DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 121-143 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 6/18/24.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 6/20/24 and 1/10/25 have been acknowledged.
4. The oath filed on 3/8/24 has been acknowledged.
5. The specification in p. 26 discloses mosunetuzumab is disclosed in WO2015/09539 and is incorporated by reference. The reference contains an error; WO requires 6-digit number for its publication number. Appropriate correction is required.
8. Claims 121-143 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub 2018/0134798 in view of U.S.Pub 2006/0088523 (IDS reference) and WO2014/141152 (IDS reference).
The ‘798 publication teaches CD3xCD20 bispecific antibodies in treatment of cancer (p. 2-4, 6) and the cancer includes NHL, DCBCL or CLL. The bispecific antibody reads on mosunetuzumab as the CD3xCD20 comprises SEQ ID NO:7, 8, 15 and 16 as evidenced in p. 42 (Table 1) of the specification of the instant application. Further, the ‘798 publication further teaches dissolving antibody in physiological saline ([205], p. 27) and claim 135 is included in this rejection.
The disclosure of the ‘798 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of methionine, polysorbate, histidine, acetate and sucrose as in claims 121-143 of the instant application.
The ‘523 publication teaches stable antibody formulations comprising CD20 antibody at 1-200mg/ml, histidine-acetate buffer at about 10-40mM, polysorbate 20 at 0.0001%-0.01% and sucrose of 60-250mM at pH 5.5-6.5 (claims 1-79). The ‘523 publication further teaches intravenous administration, packaging in vial (claims 38-40) and the formulation being stable at 40oC for 4 weeks, at least year or more at 5-15oC ([0379]).
In addition, the ‘523 publication defines the term “stability” to retain activity, stable at 40oC for at least 2-4 weeks, 4oC for at least 1 year, [0092]) and stability is accessed by SEC-HPLC, CZE or IEX ( p. 36 and examples). Claims 12-18 are included in this rejection.
Likewise, the ‘152 publication teaches CD3 antibody formulation comprising 0.01-1mg/ml of antibody, 0.01-0.5% polysorbate 20, about 10mM of methionine (table 5) and 20mM histidine at about pH6. The ‘152 publication teaches % low molecular weight aggregates less than 5% (Table 1) and meets the claim limitations of claim 130.
Given that the combination of prior art formulation is identical to the claimed formulation for the claimed antibody composition comprising 1mg/ml mosunetuzumab, 10mM histidine-acetate, 10mM methionine, 240mM sucrose, about 0.06% polysorbate 20 at pH 6 as in claim 35, the prior art combination is expected to be stable about 2 weeks at 25oC, the conditions (a)-(f) of claims 127-130 are expected properties.
Further, instant specification discloses in p. 55 that 1mg/ml mosunetuzumab and 0.05% of polysorbate 20 having the molar ratio of 56, the combination of excipients addressed above reads on “less than 100” molar ratio of less than 100 and meets the limitation of claim 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize excipient of choice and concentrations taught by the ‘523 and 152 publications and into the CD3xCD20 bispecific antibody readable upon mosunetuzumab antibody formulation taught by the ‘798 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization excipient combination that is known to stabilize CD20 or CD3 antibody stabilizes bispecific antibody of CD3x CD20.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
10. Claims 121-143 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 129-31, 33-36, 61-63 and 71-76 of U.S. Application No. 19/647,343.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘343 application recite methods of treating cancer comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising mosunetuzumab antibody product in the presence of methionine, histidine-acetate buffer, polysorbate, sucrose at pH 5-6.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
11. Claims 121-143 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-42 of U.S. Pat 12,291,575 in view of U.S.Pub 2006/0088523 (IDS reference) and WO2014/141152 (IDS reference).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘575 recite methods of treating cancer comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising mosunetuzumab antibody product.
The claims of the ‘575 patent differ from the claimed invention in that they do not teach addition of histidine, sucrose, methionine and polysorbate.
The teachings of the ‘523 and 152 publications have been discussed, supra.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize excipient of choice and concentrations taught by the ‘523 and 152 publications and into the CD3xCD20 bispecific antibody readable upon mosunetuzumab antibody formulation taught by the ‘575 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization excipient combination that is known to stabilize CD20 or CD3 antibody stabilizes bispecific antibody of CD3x CD20.
12. No claims are allowable.
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YUNSOO KIM whose telephone number is (571)272-3176. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 8:30-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Misook Yu can be reached on 571-272-. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
September 22, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641