DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 23 January 2026 comprising remarks and amendments to the claims.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towler (US 2009/0163351) in view of Owen (US 5,128,109).
Regarding claims 1, Towler teaches regenerating spent catalyst 23 from stripper 18 in a first regeneration stage 36 to produce a partially regenerated catalyst, regenerating the partially regenerated catalyst in second regeneration stage 32 to produce a fully regenerated catalyst 20 and providing a first portion of the fully regenerated catalyst 20 to riser reactor 16; generating the spent catalyst 23 with the riser 16 and providing the spent catalyst to stripping vessel 18 (see figure 2, [0031-0044].
Towler does not explicitly disclose sending a second portion of the fully regenerated catalyst to the stripper vessel to mix with the spent catalyst.
However, Owen teaches sending regenerated catalyst to mix with spent catalyst in stripping zone, in order to improve heat transfer and stripping (column 5, line 15-column 6, line 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the Owen mixing of regenerated catalyst with spent catalyst, for the benefit of improving the stripping.
Regarding claims 2-5, Owen teaches stripping temperatures of up to about 1500°F, regenerated: spent ratios of 1:10 to 10:1 (column 13, lines 1-20) and residence times of 1-7 minutes (column 7, lines 50-56). Examiner further notes it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected stripping pressures, as is known in the art, for the benefit of obtaining the desired separations. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claims 6-13 and 18-20, Towler teaches using oxygen, steam, carbon dioxide, or mixtures thereof in the regeneration/gasification zones [0018], [0035]. Towler teaches the two stage regeneration provides improved syn gas 38 [0040]. Examiner notes that Towler disclosure includes transfer lines to convey the materials as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used appropriate control valves, in order to transfer the appropriate amounts of materials, as is well known in the art.
Regarding claims 15-17, Owen teaches the conditions as discussed with respect to claims 2-5 above. Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have implemented appropriate temperature control equipment, as known in the art, for the benefit of obtaining the desired temperatures.
Claims 11, 14-17, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Towler (US 2009/0163351) in view of Owen (US 5,128,109) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gulec (Progress in the CO2 capture technologies for fcc units).
Regarding claims 11, 14, and 21-23, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
The previous combination does not teach separate gas outlets for the synthesis gas and flue gas.
However, Gulec teaches a two stage regeneration process for an FCC reactor with two separate gas outlets, so that CO may be recovered and supplied to different processes (see page 8, figure 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used a two stage regeneration unit, as described by Gulec, in order to recover the separate gases and route as appropriate.
Regarding claims 15-17, Owen teaches the conditions as discussed with respect to claims 2-5 above. Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have implemented appropriate temperature control equipment, as known in the art, for the benefit of obtaining the desired temperatures.
Regarding claims 19-20, Towler teaches using oxygen, steam, carbon dioxide, or mixtures thereof in the regeneration/gasification zones [0018], [0035]. Towler teaches the two stage regeneration provides improved syn gas 38 [0040]. Examiner notes that Towler disclosure includes transfer lines to convey the materials as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used appropriate control valves, in order to transfer the appropriate amounts of materials, as is well known in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner considers Applicant’s arguments to be:
The prior art does not teach a synthesis gas outlet and a flue gas outlet, wherein the synthesis gas outlet is separate from the flue gas outlet.
In response to Applicant’s first argument, Examiner notes that only claims 11, 14-17, 19-23 require separate outlets. The rejections of these claims have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771