DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is communication to response filed 12/18/2025. Claims 1, 5-8, 11-12, 15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 5-8, 11-12, 15 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112(a) rejection, the applicant states that paragraphs for the amendment were provided and discussed in the interview to overcome the 112 rejection. The applicant states that the examiner suggested the amendment more closely reflect the specification. The applicant argues that the specification discloses electing of the intra prediction mode on the basis of direction of the neighboring blocks that have already been reconstructed (paragraph 0039) and the neighboring blocks may be blocks are already reconstructed by the intra reconstructor or that are to be reconstructed by inter reconstructor (paragraph 0057).
The examiner agrees that the examiner stated that the amendment should more closely reflect the specification. During the interview, the applicant provided paragraphs including that of the mode selector and stated these have the support for it and the examiner indicated that as long as there was support, the applicant should amend the language to be consistent with support of the specification.
In response to the arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that upon further review of the specification, the language still does not have support and is also unclear.
The specification has support for the selecting of the intra prediction mode on the basis of direction of the neighboring blocks that have already been reconstructed. The mode selector indicates selecting a mode which determines the intra mode. The applicant’s specification in paragraph 0057 as provided states “the neighboring blocks may be blocks are already reconstructed by the intra reconstructor or that are to be reconstructed by inter reconstructor. Therefore, the mode selector does not have neighboring blocks from the inter reconstructor.
The specification discloses that there are 9 intra prediction modes and there is a mode selector. There is no description of how the mode number selection with the neighboring block, which is inter-coded, determines the current intra prediction mode. The mode number selection determines the intra prediction mode.
Secondly, the specification describes that the mode selector selects a mode. The specification does not explicitly state that the mode selector selects a number (this is technically a title for a mode in the Figures). The specification states that it is selecting a mode (which is associated with a number in the Figures). The specification does not explicitly state that an intra prediction mode number is related to the neighboring block that is inter-coded. It is also noted that mode is selected based on directionality (paragraph 0064-0066 – equation 2, it does not use the inter-coded neighboring block which does not factor into the mode selection, directionality is from the pixel pairs of neighboring blocks, the coding mode of the neighboring block has no relevance on the determination of intra prediction mode).
Therefore, the specification does not have support and the specification is unclear as to how “the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.”
The rejection is maintained.
Regarding the 112b rejection, the applicant argues that it is clear to someone of ordinary skill in the art, how the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode
In response to the arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees. The mode selector indicates selecting a mode which determines the intra mode. The applicant’s specification in paragraph 0057 as provided states “the neighboring blocks may be blocks are already reconstructed by the intra reconstructor or that are to be reconstructed by inter reconstructor. Therefore, the mode selector does not have neighboring blocks from the inter reconstructor.
It is unclear how the mode number selection with the neighboring block, which is inter-coded, determines the current intra prediction mode. The mode number selection determines the intra prediction mode.
It is unclear what the distinction between intra prediction mode and intra prediction mode number is. The mode selector selects a mode. The selection of a mode is the intra prediction mode. It is unclear what is being determined.
The rejection is maintained.
Regarding the 103 rejection, the applicant argues that Cha fails to disclose the limitation “the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.” The applicant argues that the examiner cites from Cha Column 5, lines 54-62 which describes inter-layer prediction not inter-prediction coded block used for intra prediction.
In response to the arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner does not state that inter-layer prediction is used for intra prediction. The sentence provided explicitly stated neighboring blocks are inter prediction. It is noted that Figure 3 and Figure 12 were also provided (which would include any description associated with those Figures). Cha also discloses in Column 6, lines 12-15, that the neighboring blocks of the intra block would be using any prediction method as that of blocks 15 – (described Column 5, lines 58-62), and further the blocks 15 and 25 have been reconstructed. Cha also discloses a mode selection unit which would determine intra prediction modes (Column 8, lines 61-63 ) and also again neighbor block being coded using inter prediction (Column 7, lines 43-48).
The applicant’s specification does not describe how inter prediction coded block is used for intra predication with a selection of a mode number. Cha discloses selection of mode number which determines the intra prediction mode and Cha discloses neighboring blocks may be coded using inter-prediction. Cha discloses that the same neighboring blocks are used for mode selection (Figure 6). Therefore, any relation (definition as the way in which two or more concepts, objects or people are connected; a thing’s effect on or relevance to another) to a neighboring block with mode number would meet the limitation (the applicant’s specification does not give any details and does not have support for this claim limitation).
Furthermore, in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007), the Court found that if all the claimed elements are known in the prior art then one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
The rejection is maintained.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, the applicant argues that the prior art specifically Cha does not teach “the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.”
In response to the arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Please see response above for how Cha meets the limitation. The rejection is maintained.
Regarding the double patenting header, the examiner thanks the applicant for mentioning the typographical error. Claims 2-3 were inadvertently not deleted in the header as they are cancelled. The Claim numbers 2-3 were deleted from the header.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-12, 15 recite “selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number; using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality…..wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.”
The specification does not describe how the intra prediction mode number selection relates to the inter-coded neighboring block to determine the intra prediction mode. The limitation “wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode” requires a step of determining that is not disclosed in the specification or how the inter-coded block determines the intra prediction mode.
Secondly, the specification describes that the mode selector selects a mode. The specification does not explicitly state that the mode selector selects a number (this is technically a title for a mode in the Figures). The specification states that it is selecting a mode (which is associated with a number in the Figures). The specification does not explicitly state that an intra prediction mode number is related to the neighboring block that is inter-coded. It is also noted that mode is selected based on directionality (paragraph 0064-0066, see also equation 2, it does not use the inter-coded neighboring block which does not factor into the mode selection, the directionality is from the pixel pairs of neighboring blocks, the coding mode of the neighboring block has no relevance on the determination of intra prediction mode).
The specification has support for neighboring blocks to be reconstructed by inter reconstructor, the specification has support for selecting an intra prediction mode. The specification discloses that there are 9 intra prediction modes and there is a mode selector.
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-12, 15 recite “selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number; using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality…..wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.”
It is unclear how the intra prediction mode number and how the neighboring block, which is inter-coded, determines the current intra prediction mode. It is unclear what the distinction between intra prediction mode and intra prediction mode number is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kalevo et al (US 2001/0017942 and hereafter referred to as “Kalevo”) in view of Ye et al (US 2009/0257502 and hereafter referred to as “Ye”) and Cha et al (US 8,165,207 and hereafter referred to as “Cha”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kalevo discloses a video decoding method performed by a video decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus (Page 3, paragraph 0034, 0035, Page 4, paragraph 0040-0041, Page 6, paragraph 0073, Figure 4);
performing, by the video decoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block (Page 3, paragraph 0035);
wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block (Figure 4, Figure 5) comprises:
selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Figure 4);
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and
using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5),
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions (Page 4, paragraph 0041, 0045, 0046, Page 5, paragraph 0052, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 7, paragraph 0081, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5),
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block (Page 4, paragraph 0041, 0045, 0046, Page 5, paragraph 0052, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 7, paragraph 0081, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5), and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block (Figure 3A).
Kalevo does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the video decoding apparatus, quantization coefficients; dequantizing, by the video decoding apparatus, the quantization coefficients to generate transform coefficients; transforming, by the video decoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate a residual block associated with the current block; and reconstructing, by the video decoding apparatus, the current block based on the prediction block and the residual block; wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode. Kalevo discloses decoding method and decoder, obtaining a prediction error associated with the current block and the prediction block. Kalevo discloses in the background detailing image compression techniques which include discrete cosine transform which establishes coefficients but the following is an explicit teaching.
Ye discloses obtaining, by the video decoding apparatus, quantization coefficients (Figure 16, 52, Page 15, paragraph 0150); dequantizing, by the video decoding apparatus, the quantization coefficients to generate transform coefficients (Page 15, paragraph 0153, Figure 16, 56); transforming, by the video decoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate a residual block associated with the current block (Page 15, paragraph 0153, Figure 16, 58); reconstructing, by the video decoding apparatus, the current block based on the prediction block and the residual block (Page 15, paragraph 0153, Figure 16, 64). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date before the effective filing data to modify Kalevo to include the missing limitations as taught by Ye in order to reduce or remove redundancy inherent in video sequences (Page 1, paragraph 0003) as disclosed by Lee. 2Application No.: 16/407,095 Reply dated April 20, 2020 Response to Final Office Action of February 18, 2020
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.
Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12, See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date before the effective filing data to modify the combination to include the missing limitations as taught by Cha in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha. 2Application No.: 16/407,095 Reply dated April 20, 2020
2Application No.: 16/407,095 Reply dated April 20, 2020 Furthermore, in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007), the Court found that if all the claimed elements are known in the prior art, then one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, Kalevo, Ye and Cha disclose all the limitations of Claim 1. Kalevo discloses wherein the second set comprises a mathematical expression that is not included in the first set, and the first set comprises a different mathematical expression that is not included in the second set (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5).
Regarding Claim 6, Kalevo, Ye and Cha disclose all the limitations of Claim 5. Kalevo discloses wherein the mathematical expression included in the second set and not included in the first set corresponds to an arithmetic operation between two values in order to yield a third value (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143).
Regarding Claim 7, Kalevo, Ye and Cha disclose all the limitations of Claim 1. Kalevo discloses wherein the intra prediction mode number selected in relation to the neighboring block is represented by an integer among a plurality of predetermined integers, the plurality of predetermined integers commonly identifying intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block and the current block, and all the intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block are same as all the intra modes available to be determined for the current block (Page 4, paragraph 0041-0043, Figure 3-Figure 5).
Claims 8, 11, 12, 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kalevo in view of Lee et al (US 2009/0279606 and hereafter referred to as “Lee2”) and Cha.
Regarding Claim 8, Kalevo discloses a video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining, by the video encoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block (Page 3, paragraph 0034, Page 4, paragraph 0040-0041, Page 6, paragraph 0073);
performing, by the video encoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block (Page 3, paragraph 0035);
encoding by the video encoding apparatus (Figure 4);
wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block (Figure 4, Figure 5) comprises:
identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5);
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and
using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5),
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions(Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5),
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block(Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5), and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block (Figure 3A).
Kalevo discloses obtaining, by the video encoding apparatus, a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block; transforming, by the video encoding apparatus, the residual block to generate transform coefficients; quantizing, by the video encoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients; and encoding, by the video encoding apparatus, the quantized transform coefficients, wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode. Kalevo discloses in the background detailing image compression techniques which include discrete cosine transform which establishes coefficients but the following is an explicit teaching.
Lee2 discloses obtaining, by the video encoding apparatus, a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block (Page 3, paragraph 0052); transforming, by the video encoding apparatus, the residual block to generate transform coefficients (Page 3, paragraph 0053); quantizing, by the video encoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients (Page 3, paragraph 0053); and encoding, by the video encoding apparatus, the quantized transform coefficients (Page 3, paragraph 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kalevo to include the missing limitations as taught by Lee2 in order to perform efficient prediction coding (Page 1, paragraph 0015) as disclosed by Lee2. 2Application No.: 16/407,095 Reply dated April 20, 2020 Response to Final Office Action of February 18, 2020
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.
Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12, See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date before the effective filing data to modify the combination to include the missing limitations as taught by Cha in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha. 2Application No.: 16/407,095 Reply dated April 20, 2020
2Application No.: 16/407,095 Reply dated April 20, 2020 Furthermore, in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007), the Court found that if all the claimed elements are known in the prior art, then one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding Claim 12, Kalevo discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising:
transmitting the bitstream generated by a video encoding method (Figure 1, Page 2, paragraph 0037);
wherein the video encoding method comprising:
determining, by the video encoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block (Page 3, paragraph 0034, Page 4, paragraph 0040-0041, Page 6, paragraph 0073);
performing, by the video encoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block (Page 3, paragraph 0035);
encoding by the video encoding apparatus (Figure 4);
wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block (Figure 4, Figure 5) comprises:
identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5);
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and
using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5),
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5),
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block(Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5), and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block (Figure 3A).
Kalevo discloses obtaining, by the video encoding apparatus, a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block; transforming, by the video encoding apparatus, the residual block to generate transform coefficients; quantizing, by the video encoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients; and encoding, by the video encoding apparatus, the quantized transform coefficients, wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode. Kalevo discloses in the background detailing image compression techniques which include discrete cosine transform which establishes coefficients but the following is an explicit teaching.
Lee2 discloses obtaining, by the video encoding apparatus, a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block (Page 3, paragraph 0052); transforming, by the video encoding apparatus, the residual block to generate transform coefficients (Page 3, paragraph 0053); quantizing, by the video encoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients (Page 3, paragraph 0053); and encoding, by the video encoding apparatus, the quantized transform coefficients (Page 3, paragraph 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kalevo to include the missing limitations as taught by Lee2 in order to perform efficient prediction coding (Page 1, paragraph 0015) as disclosed by Lee2. 2Application No.: 16/407,095 Reply dated April 20, 2020 Response to Final Office Action of February 18, 2020
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.
Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12, See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date before the effective filing data to modify the combination to include the missing limitations as taught by Cha in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha. 2Application No.: 16/407,095 Reply dated April 20, 2020
2Application No.: 16/407,095 Reply dated April 20, 2020 Furthermore, in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007), the Court found that if all the claimed elements are known in the prior art, then one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding Claim 11 and 15, Kalevo, Lee2 and Cha disclose all the limitations of Claim 8 and 12 respectively. Kalevo discloses wherein the second set comprises a mathematical expression that is not included in the first set, and the first set comprises a different mathematical expression that is not included in the second set (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-12 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7 and 13 of US 11,968,373 in view of Kalevo and Cha.
Regarding Claim 1 of the instant application corresponds to
Claim 1 of 11,968,373
A video decoding method performed by a video decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus;
performing, by the video decoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining, by the video decoding apparatus, quantization coefficients;
dequantizing, by the video decoding apparatus, the quantization coefficients to generate transform coefficients;
transforming, by the video decoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate a residual block associated with the current block; and
reconstructing, by the video decoding apparatus, the current block based on the prediction block and the residual block,
wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number;
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and
using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block, and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block,
wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.
A video decoding method performed by a video decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining a neighboring intra prediction mode associated with a neighboring block, the neighboring block being adjacent to a current block;
determining a current intra prediction mode associated with the current block based on whether the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality or not;
performing intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining transform coefficients by using a discrete cosine transform;
dequantizing the transform coefficients to generate dequantized transform coefficients;
transforming the dequantized transform coefficients to generate a residual block associated with the current block; and
reconstructing the current block based on the prediction block and the residual block,
wherein determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
determining candidate intra prediction modes associated with the current block according to a first set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has no directionality,
determining candidate intra prediction modes associated with the current block according to a second set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality,
selecting the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block among the candidate intra prediction modes, wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions use the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block, and
the neighboring block includes a left block adjacent to the current block.
The instant application’s “encoded by a video encoding apparatus; identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number; based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and based on the intra prediction mode number, wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block, wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode” are additional limitations. Kalevo discloses determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5) wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block (Figure 3A). Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12, See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 11,968,373 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo and in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha.
Claim 8 and 12 of the instant application corresponds to Claims 7 and 13 of US 11,968,373.
Regarding 5-6 7, 11 and 15, the instant application includes the additional limitations. Kalevo discloses wherein the second set comprises a mathematical expression that is not included in the first set, and the first set comprises a different mathematical expression that is not included in the second set (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5), wherein the mathematical expression included in the second set and not included in the first set corresponds to an arithmetic operation between two values in order to yield a third value (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143), wherein the intra prediction mode number selected in relation to the neighboring block is represented by an integer among a plurality of predetermined integers, the plurality of predetermined integers commonly identifying intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block and the current block, and all the intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block are same as all the intra modes available to be determined for the current block (Page 4, paragraph 0041-0043, Figure 3-Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 11,968,373 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo.
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-12, 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 7 and 13US 11,122,274 in view of Kalevo and Cha.
Regarding Claim 1 of the instant application corresponds to
Claim 1 of 11,122,274
A video decoding method performed by a video decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus;
performing, by the video decoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining, by the video decoding apparatus, quantization coefficients;
dequantizing, by the video decoding apparatus, the quantization coefficients to generate dequantized transform coefficients;
transforming, by the video decoding apparatus, the dequantized transform coefficients to generate a residual block associated with the current block; and
reconstructing, by the video decoding apparatus, the current block based on the prediction block and the residual block,
wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number;
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and
using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block, and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block,
wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.
A video decoding method performed by a video decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining a neighboring intra prediction mode associated with a neighboring block, the neighboring block being adjacent to a current block;
determining a current intra prediction mode associated with the current block based on whether the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality or not;
performing intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining transform coefficients;
dequantizing the transform coefficients to generate dequantized transform coefficients;
transforming the dequantized transform coefficients to generate a residual block associated with the current block; and
reconstructing the current block based on the prediction block and the residual block,
wherein determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
determining candidate intra prediction modes associated with the current block according to a first set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has no directionality,
determining candidate intra prediction modes associated with the current block according to a second set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality,
selecting the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block among the candidate intra prediction modes, wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions use the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block, and the neighboring block includes upper block adjacent to the current block.
The instant application’s “encoded by a video encoding apparatus; identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number; based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and based on the intra prediction mode number, wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode” are additional limitations. Kalevo discloses determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5). Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12 See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 11,122,274 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo and in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha.
Claim 8 and 12 of the instant application corresponds to Claims 7 and 13 of US 11,122,274.
Regarding 5-7, 11 and 15, the instant application includes the additional limitations. Kalevo discloses wherein, wherein the second set comprises a mathematical expression that is not included in the first set, and the first set comprises a different mathematical expression that is not included in the second set (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5), wherein the mathematical expression included in the second set and not included in the first set corresponds to an arithmetic operation between two values in order to yield a third value (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143), wherein the intra prediction mode number selected in relation to the neighboring block is represented by an integer among a plurality of predetermined integers, the plurality of predetermined integers commonly identifying intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block and the current block, and all the intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block are same as all the intra modes available to be determined for the current block (Page 4, paragraph 0041-0043, Figure 3-Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 11,122,274 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo.
Claims 1, 5-8, 11-12, 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 10, 12 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,334,252, Claims 1, 10, 12 of US 9,918,093 and Claims 1, 10, 12 of US 9,641,849 in view of Kalevo and Cha.
Regarding Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to
Corresponds to Claim 10 and 12 of 10,334,252
Corresponds to Claim 10 and 12 of 9,918,093
Corresponds to Claim 10 and 12 of 9,641,849
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining, by the video encoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block;
performing, by the video encoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining, by the video encoding apparatus, a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming, by the video encoding apparatus, the residual block to generate transform coefficients;
quantizing, by the video encoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients; and
encoding, by the video encoding apparatus, the quantized transform coefficients, wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number;
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality, wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block, and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block.
wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining a neighboring intra prediction mode associated with a neighboring block, the neighboring block being adjacent to a current block;
determining a current intra prediction mode associated with the current block based on whether the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality or not;
performing intra-prediction according to the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming the residual block to generate transform coefficients;
quantizing the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients;
encoding the quantized transform coefficients,
wherein determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block according to a first set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has no directionality,
determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block according to a second set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions.
Claim 12: wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions use the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block.
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method
determining a first intra prediction mode associated with a neighboring block of a current block;
determining a second intra prediction mode associated with the current block based on whether the first intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block is a directional mode or a non-directional mode;
performing intra-prediction according to the second intra prediction mode associated with the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming the residual block to generate transform coefficients;
quantizing the transform coefficients to generate quantization coefficients; and
encoding the quantization coefficients,
wherein determining the second intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
determining the second intra prediction mode associated with the current block according to a first set of one or more mathematical expressions, when the first intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block is the non-directional mode,
determining the second intra prediction mode associated with the current block according to a second set of one or more mathematical expressions, when the first intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block is the directional mode,
wherein the second set of one or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of one or more mathematical
expressions.
Claim 12: wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions use the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block.
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining an intra mode for a neighboring block of a
current block;
determining an intra mode for the current block based on whether the intra mode for the neighboring block is a directional mode or a non-directional mode;
performing intra-prediction according to the intra mode for the current block to generate a prediction block for the current block;
subtracting the prediction block from the current block to obtain a residual block for the current block;
transforming the residual block to transform coefficients;
quantizing the transform coefficients to generate quantization coefficients;
encoding the quantization coefficients to generate an input bitstream,
wherein the intra mode for the current block is determined by using a first set of one or more mathematical expressions, if the intra mode for the neighboring block is the non-directional mode,
wherein the intra mode for the current block is determined by using a second set of one or more mathematical expressions, if the intra mode for the neighboring block is the directional mode, and
wherein the second set of one or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of one or more mathematical expressions.
Claim 12: wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions use the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block.
The instant application’s “encoded by a video encoding apparatus; identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number; based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and based on the intra prediction mode number, wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode” are additional limitations. Kalevo discloses determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5). Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12 See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 10,334,252, 9,918,093 and 9,641,849 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo and in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha.
Regarding 5- 7, 9-11 and 12-15, the instant application includes the additional limitations. See above for Claim 1 and 12, Kalevo discloses wherein the second set comprises a mathematical expression that is not included in the first set, and the first set comprises a different mathematical expression that is not included in the second set (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5), wherein the mathematical expression included in the second set and not included in the first set corresponds to an arithmetic operation between two values in order to yield a third value (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143), wherein the intra prediction mode number selected in relation to the neighboring block is represented by an integer among a plurality of predetermined integers, the plurality of predetermined integers commonly identifying intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block and the current block, and all the intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block are same as all the intra modes available to be determined for the current block (Page 4, paragraph 0041-0043, Figure 3-Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 10,334,252, 9,918,093 and 9,641,849 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo.
Claims 1,5-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 9,467,705 in view of Kalevo and Cha.
Regarding Claim 1 of Instant Application
Corresponds to Claim 1 of US 9,467,705
A video decoding method performed by a video decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus;
performing, by the video decoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining, by the video decoding apparatus, transform coefficients;
dequantizing, by the video decoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate dequantized transform coefficients;
transforming, by the video decoding apparatus, the dequantized transform coefficients to generate a residual block associated with the current block; and
reconstructing, by the video decoding apparatus, the current block based on the prediction block and the residual block,
wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number;
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and
using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block, and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block,
wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.
A video decoding method performed by a video decoding apparatus, the method comprising:
reconstructing a residual block of a current block from an input bitstream;
selecting an intra mode for the current block from among a plurality of intra modes, wherein the number of the plurality of intra modes for a 32.times.32 block is equal to the number of intra modes for a 16.times.16 block, and the number of the plurality of intra modes for the 32.times.32 block is equal to the number of intra modes for an 8.times.8 block;
see limitation below
performing intra-prediction according to the selected intra mode for the current block to generate a prediction block for the current block; and
adding the residual block of the current block to the prediction block for the current block to reconstruct the current block, wherein the number of the plurality of intra modes is greater than 9 corresponding to the number of a plurality of intra modes specified in the H.264 standard, wherein the plurality of intra modes includes a plurality of directional modes, each of the plurality of directional modes has a direction, the direction has a slope defined as dy in a vertical direction over dx in a horizontal direction, and dx and dy are integer numbers,
wherein selecting the intra mode for the current block comprises: determining an intra mode for a neighboring block; and selecting the intra mode for the current block based on whether the determined intra mode for the neighboring block is a directional mode or a non-directional mode,
wherein the intra mode for the current block is selected by using a first set of one or more mathematical expressions, if the determined intra mode for the neighboring block is the directional mode, wherein the intra mode for the current block is selected by using a second set of one or more mathematical expressions, if the determined intra mode for the neighboring block is the non-directional mode,
and wherein the second set of one or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of one or more mathematical expressions.
The examiner will note that Claim 1 recites first set of mathematical expression for no directionality and a second set of mathematical expressions for direction while the US 9,467,705 recites first set for directional mode and second set for non-directional mode. The examiner will note the limitations are equivalent.
The instant application’s “encoded by a video encoding apparatus; identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number; based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and based on the intra prediction mode number, wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block, wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode” are additional limitations. Kalevo discloses determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5), wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block (Figure 3A). Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12 See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 9,467,705 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo and in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha.
Regarding, 5- 7, the instant application includes the additional limitations. Kalevo discloses wherein the second set comprises a mathematical expression that is not included in the first set, and the first set comprises a different mathematical expression that is not included in the second set (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5), wherein the mathematical expression included in the second set and not included in the first set corresponds to an arithmetic operation between two values in order to yield a third value (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143), wherein the intra prediction mode number selected in relation to the neighboring block is represented by an integer among a plurality of predetermined integers, the plurality of predetermined integers commonly identifying intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block and the current block, and all the intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block are same as all the intra modes available to be determined for the current block (Page 4, paragraph 0041-0043, Figure 3-Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 9,467,705 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo.
Claims 8, 11, 12, 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,623,750 in view of Kalevo and Cha.
Claim8 of the instant application
Corresponds to Claim 1 and 3 of US 10,623,750
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining, by the video encoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block;
performing, by the video encoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining, by the video encoding apparatus, a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming, by the video encoding apparatus, the residual block to generate transform coefficients;
quantizing, by the video encoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients; and
encoding, by the video encoding apparatus, the quantized transform coefficients,
wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number;
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality, wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block, and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block.
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block;
performing intra-prediction according to the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
determining a neighboring intra prediction mode associated with a neighboring block, the neighboring block being adjacent to the current block;
encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block based on whether the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality or not;
obtaining a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming the residual block to generate transform coefficients using a discrete cosine transform;
quantizing the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients;
encoding the quantized transform coefficients using an arithmetic coding,
wherein the encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block according to a first set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has no directionality, Page 3 of 7Appl. No.Amdt. dated August 5, 2019Attorney Docket No.: 553MA0001US8prediction mode associated with neighboring block has no directionality,Preliminary AmendmentClient Ref. No.: OP1515-0001USC8 encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block according to a second set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality, wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions, and the neighboring block includes a left block adjacent to the current block.
Claim 3: wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions use the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block.
The instant application’s “encoded by a video encoding apparatus; identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number; based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and based on the intra prediction mode number, upper block, wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode” are additional limitations. Kalevo discloses determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5) wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block (Figure 3A). Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12, See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 10623750 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo and in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha.
Regarding 11-12,15, the instant application includes the additional limitations. See above for Claim 1 and 12, Kalevo discloses wherein the second set comprises a mathematical expression that is not included in the first set, and the first set comprises a different mathematical expression that is not included in the second set (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5), wherein the mathematical expression included in the second set and not included in the first set corresponds to an arithmetic operation between two values in order to yield a third value (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143), wherein the intra prediction mode number selected in relation to the neighboring block is represented by an integer among a plurality of predetermined integers, the plurality of predetermined integers commonly identifying intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block and the current block, and all the intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block are same as all the intra modes available to be determined for the current block (Page 4, paragraph 0041-0043, Figure 3-Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 10,623,750 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo.
Claims 8, 11-12, 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,623,751 in view of Kalevo and Cha.
Regarding Claim 8 of Instant Application
Corresponds to Claim 1 and 3 of US 10,623,751
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining, by the video encoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block;
performing, by the video encoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining, by the video encoding apparatus, a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming, by the video encoding apparatus, the residual block to generate transform coefficients;
quantizing, by the video encoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients; and
encoding, by the video encoding apparatus, the quantized transform coefficients, wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number;
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality, wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block, and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block,
wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block;
performing intra-prediction according to the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
determining a neighboring intra prediction mode associated with a neighboring block, the neighboring block being adjacent to the current block;
encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block based on whether the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality or not;
obtaining a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming the residual block to generate transform coefficients using a discrete cosine transform;
quantizing the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients;
encoding the quantized transform coefficients,
wherein the encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block according to a first set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has no directionality, Page 3 of 8Amdt. dated August 5, 2019Client Ref. No.: OP1515-0001USC6 encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block according to a second set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions, and
the neighboring block includes a left block adjacent to the current block.
Claim 3: wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions use the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block.
The instant application’s “encoded by a video encoding apparatus; identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number; based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and based on the intra prediction mode number, upper block, wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.” are additional limitations. Kalevo discloses determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5) wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block (Figure 3A). Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12, See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 10623751 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo and in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha.
Regarding 11-12, 15, the instant application includes the additional limitations. See above for Claim 1 and 12, Kalevo discloses wherein the second set comprises a mathematical expression that is not included in the first set, and the first set comprises a different mathematical expression that is not included in the second set (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5), wherein the mathematical expression included in the second set and not included in the first set corresponds to an arithmetic operation between two values in order to yield a third value (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143), wherein the intra prediction mode number selected in relation to the neighboring block is represented by an integer among a plurality of predetermined integers, the plurality of predetermined integers commonly identifying intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block and the current block, and all the intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block are same as all the intra modes available to be determined for the current block (Page 4, paragraph 0041-0043, Figure 3-Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 10,623,751 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo.
Claims 8, 11-12, 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,122,275 in view of Kalevo and Cha.
Regarding Claim 8 of Instant Application
Corresponds to Claim 1 of US 11,122,275
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining, by the video encoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block;
performing, by the video encoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining, by the video encoding apparatus, a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming, by the video encoding apparatus, the residual block to generate transform coefficients;
quantizing, by the video encoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients; and
encoding, by the video encoding apparatus, the quantized transform coefficients, wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number;
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality, wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block, and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block,
wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block;
performing intra-prediction according to the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
determining a neighboring intra prediction mode associated with a neighboring block, the neighboring block being adjacent to the current block;
encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block based on whether the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality or not; obtaining a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming the residual block to generate transform coefficients;
quantizing the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients;
encoding the quantized transform coefficients, wherein the encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
determining candidate intra prediction modes associated with the current block according to a first set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has no directionality,
determining candidate intra prediction modes associated with the current block according to a second set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality,
encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block based on the candidate intra prediction modes,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions use the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block, and
the neighboring block includes a left block adjacent to the current block.
The instant application’s “encoded by a video encoding apparatus; identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number; based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and based on the intra prediction mode number, upper block, wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode” are additional limitations. Kalevo discloses determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block (Figure 3A). 5). Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12, See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 11,122,275 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo and in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha.
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to Claim 7 of US 11,122,275.
Regarding 5-7, 11, 1215, the instant application includes the additional limitations. See above for Claim 1 and 12, Kalevo discloses , wherein the second set comprises a mathematical expression that is not included in the first set, and the first set comprises a different mathematical expression that is not included in the second set (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5), wherein the mathematical expression included in the second set and not included in the first set corresponds to an arithmetic operation between two values in order to yield a third value (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143), wherein the intra prediction mode number selected in relation to the neighboring block is represented by an integer among a plurality of predetermined integers, the plurality of predetermined integers commonly identifying intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block and the current block, and all the intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block are same as all the intra modes available to be determined for the current block (Page 4, paragraph 0041-0043, Figure 3-Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 11,122,275 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo.
Claims 8, 11-12, 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10623749 in view of Kalevo and Cha.
Corresponds to Claim 8 of Instant application
Corresponds to Claim 1 and 3 of 10623749
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining, by the video encoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block;
performing, by the video encoding apparatus, intra-prediction based on the current intra prediction mode for the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
obtaining, by the video encoding apparatus, a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming, by the video encoding apparatus, the residual block to generate transform coefficients;
quantizing, by the video encoding apparatus, the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients; and
encoding, by the video encoding apparatus, the quantized transform coefficients, wherein the determining the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number;
using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality, wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions uses the intra prediction mode that has directionality associated with the neighboring block, and
wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block,
wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode.
A video encoding method performed by a video encoding apparatus, the method comprising:
determining a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block;
performing intra-prediction according to the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block to generate a prediction block associated with the current block;
determining a neighboring intra prediction mode associated with a neighboring block, the neighboring block being adjacent to the current block;
encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block based on whether the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality or not;
obtaining a residual block associated with the current block by using the prediction block and the current block;
transforming the residual block to generate transform coefficients;
quantizing the transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients;
encoding the quantized transform coefficients using an arithmetic coding, wherein the encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block comprises:
Page 3 of 8Appl. No.Amdt. dated August 2, 2019Attorney Docket No.: 553MA0001US7 Preliminary AmendmentClient Ref. No.: OP1515-0001USC7 encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block according to a first set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has no directionality, encoding the current intra prediction mode associated with the current block according to a second set of two or more mathematical expressions, when the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block has directionality,
wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions is different from the first set of two or more mathematical expressions, and
the neighboring block includes a left block adjacent to the current block.
Claim 3: wherein the second set of two or more mathematical expressions use the neighboring intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block
The instant application’s “encoded by a video encoding apparatus; identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number; based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality; and based on the intra prediction mode number, upper block, wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode” are additional limitations. Kalevo discloses determining, by the video decoding apparatus, a current intra prediction mode associated with a current block of image data encoded by a video encoding apparatus (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); identifying, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); using a first set of two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has no directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure 5); and using a second set of the two or more mathematical expressions based on the intra prediction mode number corresponding to an intra prediction mode that has directionality (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 4, Figure wherein the neighboring block includes an upper block adjacent to the current block (Figure 3A). Cha discloses selecting, in relation to a neighboring block, an intra prediction mode number (Column 5, lines 58-62, Figure 3); wherein the intra prediction mode number, in relation to the neighboring block that which is inter coded, is selected to determine the current intra prediction mode (Column 5, lines 54-62, Figure 3, Figure 12, See also Column 8, lines 61-63, Column 7, lines 43-48, Figure 6, Column 6, lines 12-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 10,623,749 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo and in order to have higher compression efficiency using directional intra-prediction (Column 1, lines 49-55) as disclosed by Cha.
Regarding 11 and 15, the instant application includes the additional limitations. See above for Claim 1 and 12, Kalevo discloses transmitting the bitstream (Figure 1), wherein the intra prediction mode number corresponds to an intra prediction mode that used to intra predict the neighboring block (Page 3, paragraph 0034, 0035Page 4, paragraph 0040-0041, Page 6, paragraph 0073, Figure 3A-C, Figure 4, Figure 5), further comprising: performing, for the neighboring block prior to determining the current intra prediction mode, intra-prediction using a neighboring intra prediction mode, wherein a mode number of the neighboring intra prediction mode is equal to the intra prediction mode number (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5), wherein the second set comprises a mathematical expression that is not included in the first set, and the first set comprises a different mathematical expression that is not included in the second set (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0041-0043, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143, Figure 3-5), wherein the mathematical expression included in the second set and not included in the first set corresponds to an arithmetic operation between two values in order to yield a third value (Page 4, paragraph 0048, 0043, 0041, Page 6, paragraph 0077-0078, Table 4, Page 10, paragraph 0143), wherein the intra prediction mode number selected in relation to the neighboring block is represented by an integer among a plurality of predetermined integers, the plurality of predetermined integers commonly identifying intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block and the current block, and all the intra modes available to be determined for the neighboring block are same as all the intra modes available to be determined for the current block (Page 4, paragraph 0041-0043, Figure 3-Figure 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to add the limitations to US 10,623,749 in order to have higher coding efficiency (Page 2, paragraph 0014) as disclosed by Kalevo.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARZANA HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482
January 8, 2026