DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 1 and 9 are amended.
Claims 17 and 18 are new.
This Action is Made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the figures show the claimed subject matter because figures 6A shows a planar filter before being wound around the container. Although the applicant is correct that figures 6A shows a planar filter, it does not show the holes shifted in the non-continuous section. There are not shifted through holes in the planar filter shown in figure 6A, the hole are only shifted a the connection point when wound around to form a cylindrical filter. The applicant further points to paragraph 0143 of the specification to show support for a planar filter with shifted through holes. This argument is not persuasive because it is referring the formation of a “cylindrical shape” not of a planar shape. The applicant further refers to figures that show a planar shape with shifted through holes. These arguments are not persuasive because, although the figures do not show the cylindrical shape, the specification clearly states that they are an “enlarged schematic” of the tubular filter of claim 1, not separate planar embodiments.
It is further noted that the applicant has not addressed the status of the application as a “continuation”
The applicant argues that Schulte does not teach the newly added limitation of “the first set of through holes in the continuous portion are aligned with each other in both the first direction and the second direction”. This argument is persuasive, however it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a second column of through holes to the continuous section of Schulte such that the first set of through holes in the continuous portion are aligned with each other in both the first direction and the second direction. It would have been obvious to add a second column of through holes to the continuous portion because it is a simple change in shape and simple duplication of parts without changing the function of the device or unexpected results.
The applicant argues that neighed Kamba nor Schulte provide any reaching, suggestion, or motivation to create a filter having the specific duel-region structure recited in the independent claims. This argument is not persuasive because the claims are not limited to a “duel” region structure. The claims requires a continuous portion and a non-continuous portion, they do not exclude additional portions or regions from the filter base.
The applicant argues that the recited structure is not an “arbitrary design choice, but it achieves specific technical results that are described in detail in the specification”. Specifically the applicant argues that the continuous portion with the square gride increase the open area percentage of the filter. This argument is not persuasive because square grides are well known in the art, see for example Kamba fig. 1 A and Schulte figs. 3 A and 3B. The applicant further argues that the non-continuous portion creates additional connection points that allow the filter to be cut more easily. This argument is not persuasive because Schulte teaches the non-continuous portion with additional connection points. The applicant argues that there is support for “functional benefit” because the stress in the non-continuous portion is greater than in the continuous portion. This argument is not persuasive both because the prior art teaches non-continuous portions and because the examples referred to in the specification are directed to cylindrical filters, not planar filters as currently claimed.
The applicant argues that the combination is not obvious because MPEP 2144.04 only applies where the change in form or shape produces non “new of unexpected results”. This argument is not persuasive because there are no new or unexpected results. The continuous and non-continuous portions are known in the prior art and the results show in the specification apply to cylindrical filters, not planar filters. There is no evidence provided that the same stresses would occur in a planar filter shape as in a cylindrical filer shape.
The Double Patenting rejection is withdrawn in view of the approved terminal disclaimer.
Continuation
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application: a “filtration filter having a planar shape…having the second set of through holes shifted relative to the first set of through holes” (see claim 1) and a “filter base having a planar shape…having a second plurality of through holes that are offset relative to each other”. The original disclosure does not provide support for a planar filter with offset through holes stating that it is “required that the filtration filter 1A have a tubular shape” (see para. 0058 USPN 2021/0077925) and the original disclosure teaches that the offset/shifted holes are formed when the ends of the filter sheet are joined (see para. 0103).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a filtration filter having a planar shape…the second set of through hole shifted relative to the first set”, “a filter base having a planar shape…through holes that are offset relative to each other…” and “a continuous portion having a first set of through holes… and a non-continuous portion having a second set of through holes…the second set of through holes shifted relative to the first set of through holes… must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The figures only show through holes of the non-continuous section (ref. # 14) shifted with respect to each other not with the first set of through holes. Further there are no figures of a planar shape with through hole shifted, although figures 2-4, for example, appear planar they are “enlarged schematic” views of the tubular filter of figure 1, not figures of a planar filter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte et al (USPN 6,283,302).
Regarding Claim 1:
Schulte teaches the filtration filter having a planar shape, the filtration filter comprising: a filter base that defines a plurality of through holes arranged in a square grid array, wherein the filter base includes a continuous portion having a first set of through holes (openings 42 in first column) of the plurality of through holes and a non-continuous portion having a second set of through holes of the plurality of through holes, the continuous portion extending in a first direction and extending in a second direction along at least a first portion of the filtration filter orthogonal to the first direction (extending at least the length and width of the through holes), the non-continuous portion having the second set of through holes (openings 42 in second column) shifted relative to the first set of through holes of the continuous portion (see fig. 3 annotated below), the non-continuous portion extending in the first direction (extending at least the length of the through holes) (see col. 5 lines 32-35, fig. 3B annotated below).
Schulte does not teach wherein the first set of through holes in the continuous portion are aligned with each other in both the first direction and the second direction. Schulte teaches the first set of through holes are aligned with each other in the first direction (vertically aligned along the filter) (see fig. 3B below).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a second column of through holes to the continuous section, thereby having the first set of through holes in the continuous portion aligned with each other in both the first and second direction because it is a simple change in shape and duplication of parts (duplication of aligned through holes), without changing the function of the deice or unexpected results. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Further Schulte teaches that the openings within the filter can be in a variety of shapes (see col. 5 lines 33-40, figs. 3A-3G).
Regarding Claim 9:
Schulte teaches filtration filter comprising: a filter base having a planar shape, the filter base including: a continuous portion having a first plurality of through holes arranged in a square grid array (openings 42 in first column), the continuous portion extending in a first direction and extending in a second direction along at least a first portion of the filter base orthogonal to the first direction, and a non-continuous portion having a second plurality of through holes (openings 42 in second and third columns) that are offset relative to each other, the non-continuous portion extending in the first direction (extending at least the length of the opening) (see col. 5 lines 32-35, fig. 3B annotated below). The claims do not require that the first plurality of through holes not be offset relative to the second plurality of through holes.
Schulte does not teach wherein the first set of through holes in the continuous portion are aligned with each other in both the first direction and the second direction. Schulte teaches the first set of through holes are aligned with each other in the first direction (vertically aligned along the filter) (see fig. 3B below).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a second column of through holes to the continuous section, thereby having the first set of through holes in the continuous portion aligned with each other in both the first and second direction because it is a simple change in shape and duplication of parts (duplication of aligned through holes), without changing the function of the deice or unexpected results. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Further Schulte teaches that the openings within the filter can be in a variety of shapes (see col. 5 lines 33-40, figs. 3A-3G).
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamba et al (US 2016/0041075) in view of Schulte et al (USPN 6,283,302).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kamba teaches the filtration filter having a planar shape (see fig. 1), the filtration filter comprising: a filter base (cavity arrangement structure 1) (see fig. 1, para. 0040) that defines a plurality of through holes (square cavities 11) arranged in a square grid array (see para. 0040), wherein the filter base includes a continuous portion having a first set of through holes of the plurality of through holes, the continuous portion extending in a first direction (x) and extending in a second direction (y) along at least a first portion of the filtration filter orthogonal to the first direction (the grid extends along the x and y axis) (see fig. 1).
Kamba does not teach a non-continuous portion having a second set of through holes of the plurality of through holes, the non-continuous portion having the second set of through holes shifted relative to the first set of through holes of the continuous portion, the non-continuous portion extending in the first direction. Kamba further teaches that the through holes (cavities) can be arranged in different ways such as periodically or aperiodically (see para. 0039) and further in different period structures (see para. 0039-0040).
Schulte teaches a filtration filter having a planar shape, comprising a continuous portion having a first set of through holes (openings 42 in first column) and a non-continuous portion having a second set of through holes (openings 42 in second column) of the plurality of through holes, the non-continuous portion having the second set of through holes shifted relative to the first set of through holes of the continuous portion, the non-continuous portion extending in the first direction (extending at least the length of the opening) (see col. 5 lines 32-35, fig. 3B annotated below).
Kamba and Schulte are analogous inventions in the art of planar filters. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the columns of through holes (cavities) of Kamba such that they are shifted with respect to the adjacent columns (as disclosed by Schulte), thereby forming a non-continuous section with a second set of through holes shifted relative to the first, as taught by Schulte, because it is a simple change in shape without changing the function of the device, with an expectation of success. Further Kamba teaches that different hole (cavity) arrangements can be used (see Kamba para. 0039). The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Schulte does not teach wherein the first set of through holes in the continuous portion are aligned with each other in both the first direction and the second direction. Schulte teaches the first set of through holes are aligned with each other in the first direction (vertically aligned along the filter) (see fig. 3B above).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a second column of through holes to the continuous section, thereby having the first set of through holes in the continuous portion aligned with each other in both the first and second direction because it is a simple change in shape and duplication of parts (duplication of aligned through holes), without changing the function of the deice or unexpected results. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Further Schulte teaches that the openings within the filter can be in a variety of shapes (see col. 5 lines 33-40, figs. 3A-3G).
Regarding Claim 2:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 1, wherein the non-continuous portion extends in the second direction along at least a second portion of the filtration filter (extends at least the width of the opening) (see Schulte fig. 3B above).
Regarding Claim 3:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 1, wherein the filter base includes: a first filter base extending in the first direction in the non-continuous portion, the first filter base having a first side and a second side opposite the first side; a plurality of second filter bases connected to the first side of the first filter base at respective first connection portions, the plurality of second filter bases extending in the second direction; and a plurality of third filter bases connected to the second side of the first filter base at respective second connection portions, the plurality of third filter bases extending in the second direction, wherein the respective plurality of first connection portions and the respective plurality of second connection portions (connection portions are where the first filter base portion meets the second or third filter base portions) are shifted relative to each other in the first direction (see Schulte fig. 3, annotated below).
Regarding Claim 4:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 3, wherein the respective first connection portions are each disposed between a corresponding adjacent two of the respective second connection portions (see Schulte fig. 3, above).
Regarding Claim 5:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 3, wherein a first width of the first filter base is equal to a second width of a part of the continuous portion of the filter base (all portions of the filter base extending between the openings are the same width) (see Schulte fig. 3, above).
Regarding Claim 6:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 1, wherein the filter base comprises at least one of a metal and a metal oxide as a main component thereof (see Kamba para. 0045).
Regarding Claim 7:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 1, wherein a thickness of the filter base is one-tenth to ten times a size of a through hole of the plurality of through holes (Thickness T of 0.5 to size of opening D of 1.8 is 1:3.6) (see Kamba para. 0088).
Regarding Claim 8:
Kamba, as modified, teaches filtration filter according to Claim 1, wherein a main surface (interpreted as surface inside of cavities) of the filter base configured to contact a fluid containing filtration objects (first target substance) (see Kamba para. 0060) has a surface roughness less than a size of the filtration objects (the first target substance passes though the cavities, therefore the surface roughness is less than the size of the filtration object or it would block the filtration object within the cavities) (see Kamba para. 0060).
Regarding Claim 9:
Kamba teaches the filtration filter comprising: a filter base having a planar shape (cavity arrangement structure 1) (see fig. 1, para. 0040), the filter base including: a continuous portion having a first plurality of through holes (square cavities 11) arranged in a square grid array (see para. 0040), the continuous portion extending in a first direction and extending in a second direction along at least a first portion of the filter base orthogonal to the first direction.
Kamba does not teach a non-continuous portion having a second plurality of through holes that are offset relative to each other, the non-continuous portion extending in the first direction.
Schulte teaches filtration filter comprising: a filter base having a planar shape, the filter base including: a continuous portion having a first plurality of through holes arranged in a square grid array (openings 42 in first column), the continuous portion extending in a first direction and extending in a second direction along at least a first portion of the filter base orthogonal to the first direction, and a non-continuous portion having a second plurality of through holes (openings 42 in second and third columns) that are offset relative to each other, the non-continuous portion extending in the first direction (extending at least the length of the opening) (see col. 5 lines 32-35, fig. 3B annotated below). The claims do not require that the first plurality of through holes not be offset relative to the second plurality of through holes.
Kamba and Schulte are analogous inventions in the art of planar filters. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the columns of through holes (cavities) of Kamba such that they are shifted with respect to the adjacent columns (as disclosed by Schulte), thereby forming a non-continuous section with a second plurality of through holes shifted relative to each other, as taught by Schulte, because it is a simple change in shape without changing the function of the device, with an expectation of success. Further Kamba teaches that different hole (cavity) arrangements can be used (see Kamba para. 0039). The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Schulte does not teach wherein the first set of through holes in the continuous portion are aligned with each other in both the first direction and the second direction. Schulte teaches the first set of through holes are aligned with each other in the first direction (vertically aligned along the filter) (see fig. 3B above).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a second column of through holes to the continuous section, thereby having the first set of through holes in the continuous portion aligned with each other in both the first and second direction because it is a simple change in shape and duplication of parts (duplication of aligned through holes), without changing the function of the deice or unexpected results. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Further Schulte teaches that the openings within the filter can be in a variety of shapes (see col. 5 lines 33-40, figs. 3A-3G).
Regarding Claim 10:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 9, wherein the non-continuous portion extends in the second direction along at least a second portion of the filter base. (extends at least the width of the opening) (see Schulte fig. 3B above).
Regarding Claim 11:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 9, wherein the filter base includes: a first filter base extending in the first direction in the non-continuous portion, the first filter base having a first side and a second side opposite the first side; a plurality of second filter bases connected to the first side of the first filter base at respective first connection portions, the plurality of second filter bases extending in the second direction; and a plurality of third filter bases connected to the second side of the first filter base at respective second connection portions, the plurality of third filter bases extending in the second direction, wherein the respective plurality of first connection portions and the respective plurality of second connection portions (connection portions are where the first filter base portion meets the second or third filter base portions) are shifted relative to each other in the first direction (see annotated figure of 3B provided with rejection of claim 3 above).
Regarding Claim 12:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 11, wherein the respective first connection portions are each disposed between a corresponding adjacent two of the respective second connection portions (see Schulte, fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 13:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 11, wherein a first width of the first filter base is equal to a second width of a part of the continuous portion of the filter base (all portions of the filter base extending between the openings are the same width) (see Schulte fig. 3, above).
Regarding Claim 14:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 9, wherein the filter base comprises at least one of a metal and a metal oxide as a main component thereof (see Kamba para. 0045).
Regarding Claim 15:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 9, wherein a thickness of the filter base is one-tenth to ten times a size of a through hole of the plurality of through holes (Thickness T of 0.5 to size of opening D of 1.8 is 1:3.6) (see Kamba para. 0088).
Regarding Claim 16:
Kamba, as modified, teaches filtration filter according to Claim 9, wherein a main surface (interpreted as surface inside of cavities) of the filter base configured to contact a fluid containing filtration objects (first target substance) (see Kamba para. 0060) has a surface roughness less than a size of the filtration objects (the first target substance passes though the cavities, therefore the surface roughness is less than the size of the filtration object or it would block the filtration object within the cavities) (see Kamba para. 0060).
Regarding Claim 17:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 1, wherein the first set of through holes in the continuous portion are disposed at regular intervals in the first direction and the second direction (through holes are in a grid, therefore they are regular) (see Schulte fig. 3 B).
Regarding Claim 18:
Kamba, as modified, teaches the filtration filter according to Claim 9, wherein the first set of through holes in the continuous portion are disposed at regular intervals in the first direction and the second direction (through holes are in a grid, therefore they are regular) (see Schulte fig. 3 B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 4/30/2026