-alanine auxotrophy for introduction into a human microbiome, German teaches bacterial strains of S. aureus for D-alanine auxotrophy as vaccines in mammals, sufficiently avirulent, wherein said S. aureus induces acceptable protection against infection by S. aureus in a mammal (abstract). Specifically, the method comprises the inactivation of the alr1 and alr2 genes, encoding the alanine racemase 1 enzyme and the dat gene encoding the O-amino acid transaminase, such that the strain is no longer capable of expressing either protein (p. 2, paragraph 7 to p. 3, paragraph 1). German et al. continues to teach the introduction of a plasmid to knock out the three genes into S. aureus and the subsequent growth and screening of the colonies via growth on TSB agar and subsequent PCR confirmation of gene deletion (p. 4-5, Fig. 4-Fig. 6 descriptions, and Fig. 4-Fig. 6). German et al. continues to teach testing the S. aureus auxotroph mutants in TSB versus TSB supplemented with O-alanine, where said mutants cannot survive without alanine supplementation (p. 5, Fig. 7 description, Fig. 7). Last, German et al. teaches the introduction of the S. aureus mutants to BALB/c mice as a vaccine against a S. aureus infection, where the vaccinated mice (with S. aureus mutants) demonstrated increased survival over unvaccinated mice (Figures 15-16; p. 6 Fig. 15-16 descriptions).
German et al. does not teach S. epidermidis (claims 8, 11, and 19) and the introduction to a human microbiome.
Zhang et al. teaches that S.epidermidis is a facultative anaerobic bacteria, part of the normal human flora and further, that although S. epidermidis is not usually pathogenic, patients with compromised immune systems are at risk of developing infection and these infections are generally hospital-acquired. Zhang et al. also teaches that S. epidermidis is a particular concern for people with catheters or other surgical implants because it is known to form biofilms that grow on these target environmental devices (Introduction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains combine the teachings of German et al. and Zhang et al. to create auxotrophic S. epidermidis to provide protection against nosocomial acquired S. epidermidis infections. One would be motivated to combine these teachings to arrive at the instant claims to develop a vaccine to provide protection against S. epidermidis infections, akin to the vaccine utilizing the same strategy in S. aureus, as taught by German et al. There would be reasonable expectation of success, yielding no surprising results when combining the teachings of German et al. and Zhang et al., since German et al. describes the genetic knockout strategy and subsequent environmental introduction of the closely related S. aureus.
Double Patenting
12. Claims 8, 10-12, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-8, 10, and 12-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11041217. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are drawn to a method of making a recombinant Staphylococcus bacterium with D-alanine auxotrophy for introduction into a human microbiome comprising: (i) transforming a plasmid, specifically pUBTR119*-Sal-GFP (claim 12), comprising D-alanine aminotransferase (dat) knockout into competent cells of a Staphylococcus strain, wherein the Staphylococcus strain comprises inactive alanine racemase genes air1 and alr2 (SEΔalr1Aalr2), and wherein the Staphylococcus strain comprises a bacterium from the S. epidermidis group; (ii) detecting the presence of the knockout plasmid in transformed cells; (iii) incubating the transformed cells identified in step (ii); (iv) purifying isolated colonies; (v) testing the isolated colonies for D-alanine auxotrophy with PCR (claim 10); (vi) selecting those bacterium from the isolated colonies with D-alanine auxotrophy; and (vii) introducing the bacterium with D-alanine auxotrophy into a target environment, wherein the target environment is a human microbiome, thereby making a recombinant Staphylococcus bacterium with D-alanine auxotrophy for introduction into a human microbiome.
The ’217 claims are drawn to a composition and method of making a recombinant Staphylococcus bacterium comprising: (i) transforming a plasmid comprising D-alanine aminotransferase (dat) knockout into competent cells of a Staphylococcus strain, wherein the Staphylococcus strain comprises inactive alanine racemase genes alr1 and alr2 (SEΔalrz1alr2); (ii) detecting the presence of the knockout plasmid in transformed cells; (iii) incubating the transformed cells identified in step (ii); and (iv) purifying isolated colonies; and (v) testing the isolated colonies for D-alanine auxotrophy, wherein the recombinant Staphylococcus bacterium is Staphylococcus epidermidis (S. epidermis), and subspecies thereof.
Thus, the difference between the ‘217 claims and the instant claims is that the instant claims recite an administration step of S. epidermis. Therefore, this is a case of process of making/using and product made/used, which is obvious.
It is well established in the courts, for example, in Geneva Pharms. Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F.3d 1373, (Fed. Cir. 2003), and Pfizer v. Teva, 518 F.3d 1353 (Fed Cir. 2008). In Geneva, the earlier patent claimed a compound and the specification disclosed its effectiveness for inhibiting beta-lactamase. The later filed patent claimed a method of using the compound to affect beta-lactamase inhibition. Similarly, in Pfizer, the earlier patent claimed several compounds and the specification disclosed their use in treating inflammation; the later filed patent claimed a method of using these compounds for treating inflammation. In both cases, the court ruled that the claims were not "patentably distinct," and thus the latter claims were invalid for obviousness-type double patenting. In a further decision by the Federal Circuit, the same sort of rationale of looking to the specification to preferred embodiments was reiterated, even in CIP applications for products and methods of making or using said products; see Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Company (Fed. Cir. July 28, 2010). Also see MPEP 804.01(A).
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/CIARA A MCKNIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1656
/SUZANNE M NOAKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656