DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the attachment feature is configured to be integral with an outer edge of the sign body forming an inlet in the sign body (claim 9, 11 and12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase “the attachment mechanism” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6769555 to Brady.
Regarding claim 1, Brady teaches an hanging apparatus (10) comprising: a sign body with a display component (outer surfaces, not labeled) configured to act as a display surface; a structural reinforcement and information surface (rigid layers 12 and 16) configured to reinforce the apparatus and provide supplementary information; an attachment feature (aperture 22) configured to integrate within the sign body; a flexible and durable element (resilient layer 14) configured to embed within the attachment feature (aperture 22) and tailored with an accommodating feature (slits 24); wherein the accommodating feature (slits 24) is an opening forming a series of flaps configured to accommodate various attachment objects; and an expansion and contraction feature (resilient characteristic of the resilient layer 14) of configured to allow the flexible and durable element to expand or contract for the purpose of accommodating the various attachment objects (column 4, line 32-46).
Regarding claim 2, Brady teaches the structural reinforcement and information surface (rigid layer 12 and 16) is located on the back side of the sign body (figures 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Brady teaches the structural reinforcement and information surface (rigid layer 12 and 16) is located on the front side of the sign body (figures 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 4, Brady teaches the structural reinforcement and information surface (rigid layer 12 and 16) comprises two parts (12 and 16) that are bonded together to reinforce the sign body from both the front side and back side of the sign body (column 4, lines 14-25).
Regarding claim 5, Brady teaches the flexible and durable element (resilient properties of resilient layer 24) is sealed in place between the two parts (12 and 16) that are bonded together to reinforce the sign body from both the front side and back side of the sign body which comprise the structural reinforcement and information surface parts.
Regarding claim 6, Brady teaches the attachment feature (slits 24) is configured to be located on an upper half of the sign body (figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Brady teaches an upper cutout (aperture 22) is integral with the attachment mechanism.
Regarding claim 8, Brady teaches the sign body is defined by one or more peripheral edges, and the attachment feature (aperture 22) is configured to be entirely within the edges of the sign body.
Regarding claim 10, Brady teaches an hanging apparatus (10) comprising: a sign body with a display component (front and rear surfaces) configured to act as a display surface; a structural reinforcement and information surface (rigid layer 12 and 16) configured to reinforce the apparatus and provide supplementary information; an attachment feature (aperture 22) configured to house a flexible and durable element (resilient layer 14) tailored with an accommodating feature (slits 24); and wherein the accommodating feature (slits 24) is configured to accommodate various attachment objects.
Regarding claim 13, Brady teaches the accommodating feature (aperture 22) is an opening forming a series of flaps.
Regarding claim 14, Brady teaches the flexible and durable element (resilient layer 14) is configured to expand and contract of in order to accommodate various attachment objects.
Regarding claim 15, Brady teaches the structural reinforcement and information surface comprises two parts (12 and 16) that are bonded together to reinforce the sign body from both a front side of the sign body and a back side of the sign body.
Regarding claim 16, Brady teaches the flexible and durable element (resilient layer 14) is sealed in place between the two structural reinforcement and information surface parts (12 and 16).
Regarding claim 17, Brady teaches the accommodating feature (aperture 22) is configured to accommodate door handles of various sizes and shapes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11, 12 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 9, 11, 12 and 18, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest an apparatus for mounting information display in combination with the other limitations of the claim wherein the attachment feature is configured to be integral with an outer edge of the sign body forming an inlet in the sign body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631