DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on May 23rd, 2025 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chandrashekar et al. (US 2025/0081052 A1) hereinafter “Chandrashekar” in view of Kim et al. (US 2026/0025722 A1; also see provisional 63/457,708) hereinafter “Kim” and provisional ‘708.
Regarding Claims 1 and 13,
Chandrashekar discloses an apparatus for wireless communication [see fig(s). 4 & 6, pg. 11, ¶105 lines 1-17, a gNB-Centralized Unit Control Plane (gNB-CU-CP) “416”], comprising:
one or more memories [see fig(s). 4 & 6, pg. 11, ¶105 lines 1-17, a Non-Transitory, Computer-Readable Storage Medium]; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories [see fig(s). 4 & 6, pg. 11, ¶105 lines 1-17, a processor electrically coupled to the Non-Transitory, Computer-Readable Storage Medium], the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to [see fig(s). 4 & 6, pg. 11, ¶105 lines 1-17, the processor implemented to]:
receive [see fig. 4: Step “422”, pg. 8, ¶77 lines 1-6, receiving], from a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 4: Step “422”, pg. 8, ¶77 lines 1-6, from UE “410”], a measurement report [see fig. 4: Step “422”, pg. 8, ¶77 lines 1-6, a RRC Measurement Report (L3)];
generate a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) resource configuration for one or more candidate cells based at least in part on the measurement report [see fig. 4: Step “428”, pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, configuring UE (L1) Measurement Reports to be sent by UE “410” to the Target Cell(s) “414”, and sending DL RRC Message Transfer “430” including LTM Target Cell Configuration, and Multicast (L1) Measurements to Serving gNB-DU “412” via an F1 interface];
transmit [see fig. 4: Step “440”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, sending], to a candidate central unit (CU) [see fig. 4: Step “440”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, to gNB-CU-UP “418”], an LTM preparation request that indicates the one or more candidate cells and the LTM resource configuration [see fig. 4: Step “440”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, a Bearer Context Modification Request including the F1-U Tunnel Endpoint Identifier (TEID) of LTM Target gNB-DU “414” via an E1 interface]; and
receive [see fig. 4: Step “442”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, receiving], from the candidate CU [see fig. 4: Step “442”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, from the gNB-CU-UP “418”], an LTM preparation response that indicates one or more LTM radio resource control (RRC) configurations associated with the one or more candidate cells [see fig. 4: Step “442”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, the E1 Bearer Context Modification Response message, including F1-U UL TEID and transport layer address allocated by the gNB-CU-UP “418”], respectively [see fig. 4: Step “442”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, correspondingly].
Although Chandrashekar discloses generating a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) resource configuration, Chandrashekar does not explicitly teach “channel state information (CSI)”.
However Kim discloses an apparatus for wireless communication [see fig. 41, pg. 20, ¶233 lines 1-16, a central unit or CU (source CU-CP) of a serving base station; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 26, ¶215 lines 1-8], comprising:
one or more memories [see fig. 41, pg. 20, ¶233 lines 1-16, a memory; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 26, ¶215 lines 1-8]; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories [see fig. 41, pg. 20, ¶233 lines 1-16, a processing system; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 26, ¶215 lines 1-8], the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to [see fig. 41, pg. 20, ¶233 lines 1-16, the processing system implemented to; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 26, ¶215 lines 1-8]:
receive [see fig. 41, pg. 55, ¶516 lines 1-12, receiving; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 70, ¶493 lines 1-6], from a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 41, pg. 55, ¶516 lines 1-12, from a wireless device; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 70, ¶493 lines 1-6], a measurement report [see fig. 41, pg. 55, ¶516 lines 1-12, a measurement report (e.g., L3 measurement report and/or L1 measurement report) … sent by a serving DU, of a serving base station, via a “UL RRC message transfer” message to the CU of the serving base station; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 70, ¶493 lines 1-6];
generate a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) channel state information (CSI) resource configuration for one or more candidate cells based at least in part on the measurement report [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶514 lines 1-9; ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, the CU determines to initiate an L1/L2 triggered mobility (LTM) configuration … comprising a configuration of at least one candidate target cell for LTM; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; ¶491 lines 1-5; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11];
transmit [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, the base station CU-CP transmits; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11], to a candidate central unit (CU) [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, to a candidate base station CU-UP; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11], an LTM preparation request that indicates the one or more candidate cells and the LTM CSI resource configuration [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, a “bearer context setup/modification request” message for the wireless device, the “bearer context setup/modification request” message indicating LTM of the wireless device; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11]; and
receive [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, receiving; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11], from the candidate CU [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, from the candidate base station CU-UP; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11], an LTM preparation response that indicates one or more LTM radio resource control (RRC) configurations associated with the one or more candidate cells [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, a “bearer context setup/modification response” message with an established bearer context, of the wireless device, for the LTM; the bearer context associated with the at least one candidate target cell (or cell group of the at least one candidate target cell); also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11], respectively [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, correspondingly; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “channel state information (CSI)” as taught by Kim in the system of Chandrashekar for avoiding unnecessary signaling overheads and waste of resources due to lack of information about the status of a resource or a candidate target cell in a serving base station distributed unit [see Kim, pg. 66, ¶651 lines 1-10].
Regarding Claims 2 and 14,
The combined system of Chandrashekar and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Chandrashekar further discloses wherein the LTM CSI resource configuration includes a list of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to be measured for each candidate cell of the one or more candidate cells [see pg. 5, ¶45 lines 1-11, Early Synchronization “240” is performed using Downlink (DL) synchronization and Timing Advance (TA) acquisition with candidate cells “242” and Uplink (UL) synchronization and TA acquisition with candidate cells “244” while the UE “210” is still connected to the current serving cell. DL synchronization for candidate cell(s) “242” before cell switch command is supported at least based on SSB].
Regarding Claims 3 and 15,
Chandrashekar discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Chandrashekar does not explicitly teach the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: “generate the LTM CSI resource configuration based at least in part on information received from the candidate CU and one or more distributed units (DUs) associated with a source CU during a setup procedure”.
However Kim discloses generate the LTM CSI resource configuration based at least in part on information received from the candidate CU and one or more distributed units (DUs) associated with a source CU during a setup procedure [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶514 lines 1-9; ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, the CU determines to initiate LTM configuration and sends a UE context setup/modification request message to a candidate DU, e.g., to create/modify a UE context of the wireless device and/or indicate a request to the candidate DU to configure the wireless device with LTM].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “generate the LTM CSI resource configuration based at least in part on information received from the candidate CU and one or more distributed units (DUs) associated with a source CU during a setup procedure” as taught by Kim in the system of Chandrashekar for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claims 4 and 16,
The combined system of Chandrashekar and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Chandrashekar further discloses wherein an LTM RRC configuration [see pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, DL RRC Message Transfer “430” includes LTM Target Cell Configuration], of the one or more LTM RRC configurations [see pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, and Multicast L1 Measurements], of a candidate cell [see pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, of a Target Cell “414”], of the one or more candidate cells [see pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, sent by UE “410” to the Target Cell(s) “414”], includes a CSI report configuration [see pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, to provide UE “410” the LTM Target Cell Configuration, and the Multicast L1 Measurements].
Regarding Claims 5 and 17,
The combined system of Chandrashekar and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Chandrashekar further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to:
determine one or more of an updated LTM CSI resource configuration for the one or more candidate cells or an updated list of candidate cells [see pg. 5, ¶45 lines 1-11, Early Synchronization “240” is performed using Downlink (DL) synchronization and Timing Advance (TA) acquisition with candidate cells “242” and Uplink (UL) synchronization and TA acquisition with candidate cells “244” while the UE “210” is still connected to the current serving cell], wherein the updated LTM CSI resource configuration indicates an updated list of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to be measured for each candidate cell of the one or more candidate cells [see pg. 5, ¶45 lines 1-11, DL synchronization for candidate cell(s) “242” before cell switch command is supported at least based on SSB].
Regarding Claims 6 and 18,
The combined system of Chandrashekar and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Chandrashekar further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to:
receive [see fig. 4: Step “426”, pg. 8, ¶77 lines 1-6, receiving], from a distributed unit (DU) associated with a source CU or the candidate CU [see fig. 4: Step “426”, pg. 8, ¶77 lines 1-6, from a Target gNB-DU “414”], an updated LTM CSI report configuration [see fig. 4: Step “426”, pg. 8, ¶77 lines 1-6, with UE Context Setup Response with Cell Group Configuration for CBRA “426” that is sent to gNB-CU-CP “416”]; and
transmit [see fig. 4: Step “432”, pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, gNB-CU-CP “416” sends DL RRC Message Transfer “430” to Serving gNB-DU “412” via an F1 interface. DL RRC Message Transfer “430” includes LTM Target Cell Configuration, and Multicast L1 Measurements. Serving gNB-DU 412 sends], to the UE [see fig. 4: Step “432”, pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, to UE “410”], an RRC reconfiguration message that indicates one or more LTM RRC reconfigurations associated with the one or more candidate cells [see fig. 4: Step “432”, pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, RRC Reconfiguration message to UE “410” to provide UE 410 the LTM Target Cell Configuration, and the Multicast L1 Measurements], respectively [see fig. 4: Step “432”, pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, correspondingly], based at least in part on an updated LTM CSI resource configuration and the updated LTM CSI report configuration [see fig. 4: Step “428”, pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, upon the gNB-CU-CP “416” configuring UE (L1) Measurement Reports to be sent by UE “410” to the Target Cell(s)” 414”].
Regarding Claims 7 and 19,
The combined system of Chandrashekar and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Chandrashekar further discloses wherein the LTM preparation response indicates an updated LTM CSI resource configuration [see fig. 4: Step “442”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, the gNB-CU-UP “418” sends the E1 Bearer Context Modification Response message to gNB-CU-CP “416”, including F1-U UL TEID and transport layer address allocated by the gNB-CU-UP “418”], and wherein the updated LTM CSI resource configuration is received from the candidate CU via a distributed unit (DU) associated with the candidate CU or from an underlying DU associated with a source CU [see fig. 4: Step “460”, pg. 8, ¶83 lines 1-7, in response to the Target gNB-DU “414” determining that the radio condition of the one of the one or more LTM candidate gNB-DUs drops below the predetermined resource reservation criteria, the Target gNB-DU “414” sends a Control PDU to the gNB-CU-UP “418” to instruct the gNB-CU-UP “418” to stop forwarding of data to the one of the one or more LTM candidate gNB-DUs “414”].
Regarding Claims 8 and 20,
The combined system of Chandrashekar and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Chandrashekar further discloses wherein the LTM CSI resource configuration is associated with an inter-CU LTM [see pg. 4, ¶38 lines 1-14, L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility is applicable to standalone, Carrier Aggregation (CA) and New Radio-Dual Connectivity (NR-DC) case with serving cell change within one Cell Group (CG), intra-DU case and intra-CU inter-DU case, intra-frequency and inter-frequency, etc.].
Regarding Claim 9,
Chandrashekar discloses an apparatus for wireless communication [see fig(s). 4 & 6, pg. 11, ¶105 lines 1-17, a gNB-Centralized Unit Control Plane (gNB-CU-CP) “418”], comprising:
one or more memories [see fig(s). 4 & 6, pg. 11, ¶105 lines 1-17, a Non-Transitory, Computer-Readable Storage Medium]; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories [see fig(s). 4 & 6, pg. 11, ¶105 lines 1-17, a processor electrically coupled to the Non-Transitory, Computer-Readable Storage Medium], the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to [see fig(s). 4 & 6, pg. 11, ¶105 lines 1-17, the processor implemented to]:
receive [see fig. 4: Step “440”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, receiving], from a source central unit (CU) [see fig. 4: Step “440”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, from a gNB-CU-UP “416”], a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) preparation request that indicates one or more candidate cells and measurement results [see fig. 4: Step “440”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, a Bearer Context Modification Request via an E1 interface];
generate an LTM resource configuration for the one or more candidate cells based at least in part on the LTM preparation request [see fig. 4: Step “440”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, the Bearer Context Modification Request is used to establish the bearer context in the gNB-CU-UP “418”and includes the F1-U Tunnel Endpoint Identifier (TEID) of LTM Target gNB-DU “414”]; and
transmit [see fig. 4: Step “442”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, sending], to the source CU [see fig. 4: Step “442”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, to the gNB-CU-UP “416”], an LTM preparation response that indicates the LTM resource configuration [see fig. 4: Step “442”, pg. 8, ¶79 lines 1-10, the E1 Bearer Context Modification Response message, including the F1-U UL TEID and transport layer address allocated by the gNB-CU-UP “418”].
Although Chandrashekar discloses generating a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) resource configuration, Chandrashekar does not explicitly teach “channel state information (CSI)”.
However Kim discloses an apparatus for wireless communication [see fig. 41, pg. 20, ¶233 lines 1-16, a central unit or CU (candidate CU-CP) of a serving base station; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 26, ¶215 lines 1-8], comprising:
one or more memories [see fig. 41, pg. 20, ¶233 lines 1-16, a memory; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 26, ¶215 lines 1-8]; and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories [see fig. 41, pg. 20, ¶233 lines 1-16, a processing system; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 26, ¶215 lines 1-8], the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to [see fig. 41, pg. 20, ¶233 lines 1-16, the processing system implemented to; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pg. 26, ¶215 lines 1-8]:
receive [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, the base station CU-CP receives; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11], from a source central unit (CU) ) [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, from a source base station CU-UP; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11], a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) preparation request that indicates one or more candidate cells and measurement results [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, a “bearer context setup/modification request” message for the wireless device, the “bearer context setup/modification request” message indicating LTM of the wireless device; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11];
generate an LTM channel state information (CSI) resource configuration for the one or more candidate cells based at least in part on the LTM preparation request [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, based on receiving the “bearer context setup/modification request” message, the candidate base station CU-UP establishes a bearer context, of the wireless device, for the LTM; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11]; and
transmit [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, sending; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11], to the source CU [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, to the source base station CU-UP; also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11], an LTM preparation response that indicates the LTM CSI resource configuration [see fig. 41, pgs. 55-56, ¶516 lines 1-38; pg. 72, ¶693 lines 1-21, a “bearer context setup/modification response” message with an established bearer context, of the wireless device, for the LTM; the bearer context associated with the at least one candidate target cell (or cell group of the at least one candidate target cell); also see provisional ‘708, fig. 41, pgs. 70-71, ¶493 lines 1-19; pg. 92, ¶640 lines 1-11].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “channel state information (CSI)” as taught by Kim in the system of Chandrashekar for avoiding unnecessary signaling overheads and waste of resources due to lack of information about the status of a resource or a candidate target cell in a serving base station distributed unit [see Kim, pg. 66, ¶651 lines 1-10].
Regarding Claim 10,
The combined system of Chandrashekar and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 9.
Chandrashekar further discloses wherein the LTM CSI resource configuration includes a list of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to be measured for each candidate cell of the one or more candidate cells [see pg. 5, ¶45 lines 1-11, Early Synchronization “240” is performed using Downlink (DL) synchronization and Timing Advance (TA) acquisition with candidate cells “242” and Uplink (UL) synchronization and TA acquisition with candidate cells “244” while the UE “210” is still connected to the current serving cell. DL synchronization for candidate cell(s) “242” before cell switch command is supported at least based on SSB].
Regarding Claim 11,
The combined system of Chandrashekar and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 9.
Chandrashekar further discloses wherein the measurement results are associated with a measurement report from a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 4: Step “428”, pg. 8, ¶78 lines 1-11, the gNB-CU-CP “416” configures UE (L1) Measurement Reports to be sent by UE “410” to the Target Cell(s) “414”].
Regarding Claim 12,
The combined system of Chandrashekar and Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 9.
Chandrashekar further discloses wherein the LTM CSI resource configuration is associated with an inter-CU LTM [see pg. 4, ¶38 lines 1-14, L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility is applicable to standalone, Carrier Aggregation (CA) and New Radio-Dual Connectivity (NR-DC) case with serving cell change within one Cell Group (CG), intra-DU case and intra-CU inter-DU case, intra-frequency and inter-frequency, etc.].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Hong (US 2025/0254580 A1); see fig. 7, pg. 14, ¶168-¶190.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469