DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1 and 4-22 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/01/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On page 8 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the instant Specification paragraph [0062] explaining that “the device may include a software application configured to receive the third signal from the server.” By explicitly including “software application installed on the device” as part of the notification means, the amendment provides the corresponding structure that performs the notification function and clearly links that structure to the claimed function, thereby curing the indefiniteness rejection.
As indicated in Applicant above statement, the notification means including software application installed on the device. The software application does not include any structure to support the notification means. Therefore, the 112 second paragraph rejections for claims 1 and 19 are sustained.
On pages 9-11 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Lewis and Meek does not teach the claimed invention because Meek’s frequency teaching cannot be simply extracted and applied to Lewis while ignoring the technical context that makes Meek’s system incompatible with Lewis continuous transmission requirements.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 07/01/2025, the rejection relied upon Lewis to disclose a system comprising a pod transmitter wirelessly communicate a first signal as radiofrequency to a gateway (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11: As well as transmitting continence-related data signals obtained from the sensor 200, the transmitters T.sub.n are configured to transmit data to processor 102 identifying points in time for which non-wetness event data is required (i.e. a required non-wetness event data signal). This may be achieved by transmitting a time stamped signal to processor 102 which is distinct from the continence-related data signal. Alternatively, the continence-related data signal may be marked with non-wetness event indicators identifying times during the monitored period for which non-wetness event data are required), except for the limitations of the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal.
Further, Meek disclose the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal (Meek: [0030]-[0031], [0041]-0042], [0047], [0054], [0088]-[0090], and FIG. 1-3: Ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID systems generally operate in the 300 MHz to 3 GHz range. Due to commonly used communication standards and/or regulations, many examples of UHF systems operate either in the range of 860 to 960 MHz, at 433 MHz, or at 2.45 GHz. Some UHF RFID systems are active, and some are passive. Passive UHF RFID tags typically couple to UHF readers electromagnetically via backscatter modulation, rather than the inductive coupling used by typical LF and HF passive systems. One benefit of UHF tags is their range. A passive UHF RFID tag may be readable by a UHF reader at a maximum distance of tens of meters).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis and Meek, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis to include the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal, as suggested by Meek. The motivation for this is to selectively choose an appropriate network type for applications needs (see MPEP 2143 for detail (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention).
On pages 11-13 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Lewis, Meek, and Low does not teach the amended claimed invention because a person of ordinary skill in the art has no basis to modify Lewis in view of Low as these references address fundamentally different technical problems in unrelated fields and really are non-analogous art.
Applicant's attention is directed to MPEP § 2141.01 (a) I, where stated: The examiner must determine what is "analogous prior art" for the purpose of analyzing the obviousness of the subject matter at issue. "In order to rely on a reference as a basis for rejection of an applicant's invention, the reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned." In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 1446, 24 USPQ2d 1443, 1445 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Deminski, 796 F.2d 436, 230 USPQ 313 (Fed. Cir. 1986); In re Clay, 966 F.2d 656, 659, 23 USPQ2d 1058, 1060-61 (Fed. Cir. 1992) ("A reference is reasonably pertinent if, even though it may be in a different field from that of the inventor's endeavor, it is one which, because of the matter with which it deals, logically would have commended itself to an inventor's attention in considering his problem."); Wang Laboratories Inc. v. Toshiba Corp., 993 F.2d 858, 26 USPQ2d 1767 (Fed. Cir. 1993); and State Contracting & Eng'g Corp. v. Condotte America, Inc., 346 F.3d 1057, 1069, 68 USPQ2d 1481, 1490 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (where the general scope of a reference is outside the pertinent field of endeavor, the reference may be considered analogous art if subject matter disclosed therein is relevant to the particular problem with which the inventor is involved).
In this case, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 07/01/2025, the rejection relied upon the combination of Lewis and Meek discloses a method for exchange information, e.g. the first signal, using various protocols (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0063]-[0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: Wireless communication may be implemented over a LAN (local area network) 110 such as a paging, Wi-Fi or ZigBee network having infrastructure specific to the institution in which the system is being used. In such arrangement, the mobile or hand held devices may be custom designed to work with the inventive system. In other embodiments, instead of using a LAN 110, the public mobile telephone communications networks may be used to convey signals from processor 102 to hand held units 108 in the possession of carers. In such arrangement, the hand held units may be mobile phones of the kind sold to the general public. Smart phones or similar devices may be used, with applications installed thereon for use with the inventive system, enabling input of patient data and other non-wetness event data, displaying the visual representations of a subject's continence-related information and the like. Various communications protocols may be adopted for transmitting signals to hand held devices used by carers and Meek: [0099], [0122], and FIG. 7-8), and the second signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11:Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices and Meek: [0030]-[0031], [0041]-0042], [0047], [0054], [0088]-[0090], and FIG. 1-3: Ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID systems generally operate in the 300 MHz to 3 GHz range. Due to commonly used communication standards and/or regulations, many examples of UHF systems operate either in the range of 860 to 960 MHz, at 433 MHz, or at 2.45 GHz. Some UHF RFID systems are active, and some are passive. Passive UHF RFID tags typically couple to UHF readers electromagnetically via backscatter modulation, rather than the inductive coupling used by typical LF and HF passive systems. One benefit of UHF tags is their range. A passive UHF RFID tag may be readable by a UHF reader at a maximum distance of tens of meters), except the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol.
Low discloses the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol (Low: Abstract, [0125], and FIG. 1: In other embodiments, a monitoring agent 144 may have a custom or proprietary exchange protocol for communicating with the server 106).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, and Low, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis and Meek to include the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol, as suggested by Low. The motivation for this is to selectively choose a custom electronic data interchange protocol as a known alternative communication protocol for network communication (see MPEP 2143 for detail (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention).
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Objections
The followings are reasons for claim objections:
Claim 14 is objected to because claim 14 recites redundant limitations of claim 1.
Claim 20 is objected to because claim 20 recites redundant limitations of claim 19.
Claims 21-22 are objected to because of missing a period at the end of the respective claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION – The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre- AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 19 recite “a notification means configured to provide a notification based upon the third signal, the notification means including a software application installed on the device.” However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claims 4-18 and 20-22 are rejected because of being dependent on the respective claims 1 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 12-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (Lewis – US 2016/0220164 A1) in view of Meek et al. (Meek – US 2021/0145654 A1) and Low et al. (Low – US 2009/0106571 A1).
As to claim 1, Lewis discloses a detection system, comprising:
a pod (Lewis: [0059]-[0060], FIG. 1, and FIG. 10-11) including a coupling for removably connecting the pod to an incontinence product (Lewis: [0016], [0059]-[0060], [0071]-[0072] and FIG. 3 the absorbent article 300: The transmitter T.sub.a contains a wireless transmitter/receiver, a processor and memory and couples with a sensor which is embedded in or attachable to an absorbent article, beneath a top layer of the pad (typically a “dry” layer)),
a sensor (Lewis: FIG. 3 the senor 200) configured to detect a wetness in the incontinence product (Lewis: [0059]-[0060], [0068], [0071]-[0072], [0105], FIG. 1, and FIG. 3: The sensor 200 illustrated in FIG. 2 monitors changes in resistance between the electrodes 202 to identify the presence of wetness in the absorbent article 300. When the absorbent article is substantially dry, resistance between electrodes in the sensor is maximal. When a wetness event occurs, moisture from exudate in the pad completes a conductive circuit between the electrodes and the resistance of the circuit decreases. The magnitude of the change in resistance together with the rate and duration of change is detectable by a transmitter T couplable with the sensor which, in use, transmits a continence-related data signal to processor 102. However, the sensor could use a range of other indicators to generate a continence-related data signal. These may include, for example, changes in temperature, capacitance, inductance, impedance, presence of biological specimens, gases etc.), and
a pod transmitter configured to transmit a first signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11: As well as transmitting continence-related data signals obtained from the sensor 200, the transmitters T.sub.n are configured to transmit data to processor 102 identifying points in time for which non-wetness event data is required (i.e. a required non-wetness event data signal). This may be achieved by transmitting a time stamped signal to processor 102 which is distinct from the continence-related data signal. Alternatively, the continence-related data signal may be marked with non-wetness event indicators identifying times during the monitored period for which non-wetness event data are required), the first signal including a first member selected from a group consisting of an indication of wetness in the incontinence product detected by the sensor (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0099], [0113], FIG. 1, and FIG. 10-11: When a wetness event occurs, moisture from exudate in the pad completes a conductive circuit between the electrodes and the resistance of the circuit decreases. The magnitude of the change in resistance together with the rate and duration of change is detectable by a transmitter T couplable with the sensor which, in use, transmits a continence-related data signal to processor 102. However, the sensor could use a range of other indicators to generate a continence-related data signal. These may include, for example, changes in temperature, capacitance, inductance, impedance, presence of biological specimens, gases etc.), an identity of the pod, and combinations thereof (Lewis: [0090]-[0092] and FIG. 3: The unique identification code can be used for a range of purposes in addition to monitoring the status and type of the pad/sensor, as has been outlined in the foregoing in connection the unique identification codes employed by read only memory devices),
a gateway (Lewis: FIG. 11 the gateway G) including
a gateway receiver configured to receive the first signal from the pod (Lewis: [0141]-[0146], and FIG. 10-11: Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices. Gateway G need not be an ambulatory device), and
a gateway transmitter in communication with a network and configured to transmit a second signal upon receipt of the first signal, the second signal including a second member selected from a group consisting of the indication of wetness in the incontinence product detected by the sensor, the identity of the pod, the identity of the gateway and combinations thereof (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11:Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices),
a server (Lewis: FIG. 1 the processor 102 and FIG. 10-11 the processing means 1002 and/or processors 1004)including
a server receiver configured to be in communication with the network and configured to receive the second signal from the gateway (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11: Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices), and
a server transmitter configured to transmit a third signal using the network upon receipt of the second signal, the third signal including a third member selected from a group consisting of the indication of wetness in the incontinence product detected by the sensor, the identity of the pod, and combinations thereof (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11: a processor ascertains if the total volume in the pad exceeds a threshold volume, V.sub.TH. If the total volume exceeds the threshold then in a step 628 the processor transmits an alert to the carer indicating that the subject requires attention. Concurrently, the processor determines a risk of wetness leakage from the pad in step 630. If the risk of leakage does not exceed a pre-defined acceptable risk level then no action is taken and the system continues to monitor continence-related data from the subject. In the event that the risk exceeds the acceptable level, then the processor transmits an alert to the carer in a step 628. Upon receipt of the alert, the carer changes the subjects pad in step 632. The carer may also weigh the soiled pad in a step 634, prior to disposal for input as non-wetness event data which is used in model optimisation); and
a device (Lewis: FIG. 1 the handheld device 108 and FIG. 10-11 the wireless handheld unit 108) including a device receiver configured to be in communication with the network and configured to receive the third signal from the server (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: the display 103 may be provided at a monitoring station such as a nurse station in an institutional care setting. A carer responsible for the wellbeing of a subject being monitored uses the display 103 to receive alerts or to check the continence status of the subject by viewing the visual representation. The display may also convey visible reminders to carers to check the continence status of a particular subject. A loudspeaker may also provide an audible cue and a vibration element may provide haptic notification. In most institutional settings, a carer will be responsible for more than one subject and in some cases, up to six subjects, and can view the continence status of each of these subjects using a single display device by selecting from a menu, list or the like, the subject of interest), and
a notification means configured to provide a notification based upon the third signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: the processing means may be configured cause an alert to be presented to a carer automatically so that the carer attends to a subject being monitored. An alert may be caused because of one or more of e.g. a risk of wetness leakage calculated by the processing means; the sensor and transmitter are disconnected; transmission has ceased; low power remains in an associated transmitter; the subject has potentially fallen; data collection has ceased; another condition detected by sensors attached to the transmitter; and an internal inconsistency condition in relation to the various data captured by the system ), the notification means including a software application installed on the device (Lewis: [0055]-[0056], [0068]-[0069], [0098], [0101]-[0106], FIG. 2, and FIG. 10-11: The hand held device 108 may be custom designed to operate with the system. Alternatively, it may be a personal digital assistant or similar smart mobile device having one or more applications installed which enables the device to operate as part of the inventive system. The hand held device 108 is also configured to provide visible and/or audible and/or haptic (e.g. vibration) cues or alert signals to indicate that a subject being monitored by that carer requires attention e.g. for a pad change, manual toileting, to attend to a fall etc.), the notification including a fourth member selected from a group consisting of the indication of wetness in the incontinence product detected by the sensor, the identity of the pod, and combinations thereof (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: a carer responsible for the wellbeing of a subject being monitored uses the display 103 to receive alerts or to check the continence status of the subject by viewing the visual representation. The display may also convey visible reminders to carers to check the continence status of a particular subject. A loudspeaker may also provide an audible cue and a vibration element may provide haptic notification. In most institutional settings, a carer will be responsible for more than one subject and in some cases, up to six subjects, and can view the continence status of each of these subjects using a single display device by selecting from a menu, list or the like, the subject of interest).
Lewis does not explicitly disclose the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal, the first signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol; and the second signal is transmitted and received using the custom electronic data interchange protocol.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring conditions of user to implement the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal, as suggested by Meek, which discloses a sensor (Meek: FIG. 1-3 the control tag 108, the first RFID tag 112, and the second RFID tag 120) configured to detect a wetness in the incontinence product (Meek: [0028]-[0034], [0040]-[0050], and FIG. 1-3 the incontinence product 104 ), the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal (Meek: [0030]-[0031], [0041]-0042], [0047], [0054], [0088]-[0090], and FIG. 1-3: Ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID systems generally operate in the 300 MHz to 3 GHz range. Due to commonly used communication standards and/or regulations, many examples of UHF systems operate either in the range of 860 to 960 MHz, at 433 MHz, or at 2.45 GHz. Some UHF RFID systems are active, and some are passive. Passive UHF RFID tags typically couple to UHF readers electromagnetically via backscatter modulation, rather than the inductive coupling used by typical LF and HF passive systems. One benefit of UHF tags is their range. A passive UHF RFID tag may be readable by a UHF reader at a maximum distance of tens of meters).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis and Meek, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis to include the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal, as suggested by Meek. The motivation for this is to selectively choose an appropriate network type for applications needs.
While the combination of Lewis and Meek discloses a method for exchange information, e.g. the first signal, using various protocols (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0063]-[0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: Wireless communication may be implemented over a LAN (local area network) 110 such as a paging, Wi-Fi or ZigBee network having infrastructure specific to the institution in which the system is being used. In such arrangement, the mobile or hand held devices may be custom designed to work with the inventive system. In other embodiments, instead of using a LAN 110, the public mobile telephone communications networks may be used to convey signals from processor 102 to hand held units 108 in the possession of carers. In such arrangement, the hand held units may be mobile phones of the kind sold to the general public. Smart phones or similar devices may be used, with applications installed thereon for use with the inventive system, enabling input of patient data and other non-wetness event data, displaying the visual representations of a subject's continence-related information and the like. Various communications protocols may be adopted for transmitting signals to hand held devices used by carers and Meek: [0099], [0122], and FIG. 7-8), and the second signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11:Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices and Meek: [0030]-[0031], [0041]-0042], [0047], [0054], [0088]-[0090], and FIG. 1-3: Ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID systems generally operate in the 300 MHz to 3 GHz range. Due to commonly used communication standards and/or regulations, many examples of UHF systems operate either in the range of 860 to 960 MHz, at 433 MHz, or at 2.45 GHz. Some UHF RFID systems are active, and some are passive. Passive UHF RFID tags typically couple to UHF readers electromagnetically via backscatter modulation, rather than the inductive coupling used by typical LF and HF passive systems. One benefit of UHF tags is their range. A passive UHF RFID tag may be readable by a UHF reader at a maximum distance of tens of meters), except the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol.
However, it has been known in the art of communications to implement wherein the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol, as suggested by Low, which discloses wherein the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol (Low: Abstract, [0125], and FIG. 1: In other embodiments, a monitoring agent 144 may have a custom or proprietary exchange protocol for communicating with the server 106).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, and Low, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis and Meek to include wherein the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol, as suggested by Low. The motivation for this is to selectively choose a custom electronic data interchange protocol as a known alternative communication protocol for network communication.
As to claim 4, Lewis, Meek, and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the gateway is in cellular communication with the network (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0063]-[0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: Wireless communication may be implemented over a LAN (local area network) 110 such as a paging, Wi-Fi or ZigBee network having infrastructure specific to the institution in which the system is being used. In such arrangement, the mobile or hand held devices may be custom designed to work with the inventive system. In other embodiments, instead of using a LAN 110, the public mobile telephone communications networks may be used to convey signals from processor 102 to hand held units 108 in the possession of carers. In such arrangement, the hand held units may be mobile phones of the kind sold to the general public. Smart phones or similar devices may be used, with applications installed thereon for use with the inventive system, enabling input of patient data and other non-wetness event data, displaying the visual representations of a subject's continence-related information and the like. Various communications protocols may be adopted for transmitting signals to hand held devices used by carers and Meek: [0099], [0122], and FIG. 7-8).
As to claim 5, Lewis, Meek, and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the server is in at least one of cellular Wi-Fi, and wired communication with the network (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: The hand held unit may be a smart mobile device such as iPad, iPod touch, iPhone or other similar device which is operable on a Wi-Fi or similar LAN and Meek: [0099], [0122], and FIG. 7-8).
As to claim 6, Lewis, Meek, and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the device is in at least one of cellular and Wi-Fi communication with the network (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: Alternatively the hand held unit 108 could be a personal digital assistant (PDA) or smart phone which enables input of data directly by the carer 1100, as well as transmission of alerts from the system to the carer. Carer inputs to the PDA 108 are communicated via wireless internet and 3G communication networks 120a to SIM Station 1002 and related processors 1004. A display 103 provided on PDA 108b provides a visual representation (e.g. of a chart of the kind illustrated in FIG. 2) of continence related information and this can be viewed at any time by the carer 1100 when carrying the device. Thus, the carer need not return to central SIM Station 1002 to inspect the chart or view the ‘risk of wetness’ leakage indicator. Further, the facility on PDA for entry of data leads to increased compliance from carers and greater ease of use and Meek: [0099], [0122], and FIG. 7-8).
As to claim 9, Lewis, Meek, and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the pod is configured to automatically connect to the gateway upon initiation of transmitting the first signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0076], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11: continence sensor 200 includes a sensor status identifier for identifying automatically when a pad has been newly connected to the system, as may be distinguished from re-connection of a pad that has already been used/connected with the system and Meek: [0028]-[0034], [0040]-[0050], and FIG. 1-4 the incontinence product 104 and the RFID reader 116).
As to claim 12, Lewis, Meek, and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal is transmitted at 915 MHz (Meek: [0030]-[0031], [0041]-0042], [0047], [0054], [0088]-[0090], and FIG. 1-3: Ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID systems generally operate in the 300 MHz to 3 GHz range. Due to commonly used communication standards and/or regulations, many examples of UHF systems operate either in the range of 860 to 960 MHz, at 433 MHz, or at 2.45 GHz. Some UHF RFID systems are active, and some are passive. Passive UHF RFID tags typically couple to UHF readers electromagnetically via backscatter modulation, rather than the inductive coupling used by typical LF and HF passive systems. One benefit of UHF tags is their range. A passive UHF RFID tag may be readable by a UHF reader at a maximum distance of tens of meters. Some passive UH).
As to claim 13, Lewis, Meek, and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal is transmitted at 433 MHz (Meek: [0030]-[0031], [0041]-0042], [0047], [0054], [0088]-[0090], and FIG. 1-3: Ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID systems generally operate in the 300 MHz to 3 GHz range. Due to commonly used communication standards and/or regulations, many examples of UHF systems operate either in the range of 860 to 960 MHz, at 433 MHz, or at 2.45 GHz. Some UHF RFID systems are active, and some are passive. Passive UHF RFID tags typically couple to UHF readers electromagnetically via backscatter modulation, rather than the inductive coupling used by typical LF and HF passive systems. One benefit of UHF tags is their range. A passive UHF RFID tag may be readable by a UHF reader at a maximum distance of tens of meters. Some passive UH).
As to claim 14, Lewis, Meek, and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the notification means includes a software application installable on a device (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: the processing means may be configured cause an alert to be presented to a carer automatically so that the carer attends to a subject being monitored. An alert may be caused because of one or more of e.g. a risk of wetness leakage calculated by the processing means; the sensor and transmitter are disconnected; transmission has ceased; low power remains in an associated transmitter; the subject has potentially fallen; data collection has ceased; another condition detected by sensors attached to the transmitter; and an internal inconsistency condition in relation to the various data captured by the system and Meek: [0033]-[0035], [0057], [0067], [0078], and FIG. 5).
As to claim 17, Lewis, Meek, and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the detection system of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the first member and the second member (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11:Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices and Meek: [0030]-[0031], [0041]-0042], [0047], [0054], [0088]-[0090], and FIG. 1-3: Ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID systems generally operate in the 300 MHz to 3 GHz range. Due to commonly used communication standards and/or regulations, many examples of UHF systems operate either in the range of 860 to 960 MHz, at 433 MHz, or at 2.45 GHz. Some UHF RFID systems are active, and some are passive. Passive UHF RFID tags typically couple to UHF readers electromagnetically via backscatter modulation, rather than the inductive coupling used by typical LF and HF passive systems. One benefit of UHF tags is their range. A passive UHF RFID tag may be readable by a UHF reader at a maximum distance of tens of meters) is transmitted using the custom electronic data interchange protocol (Low: Abstract, [0125], and FIG. 1: In other embodiments, a monitoring agent 144 may have a custom or proprietary exchange protocol for communicating with the server 106).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (Lewis – US 2016/0220164 A1) in view of Meek et al. (Meek – US 2021/0145654 A1) and Low et al. (Low – US 2009/0106571 A1) and further in view of Garrity (Garrity – US 2017/0042119 A1).
As to claim 7, Lewis, Meek, and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the pod includes firmware designed to conserve battery consumption.
However, it has been known in the art of sensing devices to implement wherein the pod includes firmware designed to conserve battery consumption, as suggested by Garrity, which discloses wherein the pod includes firmware designed to conserve battery consumption (Garrity: Abstract, [0033], [0042], and FIG. 4: The sleep-mode module 440 is programmed to cause the microcontroller 430 to enter a low-power sleep mode for a relatively long period of time (such as 10 minutes) compared to the time required to wake up and transmit a packet of information (such as 1 second). In some embodiments of the invention, the long period of time may be in a range of 1 minute to 24 hours and the time required to wake up and transmit a packet of information may be in a range of 100 microseconds to 10 seconds. The microcontroller 430 can also cause the long-range transceiver 450 to enter a low-power sleep mode or to remove power from it completely to conserve power when the microcontroller 430 is in sleep mode).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, Low, and Garrity, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis, Meek, and Low to include wherein the pod includes firmware designed to conserve battery consumption, as suggested by Garrity. The motivation for this is to converse battery of a sensing device.
As to claim 8, Lewis, Meek, Low, and Garrity discloses the limitations of claim 7 further comprising the detection system of Claim 7, wherein the firmware enables a sleep mode during which the pod consumes no battery (Garrity: Abstract, [0033], [0041]-[0042], FIG. 4 and FIG. 8: The sleep-mode module 440 is programmed to cause the microcontroller 430 to enter a low-power sleep mode for a relatively long period of time (such as 10 minutes) compared to the time required to wake up and transmit a packet of information (such as 1 second). In some embodiments of the invention, the long period of time may be in a range of 1 minute to 24 hours and the time required to wake up and transmit a packet of information may be in a range of 100 microseconds to 10 seconds. The microcontroller 430 can also cause the long-range transceiver 450 to enter a low-power sleep mode or to remove power from it completely to conserve power when the microcontroller 430 is in sleep mode).
Claims 10-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (Lewis – US 2016/0220164 A1) in view of Meek et al. (Meek – US 2021/0145654 A1) and Low et al. (Low – US 2009/0106571 A1) and further in view of McNeely et al. (McNeely – US 2009/0063183 A1).
As to claim 10, Lewis, Meek, and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the gateway and the pod each include a unique serial number for identification, auto-configuration and auto-registration.
However, it has been known in the art of managing sensor devices to implement wherein the gateway and the pod each include a unique serial number for identification, auto-configuration and auto-registration, as suggested by McNeely which discloses wherein the gateway and the pod each include a unique serial number (McNeely: [0062], [0079], [0090]-[0100], and FIG. 4-7: the computing device 4 attempts to associate beds 22 and surfaces 46 based upon the data received from each bed 22 and surface 46. In an embodiment, the computing device 4 may determine that a bed 22' and surface 46' (See, FIG. 4) are associated based upon bed ID data and surface ID data received from the network interface 340 of the bed 22' since the computing device 4 is capable of determining that the bed ID data and surface ID data is received from a single source (e.g. bed 22'''). Similarly, the computing device 4 may determine that a bed 22''' and surface 46''' (See, FIG. 6) are associated based upon bed ID data and surface ID data received from the network interface 370 of the surface 46''' since the computing device 4 is capable of determining that the bed ID data and surface ID data is received from a single source (e.g. surface 46''')) for identification, auto-configuration and auto-registration (McNeely: [0036]-[0038], [0040]-[0041], [0052]-[0053], [0057], [0090]-[0092] In such an embodiment, the computing device 4 may detect a surface association request based upon bed status data and/or surface status data received from the bed 22 and/or surface 46 indicating the occurrence of a predetermined sequence of actions which the computing device 4 recognizes as a surface association request, and FIG. 4-7: the bed 22'' may receive information from the support surface 46'' such as support surface ID data, location ID data, support surface status data, and control via network interfaces 340, 370. Likewise, the support surface may receive information from the bed 22'' such as bed ID data, location ID data, bed status data, and control words via network interfaces 340, 370).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, Low, and McNeely, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis, Meek and Low, to include wherein the gateway and the pod each include a unique serial number for identification, auto-configuration and auto-registration, as suggested by McNeely. The motivation for this is to associate devices within a medical environment.
As to claim 11, Lewis, Meek and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the gateway and the pod are updated remotely using the server.
However, it has been known in the art of managing sensor devices to wherein the gateway and the pod are updated remotely using the server, as suggested by McNeely which discloses wherein the gateway and the pod are updated remotely using the server (McNeely: [0036]-[0038], [0040]-[0041], [0052]-[0053], [0057], [0079], [0090]-[0092], [0095]-[0099], and FIG. 1: a computing device 4 may send control messages to a bed 22 based upon the surface status data for the surface 46 of the bed 22 and/or bed status data of the bed 22. Similarly, a computing device 4 may send control messages to a support surface 46 based upon the surface status data for the surface 46 of the bed 22 and/or bed status data of the bed 22. The surface association service supports such activities by maintaining associations between beds 22 and the support surfaces 46 placed upon the decks 47 of the beds 22).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, Low, and McNeely, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis, Meek and Low to include wherein the gateway and the pod are updated remotely using the server, as suggested by McNeely. The motivation for this is to associate devices within a medical environment.
As to claim 16, Lewis, Meek and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the server stores initialization data for automatically configuring the gateway and the pad.
However, it has been known in the art of managing sensor devices to wherein the server stores initialization data for automatically configuring the gateway and the pod, as suggested by McNeely which discloses wherein the server stores initialization data for automatically configuring the gateway and the pod (McNeely: [0036]-[0038], [0040]-[0041], [0052]-[0053], [0057], [0079], [0090]-[0092], [0095]-[0099], and FIG. 1: The computing device 4 in other embodiments may memorialize the determined association by updating data stored in memory of the computing device 4, requesting another computing device 4 to store the association between the bed 22 and surface 46, and/or storing the association in a non-volatile memory (e.g. hard drive, RAID drive, etc.) of the computing device 4).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, Low, and McNeely, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis, Meek and Low, to include wherein the server stores initialization data for automatically configuring the gateway and the pod, as suggested by McNeely. The motivation for this is to associate devices within a medical environment.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (Lewis – US 2016/0220164 A1) in view of Meek et al. (Meek – US 2021/0145654 A1) and Low et al. (Low – US 2009/0106571 A1) and further in view of Oleson et al. (Oleson – US 2017/0230734 A1).
As to claim 15, Lewis, Meek and Low disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the detection system of Claim 1, wherein the pod may include an optical label which may display a quick response code (QR).
However, it has been known in the art of managing sensor devices to implement the pod may include an optical label which may display a quick response code (QR), as suggested by Oleson which discloses the pod may include an optical label which may display a quick response code (QR) (Oleson: Abstract, [0102], and FIG. 14: This unique identification number 190 is contained within the memory of the sensor module 24 and is also printed on the housing of the sensor module (e.g., a visible number or barcode printed on a tag or etched in the housing). In order to associate each team member with a particular sensor module 24a-24n, the identification number must be associated with the team member 150a-150n wearing the sensor module).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, Low, and Oleson, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis, Meek and Low to include the pod may include an optical label which may display a quick response code (QR), as suggested by Oleson. The motivation for this is to provide identification number on a sensing device in order to associate the sensing device with a user.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (Lewis – US 2016/0220164 A1) in view of Meek et al. (Meek – US 2021/0145654 A1) and Low et al. (Low – US 2009/0106571 A1) and further in view of Saremi et al. (Saremi – US 2014/0140506 A1).
As to claim 18, Lewis, Meek and Low disclose the limitations of claim 17 except for the claimed limitations of the detection system of Claim 17, wherein the custom electronic data interchange protocol includes a unique key recognized only by the detection system.
However, it has been known in the art of network communications to implement where the custom electronic data interchange protocol includes a unique key recognized only by the detection system, as suggested by Saremi which discloses where the custom electronic data interchange protocol includes a unique key recognized only by the detection system (Saremi: Abstract, [0035], [0039]-[0040], [0043], [0071]-[0072], and FIG. 10: The AES key under this standard is in plain text over http or https protocols. As such an adversary can also gain access to the same key and use that to decrypt the protected content. Playlist data 295 is shown for use in conjunction with a streaming server that operates in a similar fashion to streaming server 50 or 50', but using a custom key exchange protocol in place of the default mechanism described in the HLS standard).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, Low, and Saremi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis, Meek, and Low to include where the custom electronic data interchange protocol includes a unique key recognized only by the detection system, as suggested by Saremi. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for encoding information transmitted between devices in a network.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (Lewis – US 2016/0220164 A1) in view of Meek et al. (Meek – US 2021/0145654 A1), Low et al. (Low – US 2009/0106571 A1), McNeely et al. (McNeely – US 2009/0063183 A1), and Oleson et al. (Oleson – US 2017/0230734 A1).
As to claim 19, Lewis discloses a method of using a detection system, the method comprising steps of:
providing a pod (Lewis: [0059]-[0060], FIG. 1, and FIG. 10-11) having a coupling for removably connecting the pod to an incontinence product (Lewis: [0016], [0059]-[0060], [0071]-[0072] and FIG. 3 the absorbent article 300: The transmitter T.sub.a contains a wireless transmitter/receiver, a processor and memory and couples with a sensor which is embedded in or attachable to an absorbent article, beneath a top layer of the pad (typically a “dry” layer)), a sensor (Lewis: FIG. 3 the senor 200) configured to detect a wetness in the incontinence product (Lewis: [0059]-[0060], [0068], [0071]-[0072], [0105], FIG. 1, and FIG. 3: The sensor 200 illustrated in FIG. 2 monitors changes in resistance between the electrodes 202 to identify the presence of wetness in the absorbent article 300. When the absorbent article is substantially dry, resistance between electrodes in the sensor is maximal. When a wetness event occurs, moisture from exudate in the pad completes a conductive circuit between the electrodes and the resistance of the circuit decreases. The magnitude of the change in resistance together with the rate and duration of change is detectable by a transmitter T couplable with the sensor which, in use, transmits a continence-related data signal to processor 102. However, the sensor could use a range of other indicators to generate a continence-related data signal. These may include, for example, changes in temperature, capacitance, inductance, impedance, presence of biological specimens, gases etc.), and a pod transmitter configured to transmit a first signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11: As well as transmitting continence-related data signals obtained from the sensor 200, the transmitters T.sub.n are configured to transmit data to processor 102 identifying points in time for which non-wetness event data is required (i.e. a required non-wetness event data signal). This may be achieved by transmitting a time stamped signal to processor 102 which is distinct from the continence-related data signal. Alternatively, the continence-related data signal may be marked with non-wetness event indicators identifying times during the monitored period for which non-wetness event data are required), the first signal including a first member selected from a group consisting of an indication of wetness in the incontinence product detected by the sensor (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0099], [0113], FIG. 1, and FIG. 10-11: When a wetness event occurs, moisture from exudate in the pad completes a conductive circuit between the electrodes and the resistance of the circuit decreases. The magnitude of the change in resistance together with the rate and duration of change is detectable by a transmitter T couplable with the sensor which, in use, transmits a continence-related data signal to processor 102. However, the sensor could use a range of other indicators to generate a continence-related data signal. These may include, for example, changes in temperature, capacitance, inductance, impedance, presence of biological specimens, gases etc.), an identity of the pod, and combinations thereof (Lewis: [0090]-[0092] and FIG. 3: The unique identification code can be used for a range of purposes in addition to monitoring the status and type of the pad/sensor, as has been outlined in the foregoing in connection the unique identification codes employed by read only memory devices);
providing a gateway (Lewis: FIG. 11 the gateway G) including a gateway receiver configured to receive the first signal from the pod (Lewis: [0141]-[0146], and FIG. 10-11: Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices. Gateway G need not be an ambulatory device) and a gateway transmitter in communication with a network and configured to transmit a second signal upon receipt of the first signal, the second signal including a second member selected from a group consisting of the indication of wetness in the incontinence product detected by the sensor, the identity of the pod, identity of the gateway and combinations thereof (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11:Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices);
providing a server (Lewis: FIG. 1 the processor 102 and FIG. 10-11 the processing means 1002 and/or processors 1004) including a server receiver configured to be in communication with the network and configured to receive the second signal from the gateway (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11: Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices) and a server transmitter configured to transmit a third signal using the network upon receipt of the second signal, the third signal including a third member selected from a group consisting of the indication of wetness in the incontinence product detected by the sensor, the identity of the pod, identity of the gateway and combinations thereof (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11: a processor ascertains if the total volume in the pad exceeds a threshold volume, V.sub.TH. If the total volume exceeds the threshold then in a step 628 the processor transmits an alert to the carer indicating that the subject requires attention. Concurrently, the processor determines a risk of wetness leakage from the pad in step 630. If the risk of leakage does not exceed a pre-defined acceptable risk level then no action is taken and the system continues to monitor continence-related data from the subject. In the event that the risk exceeds the acceptable level, then the processor transmits an alert to the carer in a step 628. Upon receipt of the alert, the carer changes the subjects pad in step 632. The carer may also weigh the soiled pad in a step 634, prior to disposal for input as non-wetness event data which is used in model optimisation);
providing a device (Lewis: FIG. 1 the handheld device 108 and FIG. 10-11 the wireless handheld unit 108) including a device receiver configured to be in communication with the network and configured to receive the third signal from the server (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: the display 103 may be provided at a monitoring station such as a nurse station in an institutional care setting. A carer responsible for the wellbeing of a subject being monitored uses the display 103 to receive alerts or to check the continence status of the subject by viewing the visual representation. The display may also convey visible reminders to carers to check the continence status of a particular subject. A loudspeaker may also provide an audible cue and a vibration element may provide haptic notification. In most institutional settings, a carer will be responsible for more than one subject and in some cases, up to six subjects, and can view the continence status of each of these subjects using a single display device by selecting from a menu, list or the like, the subject of interest) and a notification means configured to provide a notification based upon the third signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: the processing means may be configured cause an alert to be presented to a carer automatically so that the carer attends to a subject being monitored. An alert may be caused because of one or more of e.g. a risk of wetness leakage calculated by the processing means; the sensor and transmitter are disconnected; transmission has ceased; low power remains in an associated transmitter; the subject has potentially fallen; data collection has ceased; another condition detected by sensors attached to the transmitter; and an internal inconsistency condition in relation to the various data captured by the system ), the notification means including a software application installed on the device (Lewis: [0055]-[0056], [0068]-[0069], [0098], [0101]-[0106], FIG. 2, and FIG. 10-11: The hand held device 108 may be custom designed to operate with the system. Alternatively, it may be a personal digital assistant or similar smart mobile device having one or more applications installed which enables the device to operate as part of the inventive system. The hand held device 108 is also configured to provide visible and/or audible and/or haptic (e.g. vibration) cues or alert signals to indicate that a subject being monitored by that carer requires attention e.g. for a pad change, manual toileting, to attend to a fall etc.), the notification including a fourth member selected from a group consisting of the indication of wetness in the incontinence product detected by the sensor, the identity of the pod, and combinations thereof (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: a carer responsible for the wellbeing of a subject being monitored uses the display 103 to receive alerts or to check the continence status of the subject by viewing the visual representation. The display may also convey visible reminders to carers to check the continence status of a particular subject. A loudspeaker may also provide an audible cue and a vibration element may provide haptic notification. In most institutional settings, a carer will be responsible for more than one subject and in some cases, up to six subjects, and can view the continence status of each of these subjects using a single display device by selecting from a menu, list or the like, the subject of interest);
installing the gateway at a desired location; initiating communication between the gateway transmitter and the network by at least one of connecting the gateway to a power source and engaging a start function on the gateway (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11);
initiating the pod transmitter and the first signal by engaging a start function on the pod (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11: As well as transmitting continence-related data signals obtained from the sensor 200, the transmitters T.sub.n are configured to transmit data to processor 102 identifying points in time for which non-wetness event data is required (i.e. a required non-wetness event data signal). This may be achieved by transmitting a time stamped signal to processor 102 which is distinct from the continence-related data signal. Alternatively, the continence-related data signal may be marked with non-wetness event indicators identifying times during the monitored period for which non-wetness event data are required);
coupling the pod to the incontinence product (Lewis: [0016], [0059]-[0060], [0071]-[0072] and FIG. 3 the absorbent article 300: The transmitter T.sub.a contains a wireless transmitter/receiver, a processor and memory and couples with a sensor which is embedded in or attachable to an absorbent article, beneath a top layer of the pad (typically a “dry” layer));
detecting the wetness in the incontinence product using the sensor (Lewis: [0059]-[0060], [0068], [0071]-[0072], [0105], FIG. 1, and FIG. 3: The sensor 200 illustrated in FIG. 2 monitors changes in resistance between the electrodes 202 to identify the presence of wetness in the absorbent article 300. When the absorbent article is substantially dry, resistance between electrodes in the sensor is maximal. When a wetness event occurs, moisture from exudate in the pad completes a conductive circuit between the electrodes and the resistance of the circuit decreases. The magnitude of the change in resistance together with the rate and duration of change is detectable by a transmitter T couplable with the sensor which, in use, transmits a continence-related data signal to processor 102. However, the sensor could use a range of other indicators to generate a continence-related data signal. These may include, for example, changes in temperature, capacitance, inductance, impedance, presence of biological specimens, gases etc.);
sending the first signal from the pod to the gateway (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11: As well as transmitting continence-related data signals obtained from the sensor 200, the transmitters T.sub.n are configured to transmit data to processor 102 identifying points in time for which non-wetness event data is required (i.e. a required non-wetness event data signal). This may be achieved by transmitting a time stamped signal to processor 102 which is distinct from the continence-related data signal. Alternatively, the continence-related data signal may be marked with non-wetness event indicators identifying times during the monitored period for which non-wetness event data are required);
sending the second signal from the gateway to the server (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11:Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices);
sending the third signal from the server to the device (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: the display 103 may be provided at a monitoring station such as a nurse station in an institutional care setting. A carer responsible for the wellbeing of a subject being monitored uses the display 103 to receive alerts or to check the continence status of the subject by viewing the visual representation. The display may also convey visible reminders to carers to check the continence status of a particular subject. A loudspeaker may also provide an audible cue and a vibration element may provide haptic notification. In most institutional settings, a carer will be responsible for more than one subject and in some cases, up to six subjects, and can view the continence status of each of these subjects using a single display device by selecting from a menu, list or the like, the subject of interest); and
monitoring the wetness in the incontinence product using the notification means (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: the processing means may be configured cause an alert to be presented to a carer automatically so that the carer attends to a subject being monitored. An alert may be caused because of one or more of e.g. a risk of wetness leakage calculated by the processing means; the sensor and transmitter are disconnected; transmission has ceased; low power remains in an associated transmitter; the subject has potentially fallen; data collection has ceased; another condition detected by sensors attached to the transmitter; and an internal inconsistency condition in relation to the various data captured by the system ).
Lewis does not explicitly disclose an optical label unique to the pod and assignable to a wearer, the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal, the first signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol; the second signal is transmitted and received using the custom electronic data interchange protocol; auto-configuring the gateway using a first set of data from the server; auto-configuring the pod using a second set of data from the gateway; and assigning the identity of the pod to the wearer using a unique QR code displayed on the pod.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring conditions of user to implement the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal, as suggested by Meek, which discloses a sensor (Meek: FIG. 1-3 the control tag 108, the first RFID tag 112, and the second RFID tag 120) configured to detect a wetness in the incontinence product (Meek: [0028]-[0034], [0040]-[0050], and FIG. 1-3 the incontinence product 104 ), the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal (Meek: [0030]-[0031], [0041]-0042], [0047], [0054], [0088]-[0090], and FIG. 1-3: Ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID systems generally operate in the 300 MHz to 3 GHz range. Due to commonly used communication standards and/or regulations, many examples of UHF systems operate either in the range of 860 to 960 MHz, at 433 MHz, or at 2.45 GHz. Some UHF RFID systems are active, and some are passive. Passive UHF RFID tags typically couple to UHF readers electromagnetically via backscatter modulation, rather than the inductive coupling used by typical LF and HF passive systems. One benefit of UHF tags is their range. A passive UHF RFID tag may be readable by a UHF reader at a maximum distance of tens of meters).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis and Meek, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis to include the first signal configured as a sub-gigahertz radiofrequency signal, as suggested by Meek. The motivation for this is to selectively choose an appropriate network type for applications needs.
While the combination of Lewis and Meek discloses a method for exchange information, e.g. the first signal, using various protocols (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0063]-[0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: Wireless communication may be implemented over a LAN (local area network) 110 such as a paging, Wi-Fi or ZigBee network having infrastructure specific to the institution in which the system is being used. In such arrangement, the mobile or hand held devices may be custom designed to work with the inventive system. In other embodiments, instead of using a LAN 110, the public mobile telephone communications networks may be used to convey signals from processor 102 to hand held units 108 in the possession of carers. In such arrangement, the hand held units may be mobile phones of the kind sold to the general public. Smart phones or similar devices may be used, with applications installed thereon for use with the inventive system, enabling input of patient data and other non-wetness event data, displaying the visual representations of a subject's continence-related information and the like. Various communications protocols may be adopted for transmitting signals to hand held devices used by carers and Meek: [0099], [0122], and FIG. 7-8), and the second signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11:Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices and Meek: [0030]-[0031], [0041]-0042], [0047], [0054], [0088]-[0090], and FIG. 1-3: Ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID systems generally operate in the 300 MHz to 3 GHz range. Due to commonly used communication standards and/or regulations, many examples of UHF systems operate either in the range of 860 to 960 MHz, at 433 MHz, or at 2.45 GHz. Some UHF RFID systems are active, and some are passive. Passive UHF RFID tags typically couple to UHF readers electromagnetically via backscatter modulation, rather than the inductive coupling used by typical LF and HF passive systems. One benefit of UHF tags is their range. A passive UHF RFID tag may be readable by a UHF reader at a maximum distance of tens of meters), except the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol as in the limitations of the first signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol and the second signal is transmitted and received using the custom electronic data interchange protocol
However, it has been known in the art of communications to implement wherein the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol, as suggested by Low, which discloses wherein the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol (Low: Abstract, [0125], and FIG. 1: In other embodiments, a monitoring agent 144 may have a custom or proprietary exchange protocol for communicating with the server 106).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, and Low, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis and Meek to include wherein the signal is transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol, as suggested by Low. The motivation for this is to selectively choose a custom electronic data interchange protocol as a known alternative communication protocol for network communication.
The combination of Lewis, Meek, and Low does not explicitly disclose auto-configuring the gateway using a first set of data from the server; auto-configuring the pod using a second set of data from the gateway.
However, it has been known in the art of managing sensor devices to auto-configuring the gateway using a first set of data from the server; auto-configuring the pod using a second set of data from the gateway, as suggested by McNeely which discloses auto-configuring the gateway using a first set of data from the server (McNeely: [0062], [0079], [0090]-[0100], and FIG. 4-7: the computing device 4 attempts to associate beds 22 and surfaces 46 based upon the data received from each bed 22 and surface 46. In an embodiment, the computing device 4 may determine that a bed 22' and surface 46' (See, FIG. 4) are associated based upon bed ID data and surface ID data received from the network interface 340 of the bed 22' since the computing device 4 is capable of determining that the bed ID data and surface ID data is received from a single source (e.g. bed 22'''). Similarly, the computing device 4 may determine that a bed 22''' and surface 46''' (See, FIG. 6) are associated based upon bed ID data and surface ID data received from the network interface 370 of the surface 46''' since the computing device 4 is capable of determining that the bed ID data and surface ID data is received from a single source (e.g. surface 46''')), and auto-configuring the pod using a second set of data from the gateway (McNeely: [0036]-[0038], [0040]-[0041], [0052]-[0053], [0057], [0090]-[0092] In such an embodiment, the computing device 4 may detect a surface association request based upon bed status data and/or surface status data received from the bed 22 and/or surface 46 indicating the occurrence of a predetermined sequence of actions which the computing device 4 recognizes as a surface association request, and FIG. 4-7: the bed 22'' may receive information from the support surface 46'' such as support surface ID data, location ID data, support surface status data, and control via network interfaces 340, 370. Likewise, the support surface may receive information from the bed 22'' such as bed ID data, location ID data, bed status data, and control words via network interfaces 340, 370).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, Low, and McNeely, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis, Meek, and Low, to include auto-configuring the gateway using a first set of data from the server; auto-configuring the pod using a second set of data from the gateway, as suggested by McNeely. The motivation for this is to associate devices within a medical environment.
The combination of Lewis, Meek, Low, and McNeely does not explicitly disclose an optical label unique to the pod and assignable to a wearer, and assigning the identity of the pod to the wearer using a unique QR code displayed on the pod.
However, it has been known in the art of managing sensor devices to implement an optical label unique to the pod and assignable to a wearer, and assigning the identity of the pod to the wearer using a unique QR code displayed on the pod, as suggested by Oleson which discloses an optical label unique to the pod and assignable to a wearer, and assigning the identity of the pod to the wearer using a unique QR code displayed on the pod (Oleson: Abstract, [0102], and FIG. 14: This unique identification number 190 is contained within the memory of the sensor module 24 and is also printed on the housing of the sensor module (e.g., a visible number or barcode printed on a tag or etched in the housing). In order to associate each team member with a particular sensor module 24a-24n, the identification number must be associated with the team member 150a-150n wearing the sensor module).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, Low, McNeely, and Oleson, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis, Meek, Low, and McNeely to include an optical label unique to the pod and assignable to a wearer, and assigning the identity of the pod to the wearer using a unique QR code displayed on the pod, as suggested by Oleson. The motivation for this is to provide identification number on a sensing device in order to associate the sensing device with a user.
As to claim 20, Lewis, Meek, Low, McNeely, and Oleson disclose the limitations of claim 19 further comprising the method of Claim 19, wherein the first signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0063]-[0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: Wireless communication may be implemented over a LAN (local area network) 110 such as a paging, Wi-Fi or ZigBee network having infrastructure specific to the institution in which the system is being used. In such arrangement, the mobile or hand held devices may be custom designed to work with the inventive system. In other embodiments, instead of using a LAN 110, the public mobile telephone communications networks may be used to convey signals from processor 102 to hand held units 108 in the possession of carers. In such arrangement, the hand held units may be mobile phones of the kind sold to the general public. Smart phones or similar devices may be used, with applications installed thereon for use with the inventive system, enabling input of patient data and other non-wetness event data, displaying the visual representations of a subject's continence-related information and the like. Various communications protocols may be adopted for transmitting signals to hand held devices used by carers and Meek: [0099], [0122], and FIG. 7-8) and the second signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0060], [0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, and FIG. 10-11:Each subject still has a Transmitter T connected to the sensor in the absorbent article, and is also allocated access to a wireless device providing a gateway G for communicating directly with network 120b (a Wi-Fi or Ethernet LAN). Preferably data is acquired from sensors using a low power transmitter T and is conveyed to the processing means (SIM Station 1002 and/or processors 1004) via higher power devices and Meek: [0030]-[0031], [0041]-0042], [0047], [0054], [0088]-[0090], and FIG. 1-3: Ultra-high frequency (UHF) RFID systems generally operate in the 300 MHz to 3 GHz range. Due to commonly used communication standards and/or regulations, many examples of UHF systems operate either in the range of 860 to 960 MHz, at 433 MHz, or at 2.45 GHz. Some UHF RFID systems are active, and some are passive. Passive UHF RFID tags typically couple to UHF readers electromagnetically via backscatter modulation, rather than the inductive coupling used by typical LF and HF passive systems. One benefit of UHF tags is their range. A passive UHF RFID tag may be readable by a UHF reader at a maximum distance of tens of meters) are transmitted and received using a custom electronic data interchange protocol (Low: Abstract, [0125], and FIG. 1: In other embodiments, a monitoring agent 144 may have a custom or proprietary exchange protocol for communicating with the server 106).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (Lewis – US 2016/0220164 A1) in view of Meek et al. (Meek – US 2021/0145654 A1), Low et al. (Low – US 2009/0106571 A1), McNeely et al. (McNeely – US 2009/0063183 A1), and Oleson et al. (Oleson – US 2017/0230734 A1) and further in view of Saremi et al. (Saremi – US 2014/0140506 A1).
As to claim 21, Lewis, Meek, Low, McNeely, and Oleson disclose the limitations of claim 19 further comprising the method of claim 19, wherein the custom electronic data interchange protocol enables the first signal and second signal (Lewis: Abstract, [0022], [0060], [0054]-[0056], [0063]-[0064], [0072], [0090]-[0092], [0099], [0113], [0141]-[0146], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIG. 6 and FIG. 10-11: Wireless communication may be implemented over a LAN (local area network) 110 such as a paging, Wi-Fi or ZigBee network having infrastructure specific to the institution in which the system is being used. In such arrangement, the mobile or hand held devices may be custom designed to work with the inventive system. In other embodiments, instead of using a LAN 110, the public mobile telephone communications networks may be used to convey signals from processor 102 to hand held units 108 in the possession of carers. In such arrangement, the hand held units may be mobile phones of the kind sold to the general public. Smart phones or similar devices may be used, with applications installed thereon for use with the inventive system, enabling input of patient data and other non-wetness event data, displaying the visual representations of a subject's continence-related information and the like. Various communications protocols may be adopted for transmitting signals to hand held devices used by carers, Meek: [0099], [0122], and FIG. 7-8, and Low: Abstract, [0125], and FIG. 1: In other embodiments, a monitoring agent 144 may have a custom or proprietary exchange protocol for communicating with the server 106), except for the claimed limitations of the custom electronic data interchange protocol enables signals to be recognized only by components of the detection system.
However, it has been known in the art of network communications to implement the custom electronic data interchange protocol enables signals to be recognized only by components of the detection system, as suggested by Saremi which discloses the custom electronic data interchange protocol enables signals to be recognized only by components of the detection system (Saremi: Abstract, [0035], [0039]-[0040], [0043], [0071]-[0072], and FIG. 10: The AES key under this standard is in plain text over http or https protocols. As such an adversary can also gain access to the same key and use that to decrypt the protected content. Playlist data 295 is shown for use in conjunction with a streaming server that operates in a similar fashion to streaming server 50 or 50', but using a custom key exchange protocol in place of the default mechanism described in the HLS standard).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, Low, McNeely, Oleson, and Saremi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis, Meek, Low, McNeely, and Oleson to include the custom electronic data interchange protocol enables signals to be recognized only by components of the detection system, as suggested by Saremi. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for encoding information transmitted between devices in a network.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (Lewis – US 2016/0220164 A1) in view of Meek et al. (Meek – US 2021/0145654 A1), Low et al. (Low – US 2009/0106571 A1) , McNeely et al. (McNeely – US 2009/0063183 A1), and Oleson et al. (Oleson – US 2017/0230734 A1) and further in view of Patel (Patel – US 2022/0044802 A1).
As to claim 22, Lewis, Meek, Low, McNeely, and Oleson disclose the limitations of claim 19 except for the claimed limitations of the method of claim 19, wherein the sending the first signal step and the sending the second signal step occur automatically without manual pairing or registration procedures between the pod and gateway.
However, it has been known in the art of communication system to implement wherein the sending the first signal step and the sending the second signal step occur automatically without manual pairing or registration procedures between the pod and gateway, as suggested by Patel, which discloses wherein the sending the first signal step and the sending the second signal step occur automatically without manual pairing or registration procedures between the pod and gateway (Patel: Abstract, [0045]-[0047], FIG. 2, and FIG. 10: the system may automatically establish communication links and be ready to conduct a telehealth appointment. For example, upon initiating use of the system by transitioning the case from the closed state to the open state and powering on the system, including one or more of the plurality of medical devices and/or the computing device, the system may be configured to automatically establish a first communication channel between the computing device and at least one of the medical devices of the plurality of medical devices without requiring further action by a user. The first communication channel may be direct or indirect. For example, the medical devices may transmit data to a display, which may then transmit the data to the computing device. The system may be further configured to automatically establish a second communication channel between the computing device and the one or more nodes of the telecommunications network without requiring further action by the user.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Lewis, Meek, Low, McNeely, Oleson, and Patel, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the incontinence monitoring and assessment system of Lewis, Meek, Low, McNeely, and Oleson to include wherein the sending the first signal step and the sending the second signal step occur automatically without manual pairing or registration procedures between the pod and gateway, as suggested by Patel. The motivation for this is to facilitate data communication in a healthcare system.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Al-Ali et al., US 2020/0138288 A1, discloses system for transmission of sensor data using dual communication protocol.
Petite, US 10,356,687 B2, discloses wireless network protocol systems and methods.
Halperin et al., US 2015/0164438 A1, discloses monitoring, predicting and treating clinical episodes.
Conclusion
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685