Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 5-6, and 14-20 have been amended. The rejections under 35 USC 112b are withdrawn in view of the amendment. The art rejections are maintained with revisions in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kovalcik (US 2013/0316081).
Regarding claim 1, Kovalcik discloses a method comprising: receiving a digital representation of a plurality of objects (digital model for each 3D object of a batch, abstract); forming a first portion of each object of the plurality of objects based on the digital representation, using an additive manufacturing process ([0032]); obtaining sensor data of the first portion of each object (visual sensor, [0034]); determining whether an error is present in the first portion of an object of the plurality of objects, based on the sensor data (detect an apparent defect with the visual sensor, [0034]); in response to a determination that the error is present in the first portion of the object, modifying the digital representation selectively to remove the object having the error from the digital representation while the other objects of the plurality of objects in the digital representation remain unaffected (“Furthermore, the digital 3D model used to form the 3D objects may be modified to remove the defective portions. After such actions occur, the printing of the 3D objects may be resumed.”, [0034]; of note, this applies to the objects where the error occurs and does not apply to others that continue printing as planned); and forming a second portion of each remaining object of the plurality of objects based on the modified digital representation, using the additive manufacturing process ([0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Kovalcik discloses wherein the additive manufacturing process comprises building up each object in a plurality of layers ([0032]), and the digital representation comprises a plurality of images for each object, the plurality of images representing the respective plurality of layers for each object (instructions to print each layer of the batch of 3D objects, abstract, [0032] [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Kovalcik discloses wherein determining whether the error is present comprises: identifying a target geometry of the first portion of each object, based on the digital representation, determining an actual geometry of the first portion of each object, based on the sensor data, and determining whether there are discrepancies between the actual geometry and the target geometry of the first portion of each object (visual sensor comparing partial buildup against goal, a defect apparent with a deviation, [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Kovalcik discloses wherein modifying the digital representation to remove the object having the error comprises: in response to the determination that the error is present, determining whether the error is correctable, and in response to a determination that the error is not correctable, modifying the digital representation to remove the object (defect found, 3D model is modified to remove defective portions for future printing, [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Kovalcik discloses wherein modifying the digital representation comprises: identifying a boundary of or around the object in the digital representation, and masking or deleting a portion of the digital representation within the boundary (removing defective portions of the digital 3D model, [0034]; with reference to [0196] of Applicant’s disclosure, removing a portion of the volume of the object is at/within the boundary, as is removing the partial buildup entirely).
Regarding claim 7, Kovalcik discloses wherein the digital representation comprises a plurality of pixels representing a geometry of each object (successive portions of layers, [0002] [0026]), and modifying the digital representation comprises modifying the plurality of pixels representing the geometry of the object containing the error (removing the defective portion from the 3D model, [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Kovalcik discloses wherein the plurality of pixels are modified by converting each pixel to a baseline value (removing defective portions from a digital 3D model to form the 3D objects is indistinguishable from converting the pixels of the removed portion to a baseline value, such a change means changing that portion to not print, which is understood as Applicant’s meaning for a baseline value, [0034]).
Regarding claim 11, Kovalcik discloses, wherein the additive manufacturing process comprises a high temperature lithography process (stereolithography, [0038]).
Regarding claim 12, Kovalcik discloses wherein the additive manufacturing process comprises a material jetting process (pattern effector applies layers of liquid material, [0002] [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Kovalcik discloses wherein the sensor data comprises image data (visual sensors produce image data, [0034]).
Regarding claim 14, Kovalcik discloses a method comprising: receiving a digital representation of a plurality of objects (digital model for each 3D object of a batch, abstract); forming a portion of each object of the plurality of objects based on the digital representation, using an additive manufacturing process ([0032]);
obtaining sensor data of the portion of each object (visual sensor, [0034]); determining whether an error is present in the portion of an object of the plurality of objects (detect an apparent defect with the visual sensor, [0034]), based on the sensor data; and in response to a determination that the error is present in the portion of the object,
performing an error correction process, wherein the error correction process comprises selectively modifying object hhaving the error in the digital representation without modifying the other objects of the plurality of objects in the digital representation (“the digital 3D model used to form the 3D objects may be modified to remove the defective portions. After such actions occur, the printing of the 3D objects may be resumed.”, [0034]; of note, this applies to the objects where the error occurs and does not apply to others that continue printing as planned).
Regarding claim 15, Kovalcik discloses wherein selectively modifying the object having the error in the digital representation comprises removing the object having the error from the digital representation (“the digital 3D model used to form the 3D objects may be modified to remove the defective portions. After such actions occur, the printing of the 3D objects may be resumed.”, [0034]; of note, this applies to the objects where the error occurs and does not apply to others that continue printing as planned), and the method further comprise forming a subsequent portion of each remaining object of the plurality of objects based on the modified digital representation, using the additive manufacturing process (“the digital 3D model used to form the 3D objects may be modified to remove the defective portions. After such actions occur, the printing of the 3D objects may be resumed.”, [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Kovalcik discloses wherein the object having the error is removed from the digital representation by masking or deleting a portion of the digital representation corresponding to the object (suspending printing masks/deletes printing instructions for that object;; “the digital 3D model used to form the 3D objects may be modified to remove the defective portions. After such actions occur, the printing of the 3D objects may be resumed.” [0034]; of note, this applies to the objects where the error occurs and does not apply to others that continue printing as planned).
Regarding claim 17, Kovalcik discloses wherein the object having the error is removed from the digital representation in response to a determination that the error is not correctable (suspension of printing for that object in response to determination it is being formed incorrectly with defects, [0034], “As such, the 3D printing system 10 may be configured to suspend printing of the 3D objects so that defective partial buildups 61 may be removed from the system 10 and their buildup restarted. Furthermore, the digital 3D model used to form the 3D objects may be modified to remove the defective portions. After such actions occur, the printing of the 3D objects may be resumed.”).
Regarding claim 18, Kovalcik discloses wherein selectively modifying the object having the error in the digital representation comprises one or more of the following: changing a geometry of the portion of the object in the digital representation, or changing a geometry of a subsequent portion of the object in the digital representation (Furthermore, the digital 3D model used to form the 3D objects may be modified to remove the defective portions, [0034]).
Regarding claim 19, Kovalcik discloses further comprising forming a subsequent portion of each remaining object of the plurality of objects based on the modified digital representation, using the additive manufacturing process ([0034], “Furthermore, the digital 3D model used to form the 3D objects may be modified to remove the defective portions. After such actions occur, the printing of the 3D objects may be resumed”).
Regarding claim 20, Kovalcik discloses wherein the error correction process further comprises removing a region of the portion of the object containing the error ([0034], “Furthermore, the digital 3D model used to form the 3D objects may be modified to remove the defective portions”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovalcik (US 2013/0316081) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mehr (US 2019/0227525).
Regarding claim 3, Kovalcik is not explicit as to what the defects are or how they are caused.
However, in the same field of endeavor of sensors to detect errors in real-time during additive manufacturing, ([0004] [0032]), Mehr teaches wherein the error comprises one or more of the following: deposition of an incorrect amount of material (fixing the defect by changing the thickness means applying a different amount of material than the instructions that produced the defect, [0032]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Kovalcik so that the error being detected is a deposition of an incorrect amount of material because Kovalcik is silent as to the defect and [0032] of Mehr teaches that a defect in this technical context can be corrected by depositing a different amount of material (different thickness).
Regarding claims 9-10, Kovalcik is silent as to whether one or more curable materials are used.
However, in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing ([0004]), Mehr teaches wherein the additive manufacturing process uses a single curable material (one or more materials, [0004] [0006] [0109]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Kovalcik to use a single curable material as in claim 9, or two or more different curable materials as in claim 10 because Kovalcik is silent on the number of different materials and [0004] [0006] [0109] of Mehr teaches that adaptive control processes, which in the present context pertain to additive manufacturing with layer by layer monitoring, may have embodiments with one material or more than one material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant acknowledges that an agreement was not reached as to the prior art rejection, but argues that the amendment distinguishes over the cited argument. This is not persuasive, and the rejection is indicated above. Kovalcik’s approach differs from Applicant’s in that the multiple printing surfaces of Kovalcik means that multiple layers of an object are printed before each of those layers are printed for other objects (See Fig. 12 of Kovalcik). Applicant’s amendment, selectively removing the object having the error from the digital representation while the digital representation of other objects remain unaffected, does not capture a distinction or a missing teaching from Kovalcik. When errors are detected, and changes are made, objects without the error are still printed as planned.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744