DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 20220200039 A1) in view of Kim et al. (KR 20210089097 A) and Chen et al. (US 20230022329 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao a flame-retardant electrode (paragraph 0003), comprising: an electrode current collector; an electrode active material layer; and a flame-retardant layer between the electrode current collector and the electrode active material layer (paragraph 0047, figure 5, current collector 22, active material layer 26, flame retardant particle layer 40), wherein the flame-retardant layer comprises a flame retardant with a core-shell structure (paragraph 0044), and a first conductive material (paragraphs 0004-0005, 0039, activated carbon host material), and wherein the flame retardant comprises a core comprising a flame-retardant material and a shell applied onto at least a portion of a surface of the core (paragraph 0004). Xiao is silent regarding wherein the flame-retardant layer comprises a binder, and the shell comprising a second conductive material.
Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising a functional layer including a flame retardant located between the positive electrode current collector and electrode active material layer (Kim paragraphs 0006, 0036). Kim further discloses that the functional layer includes a binder in order to provide a strong bond between the second functional layer and the positive electrode material (Kim paragraphs 0041-0045). Kim and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries with flame retardant material layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flame retardant layer of Xiao to include the binder as disclosed by Kim. Doing so would provide a strong bond between the flame retardant layer and active material layer.
Xiao in view of Kim is silent regarding the shell comprising a second conductive material. Chen discloses electrochemical cells with positive temperature coefficient materials incorporated into one or more of the electrodes including coated particles including a flame retardant material (Chen paragraphs 0013, 0057, figures 6A-6B). Chen further discloses that the particles including a flame retardant material include a conductive coating which provides an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode when the temperature of the electrode is below the threshold temperature (Chen paragraphs 0056-0058). Chen and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose electrodes with core-shell flame retardant materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode disclosed by Xiao to include the conductive coating disclosed by Chen for the purpose of providing an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode.
Regarding claim 2, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao is silent regarding wherein a thickness of the flame-retardant layer is 10 µm or less.
Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising a functional layer including a flame retardant located between the positive electrode current collector and electrode active material layer (Kim paragraphs 0006, 0036). Kim further discloses that the functional layer has a thickness of 2 µm to 4µm to improve safety (Kim paragraph 0047). Kim and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries with flame retardant material layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flame retardant layer of Xiao to include the thickness disclosed by Kim. Doing so would improve safety.
Regarding claim 3, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao is silent regarding wherein a thickness of the shell is 2 µm or less.
Chen discloses electrochemical cells with positive temperature coefficient materials incorporated into one or more of the electrodes including coated particles including a flame retardant material (Chen paragraphs 0013, 0057, figures 6A-6B). Chen further discloses that the particles including a flame retardant material include a conductive coating which may have a thickness of less than 2 µm, which provides an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode when the temperature of the electrode is below the threshold temperature (Chen paragraphs 0056-0058). Chen and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose electrodes with core-shell flame retardant materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode disclosed by Xiao to include the conductive coating and thickness disclosed by Chen for the purpose of providing an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode.
Regarding claim 4, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao further discloses wherein an average particle diameter of the flame retardant is 3 µm to 5 μm (paragraph 0011, 50 nm to 10 µm, overlapping the claimed range). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao further discloses that the flame-retardant material comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of an inorganic flame-retardant material, a phosphorus(P) -based flame-retardant material, a halogen-based flame-retardant material, and combinations thereof (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 7, modified Xiao disclose the limitations of claim 1. Xiao further discloses that the flame-retardant material comprises at least one inorganic flame-retardant selected from the group consisting of a boron compound (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 8, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao further discloses that the flame-retardant material comprises at least one phosphorus (P)-based flame-retardant material selected from the group consisting of a red-phosphorus (RP)-based flame-retardant material, a phosphate-based flame-retardant material, a phosphonate-based flame-retardant material, a phosphinate-based flame-retardant material, and combinations thereof (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 9, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao further discloses that the flame-retardant material comprises at least one halogen-based flame-retardant material selected from the group consisting of brominated cyclic hydrocarbon, decabromodiphenyl ether (DeBDE), hexabromocyclododecane (HBCDD), tetrabromobisphenol A (TBBP-A), brominated polystyrene, brominated epoxy, brominated polycarbonate, chlorinated paraffin, and combinations thereof (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 10, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao is silent regarding wherein the flame-retardant material comprises at least one nitrogen (N)-based flame-retardant material selected from the group consisting of melamine polyphosphate (MPP), melamine cyanurate, melamine, melamine isocyanurate, melamine cyanuric acid, and a triazine-based compound, and combinations thereof.
Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising a functional layer including a flame retardant located between the positive electrode current collector and electrode active material layer (Kim paragraphs 0006, 0036). Kim further discloses that the flame retardant may be a nitrogen-based flame retardant such as melamine, melamine phosphate, melamine cyanurate, and combinations thereof (Kim paragraph 0022). The reference teaches that the flame retardant delays flammability and may be any material widely used in the art, listing phosphorous-based flame retardants, halogen-based flame retardants, and organic flame retardants as equivalents (Kim paragraph 0019). Kim and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries with flame retardant material layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the flame retardant of Xiao to include the nitrogen flame retardant as disclosed by Kim. Doing so would delay flammability. Furthermore, The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 13, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao further discloses that the first conductive material comprises a carbon-based conductive material (paragraphs 0004-0005, 0039, activated carbon host material). Xiao is silent regarding the second conductive material comprising a carbon-based conductive material.
Chen discloses electrochemical cells with positive temperature coefficient materials incorporated into one or more of the electrodes including coated particles including a flame retardant material (Chen paragraphs 0013, 0057, figures 6A-6B). Chen further discloses that the particles including a flame retardant material include a conductive coating which may be carbon-based, and provides an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode when the temperature of the electrode is below the threshold temperature (Chen paragraphs 0056-0058). Chen and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose electrodes with core-shell flame retardant materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode disclosed by Xiao to include the conductive carbon-based coating disclosed by Chen for the purpose of providing an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode.
Claims 14-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 20220200039 A1) in view of Kim et al. (KR 20210089097 A), Chen et al. (US 20230022329 A1), and Lee et al. (US 20230128073 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Xiao discloses a battery (paragraph 0003), comprising: a cathode current collector; a cathode active material layer; and a flame-retardant layer between the cathode current collector and the cathode active material layer (paragraphs 0003, 0010, 0047), wherein the flame-retardant layer comprises a flame retardant with a core-shell structure (paragraph 0044), and a first conductive material (paragraphs 0004-0005, 0039, activated carbon host material), and wherein the flame retardant comprises a core comprising a flame-retardant material and a shell applied onto at least a portion of a surface of the core (paragraph 0004), wherein the cathode current collector, the cathode active material layer, and the flame-retardant layer form a cathode (paragraph 0010); an anode active material layer on the electrolyte layer (paragraphs 0030-0031); and an anode current collector on the anode active material layer (paragraph 0047). Xiao is silent regarding the battery being an all-solid-state battery, a solid electrolyte layer on the cathode and comprising a solid electrolyte, and wherein the flame-retardant layer comprises a binder, and the shell comprising a second conductive material.
Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising a functional layer including a flame retardant located between the positive electrode current collector and electrode active material layer (Kim paragraphs 0006, 0036). Kim further discloses that the functional layer includes a binder in order to provide a strong bond between the second functional layer and the positive electrode material (Kim paragraphs 0041-0045). Kim and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries with flame retardant material layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flame retardant layer of Xiao to include the binder as disclosed by Kim. Doing so would provide a strong bond between the flame retardant layer and active material layer.
Xiao in view of Kim is silent regarding the shell comprising a second conductive material. Chen discloses electrochemical cells with positive temperature coefficient materials incorporated into one or more of the electrodes including coated particles including a flame retardant material (Chen paragraphs 0013, 0057, figures 6A-6B). Chen further discloses that the particles including a flame retardant material include a conductive coating which provides an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode when the temperature of the electrode is below the threshold temperature (Chen paragraphs 0056-0058). Chen and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose electrodes with core-shell flame retardant materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode disclosed by Xiao to include the conductive coating disclosed by Chen for the purpose of providing an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode. Xiao in view of Kim and Chen is silent regarding the battery being an all-solid-state battery, and a solid electrolyte layer on the cathode and comprising a solid electrolyte.
Lee discloses an all-solid state battery including a cathode layer, an anode, layer, and an all solid electrolyte. Lee further discloses that the battery includes a flame retardant member surrounding surfaces of the cathode layer and in contact with the anode layer (Lee paragraph 0006). The reference teaches that all-solid batteries using a solid electrolyte reduce explosion risk and have remarkably increased safety (Lee paragraph 0005). Lee and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries with flame retardants.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Xiao to be an all-solid battery with a solid electrolyte as disclosed by Lee. Doing so would improve safety.
Regarding claim 15, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 14. Xiao further discloses that an average particle diameter of the flame retardant is 3 µm to 5 μm (paragraph 0011, 50 nm to 10 µm, overlapping the claimed range). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Xiao is silent regarding wherein a thickness of the flame-retardant layer is 10 μm or less and a thickness of the shell is 2 μm or less.
Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising a functional layer including a flame retardant located between the positive electrode current collector and electrode active material layer (Kim paragraphs 0006, 0036). Kim further discloses that the functional layer has a thickness of 2 µm to 4µm to improve safety (Kim paragraph 0047). Kim and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries with flame retardant material layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flame retardant layer of Xiao to include the thickness disclosed by Kim. Doing so would improve safety. Xiao in view of Kim is silent regarding wherein a thickness of the shell is 2 μm or less.
Chen discloses electrochemical cells with positive temperature coefficient materials incorporated into one or more of the electrodes including coated particles including a flame retardant material (Chen paragraphs 0013, 0057, figures 6A-6B). Chen further discloses that the particles including a flame retardant material include a conductive coating which may have a thickness of less than 2 µm, which provides an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode when the temperature of the electrode is below the threshold temperature (Chen paragraphs 0056-0058). Chen and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose electrodes with core-shell flame retardant materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode disclosed by Xiao to include the conductive coating and thickness disclosed by Chen for the purpose of providing an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode.
Regarding claim 16, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 14. Xiao further discloses that the flame-retardant material comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of an inorganic flame-retardant material, a phosphorus(P) -based flame-retardant material, a halogen-based flame-retardant material, and a nitrogen (N)-based flame-retardant material, and combinations thereof (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 17, Xiao a battery, comprising: an anode current collector; an anode active material layer; and a flame-retardant layer between the anode current collector and the anode active material layer (paragraph 0047), (paragraph 0047, figure 5, current collector 22, active material layer 26, flame retardant particle layer 40), wherein the flame-retardant layer comprises a flame retardant with a core-shell structure (paragraph 0044), and a first conductive material (paragraphs 0004-0005, 0039, activated carbon host material), and wherein the flame retardant comprises a core comprising a flame-retardant material and a shell applied onto at least a portion of a surface of the core (paragraph 0004), wherein the anode current collector, the anode active material layer, and the flame-retardant layer form an anode (paragraph 0047); a cathode active material layer on the electrolyte layer (paragraph 0030-0031); and a cathode current collector on the cathode active material layer (paragraph 0029). Xiao is silent regarding the battery being an all-solid-state battery, a solid electrolyte layer on the anode and comprising a solid electrolyte, and wherein the flame-retardant layer comprises a binder, and the shell comprising a second conductive material.
Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising a functional layer including a flame retardant located between the positive electrode current collector and electrode active material layer (Kim paragraphs 0006, 0036). Kim further discloses that the functional layer includes a binder in order to provide a strong bond between the second functional layer and the positive electrode material (Kim paragraphs 0041-0045). Kim and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries with flame retardant material layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flame retardant layer of Xiao to include the binder as disclosed by Kim. Doing so would provide a strong bond between the flame retardant layer and active material layer.
Xiao in view of Kim is silent regarding the shell comprising a second conductive material. Chen discloses electrochemical cells with positive temperature coefficient materials incorporated into one or more of the electrodes including coated particles including a flame retardant material (Chen paragraphs 0013, 0057, figures 6A-6B). Chen further discloses that the particles including a flame retardant material include a conductive coating which provides an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode when the temperature of the electrode is below the threshold temperature (Chen paragraphs 0056-0058). Chen and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose electrodes with core-shell flame retardant materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode disclosed by Xiao to include the conductive coating disclosed by Chen for the purpose of providing an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode. Xiao in view of Kim and Chen is silent regarding the battery being an all-solid-state battery, and a solid electrolyte layer on the anode and comprising a solid electrolyte.
Lee discloses an all-solid state battery including a cathode layer, an anode, layer, and an all solid electrolyte. Lee further discloses that the battery includes a flame retardant member surrounding surfaces of the cathode layer and in contact with the anode layer (Lee paragraph 0006). The reference teaches that all-solid batteries using a solid electrolyte reduce explosion risk and have remarkably increased safety (Lee paragraph 0005). Lee and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries with flame retardants.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Xiao to be an all-solid battery with a solid electrolyte as disclosed by Lee. Doing so would improve safety.
Regarding claim 18, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 17. Xiao further discloses that an average particle diameter of the flame retardant is 3 µm to 5 μm (paragraph 0011, 50 nm to 10 µm, overlapping the claimed range). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Xiao is silent regarding wherein a thickness of the flame-retardant layer is 10 μm or less and a thickness of the shell is 2 μm or less.
Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising a functional layer including a flame retardant located between the positive electrode current collector and electrode active material layer (Kim paragraphs 0006, 0036). Kim further discloses that the functional layer has a thickness of 2 µm to 4µm to improve safety (Kim paragraph 0047). Kim and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries with flame retardant material layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flame retardant layer of Xiao to include the thickness disclosed by Kim. Doing so would improve safety. Xiao in view of Kim is silent regarding wherein a thickness of the shell is 2 μm or less.
Chen discloses electrochemical cells with positive temperature coefficient materials incorporated into one or more of the electrodes including coated particles including a flame retardant material (Chen paragraphs 0013, 0057, figures 6A-6B). Chen further discloses that the particles including a flame retardant material include a conductive coating which may have a thickness of less than 2 µm, which provides an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode when the temperature of the electrode is below the threshold temperature (Chen paragraphs 0056-0058). Chen and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose electrodes with core-shell flame retardant materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode disclosed by Xiao to include the conductive coating and thickness disclosed by Chen for the purpose of providing an electronically conductive surface for operation of the electrode.
Regarding claim 19, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 17. Xiao further discloses that the flame-retardant material comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of an inorganic flame-retardant material, a phosphorus(P)-based flame-retardant material, a halogen-based flame-retardant material, and a nitrogen (N)-based flame-retardant material, and combinations thereof (paragraph 0035).
Claims 5 and 11-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 20220200039 A1) in view of Kim et al. (KR 20210089097 A), and Chen et al. (US 20230022329 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugita et al. (US 20160254545 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao is silent wherein a volume ratio of the core to a sum of the first conductive material and the second conductive material is 1:1 to 1:100.
Sugita discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery that includes an intermediate layer containing a flame retardant and a conductive material (Sugita paragraph 0006). Sugita further discloses that the flame retardant is included in the layer in an amount of 5 to 70% by weight, and the conductive material is contained in an amount of 1 to 20% by weight (Sugita paragraphs 0032-0034). The reference teaches that the amount of the flame retardant material relative to the remaining components of the layer including the conductive material improves adhesion and suppresses heat generation (Sugita paragraph 0032). Sugita is clearly teaching that the amount of the flame retardant to the remaining components is a results-effective variable that controls adhesion and heat generation. Sugita and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries including flame retardant layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flame retardant layer of Xiao to have the claimed volume ratio because it has been held by the courts that optimization of a results effective variable is not novel. In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 11, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao is silent regarding wherein adhesion of the flame-retardant layer to the electrode current collector is 1.20 gf/mm or more.
Sugita discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery that includes an intermediate layer containing a flame retardant and a conductive material (Sugita paragraph 0006). Sugita further discloses that the content of flame retardant in the layer is selected to improve adhesion between the intermediate layer and current collector (Sugita paragraph 0032). Sugita is clearly teaching that the adhesion of the layer is a results-effective variable controlled by the proportion of the flame retardant in the layer. Sugita and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries including flame retardant layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flame retardant layer of Xiao to have the claimed adhesion because it has been held by the courts that optimization of a results effective variable is not novel. In re Boesch, 617 F2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 12, modified Xiao discloses the limitations of claim 1. Xiao is silent regarding wherein the flame-retardant layer comprises 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% of the binder.
Sugita discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery that includes an intermediate layer containing a flame retardant and a conductive material (Sugita paragraph 0006). Sugita further discloses that the binder is contained in the intermediate layer in an amount of 1% to 5% by weight (Sugita paragraph 0035, within the claimed range). The reference teaches that the binder provides mechanical strength and adhesiveness to the layer (Sugita paragraph 0027). . Sugita and Xiao are analogous because they both disclose batteries including flame retardant layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flame retardant layer of Xiao to have the amount of binder disclosed by Sugita. Doing so would improve strength and adhesiveness of the layer.
Conclusion
/B.T.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727