DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
3. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
4. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
5. In the instant case, the examiner objects to the usage of phrase, “In one embodiment” when describing the invention.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19, in part, refers to “wherein a second gear of the plurality of gears sits on a respective tension, wherein […]”. The examiner believes “a respective tension” should refer to “a respective tension rod”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11, 14-15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taherkhani et al (US 20230378580 A1; Henceforth, Taherkhani).
10. Regarding claim 1, Taherkhani teaches a battery pack (a battery pack, Abstract; Figure 1a, reproduced below) comprising: a plurality of battery cells stacked in a stacking direction and forming a battery cell stack (a first cell stack, which cells may be solid state cells and more particularly solid-state pouch cells, [0007]; Figure 1a, element 102); a first end plate arranged at a first end of the battery cell stack (a first member, [0007]; Figure 1a, element 108); a second end plate arranged at a second end of the battery cell stack (a second member, [0007]; Figure 1a, element 110); connection elements connecting the first and second end plates (threaded drive rods, [0008]; also referred to as a tie rod in [0044], Figure 1b, element 112b); and a sensor arranged at the battery pack (the system may further comprise some form of load measuring system such as a load cell or load cells, strain gauge or strain gauges, [0056]), the sensor configured to measure an extension or a shortening of a distance between the first and second end plates (Force (pressure) may also be a computed through measurement of position, derived from motor control measurements, plate position, derived from motor position, and the like, [0056]; a strain gauge is affixed to one or more of the tie rods to correlate axial compression or extension, [0057]).
11. Regarding claim 2, Taherkhani teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the sensor is a strain gauge configured to measure strain of a respective connection element (the system may further comprise some form of load measuring system such as a load cell or load cells, strain gauge or strain gauges, or other mechanisms by which the force being applied by the end plates on the captured cells may be measured and form part of a feedback loop by which the various drive mechanisms are controlled to adjust the position of the plates, [0056]; a strain gauge is affixed to one or more of the tie rods to correlate axial compression or extension, [0057]).
12. Regarding claim 3, Taherkhani teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a plurality of sensors, and wherein each sensor is assigned to or arranged at a respective connection element (the system may further comprise some form of load measuring system such as a load cell or load cells, strain gauge or strain gauges, [0056]; a strain gauge is affixed to one or more of the tie rods to correlate axial compression or extension, and more generally displacement, of the tie rods with force on the end plates, [0057]). Since Taherkhani teaches multiple strain gauges may be used, and the gauges are affixed to the tie rods, the examiner notes they should correlate to the strain experienced by the respective rod.
13. Regarding claim 4, Taherkhani teaches the battery pack of claim 3, wherein the connection elements are exactly four connection elements (The end plates are movably supported within the battery pack 100. In the example of FIGS. 1A and 1B, as well as others discussed below, there are drive rods 112A, 112B positioned along the sides of the battery pack between the end plates. In one example, there are four rods positioned between respective corners and extending longitudinally between the rectangular end plates. The third and fourth (lower) drive rods are not visible in the top view, [0039]).
14. Regarding claim 5, Taherkhani teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the connection elements are tension rods (threaded drive rods, [0008]; also referred to as a tie rod in [0044], Figure 1b, element 112b), and wherein each sensor surrounds a portion of a surface area of a respective tension rod (the system may further comprise some form of load measuring system such as a load cell or load cells, strain gauge or strain gauges, [0056]; a strain gauge is affixed to one or more of the tie rods to correlate axial compression or extension, and more generally displacement, of the tie rods with force on the end plates, [0057]).
15. Regarding claim 8, Taherkhani teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the sensor is configured to: measure the extension or the shortening; calculate strain based on the extension or the shortening; compare the calculated value with a threshold value (The system may further comprise some form of load measuring system such as a load cell or load cells, strain gauge or strain gauges, or other mechanisms by which the force being applied by the end plates on the captured cells may be measured and form part of a feedback loop by which the various drive mechanisms are controlled to adjust the position of the plates [...] Force (pressure) may also be a computed through measurement of position, derived from motor control measurements, plate position, derived from motor position, and the like, [0056]); and provide a notification when the calculated value exceeds the threshold value (the force being applied by the end plates on the captured cells may be measured and form part of a feedback loop by which the various drive mechanisms are controlled to adjust the position of the plates, [0056], and regardless of the load measurement or load computation, or computational arrangement, a method 800 of controlling force on a stack of pouched battery cells involves the load measuring system obtaining the force from the cells on an end plate or the end plates (operation 802). In cases where the force/pressure is computed, the controller may both control the motor or motors or other mechanism controlling plate position as well as compute the pressure, [0058]). The examiner notes that sending the signal from a sensor to a load management system to adjust the plates is consistent with sending a notification, as described in paragraph 49 of the instant specification.
16. Regarding claim 9, Taherkhani teaches the battery pack of claim 1, further comprising a measuring system or a battery management system configured to: receive a strain measurement from the sensor; compare a measured value with a threshold value; and provide a notification when the measured value exceeds the threshold value (the system may further comprise some form of load measuring system such as a load cell or load cells, strain gauge or strain gauges, or other mechanisms by which the force being applied by the end plates on the captured cells may be measured and form part of a feedback loop by which the various drive mechanisms are controlled to adjust the position of the plates, [0056], and regardless of the load measurement or load computation, or computational arrangement, a method 800 of controlling force on a stack of pouched battery cells involves the load measuring system obtaining the force from the cells on an end plate or the end plates (operation 802). In cases where the force/pressure is computed, the controller may both control the motor or motors or other mechanism controlling plate position as well as compute the pressure […] the system obtains a force value or values, and controls the drive unit to maintain […] the target force (operation 804), [0058]). The examiner notes that sending the signal from a sensor to a load management system to adjust the plates is consistent with sending a notification, as described in paragraph 49 of the instant specification, and if a target force is being maintained, that force is the threshold value the measured value is being compared against.
17. Regarding claim 11, Taherkhani teaches the battery pack of claim 1, further comprising an adjustment system, wherein the adjustment system is configured to: receive a notification that a measured value related to pressure between the first and second end plates exceeded a threshold value; and adjust the distance between the first and second end plates (the system may further comprise some form of load measuring system such as a load cell or load cells, strain gauge or strain gauges, or other mechanisms by which the force being applied by the end plates on the captured cells may be measured and form part of a feedback loop by which the various drive mechanisms are controlled to adjust the position of the plates, [0056], and regardless of the load measurement or load computation, or computational arrangement, a method 800 of controlling force on a stack of pouched battery cells involves the load measuring system obtaining the force from the cells on an end plate or the end plates (operation 802). In cases where the force/pressure is computed, the controller may both control the motor or motors or other mechanism controlling plate position as well as compute the pressure […] the system obtains a force value or values, and controls the drive unit to maintain […] the target force (operation 804), [0058]). The examiner notes that sending the signal from a sensor to a load management system and back to adjust the position of the plates is consistent with sending a notification, as described in paragraph 49 of the instant specification, and if a target force is being maintained, that force is the threshold value the measured force is being compared against.
18. Regarding claim 12, Taherkhani teaches a method for measuring a battery cell swelling of a battery pack (method of controlling battery cell stack pressure, [0013]), wherein the battery pack (a battery pack, Abstract; Figure 1a, reproduced below) comprises a plurality of battery cells stacked in a stacking direction and forming a battery stack (a first cell stack, which cells may be solid state cells and more particularly solid-state pouch cells, [0007]; Figure 1a, element 102), a first end plate arranged at a first end of the battery pack a first member, [0007]; Figure 1a, element 108) and a second end plate arranged at a second end of the battery pack (a second member, [0007]; Figure 1a, element 110), connection elements connecting the first and second end plates (threaded drive rods, [0008]; also referred to as a tie rod in [0044], Figure 1b, element 112b), sensors (the system may further comprise some form of load measuring system such as a load cell or load cells, strain gauge or strain gauges, [0056]), arranged at the connection elements (a strain gauge is affixed to one or more of the tie rods to correlate axial compression or extension, and more generally displacement, of the tie rods with force on the end plates, [0057]) and a controller (controller, [0043]; Figure 3b, above, element 122), the method comprising: measuring, by the sensors, a value representative of an extension or a shortening of a distance of the first and second end plates (Force (pressure) may also be a computed through measurement of position, derived from motor control measurements, plate position, derived from motor position, and the like, [0056]; a strain gauge is affixed to one or more of the tie rods to correlate axial compression or extension, [0057]).
19. Regarding claim 14, Taherkhani teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: comparing the measured value with a threshold value; and issuing a notification when the measured value exceeds the threshold value (the force being applied by the end plates on the captured cells may be measured and form part of a feedback loop by which the various drive mechanisms are controlled to adjust the position of the plates, [0056], and a method 800 of controlling force on a stack of pouched battery cells involves the load measuring system obtaining the force from the cells on an end plate or the end plates (operation 802). In cases where the force/pressure is computed, the controller may both control the motor or motors or other mechanism controlling plate position as well as compute the pressure […] the system obtains a force value or values, and controls the drive unit to maintain […] the target force (operation 804), [0058]). The examiner notes that sending the signal from a sensor to a load management system to adjust the plates is consistent with sending a notification, as described in paragraph 49 of the instant specification, and if a target force is being maintained, that force is the threshold value the measured value is being compared against.
20. Regarding claim 15, Taherkhani teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: automatically adjusting the distance between the first and second end plates after the notification is issued (In cases where the force/pressure is computed, the controller may both control the motor or motors or other mechanism controlling plate position as well as compute the pressure […] the system obtains a force value or values, and controls the drive unit to maintain […] the target force (operation 804), [0058]). The examiner notes that sending the signal from a sensor to a load management system to adjust the plates is consistent with sending a notification, as described in paragraph 49 of the instant specification.
21. Regarding claim 17, Taherkhani teaches a battery a battery pack, Abstract; Figure 1a, above) comprising: a plurality of battery cells stacked in a stacking direction and forming a battery cell stack (a first cell stack, which cells may be solid state cells and more particularly solid-state pouch cells, [0007]; Figure 1a, element 102); a first end plate arranged at a first end of the battery cell stack (a first member, [0007]; Figure 1a, element 108); a second end plate arranged at a second end of the battery cell stack (a second member, [0007]; Figure 1a, element 110); a plurality of tension rods connecting the first and second end plates (threaded drive rods, [0008]; also referred to as a tie rod in [0044], Figure 1b, element 112b); and a plurality of sensors (the system may further comprise some form of load measuring system such as a load cell or load cells, strain gauge or strain gauges, [0056]), each one sensor assigned to one respective tension rod (a strain gauge is affixed to one or more of the tie rods to correlate axial compression or extension, [0057]) and configured to measure an extension or a shortening of a distance of the tension rods fastened to the first and second end plates, the extension or shortening representing a pressure between the first and second end plates ((Force (pressure) may also be a computed through measurement of position, derived from motor control measurements, plate position, derived from motor position, and the like, [0056]); and an adjustment system (“Drive Unit”, Figure 1a) comprising a motor and an adjustment device configured to adjust the distance between the first and second end plates when the measured extension or shortening of the tension rods exceed a threshold value (Figure 3b, reproduced below; element 352 is a motor, which turns gears 324 and 322, which drives the drive rods; Generally speaking, the drive unit turns the respective drive rods responsive to a determination of the force needed to be applied to the cells. The drive unit is in communication with a controller 122, [0043] and In cases where the force/pressure is computed, the controller may both control the motor or motors or other mechanism controlling plate position [0056]).
Figure 3b, reproduced from Taherkhani.
22. Regarding claim 20, Taherkhani teaches the battery of claim 17, further comprising a controller (controller, [0043]; Figure 3b, above, element 122) configured to receive the measurement (A method 800 of controlling force on a stack of pouched battery cells involves the load measuring system obtaining the force from the cells, [0058]), and to send a notification to the adjustment system when the measured extension or shortening exceeds the threshold value (In cases where the force/pressure is computed, the controller may both control the motor or motors or other mechanism controlling plate position as well as compute the pressure […] the system obtains a force value or values, and controls the drive unit to maintain […] the target force (operation 804), [0058]). The examiner notes that sending the signal from a sensor to a load management system to adjust the plates is consistent with sending a notification, as described in paragraph 49 of the instant specification.
23. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hahn et al. (DE 102021000083 A1; Henceforth, Hahn).
24. Regarding claim 1, Hahn teaches a battery pack (an electrical energy storage device, [0005]) comprising: a plurality of battery cells stacked in a stacking direction and forming a battery cell stack (one or more energy storage cells arranged adjacent to one another along at least one direction, [0005]); a first end plate arranged at a first end of the battery cell stack (a first termination element, [0006]); a second end plate arranged at a second end of the battery cell stack (a second termination element, [0006]); connection elements connecting the first and second end plates (one or more connecting elements mechanically connecting the first terminating element and the second terminating element, [0007]); and a sensor arranged at the battery pack (the electrical energy storage device further comprises at least one strain measuring unit, [0007]), the sensor configured to measure an extension or a shortening of a distance between the first and second end plates (specifically for determining a change om a distance between the terminating elements along the respective connecting elements, ([0007]).
25. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Obayashi et al. (JP 2008288168 A; Henceforth, Obayashi).
26. Regarding claim 1, Obayashi teaches a battery pack (a battery pack system, [0001]) comprising: a plurality of battery cells stacked in a stacking direction and forming a battery cell stack (a single stack of single cells, [0013]); a first end plate arranged at a first end of the battery cell; a second end plate arranged at a second end of the battery cell stack (restraint plates provided at both ends of the battery stack in the stacking direction, [0014]); connection elements connecting the first and second end plates (connecting members fixed to the restraint plates, [0014]); and a sensor arranged at the battery pack (a detecting means for detecting at least one of the fastening load of the stack and the electrical characteristic of the stack, and a control means for controlling the fastening load based on the detected value of at least one of the fastening load and the electrical characteristics, [0013], where the pressure detecting means can be a pressure sensor and/or an electrical characteristic detection means ([0044]), the sensor configured to measure an extension or a shortening of a distance between the first and second end plates (the controller determines the fastening load value to be applied to the stack based on a control map that shows the relationship between the distance between the restraint plates, ([0044]). The examiner notes, for the controller to know the distance between the restraint plates, a sensor must be provided to track their relative position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
30. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn in view of Taherkhani.
31. Regarding claim 6, Hahn teaches the battery of claim 1. Hahn teaches the electrical energy storage device has two, three or four strain measuring units, each of which are arranged in a connecting element, ([0018]) and, in a connecting element, some or all connecting elements with a strain measuring unit, elastic sections can be formed between the strain measuring device and the first and second end elements ([0019] and Figure 2, reproduced below, elements 61 and 62 are the elastic elements between end plates 26 and 27). Hahn teaches outside the elastic sections and the strain measuring device, the connecting elements can be rigid, allowing for the forces generated to be transferred to the two end plates ([0021]) and that the strain gauge is configured to record an applied voltage which increases when a cell expands ([0027]). Hahn admits that the elastic portions absorb a part of the expansion ([0027]), but does not teach the use of tension rods as connecting elements on either side of the sensor.
Figure 2, reproduced from Hahn.
32. Taherkhani also teaches the battery pack of claim 1. Taherkhani teaches the connection elements are tension rods (“tie rods” [0044] or “drive rods” [0008]).
33. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of Hahn by attaching a sensor in between two tension rods. There would have been a motivation to replace the elastic elements of Hahn with the rigid tension rods of Taherkhani, since Hahn teaches the elastic elements absorb some of the expansion, reducing the amount experienced by the strain gauges. Since Hahn demonstrates precedent in the art for placing the gauges in the middle of the connecting portion, and Taherkhani teaches the use of rigid drive rods, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that simple substitution of rigid tension rods in place of the elastic elements would predictably allow for the strain gauges to measure the entire amount of force caused by the expansion of the battery cells, as suggested by Hahn. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
34. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn in view of Taherkhani, Fujiwara et al. (WO 2019003772 A1; Henceforth, Fujiwara), and Obayashi.
35. Regarding claim 7, Hahn teaches the battery of claim 1. Hahn teaches the electrical energy storage device has two, three or four strain measuring units, each of which are arranged in a connecting element, ([0018]) and, in a connecting element, some or all connecting elements with a strain measuring unit, elastic sections can be formed between the strain measuring device and the first and second end elements ([0019] and Figure 2, reproduced below, elements 61 and 62 are the elastic elements between end plates 26 and 27). Hahn teaches outside the elastic sections and the strain measuring device, the connecting elements can be rigid, allowing for the forces generated to be transferred to the two end plates ([0021]) and that the strain gauge is configured to record an applied voltage which increases when a cell expands ([0027]). Hahn admits that the elastic portions absorb a part of the expansion ([0027]), but does not teach the use of tension rods or bolts as connecting elements.
36. Taherkhani also teaches the battery pack of claim 1. Taherkhani teaches the connection elements are tension rods (“tie rods” [0044] or “drive rods” [0008]). Taherkhani does not teach the use of a bolt as a potential connection element.
37. Fujiwara teaches an energy storage device ([0001]) comprising a battery stack formed by arranging a plurality of secondary batteries and spacers alternately, a pair of end plates provided on both sides of the battery stack in a first direction in which the secondary batteries and spacers are arranged, and a pressurizing means provided between at least one of the pair of end plates and the battery stack for pressurizing the battery stack ([0005]). Figure 1 (reproduced below) depicts the pressurizing element as springs, and the use of connection elements (“bind bars”, [0013]-[0014]) securing the plates together. Fujiwara teaches one end of the bind bar is fastened to one end plate, and the other end of the bind bar is fastened to the other end plate, so that a predetermined tightening pressure is applied to the battery stack by each end plate and the tightening pressure can be changed by adjusting the fastening force of the bind bar to the end plate ([0014]). The examiner notes Figures 1 through 2 (reproduced below) depict one end of the bind bar as threaded fastened by a nut (the left side), while Figures 1 through 3 (reproduced below) depict the other end (the right side) without threads with a rounded head. The examiner notes the right side, in tandem with the treaded portion lower on the shaft is equivalent to a bolt.
Figure 1, reproduced from Fujiwara.
Figure 2 (left) and 3 (right), reproduced from Fujiwara.
38. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of Hahn by attaching a sensor in between a tension rod and a bolt. There would have been a motivation to replace the elastic elements of Hahn with the rigid elements, like the drive rods of Taherkhani or the bolts of Fujiwara, since Hahn teaches the elastic elements absorb some of the expansion, reducing the amount experienced by the strain gauges. Since Hahn demonstrates precedent in the art for placing the gauges in the middle of the connecting portion, and Taherkhani and Fujiwara teach the use of rigid drive rods and bolts, respectively, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that simple substitution of rigid connection in place of the elastic elements would predictably allow for the strain gauges to measure the entire amount of force caused by the expansion of the battery cells, as suggested by Hahn. See MPEP 2143 (I) B. Additionally, Fujiwara teaches that using the bolt allows for the tightening pressure to be changed by adjusting the fastening force on the other end of the bolt ([0014]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of a bolt, strain gauge and tension rod would predictably interact in an equivalent manner as the elastic system of Hahn, as the pressure can be modulated solely by a tension rod at one end of a battery stack, as evidenced by Figure 4 of Obayashi, who teaches one end of the tension rod (element 19) is fastened and fixed to a hole in one end plate, and the other plate is adjusted through the use rotation of the tension rod by a motor in order to vary the load applied battery cells ([0043]). See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
Figure 4, reproduced from Obayashi.
39. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obayashi in view of “100203 Load Cell 1 pc(s) 20 kg (max) (L x W x H) 80 x 12.7 x 17.7 mm” (Conrad Electronic, dated 3/8/2024; Henceforth, Conrad), and “Model 161H/166H Single Point Load Cells” (BCM Sensor Technologies, Dated March 2015; Henceforth, BCM).
40. Obayashi teaches the battery pack of claim 1. The pressure detecting means of the battery pack can be a pressure sensor and/or an electrical characteristic detection means ([0044]), where the electrical characteristic detection means includes at least one voltage detector, current detector, an internal resistance detector, and a SOC detector for detecting the characteristics of the battery stack. The examiner notes this would output a current and/or a resistance value to a controller ([0046]), which determines the fastening load value, and controls the fastening load applied by using a motor to achieve a desired fastening load value ([0046]; Figure 10, translated below). The examiner notes this matches constitutes a measuring system, and that sending the signal from a sensor to a management system to adjust the restraint plates is consistent with sending a notification, as described in paragraph 49 of the instant specification. Additionally, the examiner notes that, if a target pressure/force is being maintained, that pressure/force is the threshold value for the actuation of the motors. Obayashi does not teach the controlling system provides power to the sensor.
Figure 10, reproduced from Obayashi (left), with translation (Google Machine Translation, right)
41. Conrad, cited by the applicant, discloses a load cell configured to measure pressure (page 1, “pressure reading range’). Conrad teaches the sensor has a 4-way shielded connection cable (page 1, “Technical specifications”). Conrad does not teach what channels are in the cable.
42. BCM teaches the same load cell as Conrad, (both teach Load Cell 116h; page 1 of both), but provides additional technical details uploaded in 2015. BCM depicts that the load cell has one cable (“Image 1”, top right of page 1; “Image 2”, bottom left of page 1, reproduced below), with an electrical connection diagram (“Image 3” bottom right of page 1, reproduced below) with a signal input and output, and an excitation input and output. The examiner notes the “excitation” input is the supply voltage (page 2, Technical Data table, line 11). The examiner notes that, since the load cell only has one cable, the controller it is plugged into must provide the power to the sensor.
Images 1 (left) and 2 (right), reproduced from BCM
Image 3, reproduced from BCM
43. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of Obayashi by using the load cell of Conrad and BCM. Obayashi demonstrates the use of a pressure sensor in their battery system. A person of ordinary skill would have had the reasonable expectation that the substitution of the pressure sensor of Obayashi for the load cell taught by Conrad and BCM would have the predictable result of measuring forces/pressures, since it would be performing the same function the load cell is intended to be used for (Conrad, page 1, “Pressure reading range”; BCM, page 1 “Applications”). See MPEP 2143 (I) B. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have also had reasonable expectation that, since the load cell only has one output cable, the device it is plugged into would provide power for the sensor, since it lacks a battery, and had power input and power output lines (BCM, pages 1 and 2, Image 3 and Technical Data, respectively).
44. Claim 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherkhani in view of Obayashi.
45. Regarding claim 13, Taherkhani teaches the method of claim 12. While Taherkhani teaches measuring the shortening or extending of the plates, Taherkhani does not do this by measuring a current value or a resistance value at the sensors.
46. Obayashi teaches a battery pack system ([0001]) utilizing a pressure detecting means that can be a pressure sensor and/or an electrical characteristic detection means ([0044]). Obayashi teaches the electrical characteristic detection means includes at least one voltage detector, current detector, an internal resistance detector, and a SOC detector for detecting the characteristics of the battery stack. The examiner notes this would measure a current and/or a resistance value at the sensor and output the value to a controller ([0046]), which determines the fastening load value, and controls the fastening load applied by using a motor to achieve a desired fastening load value ([0046]; Figure 10, above). Obayashi additionally teaches a method for operating the battery system (Claim 17), which includes a detection step for detecting an internal resistance of the stack, and using the detected resistance in the controlling step.
47. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Taherkhani by measuring a current or a resistance at a sensor, as taught by Obayashi. Obayashi establishes precedent in the art to use electrical characteristic detection means comprising one voltage detector, current detector, an internal resistance detector, and a SOC detector is an equivalent means of detecting the pressure of batteries in a battery stack as a pressure sensor ([0044]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution for the pressure sensor taught by Taherkhani for the electrical characteristic means taught by Obayashi would have had the predictable effect of being able to measure a change in pressure experienced by a battery stack, since it would be performing the same function as it had in the system of Obayashi. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
48. Regarding claim 18, Taherkhani teaches the battery of claim 17. Taherkhani does not teach the tension rods are permanently fixed to the first end plate and releasably fixed to the second end plate.
49. Obayashi teaches a battery pack system ([0001]) comprising a stack of single cells, and includes a fastening load variable means for varying the fastening load applied to the stack in the stacking direction, a detecting means for detecting at least one of the fastening loaf of the stack and the electrical characteristic of the stack, and a control means for controlling the fastening load based on the detected value of at least one of the fastening load and the electrical characteristics ([0013]). The battery pack has connecting members fixed to restraint plates provided at both ends of the battery stack in the stacking direction, and the fastening load variable means changes the fastening load by expanding and contracting the connecting members ([0014]). Obayashi further teaches one end of the tension rod (Figure 4, above, element 19) is fastened and fixed to a hole in restraint plate 16 (Figure 4), and the other plate is adjusted through the use rotation of the tension rod by a motor in order to vary the load applied battery cells ([0043]; Figure 4, above).
50. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery of Taherkhani by fixing the drive rod to one end plate of the battery, as taught by Obayashi in the same field of endeavor. Obayashi demonstrates precedent in the art to utilize tension rods where one end is fastened and fixed to one restraint plate, enabling the other plate to be adjusted by rotating the tension rod ([0043]; Figure 4). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of a tension rod fixed on one end plate, as taught by Obayashi, for that of the drive rod of Taherkhani would have worked in a predictable manner, as it has been demonstrated to perform the desired function previously in the system of Obayashi. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
51. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherkhani in view of Kikuchi et al. (US 20210194066 A1; Henceforth, Kikuchi) and “Tesla will now send push notifications when 12V battery needs to be replaced” (not a tesla app, published September 13th, 2022; henceforth, Cihak).
52. Regarding claim 16, Taherkhani teaches the method of claim 14, but does not teach replacing the battery pack with a new battery pack at a vehicle when the notification is issued.
53. Kikuchi teaches a vehicle including a secondary battery (Abstract), with a battery sensor that detects the state of the battery (Abstract). Kikuchi teaches these batteries are typically part of a battery pack, and the battery packs are preferably removed versus the individual secondary batteries during maintenance ([0004]). The high voltage electronic control unit (HV ECU; defined in [0045]) records the conformity/nonconformity of the battery pack, and may notify a user of the nonconformity when it is determined that the battery pack is nonconforming ([0110]). The system may then prompt the user to replace the battery pack ([0110]), and the notification may be carried out by display (for example, display of characters or images) on a display device, by sound (including voice) from a speaker, or by lighting (including blinking) of a predetermined lamp ([0110]).
54. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Taherkhani by including a step to replace the battery with another at a vehicle following a notification from the controller. Kikuchi demonstrates precedent in the art to have a battery control unit, upon an observation of nonconformity, to notify a user of nonconformity and prompt a user to replace a battery pack. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution of the notification method of Taherkhani for that of Kikuchi would have predictably enabled the control unit to notify a user that the battery needs to be replaced, as it would be performing the same function as it had in the system of Kikuchi previously. See MPEP 2143 (I) B. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that prompting a user to replace a battery will predictably result in the replacement of the battery pack. This is evidenced by Cihak, who discusses a notification uses to prompt a battery replacement (notification reproduced below). Thus, the examiner concludes a step of prompting a user to replace a battery pack renders the anticipated follow up step of replacing the battery pack obvious.
“Tesla Notification”, reproduced from Cihak.
55. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherkhani in view of Fujiwara and “Pinion Gears” (goBilda, archived November, 3rd 2023; Henceforth, Bilda).
56. Regarding claim 19, Taherkhani teaches the battery of claim 17. Taherkhani teaches the adjustment comprises a plurality of gears (Figure 3a, reproduced below, and Figure 3b, above), with a first gear attached to a spindle of the motor (Figure 3b), a second gear attached to drive rod (Figure 3b and [0044]), and the first gear is configured to move the second gear ([0044] and Figures 3a and 3b). While Taherkhani teaches the second gear is coupled to the drive rod such that the rotation of the gear drives the drive rod ([0044]), Taherkhani does not teach the second gear is configured to move a nut on the respective tension rod in order to move the second end plate away from the first end plate.
57. Fujiwara teaches an energy storage device ([0001]) comprising a battery stack formed by arranging a plurality of secondary batteries and spacers alternately, a pair of end plates provided on both sides of the battery stack in a first direction in which the secondary batteries and spacers are arranged, and a pressurizing means provided between at least one of the pair of end plates and the battery stack for pressurizing the battery stack ([0005]). Figure 1 (reproduced below) depicts the pressurizing element as springs, and the use of connection elements (“bind bars”, [0013]-[0014]) securing the plates together. Fujiwara teaches one end of the bind bar is fastened to one end plate, and the other end of the bind bar is fastened to the other end plate, so that a predetermined tightening pressure is applied to the battery stack by each end plate and the tightening pressure can be changed by adjusting the fastening force of the bind bar to the end plate ([0014]). The examiner notes Figures 1 through 2 (reproduced above) depict one end of the bind bar as threaded fastened by a nut (the left side), while Figures 1 through 3 (above) depict the other end (the right side) without threads with a rounded head. Fujiwara does not teach the nut being driven by a gear.
58. Bilda (archived November 2023) advertises pinion gears. The 8mm REX™ Pinion Gears (bottom of page 3 into page 4) depicts a series of gears (a selection reproduced below) with a hexagonal insert in the center of the gear. The examiner notes these gears are configured such that a nut, such as the one from Fujiwara, could be added in the inset of the gear, in order to rotate the nut.
A selection of 8mm REX™ Pinion Gears, reproduced from Bilda.
59. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery of Taherkhani by utilizing the gear of Bilda to rotate a nut to adjust the distance between two end plates, as taught by Fujiwara in the same field of endeavor. Fujiwara demonstrates precedent in the art to rotate a nut on a threaded tension rod to adjust the pressure in a battery pack, while Taherkhani demonstrates precedent to use motor-driven gears to rotate a drive shaft to adjust the pressure in a battery pack. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the reasonable expectation that the simple substitution for the secondary gear and drive shaft of Taherkhani for the tension rod and nut of Fujiwara and one of the 8mm pinion gears of Bilda would predictably allowed the gear to be able to rotate a nut in order to adjust the pressure in a battery pack, as the gear has a hex insert configured to hold a nut, and Fujiwara previously demonstrated the ability to modulate the pressure in a similar battery pack by manually rotating a nut with a threaded tension rod. See MPEP 2143 (I) B.
Conclusion
/RPM/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752