DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1, 4-9, 12-17, and 20 are pending wherein claims 1, 9, and 17 are in independent form.
3. Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended.
4. Claims 2-3, 10-11, and 18-19 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed on 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
6. On page 7 of the remarks, applicant argues, “Applicant submits that Li's TWT request frames do not include a channel usage information element that indicates the message pertains to usage of the channel between the access point and the device”.
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because:
Li discloses that the device/UE transmits a TWT request frame (TWT request for TWT2) including TWT parameters such as wake up duration, wake up interval, service period etc. (TWT element) and an indication that the service period/TWT duration is intended for P2P communication/traffic (channel usage information element) (Fig. 5-7, Par 0061-0062, Par 0065, Par 0068, Par 0073, Par 0075-0076). In response to the TWT request frame, the AP transmits a response frame including accepted TWT schedule (TWT element) and an indication that the service period/TWT duration is scheduled for P2P communication/traffic (channel usage information element) (Fig. 5-7, Par 0061-0063, Par 0065-0068, Par 0073-0076).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 12, and 16-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 20230309017 A1, hereinafter referred to as Li).
Re claim 1, Li teaches an access point (105, Fig. 1) comprising:
(i) one or more memories (Memory, Par 0089); and
(ii) one or more processors (Processor, Par 0089) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (Memory, Par 0089), a combination of the one or more processors configured to:
(iii) receive, from a first device (first device/Computing device 110, Fig. 1, device 502/602, Fig. 5-6), a channel usage request frame (TWT request frame for TWT2/second TWT) to refrain from transmitting wireless fidelity (WiFi) messages to the first device during a time period (requesting to suspend/halt transmission to the first device during the second TWT period) (Fig. 6-9, Par 0059-0066, Par 0073-0075, Par 0079), wherein the channel usage request frame comprises a channel usage information element (an indication that the service period/TWT duration is intended for P2P communication/traffic) and a target wake time (TWT) element specifying the time period (wake up duration, wake up interval, service period etc.) (Fig. 5-7, Par 0061-0063, Par 0065-0068, Par 0073-0076);
(iv) communicate, to the first device, a channel usage response frame (TWT response from the AP, Fig. 6-9) confirming that the access point will refrain from transmitting WiFi messages to the first device during the time period (accepting/confirming to suspend/halt transmission to the first device during the second TWT period) (Par 0063, Par 0066, Par 0073-0076, Par 0079-0080, Par 0083-0086), wherein the channel usage response frame comprises the channel usage information element (an indication that the service period/TWT duration is scheduled for P2P communication/traffic) and the TWT element (accepted TWT schedule) (Fig. 5-7, Par 0061-0063, Par 0065-0068, Par 0073-0076); and
(v) refrain from transmitting the WiFi messages to the first device during the time period (suspending/halting transmission to the first device during the second TWT period) (Fig. 6-10, Par 0063, Par 0066, Par 0073-0076, Par 0079-0080, Par 0083-0086).
Claim 9 recites a method performing the functions recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 17 recites a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions to be executed by a combination of one or more processors to perform the functions recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Li further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium (Par 0089).
Re claims 4, 12, 20, Li teaches to schedule a transmission to a second device for the time period (second TWT period is scheduled for the UE1) (Fig. 6-9, P0061-0063, Par 0066, Par 0073-0076, Par 0079-0080, Par 0083-0086).
Re claims 8, 16, Li teaches to refrain from transmitting WiFi messages to a second device (UE 2, Fig. 5) during the time period (nearby devices such as UE2 communicate with the AP during their scheduled TWT and second TWT is not assigned to UE 2. Therefore, AP refrains from transmitting WiFi messages to the nearby devices (i.e., UE2) during the second TWT period) (Fig. 6-8, Par 0073, Par 0075-0080).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Shafin et al (US 20230422173, hereinafter referred to as Shafin).
Re claims 5, 13, Li does not explicitly disclose that the first device has established a first link and a second link with the access point and wherein refraining from transmitting the WiFi messages to the first device during the time period is limited to refraining from transmitting the WiFi messages to the first device over the first link.
Shafin teaches that the first device has established a first link and a second link with the access point (multiple link established between non-AP MLD and AP MLD) and wherein refraining from transmitting the WiFi messages to the first device during the time period is limited to refraining from transmitting the WiFi messages to the first device over the first link (suspending TWT schedule of another link) (Fig. 23-24, Par 0148-0152, Par 0156-0160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li by including the feature that the first device has established a first link and a second link with the access point and wherein refraining from transmitting the WiFi messages to the first device during the time period is limited to refraining from transmitting the WiFi messages to the first device over the first link, as taught by Shafin for the purpose of “enhancing Target Wake Time operations in a wireless local area network communications system”, as taught by Shafin (Par 0002).
Re claims 6, 14, Li does not explicitly disclose to transmit the WiFi messages to the first device over the second link during the time period.
Shafin teaches to transmit the WiFi messages to the first device over the second link during the time period (communicating over the operating link while suspending another link) (Fig. 23-24, Par 0148-0152, Par 0156-0160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li by including the feature to transmit the WiFi messages to the first device over the second link during the time period, as taught by Shafin for the purpose of “enhancing Target Wake Time operations in a wireless local area network communications system”, as taught by Shafin (Par 0002).
11. Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Shafin as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Kuppa et al (US 20240022955, hereinafter referred to as Kuppa).
Re claims 7, 15, Li does not explicitly disclose to transmit WiFi messages to a second device over a third link during the time period, wherein the first link and the third link are in a same frequency domain.
Kuppa teaches to transmit WiFi messages to a second device over a third link during the time period (communicating with another STA in the same TWT session, Fig. 7), wherein the first link and the third link are in a same frequency domain (AP communicating with multiple STAs in the same frequency channel, Fig. 7) (Fig. 5-7, Par 0059-0062, Par 0071-0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li by including the feature to transmit WiFi messages to a second device over a third link during the time period, wherein the first link and the third link are in a same frequency domain, as taught by Kuppa for the purpose of “managing hopping of frequency channels over target wake time (TWT) sessions”, as taught by Kuppa (Par 0002).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473