DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 18, 2025 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1 and 3-14. Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 26, 2025. The examiner withdraws the 112(b) rejections and the Specification, Drawings, and Claims objections in light of the amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 12-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “a plurality of wipers, each being” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “a plurality of wipers, each of the plurality of wipers being”
In claims 1, 9, and 13-14, “the first and second phase shifter traces” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the first plurality of phase shifter traces and the second plurality of phase shifter traces”
In claim 9, “their corresponding phase shifter board” is improper and should read “the corresponding phase shifter board”
In claim 12, “the first phase shifter traces” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the first plurality of phase shifter traces”
In claim 12, “the second phase shifter traces” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the second plurality of phase shifter traces”
In claim 13, “the operation” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “operation”
In claim 14, “the phase shift wipers” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the plurality of phase shift wipers”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first radiating element of each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to a previous limitation “a first radiating element of a corresponding one of the plurality of unit cells” or a new limitation.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the second radiating element of each unit cell" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this limitation is referring to a previous limitation “a second radiating element of a corresponding one of the plurality of unit cells” or a new limitation.
Claims 12-14 inherit the deficiencies of claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0170621 A1), hereinafter known as Xu.
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses (Fig. 2 and 6-7) An antenna array (100), comprising: a reflector (110); a plurality of columns (left and right columns on Fig. 6), each comprising a plurality of unit cells (120) disposed on a first side of the reflector (110), each of the plurality of unit cells having a plurality of radiating elements (122); a plurality of phase shifter boards (131) disposed on a second side of the reflector (110), each of the plurality of phase shifter boards (131) corresponding to one of the plurality of columns of unit cells (left and right columns on Fig. 6), wherein each of the plurality of phase shifter boards (131) comprises a first plurality of phase shifter traces (top traces of 131) and a second plurality of phase shifter traces (bottom traces of 131), and wherein each of the plurality of unit cells (120) has a feed point that mechanically and electrically couples to a corresponding phase shifter board (131); and a phase shifter drive mechanism (130) disposed on the second side of the reflector, wherein the phase shifter drive mechanism (130) is mechanically coupled to each of the plurality of phase shifter boards (131), wherein the phase shifter drive mechanism (130) comprises a plurality of wipers (131a), each being rotatably coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of phase shifter boards (131), and wherein the phase shifter drive mechanism (130) is configured to rotate the plurality of wipers (131a) in unison to a same one of a plurality of positions relative to the first and second plurality of phase shifter traces of each of the plurality of phase shifter boards (131).
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses (Fig. 2 and 6-7) An antenna array (100), comprising: a reflector (110); a plurality of columns (left and right columns on Fig. 6), each comprising a plurality of unit cells (120) disposed on a first side of the reflector (110), each of the plurality of unit cells having a plurality of radiating elements (122); a plurality of phase shifter boards (131) disposed on a second side of the reflector (110), each of the plurality of phase shifter boards (131) corresponding to one of the plurality of columns of unit cells (left and right columns on Fig. 6), wherein each of the plurality of phase shifter boards has a first side (top side of 131) and a second side (bottom side of 131), comprises a first plurality of phase shifter traces (top traces of 131) on the first side and a second plurality of phase shifter traces (bottom traces of 131) on the second side, and wherein each of the plurality of unit cells of a given column of unit cells has a feed point that mechanically and electrically couples to a corresponding phase shifter board (131); and a phase shifter drive mechanism (130) disposed on the second side of the reflector (110), wherein the phase shifter drive mechanism (130) is mechanically coupled to a plurality of phase shift wipers (131a), wherein each of the plurality of phase shift wipers (131a) is rotatably coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of phase shifter boards (131) and configured to electrically connect, to a signal input, each of the plurality of unit cells (120) coupled to their corresponding phase shifter board (131) and wherein the phase shifter drive mechanism (130) is configured to cause each of the plurality of phase shift wipers (131a) to rotate in unison to a same one of a plurality of positions relative to the first and second plurality of phase shifter traces (traces of 131) of each of the plurality of phase shifter boards (131).
Regarding claim 10, Xu further discloses (Fig. 2 and 6-7) wherein each of the first plurality of phase shifter traces (top traces of 131) on the first side of each of the plurality of phase shifter boards is electrically connected to a first radiating element (120) of a corresponding one of the plurality of unit cells coupled to each of the plurality of phase shifter boards (131), and wherein each of the second plurality of phase shifter traces (bottom traces of 131) on the second side of each of the plurality of phase shifter boards is electrically connected to a second radiating element (120) of a corresponding one of the plurality of unit cells coupled to each of the plurality of phase shifter boards (131).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Li et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0069452 A1), hereinafter known as Li.
Regarding claim 2, Xu does not specifically wherein each of the plurality of phase shifter boards is mounted perpendicularly to the reflector.
However, Li teaches (Fig. 12C and 13A) wherein each of the plurality of phase shifter boards (310) is mounted perpendicularly to the reflector (21).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna array of Xu with Li to include “wherein each of the plurality of phase shifter boards is mounted perpendicularly to the reflector,” as taught by Li, for the purpose of simplifying manufacture, reducing cost, and ensuring continuity of grounding (see also [0092] and [0095]).
Regarding claim 3, Xu does not specifically wherein each of the plurality of phase shifter boards comprises: a first PCB (Printed Circuit Board) layer including the first plurality of phase shifter traces; a second PCB layer including the second plurality of phase shifter traces; a phase shifter ground layer disposed between the first PCB layer and the second PCB layer; and a tab portion.
However, Li teaches (Fig. 4A-4B and 6A) wherein each of the plurality of phase shifter boards comprises: a first PCB (Printed Circuit Board) layer (310-1) including the first plurality of phase shifter traces (313); a second PCB layer (310-2) including the second plurality of phase shifter traces; a phase shifter ground layer (22--2) disposed between the first PCB layer (310-1) and the second PCB layer (310-2); and a tab portion (312).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna array of Xu with Li to include “wherein each of the plurality of phase shifter boards comprises: a first PCB (Printed Circuit Board) layer including the first plurality of phase shifter traces; a second PCB layer including the second plurality of phase shifter traces; a phase shifter ground layer disposed between the first PCB layer and the second PCB layer; and a tab portion,” as taught by Li, for the purpose of simplifying manufacture, reducing cost, and ensuring continuity of grounding (see also [0092] and [0095]).
Regarding claim 4, Xu does not specifically teach wherein each of the plurality of unit cells comprises: a unit cell PCB having a slot and a plurality of unit cell ground vias; a first unit cell trace disposed on a first side of the unit cell PCB; a second unit cell trace disposed on the first side of the unit cell PCB; and a unit cell ground layer disposed on a second side of the unit cell PCB.
However, Li teaches (Fig. 9F, 10C, 13B) wherein each of the plurality of unit cells comprises: a unit cell PCB (51) having a slot (slot for 312) and a plurality of unit cell ground vias (53, 54); a first unit cell trace (56) disposed on a first side of the unit cell PCB (51); a second unit cell trace (56) disposed on the first side of the unit cell PCB (51); and a unit cell ground layer disposed on a second side of the unit cell PCB ([0096]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna array of Xu with Li to include “wherein each of the plurality of unit cells comprises: a unit cell PCB having a slot and a plurality of unit cell ground vias; a first unit cell trace disposed on a first side of the unit cell PCB; a second unit cell trace disposed on the first side of the unit cell PCB; and a unit cell ground layer disposed on a second side of the unit cell PCB,” as taught by Li, for the purpose of simplifying manufacture, reducing cost, and ensuring continuity of grounding (see also [0092] and [0095]).
Regarding claim 5, Xu does not specifically teach wherein each tab portion comprises: a first plurality of phase shifter vias disposed in the first PCB layer, wherein the first plurality of phase shifter vias expose the phase shifter ground layer; a second plurality of phase shifter vias disposed in the second PCB layer, wherein the second plurality of phase shifter vias expose the phase shifter ground layer; a first trace solder pad disposed on the first PCB layer; and a second trace solder pad disposed on the second PCB layer.
However, Li teaches (Fig. 9F, 9H) wherein each tab portion comprises: wherein each tab portion comprises: a first plurality of phase shifter vias (632-1) disposed in the first PCB layer, wherein the first plurality of phase shifter vias (632-1) expose the phase shifter ground layer ([0102]); a second plurality of phase shifter vias (632-2) disposed in the second PCB layer, wherein the second plurality of phase shifter vias (632-2) expose the phase shifter ground layer ([0102]); a first trace solder pad (312-1) disposed on the first PCB layer; and a second trace solder pad (312-2) disposed on the second PCB layer a first trace solder pad (312-1) disposed on the first PCB layer; and a second trace solder pad (312-2) disposed on the second PCB layer (312-2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna array of Tang with Li to include “wherein each tab portion comprises: a first plurality of phase shifter vias disposed in the first PCB layer, wherein the first plurality of phase shifter vias expose the phase shifter ground layer; a second plurality of phase shifter vias disposed in the second PCB layer, wherein the second plurality of phase shifter vias expose the phase shifter ground layer; a first trace solder pad disposed on the first PCB layer; and a second trace solder pad disposed on the second PCB layer,” as taught by Li, for the purpose of reducing size (see also [0097]).
Regarding claim 6, Xu does not specifically teach wherein each of the plurality of unit cells is mechanically coupled to the tab portion of the corresponding phase shifter board.
However, Li teaches (Fig. 13A) wherein each of the plurality of unit cells (51) is mechanically coupled to the tab portion (312) of the corresponding phase shifter board (310).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna array of Xu with Li to include “wherein each of the plurality of unit cells is mechanically coupled to the tab portion of the corresponding phase shifter board,” as taught by Li, for the purpose of improving structural stability (see also [0094]).
Regarding claim 7, Xu does not specifically teach further comprising: a first ground solder joint electrically coupling the unit cell ground layer to the phase shifter ground layer through a subset of the plurality of unit cell ground vias and the first plurality of phase shifter vias; a second ground solder joint electrically coupling the unit cell ground layer to the phase shifter ground layer through a subset of the plurality of unit cell ground vias and the second plurality of phase shifter vias; a first signal solder joint electrically coupling one of the first plurality of phase shifter traces to the first unit cell trace; and a second signal solder joint electrically coupling one of the second plurality of phase shifter traces to the second unit cell trace.
However, Li teaches (Fig. 9F, 9H, and 13A) a first ground solder joint ([0102]) electrically coupling the unit cell ground layer to the phase shifter ground layer through a subset of the plurality of unit cell ground vias (642-1) and the first plurality of phase shifter vias (633); a second ground solder joint ([0102]) electrically coupling the unit cell ground layer to the phase shifter ground layer through a subset of the plurality of unit cell ground vias (642-2) and the second plurality of phase shifter vias (633); a first signal solder joint (63, [0104]) electrically coupling one of the first plurality of phase shifter traces to the first unit cell trace ([0104]); and a second signal solder joint (63, [0104]) electrically coupling one of the second plurality of phase shifter traces to the second unit cell trace ([0104]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna array of Xu with Li to include “a first ground solder joint electrically coupling the unit cell ground layer to the phase shifter ground layer through a subset of the plurality of unit cell ground vias and the first plurality of phase shifter vias; a second ground solder joint electrically coupling the unit cell ground layer to the phase shifter ground layer through a subset of the plurality of unit cell ground vias and the second plurality of phase shifter vias; a first signal solder joint electrically coupling one of the first plurality of phase shifter traces to the first unit cell trace; and a second signal solder joint electrically coupling one of the second plurality of phase shifter traces to the second unit cell trace,” as taught by Li, for the purpose of ensuring continuity of grounding (see also [0102]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Udagave (US PGPUB 2022/0384948 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Xu does not specifically wherein the phase shifter drive mechanism comprises: a drive motor mechanically coupled to a first base; a jack screw rotatably coupled to the first base and a second base; a threaded block coupled to the jack screw and configured to translate in response to rotation of the jack screw; a rotating bracket rotatably coupled to the threaded block and rotatably coupled to a third base; a drive shaft rotatably and translationally coupled to the rotating bracket, wherein each of the plurality of wipers are rotatably coupled to the drive shaft.
However, Udagave teaches (Fig. 3-5) wherein the phase shifter drive mechanism comprises: a drive motor (308) mechanically coupled to a first base (320); a jack screw (340) rotatably coupled to the first base (320) and a second base (311); a threaded block (360, 366, 160) coupled to the jack screw (340) and configured to translate in response to rotation of the jack screw (340); a rotating bracket (164) rotatably coupled to the threaded block (360, 366) and rotatably coupled to a third base (345); a drive shaft (166) rotatably and translationally coupled to the rotating bracket (164), wherein each of the plurality of wipers (220) are rotatably coupled to the drive shaft (166, 228).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna array of Xu with Udagave to include “wherein the phase shifter drive mechanism comprises: a drive motor mechanically coupled to a first base; a jack screw rotatably coupled to the first base and a second base; a threaded block coupled to the jack screw and configured to translate in response to rotation of the jack screw; a rotating bracket rotatably coupled to the threaded block and rotatably coupled to a third base; a drive shaft rotatably and translationally coupled to the rotating bracket, wherein each of the plurality of wipers are rotatably coupled to the drive shaft,” as taught by Udagave, for the purpose of improving compactness (see also [0057]).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Tang et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0037753 A1), hereinafter known as Tang.
Regarding claim 11, Xu does not specifically teach wherein each one of the plurality of phase shift wipers is configured to straddle a corresponding one of the plurality of phase shifter boards, and electrically connect the signal input to the first radiating element of each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells coupled to the corresponding phase shifter board via a corresponding one of the first plurality of phase shifter traces on the first side of the corresponding phase shifter board, and electrically connect the signal input to the second radiating element of each unit cell coupled to the corresponding phase shifter board via a corresponding one of the second plurality of phase shifter traces on the second side of the corresponding phase shifter board.
However, Tang teaches (Fig. 2 and 9A-9B) wherein each one of the plurality of phase shift wipers (220) is configured to straddle a corresponding one of the plurality of phase shifter boards (200), and electrically connect the signal input (260) to the first radiating element of each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells (122, 132) coupled to the corresponding phase shifter board (200) via a corresponding one of the first plurality of phase shifter traces (212, 214) on the first side of the corresponding phase shifter board (210A), and electrically connect the signal input (260) to the second radiating element of each unit cell (122, 132) coupled to the corresponding phase shifter board (200) via a corresponding one of the second plurality of phase shifter traces (212, 214) on the second side of the corresponding phase shifter board (210B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna array of Xu with Tang to include “wherein each one of the plurality of phase shift wipers is configured to straddle a corresponding one of the plurality of phase shifter boards, and electrically connect the signal input to the first radiating element of each unit cell of the plurality of unit cells coupled to the corresponding phase shifter board via a corresponding one of the first plurality of phase shifter traces on the first side of the corresponding phase shifter board, and electrically connect the signal input to the second radiating element of each unit cell coupled to the corresponding phase shifter board via a corresponding one of the second plurality of phase shifter traces on the second side of the corresponding phase shifter board,” as taught by Tang, for the purpose of simplifying manufacture and reducing cost (see also [0176]).
Regarding claim 12, Xu does not specifically wherein the first phase shifter traces carry signals having a first polarization state to corresponding first radiating elements, and the second phase shifter traces carry signals having a second polarization state to corresponding second radiating elements.
However, Tang teaches wherein the first phase shifter traces carry signals having a first polarization state to corresponding first radiating elements ([0129]), and the second phase shifter traces carry signals having a second polarization state to corresponding second radiating elements ([0129]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna array of Xu with Tang to include “wherein the first phase shifter traces carry signals having a first polarization state to corresponding first radiating elements, and the second phase shifter traces carry signals having a second polarization state to corresponding second radiating elements,” as taught by Tang, for the purpose of enabling multiple beam generation (see also [0129]).
Regarding claim 13, Xu further teaches (Fig.7) wherein the phase shifter drive mechanism (130) comprises a motor (133) mechanically coupled to the plurality of phase shift wipers (131a), the operation of the motor (133) causing the plurality of phase shift wipers (131a) to rotate in unison to the same one of the
Regarding claim 14, Xu further teaches (Fig.7) wherein the respective length of each of the first and second phase shifter traces (traces on 131), in conjunction with the position of the phase shift wipers (131a) relative to the first and second phase shifter traces (traces on 131) provide differential phasing of the signal input for the radiating elements coupled to the first and second phase shifter traces (traces on 131).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845