DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 7 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-7 and 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “communication port”, “rotational connection position”, “distance between the water suction port and the rotational connection position”, and “distance between the communication port and the rotational connection position” recited in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cleaning module...configured to control an outflow of the water outlet and/or a suction power of the water suction port according to the thickness parameter” and “thickness measurement module...configured to obtain a thickness parameter of the carpet” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation from claim 1 of “a cleaning module...configured to control an outflow of the water outlet and/or a suction power of the water suction port according to the thickness parameter” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 , sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The structural elements disclosed in relation to the cleaning module are a water outlet configured to discharge water toward a carpet, a water suction port configured to suck water from the carpet, and in some embodiments, roller brushes or other rollers associated with the water outlet. Although the disclose water outlet and suction port are structurally necessary for performing the claimed function, they are not capable of performing the entire function of controlling “an outflow of the water outlet and/or a suction power of the water suction port according to the thickness parameter” as claimed, as the disclosure contains no description of structure clearly linked to the function of varying outflow or suction.
Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 2-4, 8, and 11-12 depend from claim 1 and are likewise rejected as indefinite.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Additionally, claim 8 recites the limitations “a thickness parameter”, “a thickness measurement module”, and “a cleaning module”. Claim 8 depends from claim 1, which previously introduced a thickness parameter, a thickness measurement module, and a cleaning module. Similarly to claim 8, claim 11 also recites introduces certain claim elements (“a water outlet” and “a water suction port”) that were previously introduced in claim 1, from which claim 11 ultimately depends. It is unclear whether the elements recited in claims 8 and 11 refer to those introduced in claim 1 or are different ones.
Claim 8 additionally recites the limitations “controlling a cleaning module of the cleaning device to operate at a preset gear...wherein multiple preset gears are provided” and “controlling the cleaning device to clean a carpet at a selected preset gear”. It is unclear whether the preset gears for the cleaning module are the same as the selected preset gear for the cleaning device.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the memory". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For these reasons, claims 8 and 11 are rejected as indefinite. Claim 12 depends from claim 8 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 12 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a cleaning control program is stored on the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and the method for controlling the cleaning device of claim 8 is implemented when the cleaning control program is executed by a processor.” Claim 12 depends from the method of claim 8, which itself depends from the device of claim 1. As the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 12 is only claimed as a product containing instructions for carrying out the method described in claim 8 of using the product of claim 1, it does not require the presence of the device of claim 1 or carrying out the actual steps of claim 8. Consequently, claim 12 fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends, and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gou (CN 115889288) in view of Wu et al. (CN 116982882, "Wu").
1. Gou teaches a cleaning device (Gou fig. 1), comprising:
a device body (shell 1);
a cleaning module (combination of cleaning mechanism 2 and recycling mechanism 3) provided on the device body (Gou fig. 1) and provided with
a water outlet (nozzle 23, see Gou figs. 1-5 and Gou Translation [0040]) and
a water suction port (collecting port 371, see Gou figs. 2-6 and Gou Translation [0046] and [0053]),
wherein the water outlet is configured to discharge water toward a carpet (Gou Translation [0044]), and the water suction port is configured to suck water from the carpet (Gou Translation [0053]).
Gou does not teach the presence of a thickness measurement module provided in the device body, or that the thickness measurement module is configured to obtain a thickness parameter of the carpet, and the cleaning module is configured to control an outflow of the water outlet and/or a suction power of the water suction port according to the thickness parameter.
However, Wu teaches a method of controlling a cleaning device including steps of using a thickness measurement module (second acquisition module, see Wu Translation [0044]) to obtain a carpet thickness parameter and adjusting a suction power and water volume based on the thickness parameter (See Wu Translation [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the cleaning device of Gou according to the teachings of Wu such that it included a thickness measurement module provided in the device body, wherein the thickness measurement module was configured to obtain a thickness parameter of the carpet, and the cleaning module was configured to control an outflow of the water outlet and/or a suction power of the water suction port according to the thickness parameter, as doing so would achieve more targeted cleaning, thereby improving the practicality of a cleaning robot (Wu Translation [0077]).
8. Gou as modified does not explicitly recite a method for controlling the cleaning device of claim 1.
However, Wu further teaches a method for controlling a cleaning device comprising:
obtaining a thickness parameter collected by a thickness measurement module of the cleaning device (collecting a carpet pile length, see Wu Translation [0074]; carpet length is collected using an acquisition module, see Wu Translation [0040]);
controlling a cleaning module of the cleaning device to operate at a preset gear according to the thickness parameter, wherein multiple preset gears are provided, and the cleaning module at each of the preset gears has different outflow and/or suction power (adjusting a water volume and suction power based on the thickness parameter, see Wu Translation [0077]; specific settings for water volume and suction power my be defined in terms of levels, see Wu Translation [0085]); and
controlling the cleaning device to clean a carpet at a selected preset gear (performing cleaning at the set level, see e.g. Wu Translation [0077]-[0085]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have developed a method for controlling the cleaning device of claim 1 according to the method taught by Wu, such that it comprised obtaining a thickness parameter collected by a thickness measurement module of the cleaning device; controlling a cleaning module of the cleaning device to operate at a preset gear according to the thickness parameter, wherein multiple preset gears are provided, and the cleaning module at each of the preset gears has different outflow and/or suction power; and controlling the cleaning device to clean a carpet at a selected preset gear, as doing so would achieve more targeted cleaning, thereby improving the practicality of a cleaning robot (Wu Translation [0077]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gou in view of Wu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Getz et al. (US 4654924, "Getz").
2. Gou as modified teaches the cleaning device of claim 1, wherein the device body is provided with a floating member (floating scraper 37, see Gou figs. 5-6), the floating member is movably provided on the device body and maintains a state of being close to a surface of the carpet, so as to adapt the thickness parameter (scraper 37 adapts to a height of the carpet, see Gou Translation [0053]).
Gou as modified further teaches the presence of sensors fixed to the device body (see, e.g. Gou Translation [0049] and [0050]), but neither Gou nor Wu teach a structure for the thickness measurement module, and consequently do not teach that the thickness measurement module comprises a first sensor fixed to the device body, and the first sensor is opposite to the floating member and is configured to detect a distance between the floating member and the first sensor.
However, Getz teaches a thickness measurement module (pile height sensing device 82, Getz 7:41-52) comprising a spring-loaded probe (i.e., a floating member) and a fixed sensor (comprising Hall effect sensors, Getz 7:53-8:2) positioned opposite to the floating member and configured to detect a distance between the floating member and the first sensor (pin displacement is determined as a function of whether the hall effect sensors detect magnets on the probe, see Getz 7:53-8:2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a thickness sensing mechanism into the device of Gou as modified such that the thickness measurement module comprises a first sensor fixed to the device body, and the first sensor is opposite to the floating member and is configured to detect a distance between the floating member and the first sensor, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, the results of such a combination being predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
3. Gou as modified teaches the cleaning device of claim 2, wherein the device body comprises a sewage tank (31 and/or 32, see Gou figs. 4-5), the floating member (37) is configured as a floating suction nozzle that communicates with the cleaning module and the sewage tank (37 includes suction nozzle 371 and communicates with waste storage tanks 31 and 32, see Gou fig. 5 and Gou Translation [0053]), and the floating suction nozzle is provided with the water suction port (371 is on 37, see Gou figs. 4-5) and is rotatably provided on the device body, to allow the water suction port to maintain a state of being close to the surface of the carpet (37 is pivotally attached to the body via pivot 372 and floats to stay on surface of carpet, see Gou figs. 4-6 and Gou Translation [0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 8346389 B2), Oh et al. (US 7921509 B2), Im et al. (US 7272868 B2), Deschenes (US 5748853 A), Takahashi et al. (US 4977639 A), Steadings et al. (US 4754520 A), Fromknecht (US 4342132 A), and Plachetka (DE 102015100483 A1) teach relevant structures used by vacuum cleaners to detect floor properties.
/JONATHAN R ZAWORSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3723