DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference number “129” is used for bearing instead of “145” repeatedly from page 22 on
Appropriate correction is required.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The phrases “first radial thickness region” and “second radial thickness region” in claims 1 and 2 are not in the specification
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “to support of spoke tension moves” in the last line of claim 1 is grammatically incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 8, and 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a circumferential skew angle” in line 2. Claim 4, which claim 5 is dependent on, already introduces “a circumferential skew angle”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the rim according to claim 2, wherein said face axis…” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein said face axis is… generally collinear with said face axis”. It is unclear what is meant by stating the face axis is collinear with itself.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein said outboard surface is axially skewed from said radial axis by an axial skew angle”. It is not clear how the outboard surface would be axially skewed from the radial axis. It is assumed the “outboard surface” is intended to be referring to a “spoke hole axis” or “face axis”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “wherein said entrance edge is configured to provide a bearing surface for engagement…” in lines 2 and 3. It is unclear and confusing for an entrance edge which is “at the intersection between said spoke hole and said bearing surface” to also provide “a bearing surface”
Claim 15 recites the limitation “said spoke hole is configured to receive a spoke therein”. It is unclear if the spoke hole is receiving the same spoke referenced in claim 1 or a secondary spoke.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “A method for producing a vehicle wheel rim, wherein said vehicle wheel rim is a pre-formed element…”. Applicant is claiming a method to produce an element which is already pre-formed and does not have steps to produce the pre-formed element. The method should be for producing a product which comprises the pre-formed element, not for producing the pre-formed element itself.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “said spoke hole” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “said spoke bed” in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 19 is a product claim which is dependent on claim 18 which is a method claim. Claim 19 does not encompass all of the limitations of claim 18 as the “vehicle wheel rim according to claim 18” could be produced in a way that is different from the method claimed in claim 18 (e.g. by adding material around an area to create a recessed surface instead of removing material in the recessed surface area), therefore it is in improper dependent form. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 20-22 are dependent on rejected claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai DE 202010008213 U1 in view of Passarotto US 7140695 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches a rim for a vehicle wheel, including: an axial axis; a radial axis (runs along plane 15 and will be referred to reference number 15) perpendicular to said axial axis; a spoke bed wall 1 that includes: an inboard surface facing radially inwardly; an outboard surface facing radially outwardly; and a radial thickness between said inboard surface and said outboard surface; a spoke hole 11 extending through said spoke bed wall 1 and configured to receive a spoke 41, wherein said spoke hole 11 includes: an inboard opening at said inboard surface; an outboard opening at said outboard surface; a spoke hole sidewall extending between said inboard opening and said outboard opening; and a spoke hole axis ‘X’; wherein said outboard surface includes a radially inwardly recessed surface 12 adjacent said outboard opening and within said first radial thickness region; wherein at least a portion of said recessed surface 12 is configured to provide a bearing surface 12 for engagement with said spoke 41 and to support of spoke tension forces. (Fig. 2A)
Tsai does not teach wherein at least one of said inboard surface and said outboard surface is radially variable to provide a first radial thickness region laterally surrounding said spoke hole and a second radial thickness region circumferentially offset from said first radial thickness region and of reduced radial thickness relative to said first radial thickness region. Passarotto teaches an inboard surface with thicker regions around the spoke holes to improve the strength of the rim around spoke while lightening the rim as whole by having thinner regions in the areas between spokes. (Fig. 1; col. 3, line 63 – col. 4, line 3) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the regions around the spoke holes thicker to ensure adequate strength while keeping the weight of the rim down with thinner areas in between spoke holes with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 1. Tsai does not teach, but Passarotto teaches, wherein said inboard surface is radially variable to include a radially inboard portion adjacent said first radial thickness region and a radially outboard portion adjacent second radial thickness region and radially outboard of said inboard portion. (Fig. 1; col. 3, line 63 – col. 4, line 3) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the regions around the spoke holes thicker to ensure adequate strength while keeping the weight of the rim down with thinner areas in between spoke holes with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 1. Tsai further teaches wherein said bearing surface 12 includes a revolved surface that is revolved about a face axis (collinear with spoke hole axis X) and circumscribes said spoke hole axis X by a circumscribing angle greater than 180 degrees. (Fig. 2A)
Regarding claim 4, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 3. Tsai further teaches wherein said face axis is at least one of: (i) axially skewed from said radial axis 15 by an axial skew angle (Fig. 2); and (ii) circumferentially skewed from said radial axis 15 by a circumferential skew angle (Fig. 3 shows the spokes are circumferentially skewed from the radial axis and so it is clear the spoke hole axis/face axis would also be circumferentially skewed because the object of the invention of Tsai is to ensure the spoke sits flat on the load bearing surface 12).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 4. Tsai further teaches wherein said face axis X is circumferentially skewed from said radial axis 15 by a circumferential skew angle (Fig. 3 shows the spokes are circumferentially skewed from the radial axis and so it is clear the spoke hole axis/face axis would also be circumferentially skewed because the object of the invention of Tsai is to ensure the spoke sits flat on the load bearing surface 12).
Tsai does not expressly state wherein said circumferential angle is between two (2) degrees and ten (10) degrees. However, Tsai does show in Fig. 3, spokes configured in a similar angle to those shown in Fig. 6e of the instant application and so can be assumed to teach the same circumferential angle (2-10 degrees) as claimed in the instant application (i.e. spokes skewed enough to attach to a point on the hub which is not radially directly across from the spoke attachment point on the rim). Passarotto also shows in Fig. 10 spokes which are attached to point on the hub which is not radially directly across from the spoke attachment point on the rim. Furthermore, it is well known in the art to skew spokes in a circumferential direction to alter the stability of the wheel with the way the spoke tension is applied. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the spokes to be angled between 2 and 10 degrees, as a matter of routine optimization (MPEP 2144.05) (a straight spoke can only be skewed a certain amount before the hub will prevent it from being skewed farther so there are a limited number of angles the spoke can realistically be skewed) to achieve the desired stability, spoke tension, and spoke alignment with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 2. Tsai further teaches wherein said face axis is at least one of: (i) generally parallel to said spoke hole axis X; and (ii) generally collinear with said face axis (Fig. 2) (it assumed this second reference to “face axis” should be referring to “spoke hole axis” X).
Regarding claim 7, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 3. Tsai further teaches wherein said face axis is axially skewed from said radial axis 15 by an axial skew angle and said axial skew angle is at least four degrees. (Fig. 2A; para 13 of the English language translation)
Regarding claim 8, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 1. It is assumed that the “outboard surface” referenced in claim 8 was intended to refer to the “face axis” to be consistent with the specification and drawings because the “outboard surface” is not shown or described as being skewed. Under that assumption, Tsai further teaches wherein said face axis is axially skewed from said radial axis 15 by an axial skew angle, wherein said axial angle is at least four degrees. (Fig. 2A; para 13 of the English language translation)
Regarding claim 9, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 1. Tsai does not teach, but Passarotto teaches wherein said first radial thickness region extends laterally outward by a lateral margin and said lateral margin is at least one millimeter. (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 44-46 state the thickness is preferably 1.8 mm and the width of the thickened region on the outside of the spoke hole is clearly much larger than the thickness)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the thickened region extend laterally outward from the recessed area by a lateral margin of at least 1 mm to ensure the thickened region is strong enough and effective with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 3. Tsai further teaches wherein said bearing surface 12 is a flat planar surface extending perpendicular to said face axis. (Fig. 2A)
Regarding claim 11, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 3. Tsai further teaches wherein said bearing surface 12 fully circumscribes said spoke hole axis by 360 degrees. (Fig. 2A)
Regarding claim 14, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 1. Tsai further teaches including an entrance edge at the intersection between said spoke hole 11 and said bearing surface 12, wherein said entrance edge is configured to provide a bearing surface for engagement with said vehicle wheel spoke 12 to support spoke tension forces. (Fig. 2; the entrance edge helps support and act as a bearing surface in addition to the planar bearing surface 12)
Regarding claim 15, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 1. Tsai further teaches wherein: said spoke hole 11 is configured to receive a spoke 41 therein; said spoke 41 includes an engagement surface 422 for blocking engagement with said bearing surface 12 to support spoke tension forces; and said bearing surface 12 is generally matched to said engagement surface 422. (Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 16, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 15. Tsai further teaches wherein said engagement surface 422 is in a spoke nipple 42 connected to said spoke 41. Tsai does not teach wherein said spoke nipple is an external spoke nipple. External spoke nipples are well known in the art as a way to have easier access to adjusting the spoke tension. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use external spoke nipples to more easily adjust the tension of the spokes with a reasonable expectation of success. Official notice is hereby given.
Regarding claim 17, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 15. Tsai further teaches wherein said engagement surface 422 is in a spoke nipple 42 connected to said spoke 41 and said spoke nipple 42 is an internal spoke nipple. (Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 18, Tsai teaches a method for producing a vehicle wheel rim, wherein said vehicle wheel rim is a pre-formed element comprising: an axial axis; a radial axis (runs along plane 15 and will be referred to reference number 15) perpendicular to said axial axis; a spoke bed wall 1 that includes: an inboard surface facing radially inwardly; an outboard surface facing radially outwardly; and a radial thickness between said inboard surface and said outboard surface; said method comprising the steps of: (a) initially pre-forming said rim, (b) subsequently displacing and/or removing material from said spoke bed wall 1 adjacent said outboard surface to form a radially inwardly recessed surface 12 within said first radial thickness region, wherein at least a portion of said recessed surface 12 is configured to provide a bearing surface for engagement with a vehicle wheel spoke 41 to support spoke tension forces therebetween. (Fig. 2; para. 13 of the English language translation)
Tsai does not teach, but Passarotto teaches wherein at least one of said inboard surface and said outboard surface is radially variable to provide a first radial thickness ‘S2’ region laterally surrounding said spoke hole 6 and a second radial thickness ‘S1’ region circumferentially offset from said first radial thickness ‘S2’ region and of reduced radial thickness relative to said first radial thickness ‘S2” region (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the area around the spoke hole thicker to improve strength and tension resistance of the rim without making the entire spoke bed wall thicker so as to save weight with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, Tsai and Passarotto teach the vehicle wheel rim according to claim 18. Tsai further teaches the vehicle wheel rim including a spoke hole 11 extending through said spoke bed wall 1 and configured to receive a spoke 41, wherein said spoke hole 11 includes: an inboard opening at said inboard surface; an outboard opening at said outboard surface; and a spoke hole axis ‘X’; wherein said recessed surface 12 is adjacent said outboard opening.
Claims 20-22 are considered product-by-process claims which have no added structural limitations to the vehicle wheel rim over claim 19. The recessed surface being formed subsequent to, prior to, or at the same time as the spoke hole does not alter the structure or the finished product and so the rejection to claim 19 also applies to claims 20-22
Regarding claim 23, Tsai and Passarotto teach the method according to claim 18. Tsai further teaches wherein said recessed surface 12 is formed by a rotary cutting tool that is rotated about a rotary axis to remove material from said spoke bed wall 1 (para. 13 of the English language translation).
Claims 1, 3, 12, 18, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai DE 202010008213 U1 in view of Shook US 7490406 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches a rim for a vehicle wheel, including: an axial axis; a radial axis (runs along plane 15 and will be referred to reference number 15) perpendicular to said axial axis; a spoke bed wall 1 that includes: an inboard surface facing radially inwardly; an outboard surface facing radially outwardly; and a radial thickness between said inboard surface and said outboard surface; a spoke hole 11 extending through said spoke bed wall 1 and configured to receive a spoke 41, wherein said spoke hole 11 includes: an inboard opening at said inboard surface; an outboard opening at said outboard surface; a spoke hole sidewall extending between said inboard opening and said outboard opening; and a spoke hole axis ‘X’; wherein said outboard surface includes a radially inwardly recessed surface 12 adjacent said outboard opening and within said first radial thickness region; wherein at least a portion of said recessed surface 12 is configured to provide a bearing surface 12 for engagement with said spoke 41 and to support of spoke tension forces. (Fig. 2A)
Tsai does not teach wherein at least one of said inboard surface and said outboard surface is radially variable to provide a first radial thickness region laterally surrounding said spoke hole and a second radial thickness region circumferentially offset from said first radial thickness region and of reduced radial thickness relative to said first radial thickness region. Shook teaches wherein said outboard surface is radially variable to provide a first radial thickness region 42’ laterally surrounding said spoke hole 48 and a second radial thickness region circumferentially offset from said first radial thickness region 42’ and of reduced radial thickness relative to said first radial thickness region 42’ (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the area around the spoke hole thicker to improve strength of the rim around the spoke holes without making the entire spoke bed wall thicker so as to save weight with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Tsai and Shook teach the rim according to claim 1. Tsai further teaches wherein said bearing surface 12 includes a revolved surface that is revolved about a face axis (collinear with spoke hole axis X) and circumscribes said spoke hole axis X by a circumscribing angle greater than 180 degrees. (Fig. 2A)
Regarding claim 12, Tsai and Shook teach the rim according to claim 3. Shook teaches wherein said bearing surface 60 is a conical surface that is revolved about said face axis (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a conical bearing surface to alter the way the tensile forces from the spoke are spread through the rim with a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, the conical bearing surface would help to wedge the spoke head or spoke nipple against the rim and prevent unwanted side to side movement and flex
Regarding claim 18, Tsai teaches a method for producing a vehicle wheel rim, wherein said vehicle wheel rim is a pre-formed element comprising: an axial axis; a radial axis (runs along plane 15 and will be referred to reference number 15) perpendicular to said axial axis; a spoke bed wall 1 that includes: an inboard surface facing radially inwardly; an outboard surface facing radially outwardly; and a radial thickness between said inboard surface and said outboard surface; said method comprising the steps of: (a) initially pre-forming said rim, (b) subsequently displacing and/or removing material from said spoke bed wall 1 adjacent said outboard surface to form a radially inwardly recessed surface 12 within said first radial thickness region, wherein at least a portion of said recessed surface 12 is configured to provide a bearing surface for engagement with a vehicle wheel spoke 41 to support spoke tension forces therebetween. (Fig. 2; para. 13 of the English language translation)
Tsai does not teach, but Shook teaches wherein at least one of said inboard surface and said outboard surface is radially variable to provide a first radial thickness region 42’ laterally surrounding said spoke hole 48 and a second radial thickness region circumferentially offset from said first radial thickness region 42’ and of reduced radial thickness relative to said first radial thickness region 42’ (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the area around the spoke hole thicker to improve strength of the rim around the spoke holes without making the entire spoke bed wall thicker so as to save weight with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 24, Tsai and Shook teach the method according to claim 18. Tsai does not teach wherein said recessed surface is formed in a coining operation to displace material of said spoke bed wall. Shook teaches using a series of punches and anvils to create a spoke hole 48 with a reinforced region 42’ and recessed seat 60 (Figs. 2-4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a series of punches in a coining operation to manufacture the reinforced region along with the recessed surface instead of machining so as to not have to remove material to lighten the rim or create the recessed bearing surface, thus reducing material waste with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai DE 202010008213 U1 in view of Passarotto US 7140695 B2 and further in view of Dietrich US 20030062762 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Tsai and Passarotto teach the rim according to claim 3. Tsai and Passarotto do not teach, but Dietrich teaches, wherein said bearing surface is a concave spherical surface that is revolved about said face axis (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a concave spherical bearing surface in order to provide a larger contact surface area, even in the instance of spoke misalignment, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Muraoka et al. US 20080106141 A1 teaches a rim with reinforced, angled spoke holes. Alberio EP 3825142 A1 teaches a rim with recesses for spoke heads or spoke nipples as well as thicker regions around spoke holes.
/AP/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615