DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1:
at line 8, “flanges” should be amended to read “radial flanges” (at least claims 2 and 8-10 require similar corrections)
at line 9, “sleeve” should be amended to read “tubular sleeve” (at least claims 8 and 9 require similar corrections)
at line 11, “a pair of endcaps, each placed” suggests two pairs of endcaps, and that each pair is placed on an end of the chassis; it is presumed to be intended that only a singular pair of endcaps is required, and that each individual endcap is placed on an end of the chassis
at line 14, “skirt” should be amended to read “annular skirt”
it appears that only one annular skirt is recited; it is presumed to be intended that each endcap includes an annular skirt and has been treated as such for purposes of examination
at line 14, “each of said pair of endcaps includes an interior space bounded by the skirt” should be amended to read “each endcap of said pair of endcaps includes an interior space bounded by the corresponding annular skirt” (at least claims 8 and 9 require similar corrections)
Claim 3: at lines 2-3, “an annular protector surrounding said switch and forming a guide for” should be amended to read “an annular protector surrounding said switch and forming a guide for said switch”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt (US 20220339807; hereinafter Arndt ‘807) in view of Arndt (US 20240109213; hereinafter Arndt ‘213).
Regarding claim 1, Arndt ‘807 discloses a hair trimmer (outliner hair trimmer 10; see figs. 1-2), comprising: a trimmer housing having a drive end (trimmer housing 12 has drive end 14; see paragraph [0048] and figs. 1-2); a drive shaft projecting from said drive end (drive shaft 18 projects from drive end 14; see paragraph [0049] and figs. 1-2); a chassis having one end associated with said drive shaft (chassis 180 has motor end 182 that corresponds to drive end 14; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 31) and an opposite end having at least one projecting charging pin (chassis 180 has opposite charge end 184 with at least one battery charge pin 198; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 31); a radial flange at each of said ends (flanges 196 are affixed to motor end 182 and charge end 184; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 31); a tubular sleeve of heat deformable plastic film dimensioned for slidingly surrounding said chassis and extending axially at least to said flanges (sleeve 204 is a shrink wrap film that has a diameter just larger than the diameter of flanges 196 and extends axially past both flanges 196; see paragraph [0073] and figs. 28-29), such that upon application of heat, said sleeve deforms around said chassis and forms a watertight enclosure (after placement, heat is applied to sleeve 204 to cause shrinkage such that a waterproof enclosure is formed; see paragraph [0073] and figs. 28-29); and a pair of endcaps (seals 226, 228; see fig. 36), each placed, prior to installation of said tubular sleeve, at a corresponding end of said chassis (seal 226 is located at motor end 182 and seal 228 is located at charge end 184; see paragraph [0076] and fig. 36).
Arndt ‘807 does not explicitly disclose wherein the pair of endcaps includes an annular skirt.
Arndt ‘213 discloses wherein the pair of endcaps includes an annular skirt (inner motor seal 92 is a cup-shaped structure with an annular skirt; see annotated portion of fig. 8 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Arndt ‘807 in view of Arndt ‘213 to include an annular skirt. Arndt ‘807 discloses a pair of endcaps (seals 226, 228) which help to prevent water from entering the interior of the chassis. Arndt ‘213 discloses a similar type of seal (inner motor seal 92) which has a cup-shaped structure and therefore an annular skirt (see paragraph [0044] and fig. 8). If the endcaps (seals 226, 228) of Arndt ‘807 were modified to have the same type of cup-shape as the seal of Arndt ‘213, then the endcaps would include an interior space that receives the radial flanges as recited. Arndt ‘213 discloses that inner motor seal 92 partially surrounds the motor in order to further protect it against water damage (see paragraph [0044]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that providing a seal with an annular skirt as opposed to a flat seal would provide increased surface area at the bonding point, which is known to have a positive effect on adhesion. That is, a more secure bond can be achieved between the endcap and the tubular sleeve due to the increased surface area. Therefore, in order to provide a stronger bond with improved waterproof qualities, such a modification would be obvious.
As modified, Arndt ‘807 discloses annular skirts projecting axially along said chassis to form a bonding point for said tubular sleeve (as modified to include an annular skirt, seals 226, 228 form a bonding point that affixes to sleeve 204; see fig. 36), wherein each of said pair of endcaps includes an interior space bounded by the skirt within which the radial flange at each of said ends of said chassis is received respectively (as modified to include an annular skirt, seals 226, 228 would have a “C” shape that houses flanges 196 within; see annotated portion of fig. 36 above).
Regarding claim 2, Arndt ‘807 as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Arndt ‘807 as modified further discloses wherein said flanges form sealing attachment points for said tubular sleeve (when sleeve 204 shrinks, it attaches to and seals around flanges 196; see paragraph [0073]), wherein said sleeve is attached to said chassis by one of heat shrinking and welding to said flanges (sleeve 204 is a shrink wrap film that is designed to shrink when heat is applied or alternatively, can be ultrasonically welded to flanges 196; see paragraphs [0073, 0076]).
Regarding claim 3, Arndt ‘807 as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Arndt ‘807 as modified further discloses including a switch secured to said housing (on-off switch 194 is affixed to chassis 180, which is placed within trimmer housing 12; see paragraph [0072] and figs. 28-29), and an annular protector surrounding said switch and forming a guide for (annular protector 206 surrounds on-off switch 194 to protect it during the shrink wrap process; see paragraph [0074] and figs. 28, 34), and providing a flat profile for said switch as said sleeve is heated and sealingly engages portions of said trimmer (when heat is applied and sleeve 204 shrinks, a flat or even profile is formed across on-off switch 194; see paragraph [0074] and fig. 29).
Regarding claim 5, Arndt ‘807 as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Arndt ‘807 as modified further discloses wherein at said drive shaft end, said endcap is provided with an opening accommodating said drive shaft (seal 226 at motor end 182 has an opening for drive shaft 18 to fit through; see fig. 36) and a drive shaft seal (water is prevented from entering motor 30 by shaft seal 212; see paragraph [0075] and fig. 35).
Regarding claim 6, Arndt ‘807 as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Arndt ‘807 as modified further discloses wherein at each said endcap, said annular skirt extends axially (as modified, the annular skirts on seals 226. 228 extend in an axial direction; see annotated portion of fig. 36 above).
Arndt ‘807 as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein said annular skirt extends axially at least one inch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Arndt ‘807 to make the skirt extend axially by at least one inch since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). In the instant case, it appears that Applicant places no criticality on this dimension, simply indicating that it is preferable for the skirt to extend at least one inch (see pg. 6, lines 2-3 of instant specification). Further, it appears as though modifying the annular skirts to extend at least one inch would not impart a negative effect on their sealing capability. That is, the device of Arndt ‘807, as modified to include the annular skirts extending at least one inch in an axial direction, would still provide a watertight chassis.
Regarding claim 7, Arndt ‘807 as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Arndt ‘807 as modified further discloses wherein said endcaps are made of resilient material (seals 226 and 228 are made from rubber, polyethylene, or similar material; see paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 8, Arndt ‘807 discloses a hair trimmer (outliner hair trimmer 10; see figs. 1-2), comprising: a trimmer housing having a drive end (trimmer housing 12 has drive end 14; see paragraph [0048] and figs. 1-2); a drive shaft projecting from said drive end (drive shaft 18 projects from drive end 14; see paragraph [0049] and figs. 1-2); a chassis having one end associated with said drive shaft (chassis 180 has motor end 182 that corresponds to drive end 14; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 31) and an opposite end having at least one projecting charging pin (chassis 180 has opposite charge end 184 with at least one battery charge pin 198; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 31); a radial flange at each of said ends (flanges 196 are affixed to motor end 182 and charge end 184; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 31); an endcap at each of said ends (seal 226 is located at motor end 182 and seal 228 is located at charge end 184; see paragraph [0076] and fig. 36), each said endcap having an end wall (see annotated portion of fig. 36 above) and a tubular sleeve of heat deformable plastic film dimensioned for slidingly surrounding said chassis and extending axially at least to said flanges (sleeve 204 is a shrink wrap film that has a diameter just larger than the diameter of flanges 196 and extends axially past both flanges 196; see paragraph [0073] and figs. 28-29).
Arndt ‘807 does not explicitly disclose an annular skirt.
Arndt ‘213 discloses an annular skirt (inner motor seal 92 is a cup-shaped structure with an annular skirt; see annotated portion of fig. 8 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Arndt ‘807 in view of Arndt ‘213 to include an annular skirt. Arndt ‘807 discloses a pair of endcaps (seals 226, 228) which help to prevent water from entering the interior of the chassis. Arndt ‘213 discloses a similar type of seal (inner motor seal 92) which has a cup-shaped structure and therefore an annular skirt (see paragraph [0044] and fig. 8). If the endcaps (seals 226, 228) of Arndt ‘807 were modified to have the same type of cup-shape as the seal of Arndt ‘213, then the endcaps would include an interior space that receives the radial flanges as recited. Arndt ‘213 discloses that inner motor seal 92 partially surrounds the motor in order to further protect it against water damage (see paragraph [0044]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that providing a seal with an annular skirt as opposed to a flat seal would provide increased surface area at the bonding point, which is known to have a positive effect on adhesion. That is, a more secure bond can be achieved between the endcap and the tubular sleeve due to the increased surface area. Therefore, in order to provide a stronger bond with improved waterproof qualities, such a modification would be obvious.
As modified, Arndt ’807 discloses each said endcap having an end wall from which axially extends an annular skirt (as modified, the annular skirt extends from the end wall; see annotated portions of figs. 8 and 36 above) said annular skirt dimensioned to enclose said corresponding chassis end (as modified, the annular skirts enclose each end of the chassis; see annotated portion of fig. 36 above), said annular skirts at each of said ends extends towards each other (as modified, the annular skirts extend toward one another; see annotated portion of fig. 36 above), wherein each of said pair of endcaps includes an interior space bounded by the annular skirt within which the radial flange at each of said ends of said chassis is received, respectively (as modified to include an annular skirt, seals 226, 228 would have a “C” shape that houses flanges 196 within; see annotated portion of fig. 36 above); and such that upon application of heat, said sleeve deforms around said chassis and said annular skirt of endcaps and forms a watertight enclosure (after placement, heat is applied to sleeve 204 to cause shrinkage such that a waterproof enclosure is formed; see paragraph [0073] and figs. 28-29).
Regarding claim 9, Arndt ‘807 discloses an encased drive module, comprising: a chassis having one end associated with a drive shaft (chassis 180 has motor end 182 that corresponds to drive end 14; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 31) and an opposite end having at least one projecting charging pin (chassis 180 has opposite charge end 184 with at least one battery charge pin 198; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 31); a radial flange at each of said ends (flanges 196 are affixed to motor end 182 and charge end 184; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 31); an endcap of resilient material enclosing each said end of said chassis (seal 226 is located at motor end 182 and seal 228 is located at charge end 184 – seals 226, 228 are made from rubber, polyethylene, or similar material; see paragraph [0076] and fig. 36) each said endcap having an end wall (see annotated portion of fig. 36 above) a tubular sleeve of heat deformable plastic shrink wrap film dimensioned for slidingly surrounding said chassis and said endcaps and extending axially at least to said flanges (sleeve 204 is a shrink wrap film that has a diameter just larger than the diameter of flanges 196 and extends axially past both flanges 196; see paragraph [0073] and figs. 28-29), such that upon application of heat, said sleeve deforms and shrinks around said chassis and said endcaps and forms a watertight enclosure (after placement, heat is applied to sleeve 204 to cause shrinkage such that a waterproof enclosure is formed; see paragraph [0073] and figs. 28-29).
Arndt ‘807 does not explicitly disclose an annular skirt.
Arndt ‘213 discloses an annular skirt (inner motor seal 92 is a cup-shaped structure with an annular skirt; see annotated portion of fig. 8 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Arndt ‘807 in view of Arndt ‘213 to include an annular skirt. Arndt ‘807 discloses a pair of endcaps (seals 226, 228) which help to prevent water from entering the interior of the chassis. Arndt ‘213 discloses a similar type of seal (inner motor seal 92) which has a cup-shaped structure and therefore an annular skirt (see paragraph [0044] and fig. 8). If the endcaps (seals 226, 228) of Arndt ‘807 were modified to have the same type of cup-shape as the seal of Arndt ‘213, then the endcaps would include an interior space that receives the radial flanges as recited. Arndt ‘213 discloses that inner motor seal 92 partially surrounds the motor in order to further protect it against water damage (see paragraph [0044]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that providing a seal with an annular skirt as opposed to a flat seal would provide increased surface area at the bonding point, which is known to have a positive effect on adhesion. That is, a more secure bond can be achieved between the endcap and the tubular sleeve due to the increased surface area. Therefore, in order to provide a stronger bond with improved waterproof qualities, such a modification would be obvious.
As modified, Arndt ‘807 discloses each said endcap having an end wall from which axially extends an annular skirt (as modified, the annular skirt extends from the end wall; see annotated portions of figs. 8 and 36 above), said annular skirt dimensioned to enclose said corresponding chassis end (as modified, the annular skirts enclose each end of the chassis; see annotated portion of fig. 36 above), said annular skirts at each of said ends extends towards each other (as modified, the annular skirts extend toward one another; see annotated portion of fig. 36 above), wherein each of said pair of endcaps includes an interior space bounded by the annular skirt within which the radial flange at each of said ends of said chassis is received, respectively (as modified to include an annular skirt, seals 226, 228 would have a “C” shape that houses flanges 196 within; see annotated portion of fig. 36 above).
Regarding claim 10, Arndt ’807 as modified discloses the limitations of claim 9 as described in the rejection above.
Arndt ‘807 as modified further discloses wherein said chassis includes a plurality of integrally formed mounting formations for retaining components mounted to said chassis (a plurality of integrally formed mounting formations 186 retain at least one of motor 30, rechargeable battery 190, and circuit board 192; see paragraph [0072] and fig. 28), and wherein said tubular sleeve attaches to and seals around said flanges and said components mounted to said chassis (sleeve 204 is sealed around both flanges 196 and other components; see figs. 28-29).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724