DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 07/27/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to rejection of claim 10 under 35 USC§ 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 10 under 35 USC§ 101 has been withdrawn in view of the arguments and the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks pages 5-7, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, and 9-12 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered.
With regards to claim 1, applicant argues, “Yuasa does not describe "perform[ ing] a spraying action in a predetermined spray pattern based upon a signal," as presently recited in claim 1.”
Broadest reasonable of the term “a spray device” includes a device that can perform a spray function. Yuasa in ¶0126-¶0127 teaches automatic steering of work vehicle 100 and ¶0094 teaches, the work vehicle comprises a sprayer. Therefore, Yuasa’s work vehicle teaches a spray device. However, Yuasa doesn’t teach, perform[ ing] a spraying action in a predetermined spray pattern based upon a signal. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amendment. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yuasa (US20220287218A1) and Hendrickson (US20190126308A1)
However, claim 11 doesn’t require, “perform[ ing] a spraying action in a predetermined spray pattern based upon a signal”. Claim 11 recites, automatically operating the spray device to perform a spraying action. Since Yuasa in ¶0126-¶0127 teaches automatic steering of work vehicle 100 and ¶0094 teaches, the work vehicle comprises a sprayer. The automatic operation of the work vehicle comprising a sprayer, teaches operating the spray device to perform a spraying action. Therefore Claim 11 is still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuasa (US20220287218A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuasa (US20220287218A1).
Regarding claim 11,
Yuasa teaches, A control system for a sprayer, the control system comprising:
a spray processing unit configured to automatically operate a spray device of the sprayer to perform a spraying action, and (¶0094 teaches work vehicle comprising a sprayer. ¶0104 teaches controller 180 includes a plurality of ECUs . ¶0104 and ¶0127 teaches, The ECU 183 performs automatic steering of work vehicle.)
wherein only while a cancellation condition is satisfied, the spray processing unit is configured to cancel automatic operation of the spray device to manually operate the spray device according to a user's manipulation, and thereby enable checking of operation related to the spray device. (¶0147 teaches, switching to manual operation if the work vehicle 100 becomes deviated from the target path P. Also teaches, By pressing a button 98 that is displayed in the lower right corner of the screen, the user is able to switch from the automatic steering mode to the manual steering mode. ¶0153 teaches, “This allows for a quick execution of an operation where the user returns the work vehicle 100 to the target path via manual driving”)
Regarding claim 12,
Yuasa teaches, A sprayer comprising:
the control system for a sprayer according to claim 11; and (¶0104 teaches, an ECU 184 for implement control)
a body to which the spray device is mounted. (¶0094 teaches implement 300)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa (US20220287218A1) in view of Hendrickson (US20190126308A1)
Regarding claim 1,
Yuasa teaches, A control method for a sprayer including a spray device, the control method comprising:
automatically operating the spray device to perform a spraying action (¶0094 teaches work vehicle comprising a sprayer. Yuasa in ¶0126-¶0127 teaches automatic steering of work vehicle 100.)
only while a cancellation condition is satisfied, canceling automatic operation of the spray device to manually operate the spray device according to a user's manipulation, and thereby enabling checking of operation related to the spray device. (¶0147 teaches, switching to manual operation if the work vehicle 100 becomes deviated from the target path P. Also teaches, By pressing a button 98 that is displayed in the lower right corner of the screen, the user is able to switch from the automatic steering mode to the manual steering mode. ¶0153 teaches, “This allows for a quick execution of an operation where the user returns the work vehicle 100 to the target path via manual driving”)
Yuasa doesn’t teach, in a predetermined spray pattern based upon a signal; and (¶0059 teaches, The first nozzle actuator 44 can dynamically control, activate or deactivate the corresponding left upper nozzle 222L for one or more intervals in response to control signals or data from the nozzle control module 50. ¶0061 teaches the nozzles have different spray patterns)
Hendrickson is an art in the area of interest as it relates to a system for spraying plants. (see Abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art could modify Yuasa’s implement comprising a sprayer to perform spraying in a predetermined spray pattern based upon a signal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Hendrickson with Yuasa. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow the system to provide uniform application to crop rows or to apply in accordance with differential application requirements, as taught by Hendrickson in ¶0046. This would improve the system by allowing the system to control spray pattern based on application need.
Regarding claim 2,
Yuasa and Hendrickson teaches, The control method for a sprayer according to claim 1, wherein the cancellation condition includes a condition that a specific display screen is displayed on a display unit. (Yuasa in ¶0147 teaches, cancellation based on pop-up notification 90 containing a message such as “1 m OFF THE PATH”)
Regarding claim 3,
Yuasa and Hendrickson teaches, The control method for a sprayer according to claim 2, wherein the specific display screen includes a screen for accepting the user's manipulation. (Yuasa in ¶0147 teaches pop-up notification 90 contains button 98 to accept users input)
Regarding claim 6,
Yuasa and Hendrickson teaches, The control method for a sprayer according to claim 1,wherein the spray device is automatically operated at least in conjunction with activation of the sprayer. (Yuasa in ¶0093 teaches, While towing the implement 300, the work vehicle 100 allows the implement 300 to perform a predetermined task.¶0094 teaches, the implement includes a sprayer)
Regarding claim 7,
Yuasa and Hendrickson teaches, The control method for a sprayer according to claim 1,wherein when the cancellation condition is satisfied, automatic operation of the spray device is canceled, the spray device is then stopped, and (Yuasa in ¶0145 teaches halting the work vehicle 100 when the position of the work vehicle 100 becomes deviated from the turning path by the reference distance or more)
thereafter the spray device is manually operated according to the user's manipulation. (Yuasa in ¶0147 teaches, If the work vehicle 100 becomes deviated from the target path P by a reference distance or more, a pop-up notification 90 is displayed as shown in FIG. 13A. The pop-up notification 90 may contain a message such as “1 m OFF THE PATH”, for example. In the example of FIG. 13A, in addition to the pop-up notification 90, a pop-up notification 91 containing an indication to ask the user whether or not to switch from the automatic steering mode to the manual steering mode is also displayed. By pressing a button 98 that is displayed in the lower right corner of the screen, the user is able to switch from the automatic steering mode to the manual steering mode.)
Regarding claim 9,
Yuasa and Hendrickson teaches, The control method for a sprayer according to claim 1, further comprising:
causing the sprayer to travel automatically along a target route; (Yuasa in ¶0127 teaches he controller 180 performs auto-steer driving based on a target patch)
causing the sprayer to travel manually according to manipulation of a manual manipulation device; and (Yuasa in ¶0112 teaches, In the manual steering mode, the controller 180 controls steering by driving the power steering device in response to the user's manipulation of the steering wheel.)
switching from the automatic travel to the manual travel in the case where switching manipulation is performed at least for switching from the automatic travel to the manual travel and manipulation for the manual travel of the sprayer is performed on the manual manipulation device. (Yuasa in ¶0147-¶0148 teaches switching to manual steering by pressing a button 98. ¶0148 teaches, after switching to the manual steering mode, the user's driving has properly placed the work vehicle 100 onto the target path P.)
Regarding claim 10,
Yuasa and Hendrickson teaches, A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions executable by one or more processors to execute the control method for sprayer according to claim 1. (Yuasa in ¶0103 teaches computer programs to cause the ECUs in the controller 180 to perform various operations. ¶0106 teaches, Each ECU includes a control circuit including one or more processors)
Regarding claim 13,
Yuasa and Hendrickson teaches, The control method for a sprayer according to claim 1, further comprising: outputting the signal via a spray processing unit to the spray device, (Yuasa in ¶0059 teaches, The first nozzle actuator 44 can dynamically control, activate or deactivate the corresponding left upper nozzle 222L for one or more intervals in response to control signals or data from the nozzle control module 50.)
wherein the signal selects the spray pattern on the basis of control information that is included in a predetermined target route. (Yuasa in ¶0045-¶0046 teaches, the nozzle control module 50 selects one or more active nozzles on the nozzle assembly 60 based on a target path between the rows of plants)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa (US20220287218A1) in view of Hendrickson (US20190126308A1) and further in view of Bast (US20220167543A1)
Regarding claim 4,
Yuasa and Hendrickson as combined doesn’t teach, The control method for a sprayer according to claim 1,wherein: the spray device includes a plurality of functional units with different functions, (Bast in ¶0026 teaches the vehicle steering system 48 may control the steering of the agricultural sprayer 10 to adjust a heading or travel direction of the agricultural sprayer 10 relative to the field. ¶0025 teaches, The vehicle speed system 46 may be configured to control the speed of the agricultural sprayer 10 in the direction of travel 24. ¶0028 teaches, The implement control system 50 may be used to control one or more aspects of the operation of the boom assembly 24)
and when the spray device is operated manually, the spray device is configured to be operable for each of the functional units. (Bast in ¶0027 teaches, the vehicle steering system 48 may be controlled by the operator in a manual mode of operation, ¶0025 teaches, The vehicle speed system 46 may be controlled by the operator in a manual mode of operation. ¶0035 teaches, when the sprayer 10 (e.g., the front of the sprayer 10 or the boom assembly 24) reaches the end point 120 of the first path 122, the boom assembly 24 may be raised, turned off, or otherwise deactivated via the implement control system 50. This may be performed by the operator via the operator interface 52. )
Bast is an art in the area of interest as it relates to an agricultural sprayer. A combination of Bast with Yuasa and Hendrickson would teach plurality of functional units and manual operation of functional units. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Bast with Yuasa and Hendrickson. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow the user the ability control various function of the spraying device as taught by Bast in ¶0027, ¶0025 and ¶0035. Doing so would provide further flexibility in controlling the device.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa (US20220287218A1) in view of Hendrickson (US20190126308A1) and further in view of Hoisington (US20090224084A1)
Regarding claim 5,
Yuasa and Hendrickson teaches, The control method for a sprayer according to claim 1,wherein: the spray device includes a plurality of spray nozzles divided into a plurality of systems, and (Hendrickson in ¶0022 and Fig. 2 teaches, a plurality of nozzle assemblies divided into primary and secondary nozzle assemblies)
Yuasa and Hendrickson as combined doesn’t teach, when the spray device is operated manually, the spray device is configured to be operable for each of the systems. (Hoisington in ¶0024 teaches, When a Manual selection is made, a further screen is presented to the operator, where the further screen allows an operator to select a spray density to be applied. Preferably, the spray density is selected as a percentage of the system flow maximum, where the maximum is determined by the maximum capabilities of system components. From this further screen, the operator is also allowed to select the particular spray heads E1-E4 to be operable during application (a Manual selection screen shot is shown in FIG. 7).
Hoisington is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, a system and apparatus is provided for applying a fluid from a vehicle to a surface (¶0005). A combination of Hoisington with Yuasa and Hendrickson would allow the system to include a plurality of sprayer and operate the each of the sprayer manually. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Hoisington with Yuasa and Hendrickson. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow selective control of the flow rate, to meet certain environmental concerns, minimize wastage of fluid, or to minimize the time required to carry out the operation of applying the fluid, as taught by Hoisington in ¶0004.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa (US20220287218A1) in view of Hendrickson (US20190126308A1) and further in view of Kurata (US20220192075A1)
Regarding claim 8,
Yuasa and Hendrickson as combined doesn’t teach, The control method for a sprayer according to claim 1,wherein manual operation of the spray device is restricted when abnormality occurs to the spray device. (Kurata in ¶0057 and ¶0064 teaches, halting the work vehicle and preventing the sprayer from coming into contact with the crop when a abnormality is detected)
Kurata is an art in the area of interest as it teaches an agricultural machine (Abstract). A combination of Kurata with Yuasa and Hendrickson would allow the system to restrict operation when abnormality is detected. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Kurata with Yuasa and Hendrickson. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would make it possible to cause the work vehicle or the implement to perform an appropriate operation (e.g., stopping the operation, adjustment of the position and/or attitude of the implement, signal transmission to an external device) that is adapted to that stat, as taught by Kurata in ¶0008.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISTIAQUE AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116