Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2024 has been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (US 2021/0058826 A1; hereinafter “Mao”), in view of Alloum et al. (US 2024/0250780 A1; hereinafter “Alloum”), and further in view of Park (US 2017/0117987 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mao teaches a transceiver (FIG. 29 device 2900) configured to transmit at least one source packet in split and coded form ([0050] a packet is broken into several segments and network coding is performed to produce encoded segments, [0058] the node transmits the coded segments toward the destination), comprising:
a splitter (FIG. 29 baseband circuitry 2910 configured to process data units prior to encoding as disclosed in [0319], [0323]) configured to divide the at least one source packet into several source segments ([0050] a packet is broken into several segments, [0055] the node segments the packet into k segments);
an encoder (FIG. 29 baseband circuitry 2910; [0319]) configured to encode the several source segments by coding rule in order to acquire coded segments ([0050] network coding (linear combination) is performed on the segments to produce encoded segments, [0222] linear combinations of segments are formed to produce encoded segments).
However, Mao does not teach a transmitter configured to transmit the coded segments as PHY packets by means of a plurality of cycles each comprising a plurality of subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots; wherein the coding rule specifies transfer of the plurality of source segments by means of forward error correction, and wherein the coding rule specifies an order such that a coding degree of the coded segments transmitted in the last PHY packet is reduced or reduced to coding degree 1.
In an analogous art, Alloum teaches a transmitter (FIG. 6 transmitter 615) configured to transmit the coded segments as PHY packets by means of a plurality of cycles each comprising a plurality of subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots ([0116] generation and distribution coded packets for transmission, [0061] rules applied when outer coding is used, [0148] further teaches that the network configures parameters including rules governing feedback and operation based on the coded transmission, thereby transmission behavior governed by rules associated with the coded data);
wherein the coding rule specifies transfer of the plurality of source segments by means of forward error correction ([0110] HARQ includes a forward error correction (FEC), [0133] discloses generation of coded segments including source and parity segment for transmission, thereby transfer of source segments using forward error correction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
However, the combination of Mao and Alloum does not teach wherein the coding rule specifies an order such that a coding degree of the coded segments transmitted in the last PHY packet is reduced or reduced to coding degree 1.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein the coding rule specifies an order such that a coding degree of the coded segments transmitted in the last PHY packet is reduced or reduced to coding degree 1 (FIG. 4; [0015] and [0045] disclose that encoding vectors are structured according to packet sequence and include varying the number of zero elements, because each encoded packet is formed as a linear combination defined by the encoding vector, the number non-zero coefficients corresponds to the coding degree, [0046] further discloses encoding matrices in which later columns may contains zero elements, resulting in encoded packets that depend on fewer original packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an encoding matrix as taught by Park within the parameter of Mao and Alloum. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce delay times and recover the loss of packets to enhance data transmission quality (Park [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Park teaches wherein the coding rule specifies an order such that a coding degree of the coded segments transmitted in the first PHY packet is reduced or reduced to coding degree 1 ([0045] discloses an encoding matrix in which the mth encoding vector has non-zero elements in the first to mth columns and zero elements in subsequent columns. Accordingly, the first encoding vector contains a single non-zero element in the first column, resulting in a coding degree of one for the first encoded packet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an encoding matrix as taught by Park within the parameter of Mao and Alloum. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce delay times and recover the loss of packets to enhance data transmission quality (Park [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Park teaches wherein the coding rule is in the form of a coding matrix, wherein the coding matrix specifies the coding degree 1 at least for the first and/or last coded segment ([0045] discloses an encoding matrix in which the mth encoding vector has non-zero elements in the first to mth columns and zeros thereafter, whereby the first encoding vector contains a single non-zero element, resulting in coding degree 1 for the first coded segment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an encoding matrix as taught by Park within the parameter of Mao and Alloum. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce delay times and recover the loss of packets to enhance data transmission quality (Park [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Park teaches wherein a number k of n coded segments is sufficient for decoding the n source segments if the number k is at least equal to or greater than a number n of the source segments ([0045] discloses encoding original packets into a plurality of encoded packets using an encoding matrix, [0052] further discloses that the decoding apparatus recovers the original packets from the encoded packets using the encoding matrix by Gauss-Jordan elimination. Since Gauss-Jordan elimination solves a system of linear equations, a number k of encoded packets that is equal to or greater than the number n of original packets is sufficient to recover the n original packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an encoding matrix as taught by Park within the parameter of Mao and Alloum. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce delay times and recover the loss of packets to enhance data transmission quality (Park [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Alloum teaches wherein the plurality of cycles each comprise at least a first and a second subcycle which are transmitted at different frequencies or simultaneously at different frequencies ([0085] discloses that a slot may be divided into multiple mini-slots, [0087] discloses multiplexing using frequency division multiplexing, thereby evidencing transmission over different frequencies within transmission intervals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Alloum teaches wherein a PHY packet is transmitted over several slots or over several slots of equal frequency ([0137] discloses that communications occur according to a frame structure comprising multiple slots, [0138] discloses downlink transmissions comprising segments or frames transmitted in slots, thereby evidencing transmission of data over multiple slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Alloum teaches wherein the coding rule specifies a weighting factor ([0104] discloses applying amplitude or phase offsets defined by a beamforming weigh set, [0107] discloses precoding weights for beamforming, thereby evidencing the use of weighting factors applied to signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Alloum teaches wherein in each cycle and/or in each subcycle an area for control commands, in particular for channel code control commands, is provided ([0087] discloses that a control region for a physical control channel (e.g., CORESET) is defined within the transmission resources, [0137] discloses a repeating frame structure including slots, thereby evidencing that an area for control commands is provided within each transmission cycle or subcycle), and
wherein signaling of the transmission of the first and second of the coded segments in the first subcycle and/or of the first and second of the coded segments in a subcycle is in the area for control commands, in particular an empty field, in the area for control commands ([0138] discloses feedback signaling associated with reception of coded segments, [0087] discloses that control information is transmitted via a physical control channel within a defined control region (CORESET), thereby evidencing signaling of coded segment transmissions within an area for control commands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Alloum teaches wherein the signaling of the transmission of the first and second of the coded segments in the first subcycle and/or of the first and second coded segments in a subcycle is performed via a checksum, a CRC value and/or a CRC-32 value, or the signaling of the transmission of the first and second of the coded segments in the first subcycle and/or of the first and second coded segments is performed via a checksum of a respective subcycle or of an area of a subcycle defined for a specific transmission ([0110] discloses that HARQ procedures include error detection using a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for transmissions, [0138] discloses feedback signaling associated with reception of downlink segments (e.g., frames, TBs, MAC PDUs), [0087] discloses transmission of control signaling via a physical control channel, thereby evidencing signaling associated with transmission of coded segments using a checksum or CRC value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Alloum teaches wherein one or more downlink packets or multicast downlink packets are transmitted in each subcycle ([0138] discloses that a network entity transmits downlink transmissions including frames, transport blocks, or MAC PDUs during downlink slots, thereby evidencing transmission of one or more downlink packets during each transmission interval).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Mao teaches a sensor and/or actuator node (FIG. 29 sensor circuitry 2921 and electro-mechanical components (EMCs) 2922) comprising a transceiver according to claim 1, configured to transmit coded segments as an uplink in an uplink area of the respective subcycle assigned to the node ([0284] discloses baseband circuitry and radio front-end modules (transceiver), [0050] a packet is divided into segments and network coding is performed to produce encoded segments, [0051] distributing packet segments between nodes along network paths, thereby evidencing transmission of coded segments by a node).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Mao teaches a master node (FIG. 28 RAN node 2800; [0050] destination node) comprising a transceiver according to claim 1, configured to receive coded segments from the uplink and/or to transmit a packet in downlink ([0050] a packet is divided into segments and network coding is performed to produce encoded segments that are distributed across multiple paths and accumulated at a destination node, [0284] discloses baseband circuitry and radio front-end modules (transceiver)).
Regarding claim 14, Mao teaches a further transceiver (FIG. 28 RAN node 2800) configured to receive at least one source packet which is split and coded ([0050] a packet is broken into several segments and network coding is performed to produce encoded segments, [0058] the node transmits the coded segments toward the destination), comprising:
a decoder (FIG. 28 baseband circuitry 2810; [0319]) configured to decode the coded segments in order to acquire source segments ([0050] discloses that network coding generates encoded segments from packet segments and that a destination node accumulates encoded segments in order to recover the original packet segments);
a combiner (FIG. 28 baseband circuitry 2810) configured to assemble the source segments to form at least one source packet ([0050] discloses that a packet is divided into several segments and that the destination node recovers the original packet once sufficient encoded segments corresponding to the segments are accumulated);
However, Mao does not teach a receiver configured to receive several PHY packets, each PHY packet comprising a coded segment and being transmitted by means of a plurality of cycles each comprising a plurality of subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots; wherein the decoder is configured to perform decoding as soon as a number k of coded segments has been received, wherein the number k corresponds to at least a number n of the source segments.
In an analogous art, Alloum teaches a receiver (FIG. 6 receiver 610) configured to receive several PHY packets, each PHY packet comprising a coded segment and being transmitted by means of a plurality of cycles each comprising a plurality of subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots ([0116] generation and distribution coded packets for transmission, [0061] rules applied when outer coding is used, [0148] further teaches that the network configures parameters including rules governing feedback and operation based on the coded transmission, thereby transmission behavior governed by rules associated with the coded data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
However, the combination Mao and Alloum does not teach wherein the decoder is configured to perform decoding as soon as a number k of coded segments has been received, wherein the number k corresponds to at least a number n of the source segments.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein the decoder is configured to perform decoding as soon as a number k of coded segments has been received, wherein the number k corresponds to at least a number n of the source segments ([0045] discloses encoding original packets into a plurality of encoded packets using an encoding matrix, [0052] further discloses that the decoding apparatus recovers the original packets from the encoded packets using the encoding matrix by Gauss-Jordan elimination. Since Gauss-Jordan elimination solves a system of linear equations, a number k of encoded packets that is equal to the number n of original packets is sufficient to recover the n original packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an encoding matrix as taught by Park within the parameter of Mao and Alloum. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce delay times and recover the loss of packets to enhance data transmission quality (Park [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park, specifically Park teaches wherein the decoder uses a coding matrix and/or submatrices derivable from the coding matrix for decoding ([0037] discloses the decoding apparatus uses the encoding matrix to recover the original packets, [0052] discloses decoding using the encoding matrix by Gauss Jordan Elimination).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an encoding matrix as taught by Park within the parameter of Mao and Alloum. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce delay times and recover the loss of packets to enhance data transmission quality (Park [0034]).
Regarding claim 18, Mao teaches a method ([0300] methods) of operating a transceiver (FIG. 29 device 2900) according to claim 1, comprising:
transmitting, in a split and coded form, at least one source packet ([0050] a packet is broken into several segments and network coding is performed to produce encoded segments, [0058] the node transmits the coded segments toward the destination), comprising the following substeps:
dividing the at least one source packet into a plurality of source segments ([0050] a packet is broken into several segments, [0055] the node segments the packet into k segments);
encoding the plurality of source segments by coding rule to acquire coded segments ([0050] network coding (linear combination) is performed on the segments to produce encoded segments, [0222] linear combinations of segments are formed to produce encoded segments);
However, Mao does not teach transmitting the coded segments as PHY packets by means of several cycles each comprising several subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots; wherein the coding rule specifies transferring the plurality of source segments by means of forward error correction, and wherein the coding rule specifies an order such that a coding degree of the coded segments transmitted in the last PHY packet is reduced or reduced to coding degree 1.
In an analogous art, Alloum teaches transmitting the coded segments as PHY packets by means of several cycles each comprising several subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots ([0116] generation and distribution coded packets for transmission, [0061] rules applied when outer coding is used, [0148] further teaches that the network configures parameters including rules governing feedback and operation based on the coded transmission, thereby transmission behavior governed by rules associated with the coded data);
wherein the coding rule specifies transferring the plurality of source segments by means of forward error correction ([0110] HARQ includes a forward error correction (FEC), [0133] discloses generation of coded segments including source and parity segment for transmission, thereby transfer of source segments using forward error correction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
However, the combination of Mao and Alloum does not teach wherein the coding rule specifies an order such that a coding degree of the coded segments transmitted in the last PHY packet is reduced or reduced to coding degree 1.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein the coding rule specifies an order such that a coding degree of the coded segments transmitted in the last PHY packet is reduced or reduced to coding degree 1 (FIG. 4; [0015] and [0045] disclose that encoding vectors are structured according to packet sequence and include varying the number of zero elements, because each encoded packet is formed as a linear combination defined by the encoding vector, the number non-zero coefficients corresponds to the coding degree, [0046] further discloses encoding matrices in which later columns may contains zero elements, resulting in encoded packets that depend on fewer original packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an encoding matrix as taught by Park within the parameter of Mao and Alloum. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce delay times and recover the loss of packets to enhance data transmission quality (Park [0034]).
Regarding claim 19, a method ([0287] methods) of operating a transceiver (FIG. 28 RAN node 2800) according to claim 14, comprising:
decoding the coded segments to acquire source segments ([0050] discloses that network coding generates encoded segments from packet segments and that a destination node accumulates encoded segments in order to recover the original packet segments);
assembling the source segments to form at least one source packet ([0050] discloses that a packet is divided into several segments and that the destination node recovers the original packet once sufficient encoded segments corresponding to the segments are accumulated);
However, Mao does not teach receiving several PHY packets, each PHY packet comprising a coded segment and being transmitted by means of a plurality of cycles each comprising a plurality of subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots; wherein decoding takes place as soon as a number k of coded segments has been received, wherein the number k corresponds to at least a number n of the source segments.
In an analogous art, Alloum teaches receiving several PHY packets, each PHY packet comprising a coded segment and being transmitted by means of a plurality of cycles each comprising a plurality of subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots ([0116] generation and distribution coded packets for transmission, [0061] rules applied when outer coding is used, [0148] further teaches that the network configures parameters including rules governing feedback and operation based on the coded transmission, thereby transmission behavior governed by rules associated with the coded data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
However, the combination Mao and Alloum does not teach wherein decoding takes place as soon as a number k of coded segments has been received, wherein the number k corresponds to at least a number n of the source segments.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein decoding takes place as soon as a number k of coded segments has been received, wherein the number k corresponds to at least a number n of the source segments ([0045] discloses encoding original packets into a plurality of encoded packets using an encoding matrix, [0052] further discloses that the decoding apparatus recovers the original packets from the encoded packets using the encoding matrix by Gauss-Jordan elimination. Since Gauss-Jordan elimination solves a system of linear equations, a number k of encoded packets that is equal to the number n of original packets is sufficient to recover the n original packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an encoding matrix as taught by Park within the parameter of Mao and Alloum. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce delay times and recover the loss of packets to enhance data transmission quality (Park [0034]).
Regarding claim 20, Mao teaches a non-transitory digital storage medium ([0297] FIG. 29 Application circuitry 2905 includes a memory) having a computer program stored thereon to perform a method ([0300]) of operating a transceiver (FIG. 29 device 2900) according to claim 1, comprising:
transmitting, in a split and coded form, at least one source packet ([0050] a packet is broken into several segments and network coding is performed to produce encoded segments, [0058] the node transmits the coded segments toward the destination), comprising the following substeps:
dividing the at least one source packet into a plurality of source segments ([0050] a packet is broken into several segments, [0055] the node segments the packet into k segments);
encoding the plurality of source segments by coding rule to acquire coded segments ([0050] network coding (linear combination) is performed on the segments to produce encoded segments, [0222] linear combinations of segments are formed to produce encoded segments).
However, Mao does not teach transmitting the coded segments as PHY packets by means of several cycles each comprising several subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots; wherein the coding rule specifies transferring the plurality of source segments by means of forward error correction, and wherein the coding rule specifies an order such that a coding degree of the coded segments transmitted in the last PHY packet is reduced or reduced to coding degree 1, when the computer program is run by a computer.
In an analogous art, Alloum teaches transmitting the coded segments as PHY packets by means of several cycles each comprising several subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots ([0116] generation and distribution coded packets for transmission, [0061] rules applied when outer coding is used, [0148] further teaches that the network configures parameters including rules governing feedback and operation based on the coded transmission, thereby transmission behavior governed by rules associated with the coded data);
wherein the coding rule specifies transferring the plurality of source segments by means of forward error correction ([0110] HARQ includes a forward error correction (FEC), [0133] discloses generation of coded segments including source and parity segment for transmission, thereby transfer of source segments using forward error correction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
However, the combination of Mao and Alloum does not teach wherein the coding rule specifies an order such that a coding degree of the coded segments transmitted in the last PHY packet is reduced or reduced to coding degree 1, when the computer program is run by a computer.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein the coding rule specifies an order such that a coding degree of the coded segments transmitted in the last PHY packet is reduced or reduced to coding degree 1 (FIG. 4; [0015] and [0045] disclose that encoding vectors are structured according to packet sequence and include varying the number of zero elements, because each encoded packet is formed as a linear combination defined by the encoding vector, the number non-zero coefficients corresponds to the coding degree, [0046] further discloses encoding matrices in which later columns may contains zero elements, resulting in encoded packets that depend on fewer original packets), when the computer program is run by a computer ([0068] a program that may be executed on the computer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an encoding matrix as taught by Park within the parameter of Mao and Alloum. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce delay times and recover the loss of packets to enhance data transmission quality (Park [0034]).
Regarding claim 21, a non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform a method ([0287] FIG. 28 Application circuitry 2805 includes a memory to perform methods) of operating a transceiver (FIG. 28 RAN node 2800) according to claim 14, comprising:
decoding the coded segments to acquire source segments; assembling the source segments to form at least one source packet ([0050] discloses that network coding generates encoded segments from packet segments and that a destination node accumulates encoded segments in order to recover the original packet segments).
However, Mao does not teach receiving several PHY packets, each PHY packet comprising a coded segment and being transmitted by means of a plurality of cycles each comprising a plurality of subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots.
In an analogous art, Alloum teaches receiving several PHY packets, each PHY packet comprising a coded segment and being transmitted by means of a plurality of cycles each comprising a plurality of subcycles, each subcycle comprising several slots ([0116] generation and distribution coded packets for transmission, [0061] rules applied when outer coding is used, [0148] further teaches that the network configures parameters including rules governing feedback and operation based on the coded transmission, thereby transmission behavior governed by rules associated with the coded data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coded packet as taught by Alloum within the parameter of Mao. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve power savings and more efficient use of system resources (Alloum [0003]).
However, the combination Mao and Alloum does not teach wherein decoding takes place as soon as a number k of coded segments has been received, wherein the number k corresponds to at least a number n of the source segments.
In an analogous art, Park teaches wherein decoding takes place as soon as a number k of coded segments has been received, wherein the number k corresponds to at least a number n of the source segments ([0045] discloses encoding original packets into a plurality of encoded packets using an encoding matrix, [0052] further discloses that the decoding apparatus recovers the original packets from the encoded packets using the encoding matrix by Gauss-Jordan elimination. Since Gauss-Jordan elimination solves a system of linear equations, a number k of encoded packets that is equal to the number n of original packets is sufficient to recover the n original packets), when the computer program is run by a computer ([0068] a program that may be executed on the computer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an encoding matrix as taught by Park within the parameter of Mao and Alloum. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce delay times and recover the loss of packets to enhance data transmission quality (Park [0034]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao, in view of Alloum, in view of Park, and further in view of Jacobsson et al. (US 2024/0372667 A1; hereinafter “Jacobsson”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park does not teach wherein the different frequencies form a frequency hopping pattern over several cycles and/or per cycle and/or per subcycle; and/or wherein the frequency hopping pattern is predefined.
In an analogous art, Jacobsson teaches wherein the different frequencies form a frequency hopping pattern over several cycles and/or per cycle and/or per subcycle; and/or wherein the frequency hopping pattern is predefined ([0071] frequency hopping pattern may be configured. The start position per frequency hop may vary over symbols and slots according to a predefined pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a predefined pattern as taught by Jacobsson within the parameter of Mao, Alloum and Park. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the random-access speed and/or reduce random access failure rates with benefits such as faster and/or more reliable random access (Jacobsson [0352]).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao, in view of Alloum, in view of Park, and further in view of SUMMERSON et al. (US 2013/0230058 A1; hereinafter “SUMMERSON”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Mao, Alloum and Park does not teach wherein reducing is performed by excluding from the inverse matrices or submatrices associated with a certain PHY packet if the certain PHY packet is not received, or by using the inverse matrices or submatrices associated with a certain PHY packet if the particular PHY packet is received.
In an analogous art, SUMMERSON teaches wherein reducing is performed by excluding from the inverse matrices or submatrices associated with a certain PHY packet if the certain PHY packet is not received, or by using the inverse matrices or submatrices associated with a certain PHY packet if the particular PHY packet is received ([0030] discloses that a network code matrix is generated that maps k message packets to N encoded packets and that recovery of the original packets depends on whether a subset of encoded packets corresponds to linearly independent columns of the network code matrix, thereby evidencing the use of a coding matrix and submatrices derived therefrom for decoding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the network code matrix as taught by SUMMERSON within the parameter of Mao, Alloum and Park. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduces the number of retransmissions to improve the capacity and efficiency of network transmission (SUMMERSON [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Mao, Alloum, Park and SUMMERSON, specifically SUMMERSON teaches wherein the decoder is configured to perform partial decoding based on already received coded packets using the retained and/or retained inverse matrices or reduced partial matrices ([0054] discloses that a known network code matrix A may be used and that the inverse of the network code matrix A may be pre-computed and optimized at the receiver, indicating that the receiver retains the coding matrix or related matrices for decoding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the network code matrix as taught by SUMMERSON within the parameter of Mao, Alloum and Park. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduces the number of retransmissions to improve the capacity and efficiency of network transmission (SUMMERSON [0003]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2020/0304253 A1 (Choi et al.) discloses a method for transmitting and receiving feedback information and vehicle therefor.
US 2022/0053371 A1 (YU et al.) discloses an overlapping basic service set (BSS) status indication for an access point (AP) cooperative transmission.
US 2023/0308197 A1 (GRESSET et al.) discloses systems which may use given radiofrequency channels, such as for example frequency hopping in ISM public bands.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413