DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated March 8, 2024, claims 1-5 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the boxes in FIGS. 2-9 should include labels within the empty boxes. For instance, box 15 should be labeled “battery” and box 31 should be labeled as “DC converter”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamagishi et al. JP2018129205A.
Regarding claim 1. Yamagishi discloses a vehicle (100), comprising:
a battery (12);
a coil (11);
a metal body (metal main body 141) located at a position that is affected by a magnetic field generated in the coil (11) (page 3, ¶4 - “The heat generating member 13 generates heat due to a current generated by receiving a magnetic flux (leakage magnetic flux) around the receiving coil 11, and the heat propagates to the high voltage battery 12 through a main body 141”);
a charger (16) configured to convert alternating-current power supplied from outside the vehicle into direct-current power and supply the direct-current power to the battery (page 3, ¶1 - “The AC / DC converter 16 converts the AC power from the receiving coil 11 into DC power that can be charged by the high voltage battery 12”); and
processing circuitry (ECU 15) configured to control the charger (page 3, ¶8 - “ECU 15 controls the operation of the AC / DC converter 16”), wherein
the charger (16) is configured to receive supply of direct-current power from the battery (page 3, ¶1 - “AC converts DC power charged in the high voltage battery 12 into the receiving coil 11”), and
the processing circuitry (ECU 15) is further configured to control the charger (16) so that the charger modulates the direct-current power, which is supplied from the battery, over time and supplies the power to the coil (page 3, ¶8 - “The ECU 15 controls the operation of each part of the temperature control device 10. Specifically, the ECU 15 controls the operation of the AC / DC converter 16 to control charging / discharging of the high voltage battery 12”).
Regarding claim 5. Yamagishi discloses a method for controlling a vehicle (100), the vehicle including a battery (12); a coil (11); a metal body (metal main body 141) located at a position that is affected by a magnetic field generated in the coil (11) ( page 3, ¶4 - “The heat generating member 13 generates heat due to a current generated by receiving a magnetic flux (leakage magnetic flux) around the receiving coil 11, and the heat propagates to the high voltage battery 12 through a main body 141”); a charger (16) configured to convert alternating-current power supplied from outside the vehicle into direct-current power and supply the direct-current power to the battery (page 3, ¶1 - “The AC / DC converter 16 converts the AC power from the receiving coil 11 into DC power that can be charged by the high voltage battery 12”);
the method comprising:
causing the charger to receive supply of direct-current power from the battery (page 3, ¶1 - “The AC / DC converter 16 converts . . . DC power charged in the high voltage battery 12 into the receiving coil 11”); and
causing the charger to modulate the direct-current power, which is supplied from the battery, over time and supply the power to the coil (page 3, ¶1 - “The AC / DC converter 16 converts . . . DC power charged in the high voltage battery 12 into the receiving coil 11” – the charging occurs inherently over a length of time rather than a single point in time).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi et al. JP2018129205A in view of Yan et al. CN111446520A.
Regarding claim 2. Yamagishi does not explicitly disclose a fluid pipe through which fluid circulates, wherein the fluid pipe is configured so that the fluid exchanges heat with the battery, and the metal body is arranged to be in contact with the fluid.
Yan discloses a fluid pipe through which fluid circulates (FIG. 2 – pipeline of the cold and hot circulation water path), wherein the fluid pipe is configured so that the fluid exchanges heat with the battery, and the metal body (510) is arranged to be in contact with the fluid (page 2, last paragraph - “a water cooling plate connected with the power battery pack, the water cooling plate is connected with a cold and hot circulating waterway”; “the electromagnetic induction heating device 500 comprises a metal charging barrel 510 arranged in the pipeline of the cold and hot circulation water path”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the heating transfer of Yan to the system of Yamagashi in order to reduce the heating time of the battery and improve heating efficiency (Yan; abstract).
Regarding claim 3. Yamagishi does not explicitly disclose that the metal body is arranged inside the fluid pipe.
Yan discloses that the metal body is arranged inside the fluid pipe (page 3, first paragraph - “the electromagnetic induction heating device comprises a metal cylinder set in the pipeline”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the heating transfer of Yan to the system of Yamagashi in order to reduce the heating time of the battery and improve heating efficiency (Yan; abstract).
Regarding claim 4. Yamagishi does not explicitly disclose that the fluid pipe is configured so that the fluid exchanges heat with the charger (page 4, last paragraph - “a metal charging barrel 510 arranged in the pipeline of the cold and hot circulation water path . . . the metal cylinder 10 is placed in the pipeline; the magnetic field magnetic line makes the metal cylinder 510 itself heat”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the heating transfer of Yan to the system of Yamagashi in order to reduce the heating time of the battery and improve heating efficiency (Yan; abstract).
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Laemmle et al. WO2019149849A1 shows a charging coil fixed on a fluid pipe that is used to cool/heat the circuit.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859