DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US 2003/0002179 hereinafter refer as “Roberts”) in view of Kendall (US 2018/0022279) and further in view of Kendall et al. (US 2017/0205679).
Regarding claim 1. Roberts discloses a mirror assembly (100, see Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0078 and 0099) for a vehicle (see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0071) comprising: a lighting module (LED lamp 218, Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0072 and 0081) that is configured to illuminate through a section of the mirror assembly; a heating assembly (214’, see Fig. 2, Para. 0072) including a heat generating conduction track; a printed circuit board (“PCB”, 212, see Figs. 2 and 8, Para. 0079) including a first conductive trace electrically coupled with the lighting module (see Para. 0081). Roberts further discloses a power hub (a wire harness (not shown), see Para. 0084) electrically coupled and providing power to both the lighting module (218) and the heating assembly (214) using electrical conductors (207, 207a-207c, and 215, see Figs. 2 and 3, Para. 0077, 0084 and 0166) and a circuit board (216, see Fig. 2) that is used to electrically connect the LED lamp to a controller (304) via circuit board (212) and cable (207a, see Fig. 2, Para. 0081) and a heater control circuit (314, see Fig. 3, Para. 0074). Roberts further discloses a circuit connecting LED lamp with other circuitry can thus be etched in the top layer (2006) of the printed circuit board (2001, see Figs. 20 and 21, Para. 0131).
However, Roberts does not explicitly teaches that a second conductive trace electrically coupled with the heating assembly; the power hub is coupled to the first and second conductive traces.
Kendall taches a mirror assembly (10, see Fig. 1) that includes a heater pad substate (18, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010) with a plurality of electrically conductive traces (20, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010); wherein the conductive traces may include traces for powering or controlling dimming of the electro-optic reflective element (12, see Fig. 1, Para. 0012). Kendall further taches the plurality of electrically conductive traces terminate at a centralized connector portion or region (22, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010 and 0011) of the heater pad, whereby a single electrical connection is made to the vehicle or mirror wiring harness during assembly of the mirror. Thus, Kendall taches consolidating multiple electrical functions of the vehicle mirror, including electro-optic and illumination/light source functions, through a common electrical connection.
Kendall et al. teaches a mirror assembly for a vehicle includes an electro-optic reflective element, a circuit element or board (such as a printed circuit board or PCB, 42′, see Fig. 9, Para. 0024) may be disposed at the attachment portion (30a′) with the pins or connecting elements (32′) disposed at and electrically connected at conductive traces of the PCB (42′); and a heater pad spring-loaded electrical connectors electrically connect to circuitry at the circuit board and provide power and/or control to the heater pad to control heating of the mirror reflective element of the exterior rearview mirror assembly. Optionally, other spring-loaded electrical connectors may be provided at and through the back plate for electrically connecting circuitry of the circuit board to other electrically powered elements or devices, such as one or more light sources or indicators disposed at the rear of the mirror reflective element (and viewable through the reflective element when powered, see Para. 0031).
Therefore, in view of Kendall and Kendall et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical circuitry of Roberts to provide separate conductive trace for the LED lighting module and the heating assembly and to terminate/connect the respective trace at a common centralized electrical connection, as taught by Kendall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to consolidate the electrical connections associated with multiple electrical functions of the mirror assembly thereby simplifying assembly and reducing the number of separate wiring connections between the mirror assembly and the vehicle wiring harness.
Regarding claim 2. Roberts further discloses the heating assembly (214', see Fig. 2, Para. 0080) can be of any suitable construction, for example the heater (214') can be a resistive conductor having an adhesive on one surface, or opposite surfaces, thereof. The resistive conductor generates heat when a current is applied thereto (see Para. 0080), the applicant is advised that it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, choosing heating assembly to be configured as a constant wattage heater as a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art.
Regarding claim 3. Roberts further discloses including an electro-optic assembly (222, see Para. 0078, 0082) comprising: a front substrate (e.g. front transparent element 712, see Fig. 9, Para. 0099) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; a second substrate (rear transparent mirror element 700, see Fig. 9, Para. 0099) having a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface, the second and third surfaces facing each other to define a gap (see Fig. 8); a first electrode coupled to the second surface; a second electrode (reflector/electrode material of layer 703) coupled to the third surface; and an electro-optic medium (706, see Fig. 9, Para. 099) located between the first electrode and the second electrode.
Regarding claim 4. Roberts further discloses the heating assembly (214, see Fig. 2, Para. 0072) is proximate to the electro-optic assembly to heat the mirror assembly (see Figs. 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 5. The teachings of Roberts have been discussed above.
However, Roberts does not explicitly teaches that the PCB includes a third conductive trace electrically coupled to the electro-optic assembly, the third conductive trace receiving power from the power hub.
Kendall taches the plurality of electrically conductive traces (20, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010); wherein the conductive traces may include traces for powering or controlling dimming of the electro-optic reflective element (12, see Fig. 1, Para. 0012). Kendall further taches the plurality of electrically conductive traces terminate at a centralized connector portion or region (22, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010 and 0011) of the heater pad, whereby a single electrical connection is made to the vehicle or mirror wiring harness during assembly of the mirror. Thus, Kendall taches consolidating multiple electrical functions of the vehicle mirror, including electro-optic and illumination/light source functions, through a common electrical connection.
Kendall et al. teaches a mirror assembly for a vehicle includes an electro-optic reflective element, a circuit element or board (such as a printed circuit board or PCB, 42′, see Fig. 9, Para. 0024) may be disposed at the attachment portion (30a′) with the pins or connecting elements (32′) disposed at and electrically connected at conductive traces of the PCB (42′); and a heater pad spring-loaded electrical connectors electrically connect to circuitry at the circuit board and provide power and/or control to the heater pad to control heating of the mirror reflective element of the exterior rearview mirror assembly. Optionally, other spring-loaded electrical connectors may be provided at and through the back plate for electrically connecting circuitry of the circuit board to other electrically powered elements or devices, such as one or more light sources or indicators disposed at the rear of the mirror reflective element (and viewable through the reflective element when powered, see Para. 0031).
Therefore, in view of Kendall and Kendall et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical circuitry of Roberts to provide separate conductive trace for the LED lighting module and electro-optic assembly and to terminate/connect the respective trace at a common centralized electrical connection, as taught by Kendall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to consolidate the electrical connections associated with multiple electrical functions of the mirror assembly thereby simplifying assembly and reducing the number of separate wiring connections between the mirror assembly and the vehicle wiring harness.
Regarding claim 6. Roberts in view of Kendall and Kendall et al. further discloses the power hub (a wire harness (not shown), see Para. 0084) includes a first connection (e.g. electrical conductors 207) to the first conductive trace, a second connection (e.g. 215, see Fig. 2, Para. 0084) to the second conductive trace, and a third connection (e.g. 207a-207c, see Fig. 2, Para. 0084) to the third conductive trace for providing power individually to the lighting module (218), the heating assembly (218), and the electro-optic assembly (222).
Regarding claim 7. The teachings of Roberts have been discussed above.
However, Roberts does not explicitly teaches that the electro-optic assembly further includes a pair of electric buses and at least one of the electric buses is connected to a conductive clip that is electrically coupled to the third conductive trace.
Kendall et al. further teaches the mirror assembly further incudes a pair of electric buses (34a, 34b) and disposed at the rear surface of the rear substrate for electrical connection to a spring-loaded connector (32, see Fig. 6, Para. 0017-0018).
Therefore, in view of Kendall et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical circuitry of Roberts to provide separate conductive trace for the LED lighting module and electro-optic assembly and a pair of electric buses to be connected to a conductive clip that is electrically coupled to the third conductive trace, as taught by Kendall et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to consolidate the electrical connections associated with multiple electrical functions of the mirror assembly thereby simplifying assembly and reducing the number of separate wiring connections between the mirror assembly and the vehicle wiring harness.
Regarding claim 8. Roberts further discloses the electro-optic assembly receives power from a pair of independent electro-optic wires (e.g. electrical conductors 207b and 207c) separate from the PCB (212, see Fig. 2, Para. 0081 and 0084).
Regarding claim 9. Roberts further discloses the independent electro-optic wires (e.g. electrical conductors 207b and 207c) each terminate at a different one of a pair of conductive element coupled to the first and second electrodes (see Fig. 2).
However, Roberts does not explicitly teaches that the pair of conductive element is clips.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roberts by providing a pair of conductive clips in order to effectively couple the electro-optic wires to the to the first and second electrodes, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, using a pair of conductive clips would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 10. Roberts further discloses the heating assembly defines an aperture (see Figs. 3, 10, and 11) and a component of the lighting module (218) is located on the PCB and aligned with the aperture to receive or transmit information therethrough (see Figs. 3, 7, and 10).
Regarding claim 11. Roberts further discloses including a cover (carrier 210, the bezel 224) that hermetically seals against the heating assembly (see Fig. 2, Para. 0083).
Regarding claim 12. The teachings of Roberts have been discussed above.
However, Roberts does not explicitly teaches that the heating assembly is electrically coupled to the second conductive trace with a compliant pin.
Kendall et al. further teaches using the connectors (32) that are electrically connected to respective wires or leads (36) from an electrical connector (38, see Para. 0015); wherein spring-loaded connecting elements or pins (32, see Fig. 4, Para. 0022) compress and the metallic or electrically conductive contact end is movable relative to the connector body and contact end of the pin to compress the connector.
Therefore, in view of Kendall et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roberts by providing a compliant pin in order to effectively couple the heating assembly to the second conductive trace, as taught by Kendall et al.. since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, using a compliant pin would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 13. Roberts discloses a mirror assembly (100, see Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0078 and 0099) for a vehicle (see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0071) comprising: a lighting module (LED lamp 218, Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0072, 0081 and 0099) that is configured to illuminate through a section of the mirror assembly (222, see Fig. 2); an electro-optic assembly (222, see Para. 0078, 0082) comprising: a front substrate (e.g. front transparent element 712, see Fig. 9, Para. 0099) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; a second substrate (rear transparent mirror element 700, see Fig. 9, Para. 0099) having a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface, the second and third surfaces facing each other to define a gap (see Fig. 8); a first electrode coupled to the second surface; a second electrode (reflector/electrode material of layer 703) coupled to the third surface; and an electro-optic medium (706, see Fig. 9, Para. 099) located between the first electrode and the second electrode; a printed circuit board (“PCB”, 212, see Figs. 2 and 8, Para. 0079) including a first conductive trace electrically coupled with the lighting module (see Para. 0081). Roberts further discloses a power hub (a wire harness (not shown), see Para. 0084) electrically coupled and providing power to both the lighting module (218) and the electro-optic assembly using electrical conductors (207, 207a-207c, and 215, see Figs. 2 and 3, Para. 0077, 0084 and 0166) and a circuit board (216, see Fig. 2) that is used to electrically connect the LED lamp to a controller (304) via circuit board (212) and cable (207a, see Fig. 2, Para. 0081) and a heater control circuit (314, see Fig. 3, Para. 0074). Roberts further discloses a circuit connecting LED lamp with other circuitry can thus be etched in the top layer (2006) of the printed circuit board (2001, see Figs. 20 and 21, Para. 0131).
However, Roberts does not explicitly teaches that a second conductive trace electrically coupled with the electro-optic assembly; and the power hub electrically coupled to the first and second conductive traces.
Kendall taches a mirror assembly (10, see Fig. 1) that includes a heater pad substate (18, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010) with a plurality of electrically conductive traces (20, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010); wherein the conductive traces may include traces for powering or controlling dimming of the electro-optic reflective element (12, see Fig. 1, Para. 0012). Kendall further taches the plurality of electrically conductive traces terminate at a centralized connector portion or region (22, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010 and 0011) of the heater pad, whereby a single electrical connection is made to the vehicle or mirror wiring harness during assembly of the mirror. Thus, Kendall taches consolidating multiple electrical functions of the vehicle mirror, including electro-optic and illumination/light source functions, through a common electrical connection.
Kendall et al. teaches a mirror assembly for a vehicle includes an electro-optic reflective element, a circuit element or board (such as a printed circuit board or PCB, 42′, see Fig. 9, Para. 0024) may be disposed at the attachment portion (30a′) with the pins or connecting elements (32′) disposed at and electrically connected at conductive traces of the PCB (42′); and a heater pad spring-loaded electrical connectors electrically connect to circuitry at the circuit board and provide power and/or control to the heater pad to control heating of the mirror reflective element of the exterior rearview mirror assembly. Optionally, other spring-loaded electrical connectors may be provided at and through the back plate for electrically connecting circuitry of the circuit board to other electrically powered elements or devices, such as one or more light sources or indicators disposed at the rear of the mirror reflective element (and viewable through the reflective element when powered, see Para. 0031).
Therefore, in view of Kendall and Kendall et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical circuitry of Roberts to provide separate conductive trace for the LED lighting module and electro-optic assembly and to terminate/connect the respective trace at a common centralized electrical connection, as taught by Kendall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to consolidate the electrical connections associated with multiple electrical functions of the mirror assembly thereby simplifying assembly and reducing the number of separate wiring connections between the mirror assembly and the vehicle wiring harness.
Regarding claim 14. The teachings of Roberts have been discussed above.
However, Roberts does not explicitly teaches that the electro-optic assembly is electrically coupled to the second conductive trace with a pair of conductive springs.
Kendall et al. further teaches the PCB or cover element (with the spring-loaded electrical connectors disposed thereat) may be part of an electrical connector that is disposed at the rear of the back plate and includes the wires (36) and plastic connector element (38), whereby the electrical connector is readily attached at the rear of the back plate before or after the back plate is attached at the reflective element. When the electrical connector (including the attaching element or PCB or cover and the spring-loaded pins and the wires and connector portion) is attached at the back plate, the spring-loaded pins are aligned with and urged or biased toward electrical connection with the conductive pads or busbars established at the rear surface of the reflective element (see Para. 0027, 0028).
Therefore, in view of Kendall et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roberts by providing a pair of conductive springs in order to provides enhanced assembly and electrical connection of the electro-optic assembly, as taught by Kendall et al.. since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, using a pair of conductive springs would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 15. Roberts further discloses including a heating assembly (214’, see Fig. 2, Para. 0072) that regulates a temperature to defrost or defog the front substrate (see Para. 0085).
Regarding claim 16. Roberts in view of Kendall and Kendall et al. further discloses the PCB includes a third conductive trace electrically coupled to the heating assembly, the third conductive trace receiving power from the power hub (a wire harness (not shown), see Para. 0084) includes a first connection (e.g. electrical conductors 207) to the first conductive trace, a second connection (e.g. 215, see Fig. 2, Para. 0084) to the second conductive trace, and a third connection (e.g. 207a-207c, see Fig. 2, Para. 0084) to the third conductive trace for providing power individually to the lighting module (218), the heating assembly (218), and the electro-optic assembly (222).
Regarding claim 17. Roberts further discloses the heating assembly (214’) receives power from a pair of independent heating wires (e.g., 215) separate from the PCB (212, Para. 0084).
Regarding claim 19. Roberts discloses a mirror assembly (100, see Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0078 and 0099) for a vehicle (see Figs. 1 and 2, Para. 0071) comprising: a lighting module (LED lamp 218, Figs. 2 and 7, Para. 0072 and 0081) that is configured to illuminate through a section of the mirror assembly (222, see Fig. 2); an electro-optic assembly (222, see Para. 0078 and 0082) comprising: a front substrate (e.g. front transparent element 712, see Fig. 9, Para. 0099) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; a second substrate (rear transparent mirror element 700, see Fig. 9, Para. 0099) having a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface, the second and third surfaces facing each other to define a gap (see Fig. 8); a first electrode coupled to the second surface; a second electrode (reflector/electrode material of layer 703) coupled to the third surface; and an electro-optic medium (706, see Fig. 9, Para. 099) located between the first electrode and the second electrode; a heat the mirror assembly (214’, see Fig. 2, Para. 0072); a printed circuit board (“PCB”, 212, see Figs. 2 and 8, Para. 0079) including a first conductive trace electrically coupled with the lighting module (see Para. 0081). Roberts further discloses a power hub (a wire harness (not shown), see Para. 0084) electrically coupled and providing power to each of the lighting module, the electro-optic assembly, and the heating assembly using electrical conductors (207, 207a-207c, and 215, see Figs. 2 and 3, Para. 0077, 0084 and 0166) and a circuit board (216, see Fig. 2) that is used to electrically connect the LED lamp to a controller (304) via circuit board (212) and cable (207a, see Fig. 2, Para. 0081) and a heater control circuit (314, see Fig. 3, Para. 0074). Roberts further discloses a circuit connecting LED lamp with other circuitry can thus be etched in the top layer (2006) of the printed circuit board (2001, see Figs. 20 and 21, Para. 0131).
However, Roberts does not explicitly teaches that a second conductive trace electrically coupled with the electro-optic assembly, and a third conductive trace electrically coupled with the heating assembly; and a power hub electrically coupled to the first, second, and third conductive trace.
Kendall taches a mirror assembly (10, see Fig. 1) that includes a heater pad substate (18, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010) with a plurality of electrically conductive traces (20, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010); wherein the conductive traces may include traces for powering or controlling dimming of the electro-optic reflective element (12, see Fig. 1, Para. 0012). Kendall further taches the plurality of electrically conductive traces terminate at a centralized connector portion or region (22, see Fig. 2, Para. 0010 and 0011) of the heater pad, whereby a single electrical connection is made to the vehicle or mirror wiring harness during assembly of the mirror. Thus, Kendall taches consolidating multiple electrical functions of the vehicle mirror, including electro-optic and illumination/light source functions, through a common electrical connection.
Kendall et al. teaches a mirror assembly for a vehicle includes an electro-optic reflective element, a circuit element or board (such as a printed circuit board or PCB, 42′, see Fig. 9, Para. 0024) may be disposed at the attachment portion (30a′) with the pins or connecting elements (32′) disposed at and electrically connected at conductive traces of the PCB (42′); and a heater pad spring-loaded electrical connectors electrically connect to circuitry at the circuit board and provide power and/or control to the heater pad to control heating of the mirror reflective element of the exterior rearview mirror assembly. Optionally, other spring-loaded electrical connectors may be provided at and through the back plate for electrically connecting circuitry of the circuit board to other electrically powered elements or devices, such as one or more light sources or indicators disposed at the rear of the mirror reflective element (and viewable through the reflective element when powered, see Para. 0031).
Therefore, in view of Kendall and Kendall et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical circuitry of Roberts to provide separate conductive trace for the LED lighting module the electro-optic assembly, and the heating assembly and to terminate/connect the respective trace at a common centralized electrical connection, as taught by Kendall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to consolidate the electrical connections associated with multiple electrical functions of the mirror assembly thereby simplifying assembly and reducing the number of separate wiring connections between the mirror assembly and the vehicle wiring harness.
Regarding claim 20. Roberts further discloses the electro-optic assembly (see Figs. 7 and 8) includes at least one aperture (openings 225 and openings through layer 704, see Figs. 7 and 9, Para. 0101 and 0113) providing an optical path for an illumination from the lighting module (LED 218, see Figs. 3, 7, and 9).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts in view of Kendall, Kendall et al. and further in view of Byers et al. (US 2006/0181772 hereinafter refer as “Byers”).
Regarding claim 18. The teachings of Roberts have been discussed above.
However, Roberts does not explicitly teaches that the each of the independent heating wires terminate at one of a pair of paddles, respectively, each paddle in contact with the heating assembly.
Byers teaches discloses a mirror assembly having an electro-optic reflective element and a heater pad (24, see Fig. 1, Para. 0024); wherein the heater pad includes a pair of electrically isolated heat conductive traces (36, see Fig. 1) and electrical connectors, tabs, or terminals (38, 40, see Fig. 6, Para. 0035).
Therefore, in view of Byers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical circuitry of Roberts to provide a pair of paddles such that each paddle in contact with the heating assembly to terminate/connect the respective trace at a common centralized electrical connection, as taught by Byers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide independent electrical powering of the heater and electro-optic functions and to simplify assembly and electrical connection of the heater to the vehicle wiring harness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Van Wyhe et al. (US 2013/0112679 hereinafter refer as “Van Wyhe”) discloses a heating element for use with a mirror element that includes a heating-element substrate, electrical terminals on the substrate configured to receive electrical power from a power source; Minikey et al. (US 2012/0206930) discloses an optical lighting assembly for use with a vehicular outside rearview mirror includes a printed circuit board (PCB) having a light source such as a light emitting diode (LED) mounted thereon; and Bonardi et al. (US 2002/0171954) discloses a rearview mirror assembly that includes a circuit board disposed behind the mirror.
/TSION TUMEBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875