DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 07/13/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1 and 13-33 are pending of which claims 1, 21, 30 and 31 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 03/08/2024, 08/15/2025 and 07/13/2026 is relevant and being considered.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendment to specification amending the title has been entered and examiner’s previous objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Claims 6-7 and 10 rejection under 35 USC 112(b) is now moot given that claims 6-7 and 10 are now cancelled.
Jang et al (US 20260067842 A1) anticipates the claimed invention as shown below. Further Huang et al, (US 20250203693 ) is not applied in rejecting the claims but Applicant needs to review Huang for future amendment and responses as Huang also anticipates the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13-18, 20- 27, and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jang et al (US 20260067842 A1, herein after referred to as Jang. Examiner has verified that the documents relied for priority provide full support for the cited portions).
Regarding claim1, Jang discloses a wireless communication apparatus (Fig. 1 STA 110) configured to perform multi-link communication (i.e. Figs. 12&13 STA MLD compliant with 802.11.be – paragraphs 167-171) compliant with Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards, the wireless communication apparatus (See Figs. 1 and 3 STA 110 performing AP operations and compliant to IEEE 802.11 per paragraphs 54 and 55) compromising:
at least one memory (Fig. 1 memory 112) that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor (Fig. 1 processor 111) that executes the instructions, the instructions, when executed, causing the wireless communication apparatus to perform operations comprising:
receiving an Association Request frame (i.e. see AP MLD/STA 110 receiving Association Request frames from non AP-MLD STA A/B/120 in Figs. 13 and 16-20 and Fig. 21 S2110) including first information to identify a plurality of links (i.e. per paragraphs 171-176 in relation to Figs. 13-15 wherein the first information is the link info shown in Fig. 15 included in the Association Request listing a plurality of links comprising links 1 and 2 where the Association request is sent to AP MLD from STA A of non-AP MLD on link1 as detailed in paragraphs 178-179 and 188 in relation to Fig. 13) a first frequency channel (i.e. per paragraphs 148 and 149 and 162 – each link is associated with different frequency band) from another wireless communication apparatus (i.e. Fig. 1 STA 120 and shown in Fig. 3 – See paragraphs 56 and 84); and
accepting wireless communication link establishment for a first link using the first frequency channel among a plurality of links identified by the first information, and transmitting an Association Response frame including a first status code indicating success (see paragraph 179 first two sentences indicating Multi Link (ML) setup acceptance/Success on the requested link 1 and link 2 by transmitting an Association Response as shown in Fig. 13. See also paragraphs 210 and 225 with respect to Fig. 21 S2120 and Fig. 22 S2220) and a Basic Multi-link element (i.e. the basic structure of the Multi-Link element (ML-IE) is shown in Figs. 14 and 15 and includes Multi-link Control, Common Info, and link info. See last sentence paragraph 171) to the other wireless communication apparatus in a case where wireless communication link establishment is not accepted for a second link using a second frequency channel (See second link is the non-transmitting link (NT-link) per paragraph 13 and per paragraphs 201-204 of Fig. 19 and is not accepted and only the transmitting link (T-Link) which is link 1 is accepted), wherein the Basic Multi-link element included in the Association Response frame (Association Response Frame includes the Basic ML Element shown in Fig. 15 and per link per STA profile and includes Link ID and Complete Profile and Status Code. Fig. 19 shows link 2 in the link id field ) includes a Per-STA Profile subelement corresponding to the second link (See Fig. 19 Per-STA profile STA B/AP 2 Link 2), and wherein the Per-STA Profile subelement corresponding to the second link includes a second Status code indicating a failure cause. (See Fig. 19 – Status Code: Denied Multi-link setup-failed)
Regarding claim 21, Jang discloses a wireless communication apparatus (Fig. 1 STA 120 ) configured to perform multi-link communication compliant (i.e. Figs. 12&13 STA MLD compliant with 802.11.be – paragraphs 167-171) with Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards (See Figs. 1 and 3 STA 120 performing non-AP STA operations and compliant to IEEE 802.11 per paragraphs 56 and 59), the wireless communication apparatus comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 1 Memory 122) that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor (Fig. 1 Processor 121) that executes the instructions, the instructions, when executed, causing the wireless communication apparatus (i.e. Non-AP STA in Figs. 1, 3, 13, and 16-20) to perform operations comprising:
transmitting an Association Request frame (i.e. see AP MLD/STA 110 receiving Association Request frames transmitted from non AP-MLD STA A/B/120 in Figs. 13 and 16-20 and Fig. 21 S2110) including first information to identify a plurality of links (i.e. per paragraphs 171-176 in relation to Figs. 13-15 wherein the first information is the link info shown in Fig. 15 included in the Association Request listing a plurality of links comprising links 1 and 2 where the Association request is sent to AP MLD/STA 110 from STA A of non-AP MLD/STA 120 on link1 as detailed in paragraphs 178-179 and 188 in relation to Fig. 13) to another wireless communication apparatus (i.e. AP MLD /STA 110 Fig. 13, 16-20) via a first frequency channel(i.e. per paragraphs 148 and 149 and 162 – each link is associated with different frequency band);
receiving, from the other wireless communication apparatus (Fig.13 MLD AP/STA 120), an Association Response frame including a first Status code indicating success (see paragraph 179 first two sentences indicating Multi Link (ML) setup acceptance/Success on the requested link 1 and link 2 by transmitting an Association Response as shown in Fig. 13. See also paragraphs 210 and 225 with respect to Fig. 21 S2120 and Fig. 22 S2220) and a Basic Multi-link element (i.e. the basic structure of the Multi-Link element (ML-IE) is shown in Figs. 14 and 15 and includes Multi-link Control, Common Info, and link info. See last sentence paragraph 171. Association Response Frame includes the Basic ML Element shown in Fig. 15 and per link per STA profile and includes Link ID and Complete Profile and Status Code. Fig. 19 shows link 2 in the link id field ) in a case where the other wireless communication apparatus (Fig.13 MLD AP/STA 120)accepts wireless communication link establishment for a first link using the first frequency channel among a plurality of links identified by the first information and does not accept wireless communication link establishment for a second link using a second frequency channel (See second link is the non-transmitting link (NT-link) per paragraph 13 and per paragraphs 201-204 of Fig. 19 and is not accepted and only the transmitting link (T-Link) which is link 1 is accepted), wherein the Basic Multi-link element included in the Association Response frame includes a Per-STA Profile subelement(Association Response Frame includes the Basic ML Element shown in Fig. 15 and per link per STA profile and includes Link ID and Complete Profile and Status Code. Fig. 19 shows link 2 in the link id field ) corresponding to the second link(See Fig. 19 Per-STA profile STA B/AP 2 Link 2), and wherein the Per-STA Profile subelement corresponding to the second link includes a second Status code indicating a failure cause. (See Fig. 19 – Status Code: Denied Multi-link setup-failed)
Regarding claim 30, Jang discloses a control method (Figs. 1-22) of a wireless communication apparatus (i.e. Fig. 1 STA 110, Fig. 3 AP, and Figs. 13 and 16-20 AP MLD refer to the wireless communication apparatus) configured to
perform multi-link communication compliant (i.e. Figs. 12&13 AP MLD compliant with 802.11.be – paragraphs 167-171) with Institute of Electrical and Electronics
Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards(See Figs. 1 and 3 STA 120 performing non-AP STA operations and compliant to IEEE 802.11 per paragraphs 56 and 59), the control method comprising:
receiving, from another wireless communication apparatus (Fig. 13 STA MLD is the another wireless communication. Further AP MLD/STA 110 receiving Association Request frames from non AP-MLD STA A/B/120 in Figs. 13 and 16-20 and Fig. 21 S2110) via a first frequency channel(i.e. per paragraphs 148 and 149 and 162 – each link is associated with different frequency band), an Association Request frame including first information to identify a plurality of
links; (i.e. per paragraphs 171-176 in relation to Figs. 13-15 wherein the first information is the link info shown in Fig. 15 included in the Association Request listing a plurality of links comprising links 1 and 2 where the Association request is sent to AP MLD from STA A of non-AP MLD on link1 as detailed in paragraphs 178-179 and 188 in relation to Fig. 13) and
transmitting, to the other wireless communication apparatus, an Association
Response frame including a first Status code indicating success (see paragraph 179 first two sentences indicating Multi Link (ML) setup acceptance/Success on the requested link 1 and link 2 by transmitting an Association Response as shown in Fig. 13. See also paragraphs 210 and 225 with respect to Fig. 21 S2120 and Fig. 22 S2220) and a Basic Multi-link element (i.e. the basic structure of the Multi-Link element (ML-IE) is shown in Figs. 14 and 15 and includes Multi-link Control, Common Info, and link info. See last sentence paragraph 171 is the Basic Multi-Link Element) in a case where wireless communication link establishment is accepted for a first link using the first frequency channel among a plurality of links identified by the first information and wireless communication link establishment is not accepted for a second link using a second frequency channel, (See second link is the non-transmitting link (NT-link) per paragraph 13 and per paragraphs 201-204 of Fig. 19 and is not accepted and only the transmitting link (T-Link) which is link 1 is accepted) wherein the Basic Multi-link element included in the Association Response frame (Association Response Frame includes the Basic ML Element shown in Fig. 15 and per link per STA profile and includes Link ID and Complete Profile and Status Code. Fig. 19 shows link 2 in the link id field ) includes a Per-STA Profile subelement corresponding to the second link (See Fig. 19 Per-STA profile STA B/AP 2 Link 2), and wherein the Per-STA Profile subelement corresponding to the second link includes a second Status code indicating a failure cause. (See Fig. 19 – Status Code: Denied Multi-link setup-failed)
Regarding claim 31, Jang discloses a control method (Figs. 1-22) of a wireless
communication apparatus (i.e. Fig. 1 STA 120, Fig. 3 STA, and Figs. 13 and 16-20 STA MLD refer to the wireless communication apparatus) configured to perform multi-link communication compliant i.e. Figs. 12&13 STA MLD compliant with 802.11.be – paragraphs 167-171) with Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 series standards (See Figs. 1 and 3 STA 120 performing non-AP STA operations and compliant to IEEE 802.11 per paragraphs 56 and 59), the control method comprising:
transmitting, to another wireless communication apparatus (i.e. see AP MLD/STA 110 being another wireless communication apparatus receiving Association Request frames transmitted from non AP-MLD STA A/B/120 in Figs. 13 and 16-20 and Fig. 21 S2110) via a first frequency channel (i.e. per paragraphs 148 and 149 and 162 – each link is associated with different frequency band),
an Association Request frame including first information to identify a plurality of links (i.e. per paragraphs 171-176 in relation to Figs. 13-15 wherein the first information is the link info shown in Fig. 15 included in the Association Request listing a plurality of links comprising links 1 and 2 where the Association request is sent to AP MLD/STA 110 from STA A of non-AP MLD/STA 120 on link1 as detailed in paragraphs 178-179 and 188 in relation to Fig. 13); and
receiving, from the other wireless communication apparatus(i.e. see AP MLD/STA 110 being another wireless communication apparatus), an Association Response frame including a first Status code indicating success(see paragraph 179 first two sentences indicating Multi Link (ML) setup acceptance/Success on the requested link 1 and link 2 by transmitting an Association Response as shown in Fig. 13. See also paragraphs 210 and 225 with respect to Fig. 21 S2120 and Fig. 22 S2220) and a Basic Multi-link element (i.e. the basic structure of the Multi-Link element (ML-IE) is shown in Figs. 14 and 15 and includes Multi-link Control, Common Info, and link info is the Basic Multi-link element. See last sentence paragraph 171. Association Response Frame includes the Basic ML Element shown in Fig. 15 and per link per STA profile and includes Link ID and Complete Profile and Status Code. Fig. 19 shows link 2 in the link id field ) in a case where the other wireless communication apparatus (Fig.13 MLD AP/STA 120)accepts wireless communication link establishment for a first link using the first frequency channel among a plurality of links identified by the first information and does not accept wireless communication link establishment for a second link using a second frequency channel (See second link is the non-transmitting link (NT-link) per paragraph 13 and per paragraphs 201-204 of Fig. 19 and is not accepted and only the transmitting link (T-Link) which is link 1 is accepted), wherein the Basic Multi-link element included in the Association Response frame includes a Per-STA Profile subelement(Association Response Frame includes the Basic ML Element shown in Fig. 15 and per link per STA profile and includes Link ID and Complete Profile and Status Code. Fig. 19 shows link 2 in the link id field ) corresponding to the second link(See Fig. 19 Per-STA profile STA B/AP 2 Link 2), and wherein the Per-STA Profile subelement corresponding to the second link includes a second Status code indicating a failure cause. (See Fig. 19 – Status Code: Denied Multi-link setup-failed)
Regarding claim 13, Jang discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, Jang further discloses wherein the Per-STA Profile subelement corresponding to the second link includes a Link ID indicating the second link. (See Fig. 13 Per-STA Profile for AP 2 where the link id is link 2. See also link id for Per STA profile #2 as being 4 bits)
Regarding claim 14, Jang discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, Jang further discloses wherein the second link is a link different from the first link using the first frequency channel. (See Fig. 13 showing Link 1 being different from Link 2 and Link 3. See per paragraphs 148, 149, 156 and 162 – each link is associated with different frequency band)
Regarding claim 15, Jang discloses the wireless communication apparatus, Jang further discloses wherein the second Status code is set in a Status Code field included in the Per-STA Profile subelement corresponding to the second link. (See Paragraph [0012] stating “ The first association response frame includes a first multi-link (ML) element. The first ML element includes a profile field of the second transmitting STA. The profile field of the second transmitting STA includes a status code. The status code includes information that ML setup has failed because the second link is allowed but the first link is not allowed. The status code may be set to Denied_Multi-link setup_failed.” See Figs. 19 and 20 with respect to paragraphs 183, 202, and 206 showing the status code field. See also paragraph 214 stating “The first association response frame includes a first multi-link (ML) element. The first ML element includes a profile field of the second transmitting STA. The profile field of the second transmitting STA includes a status code…”)
Regarding claim 16, Jang discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, Jang further discloses wherein the Basic Multi-link element includes a Link Info field, and the Per-STA Profile subelement corresponding to the second link is included in the Link Info field. (i.e. the basic structure of the Multi-Link element (ML-IE) is shown in Figs. 14 and 15 and includes Multi-link Control, Common Info, and link info. See last sentence paragraph 171. The link info field in the Basic Multi-link element in Fig. 15 contains Per-STA Profile#2 subelement corresponding to the second link and is implemented in Fig. 13.)
Regarding claim 17, Jang discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the Association Response frame is transmitted using the first frequency channel via which the Association Request frame has been received. (See Fig. 13 shows transmitting Association Response frame in response to receiving Association Request frame. In paragraph 179 last few sentences it is indicated both frames are transmitted and received on the same link, link 1, also referred to transmitting link (T_Link))
Regarding claim 18, Jang discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication apparatus is further configured to perform a 4-way handshake with the other wireless communication apparatus using the first link. (See Fig. 3 and paragraph 085 stating, “ In S340, the STA may perform a security setup process. The security setup process in S340 may include a process of setting up a private key through four-way handshaking, for example, through an extensible authentication protocol over LAN (EAPOL) frame.”)
Regarding claim 20, Jang discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, Jang further discloses wherein the wireless communication apparatus performs an authentication process with the other wireless communication apparatus before receiving the Association Request frame. (See Fig. 3 link setup procedure involving Authentication Process S320 occurring before S330 Association involving before receiving Association Request and transmitting Association Response. See paragraphs 80-84)
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is rejected in the same scope as claim 13.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is rejected in the same scope as claim 14.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is rejected in the same scope as claim 15.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is rejected in the same scope as claim 16.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is rejected in the same scope as claim 17.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is rejected in the same scope as claim 18.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 is rejected in the same scope as claim 20.
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 is rejected in the same scope as claim 1.
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 is rejected in the same scope as claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Seok et al (US 20210368322 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Jang discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, including wherein, by the 4-way handshake using the first link, a See paragraph 85 with respect to Fig. 4 by the 4-way handshake a private key through an EAPOL frame for the first link or transmitting link per paragraph 179 and since the second link is not setup no private or any key is not generated for the second link.)
Jang fails to disclose generating GTK (Group Temporal Key) corresponding to the first link.
Seok, in the same endeavor discloses generating GTK (Group Temporal Key) corresponding to the first link. (See paragraph 67 stating “…Additionally, the AP MLD may construct a Key Delivery element indicating the current Group Temporal Key (GTK) and Key receive sequence counter (RSC) for each link of the multiple links,..”)
In view of the above, having Jang ’s Multi-Link establishment technique and then given the well- established teaching of Seok‘s techniques for generating GTK for link, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Jang ’s Multi-Link establishment technique as taught by Seok‘s techniques for generating GTK for link, since Seok ‘s states in paragraph 0007 that the modification results in enabling Fast Initial Link Setup (FILS) to establish wireless communications between an AP MLD and a non-AP STA MLD over a plurality of links.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is rejected in the same scope as claim 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474