DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species B in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 14 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/03/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the resistance heater embedded in a copper block (claims 16-17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fuel source comprising two hemicylindrical segments configured to slidably fit into the reactor (claim 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Figure 1 shows two 2-D sections and does not show two hemicylindrical segments, nor does it show a mechanism for the claimed sliding insertion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1–13 and 15–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by a well-established utility or a substantial and credible asserted utility.
In Brenner v. Manson, the Supreme Court stated that “[t]he basic quid pro quo contemplated by the Constitution and the Congress for granting a patent monopoly is the benefit derived by the public from an invention with substantial utility. Unless and until a process is refined and developed to this point—where specific benefit exists in currently available form—the is insufficient justification for permitting an applicant to engross what may prove to be a broad field.” 383 U.S. 519, 534-35 (1966). The Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) accordingly explains that the purpose of the utility requirement is “to limit patent protection to inventions that possess a certain level of ‘real world’ value, as opposed to subject matter that represents nothing more than an idea or concept, or is simply a starting point for future investigation or research.” MPEP § 2103, A., I.
Thus, the USPTO has the initial burden of setting forth a reason to doubt an Appellant's presumptively correct assertion of utility. In re Swartz, 232 F.3d 862, 864 (Fed. Cir. 2000). “The PTO may establish a reason to doubt an invention's asserted utility when the written description ‘suggest[s] an inherently unbelievable undertaking or involve[s] implausible scientific principles.”’ In re Cortright, 165 F.3d 1353, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (quoting In re Brana, 51 F.3d 1560, 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1995)).
Here, the claims are directed to an approach to cold nuclear fusion. Claim 1, for example, recites
…a heat generation system comprising: a reactor comprising: an anode; and a cathode … at least one fuel source [that comprises a metal substrate thermally sprayed with a metal catalyst … a calorimeter to detect a change in heat evolution.
A review of the disclosure shows that the success of the invention depends on the viability of the “cold fusion” concept set forth by Fleischmann and Pons1 (“FP”) in order to generate the heat recited in claim 1. Specifically, the invention employs nuclear fusion resulting from the incorporation of deuterium into a metal lattice, as detailed in the Specification2 at ¶¶ 31-32 and 39: the “reactor may include an anode and a cathode”; “adding hydrogen to the reactor and adding deuterium to the reactor”; adding hydrogen and deuterium “until a change in heat evolution is detected”; and Ni alloy, Titanium, and Palladium can be used. Thus, the Specification allows for the conventional cold fusion method of using an anode and cathode to load hydrogen into a metal (Ni; Pd) at a high density, which causes adjacent protons to undergo nuclear fusion by combining, which results in generation of heat. As set forth more fully below, “cold fusion” is still no more than just an unproven concept rejected by mainstream scientists.
Background
After Fleischmann and Pons announced their fusion device, competing researchers attempted to reproduce their results. The results of these attempts were primarily negative. The few initial positive results were either retracted or later shown to be in error by subsequent experiments.3,4 The general consensus by those skilled in the art and working at these various laboratories is that the fusion conclusion made by Fleischmann and Pons was based on experimental error.5 The general consensus by those skilled in the art is that there is no reputable evidence to support the claims of excess heat production, or the production of fusion by-products such as neutrons, gamma rays, tritium, or helium.6 See also Cooke, pages 4 and 5, which refers to the attempts at Harwell to obtain “cold fusion.” Page 5 also indicates that data was also collected in Frascatti-type (i.e., gaseous) experiments. See the last paragraph on page 5:
“After three months of around-the-clock work at a cost of over a half a million dollars, the project was terminated on June 15. This program is believed to be one of the most comprehensive worldwide with as many as 30 cells operating at a time and over 100 different experiments performed. The final result of this monumental effort in the words of the official press release was, in none of these experiments was there any evidence of fusion taking place under electrochemical conditions. It should also be added that there was no evidence of excess heat generated by any of their cells”.
Note that a complete disclosure must contain enough detail as to enable a person skilled in the art or science to which the invention pertains to make and use the invention as of its filing date.7 The present disclosure does not contain the requisite description and detail. There is no adequate description nor enabling disclosure of the parameters of a specific operative embodiment of the invention, including exact composition (including impurities and amounts thereof) of the catalyst; composition (including impurities and amounts thereof), size, dimensions and porosity of the electrodes; the requisite concentration per unit volume of hydrogen isotopes in the cathode; the applied current and voltage, if any; the requisite physical and/or chemical pretreatment of the electrodes; the instrument calibration prior to and during a run, test or experiment; the amount of each electrode to be immersed in the electrolyte; etc. The instant Specification does not set forth an example of an operative embodiment that includes specific values for each of the above parameters. Note that such parameters are critical in arriving at a theoretically operative cold fusion embodiment. For example, Morrison8 shows that electrode spacing is an important parameter. On page 3, Morrison shows that if the electrodes are close enough to each other, hydrogen isotopes and oxygen will recombine. This can be misinterpreted as excess heat.9 These references demonstrate the critical importance of cell component composition and impurity content and of electrode pretreatment.
Claims of the production of excess heat, tritium, and other nuclear reaction products due to a nuclear reaction, are not sufficient to overcome the numerous teachings by skilled artisans that claims of cold fusion are not reproducible. Note that the numerous teachings by skilled artisans show that in this field it is easy to obtain false-positive results. It is not clear from the information set forth in the Specification that applicant would be able to show positive results or that the alleged positive results do not fall within the limits of experimental error. For example, the Examiner has cited several documents that deal with calorimeter evidence of cold fusion and possible sources of error. The Specification does not disclose any particular structure which makes applicants cold fusion system operative where the other systems disclosed have failed.
The claimed apparatus requires nuclear fusion without meeting the accepted and established conditions necessary for fusion to occur, known as the Lawson criterion.10 For one, fusion on Earth requires temperatures several orders magnitude greater than 15 million degrees Celsius temperature at the sun’s core.11 Mainstream nuclear science reckons that the requisite temperature for fusion on Earth is 100 million degrees Celsius or more.12 The alternative mechanism proposed by Applicant is not capable of producing or sustaining such a reaction: a pressure of 20 torr and an input of 200 mA of current, see claims 12 and 14, are wildly inadequate to initiate nuclear reactions of hundreds of millions of degrees. 200 mA (0.2 A) of current is not even enough to power a typical light bulb.13
For the present invention, which is directed to a way of attempting nuclear fusion at odds with established scientific principles, evidence and acceptance by the scientific community is of crucial importance because the PTO may meet its burden to establish a prima facie case of lack of utility where the written description suggests an unbelievable undertaking or implausible principles. See In re Cortright, 165 F.3d. at 1357.
Reproducibility
Regarding reproducibility, Huizenga14 states:
“The foundation of science requires experimental results to be reproducible. Validation is an integral part of the scientific process. Scientists are obligated to write articles in ways that allow observations to be replicated. Instructions should be available to permit a competent and well-equipped scientist to perform the experiment and obtain essentially the same results. Replication in science usually is reserved for experiments of special importance or experiments that conflict with an accepted body of work. The greater the implication of an experimental result, the more quickly it will be checked by other scientists.
As more and more groups, at major universities and national laboratories were unable to replicate either the claimed excess heat or fusion products, proponents of cold fusion quickly pointed out that the experiment was not done properly: one needed different size palladium cathodes, longer electrolysis times and higher currents, they claimed.
Whenever the inability of qualified scientists to repeat an experiment is met by ad hoc excuses, beware. One important role of a scientific article is to provide directions for others. Scientists establish priorities for their discoveries by publishing a clear and well documented recipe of their experimental procedures. If a scientific article fails to include an adequate recipe which allows a skilled reader to reproduce the experiment, it is a warning that the author’s understanding of their work is incomplete.
Cold-fusion proponents introduced new dimensions into the subject of reproducibility in science. Some tried to turn the table on reproducibility by giving irreproducibility a degree of respectability. A second aberration was to assign a different value to experiments attempting replication. Only experiments that obtained some fragmentary evidence for cold fusion were to be taken seriously because it was declared that experiments obtaining negative results required no special skills or expertise. This viewpoint led proponents of cold fusion to invite mainly papers reporting positive results when organizing conferences. Such an aberrant procedure is incompatible with the scientific process and usually is viewed negatively by scientists as well as journalists.”
“Reproducibility” must go beyond one’s own lab. One must produce a set of instructions—a recipe—that would enable anyone to produce the same results. If reproducibility only occurs in one’s own lab, errors (such as systematic errors) would be suspect.15 Experimenters who previously found evidence of excess heat could not reproduce their results when better calorimetry equipment was used.16 Reproducibility of alleged cold fusion results is a critical feature in determining if a disclosure adequately teaches other practitioners how to make and use an invention.
It is well-known that impurities in the cell container walls can leach out into the electrolyte and be deposited onto the cathode.17,18,19 It is well-known that metals such as platinum, gold and, palladium are generally found in the same ore, that they can be extracted sequentially, and that they will be contaminated by the other metals present.
The presence of these impurities at the cathode could actually lead to the erroneous conclusion that transmutation has occurred. Applicant’s disclosure is insufficient and non-enabling, as it does not address the issue of impurities. For additional commentary on the alleged transmutation of isotopes in a cold fusion cell, Applicant is referred to Huizenga.20 Pages 152-156 of the reference21 recall that experimenters at the Naval Research Laboratory had mistakenly reported the production of particular palladium isotopes by neutron transmutation in cold fusion cells using a technique known as SIMS (secondary ion mass spectroscopy). See page 15622, which states:
“The story associated with the palladium isotope anomaly is not nearly so interesting because it is was simply due to an erroneous interpretation of data where the experimental mass peaks were misidentified. Contributions from polyatomic species of impurities with masses nearly coincident with those of the palladium isotopes caused the misidentification. In spite of the fact that the palladium isotope anomalies had been discredited for over five months, Bockris submitted a paper on March 26, 1990 [Fusion Technology 1811 (1990)] in which he discussed, along with other cold fusion phenomena, the thermal and 14-MeV-neutron-induced cross sections on palladium isotopes. He used these mistaken isotopic anomalies data to suggest that the cold fusion reaction is a surface or near-surface reaction, and, therefore, to serve as supporting evidence for his model of fusion. Among cold fusion enthusiasts mistakes and erroneous results usually decay with a very long lifetime.”
The Examiner cannot find, and Applicant has not supplied, any reputable and peer-reviewed papers in which the mainstream scientific community (i.e., outside of Applicant’s own laboratory) has replicated or built upon Applicant’s purportedly revolutionary discovery. Therefore, the Examiner must conclude that the claimed invention has not been independently reproduced.
The fact that the disclosure is entirely prophetic weighs in favor of finding that the claimed subject matter, if even operative, lacks the real-world value required by 35 U.S.C. 101.
The claimed invention—a cold fusion scheme—for generating and maintaining a cold fusion reaction sufficient for energy generation by applying a DC voltage between two electrodes inside a gaseous vessel (claim 1) is too undeveloped to be considered to have a body of existing knowledge associated with it, much less reproducibility of results. See In re Swartz, 232 F.3d at 864 (“Here the PTO provided several references showing that results in the area of cold fusion were irreproducible. Thus the PTO provided substantial evidence that those skilled in the art would ‘reasonably doubt’ the asserted utility and operability of cold fusion”).
In view of the above, it is more likely than not that an ordinarily skilled artisan would doubt the effective obtention of a fusion reaction, i.e., causing and capability to generate heat as claimed, as well the benefits asserted by Applicants as of the effective date of the claims. Rather, the preponderance of evidence supports a finding that as of the effective date, the claimed method was at most at starting point for future investigation or research. See In re Swartz, 232 F.3d at 864, In re Cortright, 165 F.3d at 1357.
Claims 1–13 and 15–17 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the disclosed invention is inoperative and therefore lacks patentable utility for the reasons provided in the above 101 rejection, which are incorporated herein. The generation of excess heat via a cold fusion reaction is considered as being Applicant's specified utility (see Specification at ¶¶ 30–32). Applicant’s invention operates at a pressure (claim 12) and with input power (claim 14) many orders of magnitude below what the scientific community considers conducive to nuclear fusion. The ordinary skilled artisan would find it more likely than not that Applicant’s invention was not producing cold fusion because, as was detailed above, cold fusion is considered unworkable by the scientific community. The Examiner has provided a preponderance of evidence as to why the asserted operation and utility of Applicant's invention is inconsistent with known scientific principles, making it speculative at best as to whether attributes of the invention necessary to impart the asserted utility are actually present in the invention. See In re Sichert, 566 F.2d 1154, 196 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1977). Accordingly, the invention as disclosed is deemed inoperable, i.e., it does not operate to produce the results claimed by the Applicant.
As set forth in MPEP § 2107.01(IV), a deficiency under 35 U.S.C. 101 also creates a deficiency under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. See In re Brana, 51 F.3d 1560, 34 USPQ2d 1436 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Citing In re Brana, the Federal Circuit noted,
“Obviously, if a claimed invention does not have utility, the Specification cannot enable one to use it.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–13 and 15–17 are rejected under U.S.C. 112(a). Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by a well-established utility or a substantial and credible asserted utility for the same reasons set forth in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 (which are incorporated herein), one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Claims 1–13 and 15–17 are further rejected under U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the Specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, a person skilled in the art at the time the application was filed would not have recognized that the inventor was in possession of the invention as claimed in view of the disclosure for the reasons provided in the above 101 rejections, which are incorporated herein.
Claims 1–13 and 15–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the best mode contemplated by the inventor(s) has not been disclosed. Evidence of concealment of the best mode is based upon the disclosure of the Letts publication cited in the below 35 U.S.C. 102 section. Letts discloses a cathode vessel filled with a hydrogen gas and an anode, wherein a DC voltage is applied to generate heat, i.e., Applicant’s claimed invention. However, as shown, this device remains unproven and unworkable for the purposes of useful nuclear fusion electricity generation. Accordingly, if Applicant's cold fusion device is operative, while Letts’ is not, then the Examiner must conclude that some essential information is missing from Applicant's disclosure that makes Applicant's invention operative.
Claims 1–13 and 15–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the Specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
To be enabling, the disclosure, as filed, must be sufficiently complete to enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to make and a use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. It is the Examiner’s position that an undue amount of experimentation would be required to produce an operative embodiment of the claimed invention.
To determine whether a given claim is supported in sufficient detail (by combining the information provided in the disclosure with information known in the art) such that any person skilled in the art could make and use the invention as of the filing date of the application without undue experimentation, at least the following factors should be included:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
This standard is applied in accordance with the U.S. Federal Court of Appeals decision In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). See also United States v. Telectronics Inc., 857 F.2d 778, 785, 8 USPQ2d 1217, 1223 (Fed. Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1046 (1989).
Reviewing the aforementioned Wands factors, the evidence weighs in favor of a finding that undue experimentation would be necessary to make and use the claimed invention, and therefore, a determination that the disclosure fails to satisfy the enablement requirement. Specifically:
(A) The breadth of the claims: Applicant’s claims to provide a cold fusion apparatus are extremely broad, as evidenced by their lack of detail (e.g., claim 1 simply recites applying a voltage between electrodes in a vessel that has a metal catalyst).
(B) The nature of the invention: The nature of the invention, i.e., the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains, revolves around the viability of cold (low-energy) nuclear fusion as a substantial source of marketable commercial energy; as currently disclosed by Applicant, cold fusion involves a questionable departure from the accepted and well-tested theories that comprise known nuclear and plasma physics, chemistry, and electromagnetism. As such, the subject matter to which the invention pertains lies outside the realm of working science.
(C) The state of the prior art: The effects claimed by Applicant have not been verified by the existing body of scientific work and are, in fact, incompatible with it.
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill: The level of ordinary skill in the art is a skilled artisan who can create and operate nuclear fusion reactors at extremely high temperatures and pressures using conventional technology.
(E) The level of predictability in the art: Low-temperature nuclear fusion experiments are predictably unable to produce expected, reproducible, or meaningful empirical data.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor: Applicant’s disclosure does not provide the necessary step-by-step guide to actually achieve the claimed first-ever demonstration of cold nuclear fusion.
(G) The existence of working examples: No working example is provided. Nor is there evidence that the provided prophetic examples have been reliably reduced to practice.
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure: The quantity of experimentation needed is unreasonable because the practical guidance provided is insufficient to enable one to build or operate a working prototype of the invention, and the provided theoretical guidance is insufficient to enable one to understand the underlying sequence of phenomena required to attempt such an endeavor.
Any claim not specifically addressed in this section that depends from a rejected claim is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), for its dependency upon an above–rejected claim and for the same reasons.
Claims 1–13 and 15–17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structures are: the structures that make Applicant’s cold fusion apparatus operative, while all those in the prior art are not operative. This rejection is related to the above 112(a) best mode rejection. The Examiner can only conclude that if Applicant’s apparatus is operative, but that of Letts (cited in the below 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection section) is not, then there must be omitted elements that are critical or essential to the invention.
Any claim not specifically addressed in this section that depends from a rejected claim is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for its dependency upon an above–rejected claim and for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1–7, 11–13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Letts (US 20180374587).
Regarding claim 1, Letts discloses heat generation system (fig. 4) comprising: a reactor comprising: an anode (104); and a cathode (105), wherein the cathode is a metallic vessel (“ The cathode 105 is made of a metal that serves as a metal container 102,” ¶ 44); at least one fuel source (102, 108, 110) disposed within the reactor, wherein the at least one fuel source comprises a metal substrate (102/108, ¶ 22) thermally sprayed (this is a non-limiting product-by process limitation) with a metal catalyst (110, ¶ 21) having a specified level of surface coarseness (implicit), and wherein the at least one fuel source is in thermal and electrical contact with the reactor (as clearly shown in fig. 4); and a pressure regulator (114) in communication with the reactor and configured to seal and reduce pressure within a reactor (¶ 46); a hydrogen source (406, ¶ 46) configured to add hydrogen to the reactor after the reactor is sealed; a deuterium source (406, ¶ 46) configured to add deuterium to the reactor after the reactor is sealed; a DC power supply (416, ¶ 46 and ¶ 48) configured to supply a current to the reactor; and a calorimeter to detect a change in heat evolution (“The exemplary system 400 includes a plurality of thermocouples 412, which are placed in various positions inside the system 400 for calorimetric measurements,” ¶ 46).
Regarding claims 2–7, 11–13, and 15, Letts anticipates all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein the anode is a metallic rod comprised of one of molybdenum and tungsten (¶ 18); wherein the metallic vessel is comprised of stainless steel (“ stainless steel,” ¶ 16); wherein the at least one fuel source is configured to slidably fit into the reactor (based on ¶ 34 of the published application, Examiner interprets this limitation as including tubes being able to be slidably inserted into the reactor, and Letts’ fuel source 102, 108, 110 is shaped as tubes, fig. 4) and the reactor is tubular and the at least one fuel source comprises two hemicylindrical segments (as shown in fig. 4, fuel source 102, 108, 110 is shaped as a cylinder, and a cylinder implicitly comprises two hemicylindrical segments) configured to slidably fit into and maintain thermal and electrical contact with the reactor (id.); wherein the metal catalyst is a hydrogen-absorbing metal (“D2 infused metal,” fig. 4); wherein the pressure regulator is configured produces a vacuum of at least 1x10-4 torr in the reactor (“a high vacuum of pressure, e.g., 10−6 Torr,” ¶ 47); wherein the pressure regulator is configured to allow the hydrogen source and the deuterium source to add enough hydrogen and deuterium to produce at least 20 torr pressure in the reactor (“the pressure of the pressurized hydrogen gas is between 0.01PSIA-2 PSIA,” ¶ claim 9); wherein the pressure regulator is in operative communication with flow control systems in fluid communication with each of the hydrogen source and the deuterium source and configured to add hydrogen to the reactor until a first setpoint pressure is reached and to add deuterium to the reactor until a second setpoint pressure is reached (¶¶ 46–47); and wherein the DC power supply is configured to supply current in pulsed cycles (power supply 416 may be a combined DC and RF component with a combining Bias Tee 420, which is a setup configured to output a pulsed current).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 8–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letts.
Regarding claims 8–10, Letts anticipates all the elements of parent claims 1 and 7. Letts does not explicitly suggest a catalyst material of a 95% nickel and 5% aluminum alloy or a substrate material of titanium.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have utilized a catalyst material of a 95% nickel and 5% aluminum alloy or a substrate material of titanium, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In this case, the skilled artisan is well-aware of the use of nickel and aluminum alloys, as well as titanium, in cold fusion reactor systems, and said artisan would not be surprised by the results of using any of these materials.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letts in view of Mills (US 2022/0021290).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Letts anticipates all the elements of the parent claim but does not suggest a resistance heater. Mills does. Mills is also in the art area of alleged cold fusion and teaches (fig. 10) at least one resistance heater (415) disposed in thermal communication with the reactor, wherein the heater is embedded in a block (310) surrounding the reactor (heater 415 may be wrapped as pictured, or inserted into the wall of the component instead, ¶ 322). The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize the heater of Mills with the system of Letts, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, in order to provide “heat for at least startup of operation,” ¶ 320.
Mills does not suggest that the block may be comprised of copper. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have utilized a copper material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In this case, as copper is conductive, the skilled artisan would expect it to work with the heater.
Conclusion
Please be aware that, as of October 1, 2025, the PTO has implemented a policy of one interview per round of examination. Additional interviews require managerial approval.
LILY CRABTREE GARNER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3646
/LILY C GARNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646
1 Braaten, “Ridiculously easy test yields claim of energy triumph,” The Washington Times, p. A5, March 24, 1989.
2 All references to the Specification refer to the published application.
3 Stipp, The Wall Street Journal, page B-4, “Georgia Group Outlines Errors That Led To Withdrawal Of ‘Cold Fusion’ Claims”, April 26, 1989.
4 Browne, “Fusion claim is greeted with scorn by physicists,” The New York Times, pp. A1 and A22, vol. CXXXVIII, no. 47,859, May 3, 1989.
5 Id., see also Kreysa, et al., Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry, vol. 266, pages 437-450, “A Critical Analysis Of Electrochemical Nuclear Fusion Experiments”, 1989; Hilts, The Washington Post, page A7, “Significant Errors Reported In Utah Fusion Experiments”, May 2,1989; Ohashi, et al., Journal of Nuclear Science and Technology, vol. 26, pages 729-732, “Decoding Of Thermal Data In Fleischmann & Pons Paper”, July 1989; Miskelly, et al., Science, vol. 246, no. 4931, pages 793 and 796, “Analysis Of The Published Calorimetric Evidence For Electrochemical Fusion Of Deuterium In Palladium”, November 10,1989; Chapline, “Proceedings of the NATO Advance Study Institute on the “Nuclear Equation of State,” pages 1-9, “Cold Confusion,” July 1989.
6 Cooke, Solid State Theory Section, Solid State Division, ORNL-FTR--3341, pages 2-15, “Report Of Foreign Travel Of J. F. Cooke, Head”, 1989; Faller, et al., Journal of Radioanalytical Nuclear Chemistry, Letters, vol. 137, no. 1, pages 9-16, “Investigation Of Cold Fusion In Heavy Water”, August 21,1989; Cribier, et al., “Conventional Sources of Fast Neutrons in ‘Cold Fusion’ Experiments,” Physics Letters B, Vol. 228, No. 1, 7 September 1989; Hajdas, et al., Solid State Communications, vol. 72, no. 4, pages 309-313, “Search For Cold-Fusion Events”, 1989; Shani, Solid State Communications, vol. 72. no. 1, pages 53-57, “Evidence For A Background Neutron Enhanced Fusion In Deuterium Absorbed Palladium,” 1989; Ziegler, et al., “Electrochemical Experiments in Cold Nuclear Fusion,” Physical Review Letters, vol. 62 No. 25, June 19, 1989; Schrieder, et al., B-Condensed Matter, vol. 76, no. 2, pages 141-142, “Search For Cold Nuclear Fusion In Palladium-Deuteride” 1989; AP, “Physicist: Utah Cold-Fusion Gear Doesn’t Work,” The Washington Post, March 29, 1990.
7 In re Glass, 181 U.S.P.Q. 31 (CCPA 1974).
8 Morrison, “Cold Fusion Update No. 8,” November 27, 1993.
9 See Jones, “An Assessment of Claims of Excess Heat in Cold Fusion Calorimetry,” J. Phys. Chem. B 1998, 102, 3647; Murray, Google Advanced Groups Search. pages 1-11. “Subject: Rothwel: Abstracts: Cain, Case, Iwamura, Ohmori, Silver, Stringham,” April 26, 1998; Shanahan, “Comments on ‘Thermal behavior of polarized Pd/D electrodes prepared by co-deposition,’” July, 14, 2004; Miles, et al., “Anomalous Effects in Deuterated Systems,” Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division, September 1996; Carr, “Re: CF claim score (was Re: reciprocal cold fusion proof standards...),”; Williams, et al., “Upper bounds on ‘cold fusion’ in electrolytic cells,” Nature vol. 342, p. 375, November 23, 1989.
10 “Plasmas must meet three conditions for fusion to occur, including reaching sufficient temperature, density, and [confinement] time.” The Science of Fusion Where triple product reigns supreme” <https://usfusionenergy.org/science-fusion>. Last accessed May 12, 2025.
11 Id.
12 Id.
13 www.lilacresort.com/appliance-amperage-draw-chart
14 Huizenga, “Cold Fusion Labeled ‘Fiasco of Century’”, Forum for Applied Research and Public Policy, vol. 7, No. 4, 1992, pages 78-83.
15 Little, et al., “Replication of Jean-Louis Naudin’s Replication of the Mizuno Experiment.”
16 Morrison, supra n. 8, at § 2.2, p. 2.
17 Flanagan, et al., “Hydrogen Absorption by Palladium in Aqueous Solution,” Transactions of the Faraday Society, vol. 55 part 8, No. 440, p 1400-1408, 1407.
18 Albagli, et al., “Measurement and Analysis of Neutron and Gamma-Ray Emission Rates, Other Fusion Products, and Power in Electrochemical Cells having Pd Cathodes,” Journal of Fusion Energy, Vol. 9, No. 2, 1990 pp. 130-148, 144 (col 2.).
19 See also Williams, supra n. 9, at 380 (second column) and 382 (first column).
20 Huizenga, “Cold Fusion: The Scientific Fiasco of the Century”, (selections provided) pp. 152-156, 237, 269, 275, 276, 284, 286.
21 Id.
22 Id.