DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Grounds of Rejection
The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), is withdrawn due to the claim amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the structure of the compound of Formula I is blurry, especially at the piperazine ring, wherein the various X-substituents are very blurry. Appropriate correction is required.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 95-98, 101, 103, 105, 107-110, 113, 115, and 117 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzie Ribeiro WO 2015/087283 A1 (IDS, 07/21/2026) in view of Adam Morgan WO 2014/028595 A1, Harbeson et al., US PG-PUB 2010/0221221 A1.
Ribeiro (page 1, line 7-9) teaches solid pharmaceutical dosage forms comprising the drug
substance 3-(2,6-dichloro-3,5-dimethoxy-phenyl)-1-{6-[4-(4-ethyl-piperazin-1-yl)-
phenylamino]-pyrimidin-4-yl}-1-methyl-urea or any pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. Ribeiro (page 1, line 20-22) teaches the compound of Formula I is a protein kinase inhibitor and is useful in the treatment of proliferative diseases mediated by protein kinases. Ribeiro (page 1, line 20-22) further teaches the compound inhibits FGFR1, FGFR2, FGFR3, FGFR4, which is comparable to the claimed non-deuterated compound infigratinib (specification, [0041]). Ribeiro,
however, does not explicitly teach compound of Formula I is deuterated.
Morgan (page 3, [9]; page 32, claim 16; page 3, [9]) teaches ponatinib (AP-24534), a protein kinase inhibitor and demonstrates potential as an inhibitor to VEGFR and FGFR. Morgan (page 2, [6]-[7]) teaches that replacement of hydrogen atoms with deuterium may improve the metabolic stability of a compound by slowing metabolic degradation and reducing the formation of undesirable metabolites. Morgan (page 2, [6]-[7]) further added that such improvement can enhance ADME properties and may improve efficacy, safety, and tolerability of a compound.
For example, Morgan (page 30, claim 1; page 31, claim 13) discloses compounds of Formula I, wherein one or more hydrogen atoms on the piperazine moiety are replaced with deuterium atoms. This suggests that the deuterated piperazine moiety is critical for the compound’s inhibitory potency. This approach is further supported by Harbeson (abstract; [0003] and [0008] page 1, [0002] and [0008]-[0010]; pages 19, [0213]) who teaches the same concept of deuterating the piperazine moiety of imatinib, a protein kinase inhibitor.
Given that both Morgan and Harbeson disclose protein kinase inhibitors containing piperazine moieties and teach deuterium substitution as a means of modifying ADME and metabolic properties. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to recognize that deuteration of piperazine moiety as a recognized strategy for improving metabolic, stability, efficacy, safety, and tolerability. Therefore, a POSITA would have been motivated to replace one or more hydrogen atoms on the piperazine moiety of Ribeiro’s compound with deuterium in view of Morgan and Harbeson’s disclosure with reasonable expectation that the such modification would enable the compound to not only retain its kinase inhibitory activity but also to improve its ADME and metabolic characteristics.
Subject Matter Free of the Art of Record
The subject matter of claims 99-100, 102, 104, 106, 111-112, 114, 116, and 118 is free of the art of record. The closest prior art is Suzie Ribeiro WO 2015/087283 A1, in view of Adam Morgan WO 2014/028595 A1 and Harbeson et al., US PG-PUB 2010/0221221 A1. Although the combined teachings of Ribeiro in view of Morgan and Harbeson teach deuteration of the piperazine moiety of compound, 3-(2,6-dichloro-3,5-dimethoxy-phenyl)-1-{6-[4-(4-ethyl-piperazin-1-yl)-phenylamino]-pyrimidin-4-yl}-1-methyl-urea, the prior art fails to teach or suggest deuteration of the ethyl substituent on the piperazine group. Therefore, there is no motivation for a POSITA to modify the teaching of prior art to arrive at the claimed compound. The instant application is not allowable until the 103 rejection is overcome.
Claims 99-100, 102, 104, 106, 111-112, 114, 116, and 118 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 95-98, 101, 103, 105, 107-110, 113, 115, and 117 are rejected. Claims 1, 99-100, 102, 104, 106, 111-112, 114, 116, and 118 are objected. No claims are allowed.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on July 21, 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.P.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622