Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08 March 2024 is in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and has been considered.
Claim Status
Claims 1-4 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 7 of Copending Application No. 18/597,084 (hereafter referred to as “copending application ‘084”) in view of Tang et al. (US 20240357837; “Tang”) and in further view of Borghi et al. (US 20220169125 A1; “Borghi”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding Claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘084 patent application describes the following elements present in claim 1, including a battery device, a battery pack, a tray that is positioned below the battery pack and that includes a frame and a bottom plate connected to the frame. The frame includes an upper face that supports the battery pack, and a lower face supported by the support member. However, copending application ‘084 does not claim the bottom plate being disposed upward from the lower face of the frame. Tang discloses a battery tray which includes a tray bottom plate and a frame, wherein the support is located below the bottom plate (see annotated figure below).
Figure 6 of Tang, annotated by the examiner
Therefore, the copending application ‘084 in view of Tang teaches the supporting portion of the frame is located below the tray bottom plate (i.e. the bottom plate is disposed upward from the lower face of the frame). By virtue of the supporting portion of the frame being below the tray bottom plate, it is understood that the bottom plate is above the lower face of the frame (see e.g., [0058], [0067], [0069] and [0081], and 10, 11, 20, and 22 in Figure 6, as annotated above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery tray structure to feature a relationship wherein the bottom plate of the battery tray is above the lower face of the frame of the support in order to enhance the stability of the battery device.
The copending application, in view of Tang, further fails to teach a plurality of battery pack assemblies accommodated stacked in an up down direction, though the copending application does describe a singular battery pack assembly mounted on a support member. Borghi teaches a battery pack assembly containing a plurality of battery modules stacked vertically within a battery enclosure that features a bottom panel that is configured to support at least a portion of the weight of the modules (i.e. a plurality of battery pack assemblies accommodated stacked in an up-down direction on a support member; see e.g. [0049], [0061], and [0075], Figures 4A-G and 5A-E). It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to accommodate multiple battery pack assemblies into a single battery device for further downstream uses such as in a vehicle. The spatial orientation therein is therefore a consequence of design, where the battery assemblies are housed together in either a vertical or horizontal fashion. Regarding Claim 2, claims 1 and 2 of the ‘084 patent application describe the following elements present in claim 2, wherein the bottom plate has a drain hole (claim 1 of ‘084) and the bottom plate is inclined to descend toward the drain hole (claim 2 of ‘084).
Regarding Claim 3, copending application ‘084 in view of Tang does not claim the battery device according to claim 1, wherein the battery pack is supported by the frame via an insulator. Tang teaches the battery core being supported by a supporting member of the frame, on which the tray bottom plate is configured as an insulating member (i.e. the battery pack is supported by the frame via an insulator, see e.g. [0073] and [0067] of Tang). It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to introduce an insulator between the battery pack and the frame so as to prevent electrical shorts, dampen vibrations, and thermally protect the battery pack.
Regarding Claim 4, claim 7 of the ‘084 patent application describes the following elements present in claim 4, wherein the battery device is installed at a stationary location and an in-vehicle battery pack is diverted as the battery pack (i.e. “an in-vehicle battery pack is diverted for use as the battery pack”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Borghi.
Regarding Claim 1, Tang teaches a battery core (i.e. a battery pack), and a battery tray that includes a tray bottom plate and a frame configured to support the battery core from underneath (i.e. a tray that is positioned below the battery pack and that includes a frame and a bottom plate connected to the frame; see e.g. [0058] and [0067], Figs 4 and 6.) The tray bottom plate of Tang further features an extension portion covering the entire upper surface of the frame, namely in contact with the supporting portion (i.e. the frame includes an upper face that supports the battery pack; see e.g. [0067] and [0072], 20 and 22 in Figs 5 and 6, see further the annotated Figure 6 above) and the bottom surface of the supporting portion of the frame has a structure strengthening portion extending below that is configured with a boss structure which is connected to the supporting portion of the frame (i.e. a lower face that is supported by the support member; see e.g. [0063] and [0064], Figure 12 as annotated below).
Figure 12, as annotated by the examiner
The battery tray of Tang also teaches the supporting portion of the frame is located below the tray bottom plate (i.e. the bottom plate is disposed upward from the lower face of the frame). By virtue of the supporting portion of the frame being below the tray bottom plate, it is understood that the bottom plate is above the lower face of the frame (see e.g., [0058], [0067], [0069] and [0081], and 10, 11, 20, and 22 in Figure 6, as annotated above).
However, Tang does not teach a plurality of battery pack assemblies, featuring the described embodiments as shown above, stacked in an up-down direction on a support member.
Borghi teaches a battery pack assembly containing a plurality of battery modules stacked vertically within a battery enclosure that features a bottom panel that is configured to support at least a portion of the weight of the modules (i.e. a plurality of battery pack assemblies accommodated stacked in an up-down direction on a support member; see e.g. [0049], [0061], and [0075], Figures 4A-G and 5A-E). It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to utilize the battery tray and support of Tang so as to accommodate multiple battery pack assemblies as taught by Borghi to improve the stability of a battery device featuring a plurality of battery pack assemblies.
Regarding Claim 3, Tang in view of Borghi teaches the battery core being supported by a supporting member of the frame, on which the tray bottom plate is configured as an insulating member (i.e. the battery pack is supported by the frame via an insulator, see e.g. [0073] and [0067] of Tang).
Regarding Claim 4, Tang in view of Borghi teaches the battery pack as being mounted on the vehicle (i.e. the battery device is installed at a stationary location, [0094] of Tang) so as to provide electric energy for the vehicle (i.e. an in-vehicle battery pack is diverted for use as the battery pack, [0094] of Tang).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Borghi and in further view of Kohda et al. (US 7117966 B2; “Kohda”).
Regarding Claim 2, the tray bottom plate of Tang does not feature a drain hole, nor is the bottom plate inclined so as to be lower toward the aforementioned drain hole. Kohda teaches a canted/inclined battery support tray including at least one drain opening which is configured so that water would tend to flow toward the drain opening (i.e. the bottom plate includes a drain hole and is inclined so as to be lower toward the drain hole; see e.g. [45], Fig 8 as annotated below).
Figure 8 of Kohda, annotated by the examiner
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the bottom plate of the tray as taught by Tang to feature an inclined structure where at the bottom of the incline, the drain hole as taught by Kohda would be introduced so as to provide a way for water to escape the battery enclosure.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL PATRICK MALONEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782