DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the first electrode” but lacks antecedent basis for this recitation in the claim as a first electrode was never previously recited. Further, the claim 6 recitations of “the first electrode” and “a second electrode” make it unclear if these electrodes are in addition to the recitation of “an electrode” recited in claim 1 or if one of them means to reference this electrode defined in claim 1.
Further, claim 6 recites “the at least one battery” when it previously recites “the plurality of battery cells”, making it unclear how many batteries are required.
As such, the scope of claim 6 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 8 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 6.
Claim 11 recites “the bus portion” but lacks antecedent basis for this recitation as claim 11 and claim 1 from which claim 11 depends do not define a bus portion and it’s not clear what bus portion is being referenced in claim 11. As such, the scope of claim 11 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muratsu et al (US 2021/0234240), and further in view of Takeda et al (US 2014/0295240) and further in view of Oda et al (US 2014/0099543).
Regarding claim 1 Muratsu discloses a battery pack comprising:
at least one battery cell including an electrode at an end of the at least one battery cell and an outer circumferential surface extending between the end and an opposite end of the at least one battery cell ([0035], Figs. 1-3 see: battery module 100 including unit batteries 10 with an outer circumferential surface between two ends with a positive electrode terminal 8 at one end); and
a connection cooling member where the connection cooling member and the electrode being integral with each other ([0038]-[0040], [0063], Figs. 2-4 see: conductive members 40 (200 Fig. 4) of a plate shaped metal material such as aluminum providing a large surface area for radiation and welded to the positive electrode terminals of the batteries and thus integral with them).
Muratsu does not clearly disclose the connection cooling member extending from the end of the at least one battery cell towards the opposite end of the at least one battery cell along the outer circumferential surface of the at least one battery cell and is silent to the material of the electrode and thus does not explicitly disclose the electrode and connection cooling member including a same metal.
However, Takeda teaches such connection cooling members extending from the end of the at least one battery cell towards the opposite end of the at least one battery cell along the outer circumferential surface of the at least one battery cell ([0023], [0027] Figs. 1-5 see: bus bars 30 including coupling bus bars 40, a positive electrode bus bar 50, and a negative electrode bus bar 60, which are respectively arranged on the top and on the circumferential side faces of the batteries Bt). Takeda teaches this increases surface area contact with the batteries and heat transfer surface area to improve efficiency of cooling and reduces the total weight and number of components in the system by removing the need for a separate radiator plate ([0009], [0040]).
Takeda and Muratsu are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Muratsu in view of Takeda such that the connection cooling member of Muratsu further extends from the end of the at least one battery cell of Muratsu towards the opposite end of the at least one battery cell along the outer circumferential surface of the at least one battery cell as taught by Takeda ([0023], [0027] Figs. 1-5 see: bus bars 30 including coupling bus bars 40, a positive electrode bus bar 50, and a negative electrode bus bar 60, which are respectively arranged on the top and on the circumferential side faces of the batteries Bt) as Takeda teaches this increases surface area contact with the batteries and heat transfer surface area to improve efficiency of cooling and reduces the total weight and number of components in the system by removing the need for a separate radiator plate ([0009], [0040]).
Further, Oda teaches it is known to form electrodes and connection members to include a same metal as this reduces the weight of the assembly and reduces contact resistance between the welded materials by using the same material (Oda, [0024], [0092] see: positive electrode terminal for a battery and negative electrode terminal for a battery are formed from a same or identical metallic material such as Al or an Al alloy as the battery terminal connecting plate (bus bar) they are welded with).
Oda and modified Muratsu are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Muratsu in view of Oda such that the connection cooling member of Muratsu and the electrode include a same material such as aluminum as Oda teaches it is known to form electrodes and connection members to include a same metal as this reduces the weight of the assembly and reduces contact resistance between the welded materials by using the same material (Oda, [0024], [0092] see: positive electrode terminal for a battery and negative electrode terminal for a battery are formed from a same or identical metallic material such as Al or an Al alloy as the battery terminal connecting plate (bus bar) they are welded with).
Regarding claim 2 modified Muratsu discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connection cooling member includes a bus portion at the end of the at least one battery cell (Muratsu, [0040]-[0041] Figs. 2, 4, 6 see: plurality of conductive members 40 (200, Figs. 4, 6) have main body bus portion interconnecting each of positive electrode terminal connecting portions 41 and each of negative electrode terminal connecting portions 43) and a cooling portion on the outer circumferential surface of the at least one battery cell (Takeda, [0023], [0027], [0040] Figs. 1-5 see: bus bars 30 including coupling bus bars 40, a positive electrode bus bar 50, and a negative electrode bus bar 60, which are respectively arranged on the top and on the circumferential side faces of the batteries Bt and providing cooling).
Regarding claim 3 modified Muratsu discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 2, wherein the at least one battery cell includes a plurality of battery cells arranged in a first column and a second column adjacent to the first column (Muratsu, [0044] Figs. 2, 4, and 6 see: batteries 10 arranged in adjacent rows (columns) A, B, C along conductive members 200a, 200b, 200c).
Regarding claim 4 modified Muratsu discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 3, wherein the bus portion electrically connects the plurality of battery cells arranged in the first column and the second column (Muratsu, [0044] Figs. 2, 4, and 6 see: batteries 10 arranged in adjacent rows (columns) A, B, C and interconnected by conductive members 200a, 200b, 200c).
Regarding claim 5 modified Muratsu discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 3, wherein the bus portion electrically connects, from among the plurality of battery cells in the first column and the second column, battery cells belonging to a same column in parallel to each other and battery cells belonging to different columns in series (Muratsu, [0044], [0046] Figs. 2, 4-6 see: batteries 10 in the same row A (column) connected in parallel and connected in series to batteries in adjacent row B).
Regarding claim 6 modified Muratsu discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 4, wherein:
each battery cell in the plurality of battery cells includes the first electrode at a center of the end of the at least one battery cell and a second electrode at an edge of the end of the at least one battery cell (Muratsu, [0035], Figs. 1-3 see: each of unit batteries 10 includes a positive electrode terminal 8 at the center of one end and a negative electrode terminal 7a at an edge of the one end),
the bus portion includes a plurality of first branch portions each connected to a first electrode of a respective battery cell in the first column (Muratsu, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2-4 and 6 see: positive electrode terminal connecting portions 41 connected to positive electrode terminals 8 in same column), a plurality of second branch portions each connected to a second electrode of a respective battery cell in the second column (Muratsu, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2-4 and 6 see: negative electrode terminal connecting portions 43 connected to negative electrode terminals 7a), and a body portion connected to the plurality of first branch portions and the plurality second branch portions (Muratsu, [0041], Figs. 2-4 and 6 see: main body portion of each of conductive members 40 connected to parts 41 and 43), and
each of the plurality of first branch portions and each of the plurality of second branch portions protrudes from the body portion in opposite directions toward their respective battery cells (Muratsu, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2-4 and 6 see: main body portion of each of conductive members 40 has parts 41 and 43 protruding in opposite directions).
Regarding claim 7 modified Muratsu discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 4, wherein the connection cooling member includes a plurality of cooling portions each contacting an outer circumferential surface of a respective battery cell in the plurality of battery cells in one column among the plurality of battery cells in the first column and the second column (Takeda, [0023], [0027], [0040] Figs. 1-5 see: bus bars 30 including coupling bus bars 40, a positive electrode bus bar 50, and a negative electrode bus bar 60, contacting the circumferential side faces of the batteries Bt in one column).
Regarding claim 8 modified Muratsu discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 6, wherein the body of the bus portion extends in a zigzag pattern between the plurality of battery cells in the first column and the second column (Muratsu, Figs. 4 and 6 see: conductive members 200b and 200c having each having a zigzag shape extending between columns of battery cells).
Regarding claim 10 modified Muratsu discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connection cooling member is coupled to a holder accommodating the at least one battery cell via adhesion (Muratsu, [0038]-[0039], [0095] Figs. 2-3 see: insulating plate 30 adhered to the conductive members 40 and accommodating an upper portion of the batteries 10) (Takeda also at para [0023] and Fig. 1 teaches the connection cooling member (30) as part of a battery holder device 10).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muratsu et al (US 2021/0234240) in view of Takeda et al (US 2014/0295240) and in view of Oda et al (US 2014/0099543) as applied to claims 1-8, and 10 above and further in view of Yoon et al (US 2021/0091350).
Regarding claim 9 modified Muratsu discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connection cooling member is coupled to a holder accommodating the at least one battery cell (Muratsu, [0038]-[0039], [0095] Figs. 2-3 see: insulating plate 30 coupled to the conductive members 40 and accommodating an upper portion of the batteries 10) or (Takeda also at para [0023] and Fig. 1 teaches the connection cooling member (30) as part of a battery holder device 10) but modified Muratsu does not explicitly disclose the connection cooling member coupled to the holder via an insert-injection structure.
Yoon teaches it’s known to couple connection members to battery holders via an insert-injection structure (Yoon, [0039]-[0040], Fig. 2 see: bus bars 120 connected to frame 111 by inserting bus bars 120 into a mold and injecting frame 111 into the mold).
Yoon and modified Muratsu are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Muratsu in view of Yoon such that the connection cooling member of Muratsu is coupled to the holder of Muratsu via an insert-injection structure as in Yoon ([0039]-[0040], Fig. 2 see: bus bars 120 connected to frame 111 by inserting bus bars 120 into a mold and injecting frame 111 into the mold) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known structure for joining a connection member to a battery holder for its intended use in the known environment of a battery module to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muratsu et al (US 2021/0234240) in view of Takeda et al (US 2014/0295240) and in view of Oda et al (US 2014/0099543) as applied to claims 1-8, and 10 above, and further in view of Ura et al (US 2003/0017383).
Regarding claim 11 modified Muratsu discloses the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a cooling tube on the bus portion.
Ura teaches further a battery pack including a cooling tube on a heat collecting plate to dissipate heat from the heat collecting plate to a heat dissipating plate (Ura, Abstract, Figs. 1-3 see: heat pipes 10 on heat collecting plates 4, 7 and having a heat dissipating portion 10b contacting a heat dissipating member 3).
Ura and modified Muratsu are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the apparatus of Muratsu in view of Ura such that the bus portion of Muratsu further has a cooling tube thereon as in Ura (Ura, Abstract, Figs. 1-3 see: heat pipes 10 on heat collecting plates 4, 7 and having a heat dissipating portion 10b contacting a heat dissipating member 3) as the bus portion of Muratsu also has the function of radiating heat away from the batteries, and the cooling tube as in Ura would further provide a means to remove heat from the bus portion to a heat dissipating portion of the battery pack as in Ura.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al (US 2021/0384591) in paras [0052], [0054], [0065], and Figs. 2-4 discloses battery cells 20 connected at one end to terminal protrusions 52 of second bus bar 50 includes a busbar plate 51 and rib protrusion 53 with concave portions 53a contacting the outer circumferential surfaces of unit battery cells 20.
SEOL (US 2021/0351449) discloses in paras [0035], [0043] and Figs. 1-4 battery cells 10 welded to branch portions 110 and 120 of flexible circuit board 100 that includes a main body 101 at least partially surrounding the outer circumferential surfaces 15 of the at least one battery cell 10.
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726