DETAILED ACTION
The amendments filed on 12/18/2025 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 18 including depending claims 4, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 18 recite “a recess”. It is not clear if the bolded limitation refers to the claimed limitation “the recess portion” previously recited in claims 1, 16. The bolded phrase makes the claimed limitations indefinite, because it is unclear whether the bolded limitation is an additional structural limitation. For the purpose of examination, it is interpreted as the recess portion. More clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike (US 2020/0355376 A1), in view of Gagne (US 2023/0160603 A1), and in view of Wallin (US 2015/0323216 A1).
Claim 1: Koike discloses an outdoor unit of an air conditioner (FIG.1), comprising:
a heat exchanger (10);
a base (21; paragraph [15]: base member 21 includes bottom plate 22 and leg 30 that is fixed to portion of bottom plate 22) disposed on a lower side (inherent; lower side is at the bottom surface of heat exchanger) of the heat exchanger (10) and configured to support the heat exchanger (10) and
having a drain channel (paragraph [26]: gap ‘C’ defines a drainage channel) configured to collect condensed water flowing from the heat exchanger (10); and
a support member (see annotated FIG.4; support is combination of portions 22a/35 constructing a support) disposed above the drain channel (‘C’; to clarify, as shown in annotated FIG.4 22a/35 is above the upper side of drain channel ‘C’) and configured to support the heat exchanger (10),
the support member (see annotated FIG.4; support is combination of portions 22a/35 constructing a support) including a support plate (to clarify, portion 22a/portion 35 together forming support plate) detachably (to clarify, as all the components attached together forming a structure, therefore they are able to be detached) coupled (paragraph [44]: portion 35 extends outward from upper end of wall 34 and on which heat exchanger is mounted) to the base (21) at one end (inherent) of the support plate (22a/35) and to support the heat exchanger (10), and
an outer plate (36; paragraph [25]: portion 36 extends upward from end edge on outer side of portion 35) integrally formed with or fixed to the support plate (to clarify, portion 22a/portion 35 together forming support plate, further all components are fixed in one way or another to each other) and extending upward from another end (inherent) of the support plate (22a/35) to support an outer side (inherent) of the heat exchanger (10), the outer plate (36; paragraph [25]: portion 36 extends upward from end edge on outer side of portion 35) being spaced apart from an outer wall (leg 30 used as outer wall; shown in FIG.3/FIG.4 plate 36 is at end of plate 22 and in FIG.2/FIG.4 shown plate 22 is spaced away from outer wall 30 of base plate 21) of the base (21).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (second bottom wall )]
Koike discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose a recess portion forming a drain channel; the support plate and extending from the one end across and covering an upper side of the drain channel.
However, Gagne teaches a recess portion forming a drain channel (paragraph [67]: recess 19 adapted to capture liquid in cavity 15 and to direct the liquid toward a drain discharge) for the purpose of allowing the flow of liquid towards a drain to enhance heat exchanger operation (paragraph [67]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Koike to include a recess portion forming a drain channel as taught by Gagne in order to allow the flow of liquid towards a drain to enhance heat exchanger operation.
Further, Wallin teaches the support plate (plate 2 used as support plate) and extending from the one end across and covering an upper side (to clarify, as shown in FIG.2 plate 2 extending and covering across upper section of drain channel 4) of the drain channel (4) for the purpose of increasing the total efficiency of the heat exchanger (paragraph [25]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Koike to include the support plate and extending from the one end across and covering an upper side of the drain channel as taught by Wallin in order to increase the total efficiency of the heat exchanger.
Claim 2: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the drain channel (‘C’) is located on the lower side (as shown in FIG.4 ‘C’ is located at bottom section of heat exchanger 10) of the heat exchanger and extends along a length (inherent) of the heat exchanger (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, along the bottom length in horizontal direction).
Claim 3: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base (21) comprises:
a first bottom wall (34); a second bottom wall (paragraph [24]: portion 22a includes a portion that defines an inclined surface extending upward from portion 22b; inclined surface used as second bottom wall see annotated FIG.4) formed outside the first bottom wall (34) and spaced apart from the first bottom wall (34); and a recess (Gagne; 19) disposed between the first bottom wall (34) and the second bottom wall (annotated FIG.4), and recessed downward from the first bottom wall (34) and the second bottom wall (annotated FIG.4) to form the drain channel (‘C’).
Claim 4: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the recess portion (Gagne; 19) includes a drain hole (paragraph [33]: gap ‘C’ defines a drainage for water flow; drain hole at top of gap ‘C’ shown by broken line in FIG.4) configured to allow condensed water to drain,
Koike discloses the claimed limitations in claim 4, except for a bottom of the recess portion slopes downward toward the drain hole. The configuration/shape of the claimed bottom of the recess portion is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration/shape of the claimed the recess portion is significant in order to enhance the flow of water to drain out of the heat exchanger - Change of Shape: MPEP 2144.04.
Claim 5: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the one end (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, one end 35 is at top surface of wall 34) of the support plate (22a/35) is coupled to the first bottom wall (34), and the other end (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, other end portion 22a is at top surface of second wall) of the support plate (22a/35) is seated on the second bottom wall (annotated FIG.4).
Claim 6: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first bottom wall (34) includes a coupling surface (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, coupling surface is inherent as part of structure of wall 34; see annotated FIG.4) configured to be coupled to the one end of the support plate (22a/35), and the second bottom wall (annotated FIG.4) includes a seating surface (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, seating surface is inherent as part of structure of wall 22a; see annotated FIG.4) configured to allow the other end of the support plate (22a/35) to be seated.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (second bottom wall )]
Claim 7: Koike discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, except for the coupling surface and the seating surface are configured to allow the support to be slidable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Koike to include the support member to be slidable in order to adjust the channel gap to enhance the water flow of drainage, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art - To make adjustable : MPEP 2144 V-D.
Claim 8: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 7, wherein the first bottom wall (34) includes a catching surface (elastic member 37 used as catching surface; member 37 has two sections, the section extended upward from top surface of coupling surface; see annotated FIG.4) extending upward from the coupling surface (annotated FIG.4) configured to restrict a movement (To make adjustable : MPEP 2144 V-D) of the support plate (22a/35).
Claim 10: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base (21) includes an outer wall (support 23 uses as outer wall which extended upward from base 21) extending upward from an outer end (inherent) thereof, and the outer plate (36) is spaced apart from the outer wall (23).
Claim 13: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the heat exchanger (10) includes: a first heat exchanger portion (portions 11) corresponding to a first short side of the base; and a second heat exchanger portion (portions 11) bent (paragraph 20]: portions 11 and bent portions 12) from the first heat exchanger portion (portions 11) and extending along a longitudinal direction of a first long side (inherent; portions of heat exchanger extend along longitudinal direction of long side as shown in FIG.2) of the base (21).
Claim 14: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein the support includes: a first support (22) disposed adjacent to the first short side (shorter side is at bottom section of heat exchanger 10) of the base (21) and configured to support the first heat exchanger portion (portions 11), and a second support member (30) disposed adjacent to the first long side (long side is the long length of base 21 shown in FIG.2) of the base (21) and configured to support the second heat exchanger portion (portions 11) (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, the structural supports such as 22/30 both support heat exchanger portions which are inside the structure of heat exchanger 10, therefore 22 partially supports the heat exchanger portion 11 in the left heat exchanger 10 and 30 partially supports the heat exchanger portion 11 in the right heat exchanger 10).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike (US 2020/0355376 A1), in view of Gagne (US 2023/0160603 A1), and in view of Wallin (US 2015/0323216 A1), and in view of Xing (US 2021/0199312 A1).
Claim 9: Koike as modified further fails to disclose the recess portion includes a receiving groove disposed on one side of the coupling surface configured to receive the support member slid from the coupling surface.
However, Xing teaches the recess portion includes a receiving groove (recessed formed on bottom of groove surface; paragraph [111]: groove 15 recessed upward provide in lower surface of chassis 1 which support 5 is disposed in the groove 15) disposed on one side of the coupling surface configured to receive the support slid from the coupling surface (disposed on surface of mounting platform 11; mounting platform 11 used as coupling surface see FIG.8) for the purpose of enhancing structural strength so as to ensure structural reliability of the base plate (paragraph [111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Koike to include the recess portion includes a receiving groove disposed on one side of the coupling surface configured to receive the support slid from the coupling surface as taught by Xing in order to enhance structural strength so as to ensure structural reliability of the base plate.
Claims 11, 12, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike (US 2020/0355376 A1), in view of Gagne (US 2023/0160603 A1), and in view of Wallin (US 2015/0323216 A1), and in view of Nakagawa (US 2019/0178507 A1).
Claim 11: Koike fails to disclose a guide plate inclined upwardly from an upper end of the outer plate toward the outer wall of the base.
However, Nakagawa teaches a guide plate (41) inclined upwardly from an upper end (see FIG.6) of the outer plate (43) for the purpose of improving efficiency through elimination of need for adjustment of bending angles and to prevent uneven surface due to deviation in air flow direction (paragraph [6]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the inventio of Koike to include a guide plate inclined upwardly from an upper end of the outer plate toward the outer wall of the base as taught by Nakagawa toward the outer wall of the base of Koike in order to improve efficiency through elimination of need for adjustment of bending angles and to prevent uneven surface due to deviation in air flow direction.
Claim 12: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein an upper end (Nakagawa see FIG.6) of the guide plate (Nakagawa 41) is arranged to be in contact with the outer wall (23) (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, the components of the assembled structure are either physically or fluidly in contact with one another to perform its functions).
Claim 16: Koike discloses an outdoor unit of an air conditioner (FIG.1) comprising:
a heat exchanger (10) including a first heat exchanger portion (portions 11) extending in a first direction (Left-Right; see FIG.2) and
a second heat exchanger portion (portions 11) bent from the first heat exchanger portion (paragraph 20]: portions 11 and bent portions 12) and extending in a second direction (Rear-Front; see FIG.4) intersecting the first direction (see FIG.2);
a base (21; paragraph [15]: base member 21 includes bottom plate 22 and leg 30 that is fixed to portion of bottom plate 22) disposed below the heat exchanger (10) and including a first bottom wall (34), a second bottom wall (paragraph [24]: portion 22a includes a portion that defines an inclined surface extending upward from portion 22b; inclined surface used as second bottom wall see annotated FIG.4) spaced apart from the first bottom wall (34), and
a drain channel (paragraph [26]: gap ‘C’ defines a drainage channel) between the first bottom wall (34) and the second bottom wall (annotated FIG.4); and
an outer plate (36; paragraph [25]: portion 36 extends upward from end edge on outer side of portion 35) extending upward from an opposite end (inherent) of the first support plate (to clarify, portion 22a/portion 35 together forming support plate, further all components are fixed in one way or another to each other) to support an outer side of the first heat exchanger portion (portions 11) and spaced apart from an outer wall (leg 30 used as outer wall; shown in FIG.3/FIG.4 plate 36 is at end of plate 22 and in FIG.2/FIG.4 shown plate 22 is spaced away from outer wall 30 of base plate 21) of the base (21);
[AltContent: rect]
Koike discloses the claimed limitations in claim 16, but fails to disclose a recess portion forming a drain channel; a first support coupled to the base and configured to support the first heat exchanger portion, wherein the first support includes a first support plate detachably coupled to the first bottom wall at one end and extending across and above the drain channel to be seated on the second bottom wall, and a second support coupled to the base and configured to support the second heat exchanger portion, wherein the second support includes a second support plate detachably coupled to the first bottom wall at one end and extending across and above the drain channel to be seated on the second bottom wall, and an outer plate extending upward from an opposite end of the second support plate to support an outer side of the second heat exchanger portion and spaced apart from an outer wall.
However, Nakagawa teaches a first support (30) configured to support the first heat exchanger portion (corner portion 13), wherein the first support (30) includes a first support plate (33) detachably coupled (to clarify, plates are capable of being detached as to being initially assembled together) and
a second support (40) configured to support the second heat exchanger portion (long portion 11), wherein the second support (40) includes a second support plate (43) detachably coupled (to clarify, plates are capable of being detached as to being initially assembled together) and an outer plate (41) extending upward from an opposite end (to clarify, 41 extended upward from one end of plate 43 shown in FIG.6) of the second support plate (43) to support an outer side (inherent) of the second heat exchanger portion (long portion 11) and spaced apart from an outer wall (plate 46 used as outer wall) for the purpose of improving efficiency through elimination of need for adjustment of bending angles and to prevent uneven surface due to deviation in air flow direction (paragraph [6]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the inventio of Koike to include a first support configured to support the first heat exchanger portion, wherein the first support includes a first support plate detachably coupled and a second support configured to support the second heat exchanger portion, wherein the second support includes a second support plate detachably coupled and an outer plate extending upward from an opposite end of the second support plate to support an outer side of the second heat exchanger portion and spaced apart from an outer wall as taught by Nakagawa so that first and second support plates of Nakagawa coupled to the base and coupled to the first and second bottom walls at one end of Koike in order to improve efficiency through elimination of need for adjustment of bending angles and to prevent uneven surface due to deviation in air flow direction.
[AltContent: textbox (Y)][AltContent: textbox (X)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Further, Gagne teaches a recess portion forming a drain channel (paragraph [67]: recess 19 adapted to capture liquid in cavity 15 and to direct the liquid toward a drain discharge) for the purpose of allowing the flow of liquid towards a drain to enhance heat exchanger operation (paragraph [67]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Koike to include a recess portion forming a drain channel as taught by Gagne in order to allow the flow of liquid towards a drain to enhance heat exchanger operation.
Further, Wallin teaches a first support plate (plates 2 used as support plates) extending across and above the drain channel (4), and; a second support plate (plates 2 used as support plates) extending across and above the drain channel (to clarify, as shown in FIG.2 plates 2 extending and covering across upper section of drain channel 4) for the purpose of increasing the total efficiency of the heat exchanger (paragraph [25]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Koike to include a first support plate extending across and above the drain channel, and; a second support plate extending across and above the drain channel as taught by Wallin to be seated on the second bottom wall of Koike in order to increase the total efficiency of the heat exchanger.
Claim 17: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein the drain channel (‘C’) is disposed below the heat exchanger (10) and extends along the heat exchanger (extend along the bottom section of heat exchanger).
Claim 18: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein the base (21) comprises a recess (Gagne; 19) recessed downward from the first (34) and second bottom walls (annotated FIG.4) to form the drain channel (‘C’), and a bottom of the recess portion (Gagne; 19) comprises a drain hole (paragraph [33]: gap ‘C’ defines a drainage for water flow, drain channel is a gap ‘C’ therefore there is hole for the water to flow thorough the gap) configured to allow condensed water to drain and is inclined downward toward the drain hole (channel formed between walls 34/22a and it is inclined downward in order for the water to flow down).
Claim 19: Koike as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein the first bottom wall (34) comprises a coupling surface (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, coupling surface is inherent as part of structure of wall 34; see annotated FIG.4) configured to be coupled to one end of the support plate (22a/35), the second bottom wall (annotated FIG.4) comprises a seating surface configured to seat the other end of the support plate, and the coupling surface (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, seating surface is inherent as part of structure of wall 22a; see annotated FIG.4) and the seating surface (annotated FIG.4) are arranged to allow sliding (Koike discloses the claimed limitations in claim 19, except for seating surface may be arranged to allow sliding. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Koike to include seating surface may be arranged to allow sliding in order to adjust the channel gap to enhance the water flow of drainage, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art - To make adjustable : MPEP 2144 V-D) of the first support member (Nakagawa 33) in one direction.
Claim 20: Koike discloses an outdoor unit of an air conditioner (FIG.1) comprising:
a base (21; paragraph [15]: base member 21 includes bottom plate 22 and leg 30 that is fixed to portion of bottom plate 22) including
a drain channel (paragraph [26]: gap ‘C’ defines a drainage channel) disposed between a first bottom wall (34) and a second bottom wall (paragraph [24]: portion 22a includes a portion that defines an inclined surface extending upward from portion 22b; inclined surface used as second bottom wall see annotated FIG.4) and configured to collect and discharge condensed water, and
an outer wall (leg 30 used as outer wall) formed at an outer end (30 is at bottom end of 21) of the base (21);
a heat exchanger (10) including a first heat exchanger portion (portions 11) extending along a first short side (shorter side is at bottom section of heat exchanger 10) of the base (21) and a second heat exchanger portion (portions 11) bent from the first heat exchanger portion (paragraph 20]: portions 11 and bent portions 12) and extending along a direction of a first long side (inherent; portions of heat exchanger extend along longitudinal direction of long side as shown in FIG.2) of the base (21); and
a plurality of supports (22/30) disposed below the heat exchanger (10) configured to support the heat exchanger (10), wherein each of the plurality of supports (22/30) includes a support plate (to clarify, portion 22a/portion 35 together forming support plate) (paragraph [15]: both 22/30 fixed to each other and coupled to base 21) detachably (to clarify, as all the components attached together forming a structure, therefore they are able to be detached) coupled to the base (21) at one end (inherent) to support a bottom of the heat exchanger (10),
an outer plate (36; paragraph [25]: portion 36 extends upward from end edge on outer side of portion 35) extending upward from an opposite end (see FIG.4) of the support plate (22a/35) to support an outer side (36 with elastic member 37 together support outer side of heat exchanger 10; see FIG.4) of the heat exchanger (10),
the outer plate (36) being spaced apart from the outer wall (leg 30 used as outer wall; shown in FIG.3/FIG.4 plate 36 is at end of plate 22 and in FIG.2/FIG.4 shown plate 22 is spaced away from outer wall 30 of base plate 21) of the base (21).
Koike discloses the claimed limitations in claim 20, but fails to disclose a recess portion forming a drain channel, a plurality of supports disposed above the drain channel, extending across and above an upper side of the drain channel, a guide plate inclined upwardly from an upper end of the outer plate toward the outer wall.
However, Gagne teaches a recess portion forming a drain channel (paragraph [67]: recess 19 adapted to capture liquid in cavity 15 and to direct the liquid toward a drain discharge) for the purpose of allowing the flow of liquid towards a drain to enhance heat exchanger operation (paragraph [67]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Koike to include a recess portion forming a drain channel as taught by Gagne in order to allow the flow of liquid towards a drain to enhance heat exchanger operation.
Further, Nakagawa teaches a guide plate (41) inclined upwardly from an upper end (41 extended upward from upper end surface of 43) of the outer plate (43) toward the outer wall (to clarify, 41 extended upward towards outer wall which is at bottom of heat exchanger as shown in FIG.3) for the purpose of improving efficiency through elimination of need for adjustment of bending angles and to prevent uneven surface due to deviation in air flow direction (paragraph [6]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the inventio of Koike to include a guide plate inclined upwardly from an upper end of the outer plate toward the outer wall as taught by Nakagawa in order to improve efficiency through elimination of need for adjustment of bending angles and to prevent uneven surface due to deviation in air flow direction.
Further, Wallin teaches a plurality of supports (plates 2 used as supports) disposed above the drain channel (4), extending across and above an upper side of the drain channel (to clarify, as shown in FIG.2 plates 2 extending and covering across upper section of drain channel 4) for the purpose of increasing the total efficiency of the heat exchanger (paragraph [25]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Koike to include supports disposed above the drain channel, extending across and above an upper side of the drain channel as taught by Wallin to be seated on the second bottom wall of Koike in order to increase the total efficiency of the heat exchanger.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koike (US 2020/0355376 A1), in view of Gagne (US 2023/0160603 A1), and in view of Wallin (US 2015/0323216 A1), and in view of Shimazaki (US 2022/0049857 A1).
Claim 15: Koike fails to disclose a base heater disposed in the drain channel.
However, Shimazaki teaches a base heater (60 placed in drainage path 70) for the purpose of improving drainage efficiency by causing drain water to be collected along the panel (paragraph [44]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the inventio of Koike to include a base heater disposed in the drain channel as taught by Shimazaki in order to improve drainage efficiency by causing drain water to be collected along the panel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/18/2025, with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 & 103 have been fully considered and they are moot. Applicant’s arguments to new features and amendments are addressed in this office action. Therefore, a new ground(s) of rejections have been made in response to the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763