DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”, the machine translation is used herein for citation purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Choo discloses a fuel cell integrated system (see title “fuel cell system”), comprising: a main body having a front side, a rear side opposite of the front side, a left side, a right side opposite of the left side, a top side, and a bottom side opposite of the top side, and being supported on a plurality of vertically arranged supporting frames (see FIG. 4 describes “100 fuel cell stack” & describes a main body with 6 sides; see annotated FIG. 4 “f1”, “f2”, “f3” describes vertically arranged supporting frames when the fuel cell is rotated 90 degrees);
Choo discloses an inlet and outlet assembly having an air inlet (see FIG. 4 describes “air inlet 131” & “air outlet 133”), a cooling liquid inlet (see FIG. 4 “151 cooling water inlet”), a hydrogen inlet (see FIG. 4 “141 hydrogen inlet), a hydrogen outlet (see FIG. 4 “142 hydrogen outlet”), a cooling liquid outlet (see FIG. 4 “152 cooling water outlet), and a tail gas outlet arranged on the front side of the main body (see FIG. 4 “134 air outlet”). Choo discloses wherein the inlet and outlet assembly comprises a first L-shaped supporting panel and a second L-shaped supporting panel attached to the first L-shaped supporting panel to provide a rectangular supporting panel (see FIG. 4 describes 2 “L shapes” & see [0007] describes “end plate for supporting and fixing the respective components is coupled to an outermost side of the fuel cell stack” which reads on supporting panel); wherein the air inlet, the cooling liquid inlet, and the hydrogen outlet are formed on the first L-shaped supporting panel (see annotated FIG. 4 describes the “L” on the right side); wherein the hydrogen inlet, the cooling liquid outlet, and a tail gas outlet are formed on the second L-shaped supporting panel (see annotated FIG. 4 describes “L” on the left side).
Regarding the limitation a fuel cell module communicated with the inlet and outlet assembly and arranged on the right side of the main body, Choo does not explicitly disclose.
Liu teaches a fuel cell module (see FIG. 16 describes a main body; see [0048] “fuel cell includes a stack module”; FIG. 16 describes “6” is communicated with “gas-liquid regulation device 7” which reads on inlet and outlet assembly & is arranged on the right side of the main body; see [0017] “this structure integrates the hydrogen inlet regulating function and the gas-liquid distribution function in one unit. It is simple, compact, occupies little space in the overall layout of the fuel cell system, and is easy to install”. Liu teaches “a fuel cell system converts chemical energy into electrical energy through the catalytic oxidation reaction of hydrogen and oxygen, producing clean water. The fuel cell stack module is the core component of the fuel cell system, where the catalytic reaction between hydrogen and oxygen from the air takes place”.
Choo and Liu are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cells (see Liu title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the fuel cell of Choo would inherently contain the fuel cell module as suggested by Liu (see FIG. 16 & [0048] “fuel cell includes a stack module”) because “fuel cell stack module is the core component of the fuel cell system, where the catalytic reaction between hydrogen and oxygen from the air takes place”, as suggested by Liu (see [0002]). Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the structure suggested by Liu (see [0017] “structure integrates the hydrogen inlet regulating function and the gas-liquid distribution function in one unit”) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so incorporates a “simple, compact, occupies little space in the overall layout of the fuel cell system, and is easy to install”, as suggested by Liu (see [0017]).
Regarding claim 2, Choo discloses the fuel cell integrated system of claim 1 and further discloses further comprising a fuel cell controller (see [0094] “controller 180” & pressure (see [0113] “air pressure in the stack decreases to a predetermined pressure or less”). Choo does not explicitly disclose a low-pressure box arranged on the rear side of the main body.
Liu teaches a pressure sensor (see [0045] “pressure sensor B163” & “fed back to the fuel cell control system in real time” & describes pressure is monitored in real time).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a pressure sensor, as suggested by Liu (see [0045]) into the fuel cell integrated system of Choo because doing so allows for real-time monitoring as suggested by Liu (see [0045]).
Regarding claim 3, Choo discloses the fuel cell integrated system of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the first L-shaped supporting panel comprises an air inlet panel affixed on the first L-shaped supporting panel, a cooling liquid inlet panel affixed on the first L-shaped supporting panel, and a hydrogen outlet panel affixed on the first L-shaped supporting panel, wherein the air inlet panel, the cooling liquid inlet panel, and the hydrogen outlet panel are separately and spacedly arranged with each other (se FIG. 4 describes “131 air inlet”, “151 cooling water inlet” & “142 hydrogen outlet”).
Regarding claim 7, Choo discloses the fuel cell integrated system of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second L-shaped supporting panel comprises a hydrogen inlet and cooling liquid outlet panel affixed on the second L-shaped supporting panel, and a tail gas outlet panel affixed on the second L-shaped supporting panel and contacted with the hydrogen inlet and cooling liquid outlet panel (see FIG. 4 describes “hydrogen inlet” & “cooling water outlet” & “152: cooling water discharge manifold” & “air outlet 134” & describes “air outlet” is contacted with “hydrogen inlet” & “cooling water outlet”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”, the machine translation is used herein for citation purposes) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kiyohiro (US 20100178593 A1, “Kiyohiro”) and Wang et al. (CN 117276598 A, “Wang”, the machine translation is used herein for citation purposes).
Choo discloses the fuel cell integrated system of claim 1 and further disclose an air inlet panel & a controller (see FIG. 4 “131 air inlet” & “111: first air inlet manifold”; see [0101] describes “controller 180” & first air supply device 161” for performing a correction control of pressure). Choo does not explicitly disclose an air inlet distribution head attached to the air inlet of the air inlet panel, an air inlet temperature sensor integrated with the air inlet distribution head, an air inlet throttle integrated with the air inlet distribution head, an air inlet switchboard detachably coupled to the air inlet distribution head, and an air inlet filter integrated and affixed with the air inlet switchboard, and an air inlet pressure sensor integrated with the air inlet distribution head.
Kiyohiro teaches an air inlet filter (see [0077] “filter section 124” & see [0080] “for filtering the fuel gas supplied from the fuel gas supply passage 30 to the fuel gas supply channel 54”). Kiyohiro teaches a fuel gas inlet 38 (see [0073]) which describes an air inlet distribution head.
Choo and Kiyohiro are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cell (see Kiyohiro title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a filter as suggested by Kiyohiro (see [0077]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so allows for filtering the fuel gas (see [0080]) and further doing so allows for “improve[d] the fuel gas utilization ratio by consuming the fuel gas efficiently in power generation reaction”, as suggested by Kiyohiro (see abstract).
Liu teaches air intake and sensors (see [0041] through [0042] “air intake interface 1711”) & see [0042] “temperature sensor B172” & “pressure sensor C173”. Liu teaches see [0040] “the installation structure is simple”; see [0042] “the pressure and temperature of the air flowing through the air intake pipe body 171 are monitored in real time by the pressure sensor C173 and the temperature sensor B172, and fedback to the fuel cell control system in real time”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate air intake interface (see [0041] & [0042]) and temperature and pressure sensors as suggested by Liu into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so allows for the real time monitoring to be fed back to the fuel cell control system, as suggested by Liu (see [0042]).
Wang teaches air throttle & controller (see abstract “air throttle”; see [n0030] “The FCU controller collects air flow signals from the flow meter, current signals from the fuel cell, and temperature signals of the coolant entering the stack, and issues speed and opening commands to the air compressor and throttle valve”, [n0031] “signal acquisition, processing, and control of the fuel cell unit. Its main function is to monitor and control the operating status of the fuel cell unit to ensure its safe and efficient operation”, [n0034] “controller”, [n0028] “air filter”).
Choo and Wang are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely Fuel cell (see Wang title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate air throttle & controller, as suggested by Wang (see abstract) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so allows for safe and efficient operation (see [n0031]) and doing so “issues speed and opening commands to the air compressor and throttle valve” (see [n0030]) and further doing so allows for the “heating time of the system is shortened”, as suggested by Wang (see abstract).
Regarding the limitation an air inlet switchboard detachably coupled to the air inlet distribution head, Choo discloses a controller (see [0101] “180”) and a skilled artisan would find it obvious that a switchboard is an inherent component of a controller.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 117276598 A, “Wang”) and Ma et al. (CN 109994751 A, “Ma”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 5, Choo discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 and further discloses a colling water inlet (see FIG. 4 “151 cooling water inlet”). Choo does not explicitly disclose a cooling liquid inlet panel where the cooling liquid inlet is formed thereon, a cooling liquid distribution head attached to the cooling liquid inlet of the cooling liquid inlet panel, a cooling liquid inlet temperature sensor integrated with the cooling liquid distribution head, a cooling liquid inlet switch board detachably coupled with the cooling liquid inlet distribution head, and a cooling liquid inlet filter affixed with the cooling liquid switchboard.
Wang teaches temperature sensor, heat dissipation device and a controller (see abstract; see [n0030] “FCU controller”; see [n0034] “controller” & “real-time and programmable and is used to control various operating parameters of the fuel cell unit, such as hydrogen flow rate, air flow rate, and temperature”; see [n0073] “coolant supply system includes a heat dissipation device” & “coolant temperature sensor” & see [n0031]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate temperature sensor, and a heat dissipation device as suggested by Wang (see [n0073]) & controller (see Wang [n0034]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so ensures a safe and efficient operation, as suggested by Wang (see [n0031]).
Ma teaches cooling liquid filter & cooling plate (see [0051] “sensor mounting interface” & “cooling inlet 7 is composed of a particulate filter base 6” & see [0060] “evenly distributed into two cooling paths”; see [0013] “cover plate” & “forming a cooling channel”). Ma teaches in [0006] “space” & in [0066] “easy to maintain” & “providing ample operating space”.
Choo and Ma are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cell (see Ma title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate cooling liquid filter, as suggested by Ma (see [0051]) & a cooling plate as suggested by Ma (see [0013]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so allows for even distribution as suggested by Ma (see [0060]).
Regarding claim 6, Choo discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 and further discloses a hydrogen outlet & a water vapor separator integrated with the hydrogen outlet of the hydrogen outlet panel, (see FIG. 4 describes “142 hydrogen outlet”; see [0012] “hydrogen flows through channel 22 formed on the other surface of separation plate 20”). Choo does not explicitly disclose a hydrogen outlet panel nor a hydrogen outlet pressure sensor integrated with the water vapor separator.
Ma teaches a hydrogen plate (see [0014] “hydrogen outlet integrated plate”; see [0050] “the hydrogen inlet air outlet integrated plate 4, and the hydrogen outlet air inlet integrated plate 5 are assembled and form an air distribution channel and a hydrogen distribution channel, respectively”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a hydrogen plate, as suggested by Ma (see [0014]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so “form[s] an air distribution channel and a hydrogen distribution channel”, as suggested by Ma (see [0050]).
Wang teaches hydrogen outlet pressure sensor (see [n0032] “sensors” & “pressure” & “these sensors convert information about the internal and external environment of the fuel cell unit into electrical signals, which are then processed by the control system” & see [n0003] “ensure that the fuel cell operates under reasonable conditions”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate hydrogen outlet pressure sensor as suggested by Wang (see [n0032]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so “ensure[s] that the fuel cell operates under reasonable conditions”) as suggested by Wang (see [n0003]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 117276598 A, “Wang”), Ma et al. (CN 109994751 A, “Ma”) and Ewan et al. (US 5346778 A, “Ewan”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 8, Choo discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second L-shaped supporting panel comprises a hydrogen inlet and cooling liquid outlet panel where the hydrogen inlet and the cooling liquid outlet are formed thereon (see FIG. 4 “141 hydrogen inlet” & “cooling water outlet 152”). Choo does not explicitly disclose a hydrogen inlet distribution head attached on the hydrogen inlet of the hydrogen inlet and cooling liquid outlet panel, a hydrogen inlet temperature sensor integrated with the hydrogen inlet distribution head, a hydrogen inlet filter detachably coupled with the hydrogen inlet distribution head, and a hydrogen inlet pressure sensor integrated with the hydrogen inlet temperature sensor.
Ma teaches a hydrogen plate (see [0014] “hydrogen outlet integrated plate”; see [0050] “the hydrogen inlet air outlet integrated plate 4, and the hydrogen outlet air inlet integrated plate 5 are assembled and form an air distribution channel and a hydrogen distribution channel, respectively”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a hydrogen plate, as suggested by Ma (see [0014]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so “form[s] an air distribution channel and a hydrogen distribution channel”, as suggested by Ma (see [0050]).
Wang teaches hydrogen outlet pressure sensor (see [n0032] “sensors” & “pressure” & “these sensors convert information about the internal and external environment of the fuel cell unit into electrical signals, which are then processed by the control system” & see [n0003] “ensure that the fuel cell operates under reasonable conditions”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate hydrogen outlet pressure sensor as suggested by Wang (see [n0032]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so “ensure[s] that the fuel cell operates under reasonable conditions”) as suggested by Wang (see [n0003]).
Ewan teaches a hydrogen filter (see P8 col 6 par 2 “after passing through a hydrogen filter 61, the hydrogen gas at the desired pressure passes into the anode side of the fuel cell stacks”).
Choo and Ewan are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cells (see Ewan abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a hydrogen filter, as suggested by Ewan (see P8 col 6 par 2) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so allows for the desired pressure to pass through as suggested by Ewan (see P8 col 6 par 2).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 117276598 A, “Wang”), and Cipollini (US 6379827 B1, “Cipollini”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 9, Choo discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second L-shaped supporting panel comprises a hydrogen inlet and cooling liquid outlet panel (see FIG. 4 “hydrogen inlet” & “cooling water outlet”). Choo does not explicitly disclose a thermostat attached to the cooling liquid outlet formed on the hydrogen inlet and cooling liquid outlet panel, a cooling liquid outlet pressure sensor integrated with the cooling liquid outlet formed on the hydrogen inlet and cooling liquid outlet panel,
and a cooling liquid outlet temperature sensor integrated with the cooling liquid outlet formed on the hydrogen inlet and cooling liquid outlet panel.
Wang teaches temperature and pressure sensors (see [n0032] “sensors” & “temperature, pressure” & “these sensors convert information about the internal and external environment of the fuel cell into electrical signals, which are then processed by the control system”) and teaches heat dissipation device (see [n0073] “coolant supply system includes a heat dissipation device” & “coolant temperature sensor”. Wang teaches “monitor and control the operating status of the fuel cell unit to ensure its safe and efficient operation” (see [n0031]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate pressure and temperature sensors as suggested by Wang (see [n0032]) into the fuel fell of Choo because doing so allows for monitoring the fuel cell to ensure safe and efficient operation as suggested by Wang (see [n0031]).
Cipollini teaches a thermostat (see P12 col 8 par 2 “heat exchanger will preferably be controlled by a thermostat 80 which senses the temperature of the water stream exiting the heat exchanger 68”).
Choo and Cipollini are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cell (see Cipollini title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a thermostat, as suggested by Cipollini (see P12 col 8 par 2) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so is preferably to control the temperature as suggested by Cipollini (see P12 col 8 par 2).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kamihara et al. (US 20040241511 A1, “Kamihara”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 10, Choo discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the second L-shaped supporting panel comprises a tail gas outlet panel, the tail gas outlet arranged on the tail gas outlet panel (see FIG. 4 “air outlet 134”). Choo does not explicitly disclose a tail gas throttle integrated with the tail gas outlet, and a tail gas outlet tube coupled with the tail gas throttle in a flange connection.
Kamihara teaches a variable throttle valve (see [0098] “maintaining the opening degree of the variable throttle valve at the constant level allows the fuel-gas supply flow rate to be maintained at the substantially constant level, resulting in a further simplified control structure”) & teaches purge valve (see [0039] “Connected to the hydrogen return pipe 6 is an opening and closing valve 7 that, in a case where a hydrogen path in the fuel cell stack 1 is blocked by water during the normal operating mode of the fuel cell system, serves as a purge valve to cause the hydrogen path to be temporarily purged”).
Choo and Kamihara are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cell (see Kamihara title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a variable throttle valve as suggested by Kamihara (see [0098]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so allows for the flow rate to be maintained at a substantially constant level, as suggested by Kamihara (see [0098]) & to incorporate a purge valve as suggested by Kamihara (see [0039]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so further allows for a purge of the gas during a blockage, as suggested by Kamihara (see [0039]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 20090011301 A1, “Matsumoto”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 11, Choo discloses the fuel cell of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a hydrogen recirculation ejector assembly arranged on the front side of the main body and communicated with the inlet and outlet assembly, wherein the hydrogen recirculation ejector assembly comprises an ejector, a fuel cell hydrogen inlet communicated with the ejector and the fuel cell module, a secure valve communicated with the ejector and a proportional valve communicated with ejector.
Matsumoto teaches recycle path of hydrogen and valves (see [0036] “There is a hydrogen circulating flow path 7 that recycles hydrogen gas not consumed in fuel cell stack 2. A hydrogen purging valve 8 is provided for exhausting impurities in the gas not used during the reaction in the fuel cell stack 2”; & see [0038] “ejector 6” & “the hydrogen purging valve 8 is opened, so that the hydrogen present in hydrogen circulating flow path 7 and in the fuel cell stack 2 may be exhausted”; see FIG. 1 describes hydrogen inlet is connected with “7” & “2”;
& see “hydrogen purging valve 8” & see [0036] “A hydrogen purging valve 8 is provided for exhausting impurities in the gas not used during the reaction in the fuel cell stack 2.”; & see FIG. 1 “18” & [0085] “Air pressure control valve 18 is manipulated by performing F/B control based on the difference between the air pressure of fuel cell stack 2 detected by air inlet pressure sensor 16 and the target air pressure to determine an instruction signal required for obtaining an appropriate opening position for air pressure control valve 18.”).
Choo and Matsumoto are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cell (see Matsumoto title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a hydrogen recirculation ejector assembly, valves, and an ejector as suggested by Matsumoto (see [0036], [0038], FIG. 1, [0085]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so allows for the hydrogen to be exhausted as suggested by Matsumoto (see [0038]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 20090011301 A1, “Matsumoto”) and Stark et al. (US 20220149415 A1, “Stark”).
Regarding claim 12, Choo discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a hydrogen buffer valve assembly arranged on the bottom side of the main body and a hydrogen recycle pump arranged on the top side of the main body, wherein the hydrogen buffer valve comprises a buffer tank having a buffer tank left side and a buffer tank right side opposite of the buffer tank left side, a buffer purge valve communicated with the buffer tank and arranged on the buffer tank left side, and a purge valve communicated with the buffer tank and arranged on the buffer tank right side.
Matsumoto teaches a hydrogen recycle & hydrogen purging valve (see [0036], [0038] “hydrogen tank 4”, FIG. 1 & see [0085] “air pressure control valve 18”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a hydrogen recirculation ejector assembly, valves, and an ejector as suggested by Matsumoto (see [0036], [0038], FIG. 1, [0085]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so allows for the hydrogen to be exhausted as suggested by Matsumoto (see [0038]).
Stark teaches a pump (see [0124] “pumps, compressors: Further, a pump or a compressor may enable flow of hydrogen for hydrogen recycling”).
Choo and Stark are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cell (see FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a pump as suggested by Stark (see [0124]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so allows for “enable[d] flow of hydrogen for hydrogen recycling”, as suggested by Stark (see [0124]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 213583880 U, “Li”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 13, Choo discloses the fuel cell of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising an air compressor arranged on the bottom side of the main body, an intercooler communicated with the air compressor and arranged on the bottom side of the main body, and a plurality of fourth transmission tubes communicated with the air compressor, the intercooler, and the inlet and outlet assembly, wherein the fourth transmission tubes are extended from the bottom side of the main body to the left side of the main body to provide a fuel-air source to the fuel cell module.
Li teaches air compressor & intercooler & tubes (see abstract “air compressor” & “intercooler” & “the connecting pipe structure has compact structure, high integration degree, which can improve the volume ratio power of the fuel cell engine, and it is good for adjusting the gas amount”; & see FIG. 11 “air compressor 100” & “intercooler main shell 1”; see [0058] “air outlet of the air compressor 100, the air enters an air inlet 112 on the intercooler main shell 1 through a rubber pipe”). Li teaches “electric pile 300 is effectively simplified, the structure is more compact, the integration degree is higher, the volume ratio power of the fuel cell engine is improved, the air quantity can be adjusted by the bypass exhaust, and the control is more accurate”.
Choo and Li are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cell (see Li title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an air compressor, an intercooler, and connecting pipe structure, as suggested by Li into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so provides a “structure is more compact, the integration degree is higher, the volume ratio power of the fuel cell engine is improved, the air quantity can be adjusted by the bypass exhaust, and the control is more accurate” as suggested by Li (see [0060]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Gong et al. (CN 113745588 A, “Gong”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 14, Choo discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a water pump arranged on the bottom side of the main body, a PTC heater arranged on the bottom side of the main body, and a DC/DC converter for the fuel cell module arranged on the top side of the main body.
Gong teaches water pump & PTC heater & converter (see [n0041] “The thermal management subsystem 220 includes: a coolant outlet temperature sensor 221, a water pump 222, a temperature control valve 223, a heater 224, a heat dissipation device 225, and a coolant inlet temperature sensor 226, wherein the heater 224 is a PTC heater”; see [n0053] teaches PID controller of the water pump 222 & “This allows the coolant to pass through the water pump 222 without passing through the heat dissipation device 225, and is directly heated by the
heater 224, which is conducive to the rapid rise of the coolant temperature” & see [n0004] helps with cold starting of a fuel cell and improves cold start performance stability; see [n0040] “DC-DC converter 250, which is used to supply the electrical
energy of the fuel cell stack 210 to charge the battery of the fuel cell vehicle”).
Choo and Gong are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cell (see Gong title).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate water pump, PTC heater, and DC-DC converter, as suggested by Gong (see [n0041], [n0053], [n0004], and [n0040]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so helps with cold starting of a fuel cell and improves cold start performance stability as suggested by Gong (see [n0004]) and further doing so helps supply electrical energy of the fuel cell stack as suggested by Gong (see [n0040]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choo et al. (US 20180108927 A1, “Choo”) in view of Liu et al. (CN 212907810 U, “Liu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Gong et al. (CN 113745588 A, “Gong”) and Ieda et al (US 20030217559 A1, “Ieda”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 15, Choo discloses the fuel cell of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a PTC heater arranged on the bottom side of the main body and a thermostat integrated with the cooling liquid outlet, wherein the thermostat is communicated with the PTC heater through a first transmission tube arranged underneath the inlet and outlet assembly and arranged across the inlet and outlet assembly.
Gong teaches PTC heater (see [n0041] “heater 224 is a PTC heater”) & [n0004] describes helps with cold starting of a fuel cell and improves cold start performance stability.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a PTC heater, as suggested by Gong (see [n0041]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so helps with cold starting of a fuel cell and improves the cold start performance stability as suggested by Gong (see [n0004]).
Ieda teaches a thermostat (see [0036] “first water temperature sensor 42 senses temperature of the cooling water that has passed the fuel cell 30, and the thermostat 43 opens or closes the first cooling water circuit 40 according to the temperature sensed by the first water temperature sensor 42”).
Choo and Ieda are analogous to the current invention because they are related to the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cell (see Ieda [0036]).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a thermostat, as suggested by Ieda (see [0036]) into the fuel cell of Choo because doing so allows for controlling the temperature according to the sensed temperature as suggested by Ieda (see [0036]).
Conclusion
/S.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725