DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-4: the relations recited in the claims must be amended to show “1012” as 1012; [mm3] as [mm3]; Lh2 as Lh2 and Wh2 as Wh2, as disclosed throughout the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US20140265736).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada discloses a piezoelectric vibrating piece (2) comprising: a base portion (4) ; and a pair of vibrating arm portions (5, 6) extending in parallel from the base portion, wherein each of the vibrating arm portions includes: an arm portion (51, 61) extending from the base portion; and a head portion (59, 69) connected to a distal end of the arm portion and having a width larger than that of the arm portion. In table 1, Yamada discloses the results of different simulations where the ratio of H/L, H is the length of the hammerhead (equivalent to Lh in the instant application) and L is the length of the arm portion (equivalent to La in the instant application), when L=1210mm (paragraph [0105]), the H can be obtained and the relationship
0.13×1012≤Vh (Lh2+Wh2)≤0.39×1012 where Lh [μm] is a length of the head portion, Wh [μm] is a width of the head portion, and Vh [μm3] is a volume of the head portion is satisfied. See SIM007-009 for example.
Regarding claims 2-4, values obtained in SIM007-009 satisfy the claimed relationship.
Regarding claims 5-10, Yamada discloses 26.4%<H/L<33.1% (equivalent to 0.24<Lh/La<0.35) in the instant application), therefore the limitation is anticipated.
Regarding claims 11-12, Yamada discloses a pair of side arms (74, 75; Fig. 14) extending from the base portion and disposed on both sides of the pair of vibrating arm portions in a width direction.
Regarding claims 13-14, Yamada discloses a center arm (7, Fig. 13) extending from the base portion and disposed between the pair of vibrating arm portions.
Regarding claims 15-16, Yamada discloses the package (1, Fig. 16) in which the piezoelectric vibrating piece is sealed.
Regarding claims 17-18, Yamada discloses the oscillator comprising the piezoelectric vibrator and an integrated circuit (8, Fig. 17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kobayashi discloses the reduction in size of a piezoelectric vibrating piece while maintaining a small CI value.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837