Claims 1-26, 30 and 31 are currently pending with claims 27-29 being cancelled. Claims 9, 13, and 18-26 have been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14-17, 30 and 31 are rejected.
All of the rejections have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14-17, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the repetition of the porosity renders the claim indefinite.
As to claims 4 and 31, it is unclear what is meant by a plurality of features. Does Applicant want to convey a plurality of pores?
As to claim 7, the IR transparent material having a porosity in the range from 98 to 99.5% was already described in parent claim.
As to claim 30, it is not clear how the salt-based porous IR transparent material could include germanium that is not classified as a salt material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0123558 to Leroy et al. (hereinafter “Leroy”) in view of US 2015/0338175 to Raman et al. (hereinafter “Raman”), and US 2007/0289974 to Blair et al. (hereinafter “Blair”).
As to claims 1, 7, 8, 12 and 14, Leroy discloses a porous IR transparent material formed from an optically selective and thermally insulating aerogel (paragraphs 59 and 60). The aerogel can be made of initial material concentration selected to maximize solar reflectivity, and infrared transmission between 8-13 microns (paragraph 59). Leroy further mentions that the initial material can be polyethylene, KCl or NaCl (paragraph 60). That is, the porous IR transparent material can be made of polyethylene aerogel, KCl aerogel or NaCl aerogel.
Alternatively, the aerogel is a polyethylene aerogel in combination with a salt-based dopant comprising ZnS, ZnSe, NaCl, Ge, KBr, CsI, BaF2 and each of which being transparent to IR radiation having a wavelength in a range of 8 to 13 microns (paragraph 69). The salt-based dopant/polyethylene aerogel reads on the claimed salt-based IR transparent aerogel.
Leroy discloses an apparatus comprising an aerogel material, a support frame having an opening for holding and exposing a sky-facing surface of the aerogel material (figure 4; and paragraph 87).
Leroy does not explicitly disclose (i) an encapsulant provided on the sky-facing surface of the aerogel material, (ii) the salt-based porous IR transparent material having a porosity in the range of 98% to 99.5%, and (iii) the salt-based porous IR transparent material in the form of an aerogel powder.
Raman, however, discloses a radiative cooling apparatus 210 comprising: a support structure 212 including a frame covered by a layer of aluminized polymer layer. The frame support has a circular aperture 216 where a radiative cooler is filled within the aperture. A polyethylene film is sealed to the top of the circular aperture on the frame and serves as an IR-transparent wind shield (paragraph 61, and figures 2 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to seal a sky-facing surface of the aerogel material disclosed in Leroy with a polyethylene film disclosed in Raman, motivated by the desire to improve a durability and anti-soiling property without compromising sunlight reflectivity and IR transmission between 8-13 microns of the aerogel layer.
Blair, however, discloses a polymeric aerogel having a porosity greater than 97% (paragraph 19). The polymeric aerogel is a polyolefin aerogel (paragraph 22). The polymeric aerogel is in the form of a monolithic aerogel or an aerogel powder (paragraph 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the IR transparent polyethylene aerogel of Leroy having a porosity disclosed in Blair, motivated by the desire to optimize thermal conductivity properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyethylene aerogel disclosed in Leroy in the form of an aerogel powder because the aerogel monolith and aerogel powder have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent forms of the aerogel material and the selection of these known equivalents to be used as forms of the aerogel material will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 2, Leroy discloses that the aerogel can be made of initial material concentration selected to maximize solar reflectivity, and infrared transmission between 8-13 microns (paragraph 59). Leroy further mentions that the initial material can be polyethylene, KCl or NaCl (paragraph 60). This is a clear indication that the aerogel includes polyethylene aerogel, KCl aerogel or NaCl aerogel. KCl or NaCl reads on the claimed at least one substance that is transparent to IR radiation having a wavelength in a range of 8-13 microns.
Alternatively, the aerogel is a polyethylene aerogel in combination with a salt-based dopant comprising ZnS, ZnSe, NaCl, Ge, KBr, CsI, BaF2 and each of which being transparent to IR radiation having a wavelength in a range of 8 to 13 microns (paragraph 69).
As to claim 3, Leroy discloses that the aerogel can be made of initial material concentration selected to maximize solar reflectivity, and infrared transmission between 8-13 microns (paragraph 59). Leroy further mentions that the initial material can be polyethylene, KCl or NaCl (paragraph 60).
Leroy does not explicitly disclose that the porous IR transparent material is comprised of a combination of KCl and NaCl.
However, this does not render the claim unobvious because it would be advantageous to create the IR transparent material using a combination of NaCl and KCl, considering their ready availability and cost-effectiveness.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the IR transparent material of Leroy using a combination of NaCl and KCl as presently claimed, motivated by the desire to reduce the cost of the material.
As to claim 4, Leroy discloses the polyethylene aerogel having pores with an average pore diameter of less than 500 nm (paragraph 65). This overlaps the claimed range.
As to claim 5, Leroy discloses that the polyethylene aerogel in combination with a salt-based dopant is effective at scattering optical light having a wavelength of 0.3 to 2.5 microns (paragraph 78). Hence, the polyethylene/salt-based dopant aerogel is effective at scattering optical light having a wavelength from 0.3 µm to less than 1.0 µm.
As to claim 6, Leroy does not explicitly the IR transparent material has a density in a range of 0.5% to 2% of the maximum theoretical density of the at least one salt substance.
It appears that the IR transparent material of Leroy in view of Blair meets all structural limitations and chemistry required by the claims. The aerogel is made of initial material concentration selected to maximize solar reflectivity, and infrared transmission between 8-13 microns wherein the initial material can be polyethylene, KCl or NaCl. This is a clear indication that the aerogel includes polyethylene aerogel, KCl aerogel or NaCl aerogel. KCl or NaCl reads on the claimed at least one substance that is transparent to IR radiation having a wavelength in a range of 8-13 microns. Alternatively, the aerogel material is a polyethylene aerogel in combination with a salt-based dopant comprising ZnS, ZnSe, NaCl, Ge, KBr, CsI, BaF2 and each of which being transparent to IR radiation having a wavelength in a range of 8 to 13 microns (paragraph 69). The resulting aerogel is in the form of aerogel powder and has a porosity greater than 97%.
Therefore, the examiner takes the position that the resulting aerogel of Leroy in view of Blair would inherently have a density in the range of 0.5% to 2% of the maximum theoretical density of the at least one substance.
As to claim 10, Leroy discloses that an apparatus comprises an aerogel material, a support frame having an opening for exposing a sky-facing surface of the aerogel material (figure 4; and paragraph 87). The support frame is functional as an optomechanical frame because it serves as a support structure that ensures the optical performance of the IR transparent aerogel material while providing the necessary mechanical stability for accurate experimental results.
As to claim 11, Leroy discloses that the polyethylene aerogel material has a thickness of 4-9 mm (table 2). Raman discloses that the polyethylene cover has a thickness of 12.5 microns (paragraph 46). The combined thickness of the polyethylene aerogel material and the polyethylene cover is approximately in a range of 4-9 mm which overlaps the claimed range.
In the case, where the claimed ranges overlap or touch the range disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The claim is not rendered unobvious because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Difference in the thickness of the IR transparent material/polyethylene cover will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating that the thickness of the IR transparent material/polyethylene cover is critical or provides unexpected results.
Therefore, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the thickness of the IR transparent material/polyethylene cover in the range instantly claimed, motivated by the desire to optimize cooling performance under direct sunlight. This is in line with In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 which holds discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to claim 30, Leroy discloses a porous IR transparent material formed from an optically selective and thermally insulating aerogel (paragraphs 59 and 60). The aerogel includes IR transparent material such as Ge (paragraph 60).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroy in view of Raman and Blair, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2007/0264485 to Stepanian et al. (hereinafter “Stepanian”).
None of the cited references: Leroy, Raman and Blair disclose or suggest the IR transparent aerogel comprising a coating for inhibiting water vaper transmission to the IR transparent material.
Stepanian, however, discloses an aerogel material being encapsulated within a polymeric film which is a moisture barrier film layer (paragraph 42). The aerogel material is a polymeric aerogel (paragraph 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to encapsulate the aerogel disclosed in Leroy/Blair with a moisture barrier film layer disclosed in Stepanian, motivated by the desire to enhance weather barrier properties.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroy in view of Raman and Blair, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2024/00182771 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”).
None of the cited references: Leroy, Raman and Blair disclose or suggest the IR transparent aerogel comprising an anti-caking agent.
Kim, however, discloses a radiative cooling device comprising a plurality of porous nanoparticles and a binder wherein the porous nanoparticles reflect incident sunlight and absorb and radiate mid-infrared wavelength in the range of 2.5 to 25 microns (abstract). The porous nanoparticles include SiO2, TiO2, Al2O3, Si3N4, CaCO3, BaSO4, Y2O3, BeO, MnO, AlN, SiC, polydimethylsiloxane, and polyethylene (paragraph 79).
The porous nanoparticles are obtained using a cationic surfactant including cetyltrimethylammonium bromide (CTAB) (paragraphs 22 and 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the porous nanoparticles disclosed in Kim in the IR transparent aerogel disclosed in Leroy/Blair, motivated by the desire to enhance radiative cooling performance by improving sunlight reflection and IR emissivity.
Response to Arguments
The combined disclosures of Leroy and Raman do not disclose: a salt-base porous IR transparent material having a form that is comprised of at least one substance that is transparent to IR radiation having a wavelength in a range of 8 to 13 microns, wherein the IR transparent material has a porosity in a range of 98% to 99.5%. However, the combination of Leroy, Raman and Blair suggests the claimed invention. As previously discussed, Leroy discloses a porous IR transparent material formed from an optically selective and thermally insulating aerogel (paragraphs 59 and 60). The aerogel can be made of initial material concentration selected to maximize solar reflectivity, and infrared transmission between 8-13 microns (paragraph 59). Leroy further mentions that the initial material can be polyethylene, KCl or NaCl (paragraph 60). That is, the porous IR transparent material can be made of polyethylene aerogel, KCl aerogel or NaCl aerogel.
Leroy also teaches that the aerogel is a polyethylene aerogel in combination with a salt-based dopant comprising ZnS, ZnSe, NaCl, Ge, KBr, CsI, BaF2 and each of which being transparent to IR radiation having a wavelength in a range of 8 to 13 microns (paragraph 69). The salt-based dopant/polyethylene aerogel reads on the claimed salt-based IR transparent aerogel.
Blair discloses a polymeric aerogel having a porosity greater than 97% (paragraph 19). The polymeric aerogel is a polyolefin aerogel (paragraph 22). The polymeric aerogel is in the form of a monolithic aerogel or an aerogel powder (paragraph 17).
As there is a motivation to combine the teachings of Leroy and Blair, a prima facie case of obviousness is said to exist. Accordingly, the rejections over Leroy in view of Raman and Blair, and further in combination with other references have been maintained.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroy in view of Raman.
Leroy discloses a porous IR transparent material formed from an optically selective and thermally insulating aerogel (paragraphs 59 and 60). The aerogel can be made of initial material concentration selected to maximize solar reflectivity, and infrared transmission between 8-13 microns (paragraph 59). Leroy further mentions that the initial material can be polyethylene, KCl or NaCl (paragraph 60). This is a clear indication that the aerogel includes polyethylene aerogel, KCl aerogel or NaCl aerogel and each of which having pores with an average pore size of less than 500 nm (paragraphs 60 and 65). KCl aerogel or NaCl aerogel would inherently be comprised of an interconnected network of KCl or NaCl that is transparent to IR radiation having a wavelength of 8-13 microns as like material has like property.
Leroy discloses an apparatus comprising an aerogel material, a support frame having an opening for holding and exposing a sky-facing surface of the aerogel material (figure 4; and paragraph 87).
Leroy does not explicitly disclose an encapsulant provided on the sky-facing surface of the aerogel material.
Raman, however, discloses a radiative cooling apparatus 210 comprising: a support structure 212 including a frame covered by a layer of aluminized polymer layer. The frame support has a circular aperture 216 where a radiative cooler is filled within the aperture. A polyethylene film is sealed to the top of the circular aperture on the frame and serves as an IR-transparent wind shield (paragraph 61, and figures 2 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to seal a sky-facing surface of the aerogel material disclosed in Leroy with a polyethylene film disclosed in Raman, motivated by the desire to improve a durability and anti-soiling property without compromising sunlight reflectivity and IR transmission between 8-13 microns of the aerogel layer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788