DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 3/8/2024. Claims 1-4 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/6/2026 and 3/8/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to due to the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to identify the elements as described in the specification.
Specifically figure 1 contains elements with no description (i.e. the generic box elements). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
• (a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.
• (b) When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
• (c) Where the drawings in a nonprovisional application do not comply with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, the examiner shall require such additional illustration within a time period of not less than two months from the date of the sending of a notice thereof. Such corrections are subject to the requirements of § 1.81(d).
[31 FR 12923, Oct. 4, 1966; 43 FR 4015, Jan. 31, 1978; paras. (a) and (c) revised, 60 FR 20195, Apr. 25, 1995, effective June 8, 1995; para. (a) revised, 69 FR 56481, Sept. 21, 2004, effective Oct. 21, 2004; para. (a) revised, 78 FR 62368, Oct. 21, 2013, effective Dec. 18, 2013]
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (JP 2020078195) in view of Shibata (US 20150303739) in view of Nozawa (US 20190135119). Note Examiner uses Go (JP 2020078195) to make rejection but relies on machine translation to clarify position.
As to claim 1, Go discloses a solar charging system (Fig. 1-4 [0011]), comprising: a solar panel ([0011] solar panel 10); a first battery (solar battery 20) configured to be charged with electric power generated by the solar panel ([0011] – [0013] solar battery 20. This solar battery 20 is a battery for temporarily storing electricity generated by the solar panel 10, and is connected to the solar ECU 30 so that it can be charged by the generated electricity and can also release the electricity it has stored to the drive battery 50); a converter (solar ECU 30) configured to convert electric power stored in the first battery and electric power generated by the solar panel ( [0015] The solar ECU 30 has a predetermined power conversion function and can convert the power generated by the solar panel 10 into a predetermined voltage (boost/step down) and store it in the solar battery 20. Furthermore, the solar ECU 30 can convert the power stored in the solar battery 20 into a predetermined voltage (boost/step down) and output it to the drive battery 50 (i.e., transfer the amount of power from the solar battery 20 to the drive battery 50); a second battery (drive battery 50) configured to be charged with the electric power converted by the converter ([0015] ..the solar ECU 30 can convert the power stored in the solar battery 20 into a predetermined voltage (boost/step down) and output it to the drive battery 50 (i.e., transfer the amount of power from the solar battery 20 to the drive battery 50); and processing circuitry (The battery monitoring unit 60).
Go does not disclose/teach wherein the converter includes a capacitor configured to reduce a potential difference between the second battery and the converter using a stored charge, and the processing circuitry is configured to charge the capacitor by supplying electric power generated by the solar panel and electric power stored in the first battery to the capacitor, and start charging the second battery after charging the capacitor until an amount of charge of the capacitor is greater than or equal to a first prescribed value.
Shibata teaches wherein the converter (Converter 105 and capacitor 102, Fig. 1) includes a capacitor (capacitor 102), and the processing circuitry is configured to charge the capacitor by supplying electric power generated by the solar panel to the capacitor ([0031], the MPPT module 104 converts the power from the solar battery module 101 into an appropriate voltage and supplies that to the capacitor 102), and start charging the second battery (111) after charging the capacitor until an amount of charge of the capacitor is greater than or equal to a first prescribed value. ([0033]- [0034] The capacitor 102 temporarily accumulates power that is supplied from the solar battery module 101 via the MPPT module 104. The capacitor 102 supplies the accumulated power to the converter 105. [0034] The converter 105 converts a voltage of a direct current (direct current voltage) that is supplied from the capacitor 102 into a prescribed voltage (raises or lowers the voltage) and outputs that to the terminal 103. [0049] The terminal 103 is provided to supply the power from the capacitor 102 to the secondary battery 111 and the load 112.. The converter 105 (the capacitor 102 in a case where the converter 105 is omitted) may directly be connected with the secondary battery 111 and the load 112 by a power supply line. In this case, any portion of the power supply line becomes the terminal 103.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar charging system of Go to wherein the converter includes a capacitor, and the processing circuitry is configured to charge the capacitor by supplying electric power generated by the solar panel, and start charging the second battery after charging the capacitor until an amount of charge of the capacitor is greater than or equal to a first prescribed value in order to reduce degradation of the secondary battery ([0011]).
Go in view of Shibata does not specifically teach the capacitor is configured to reduce a potential difference between the second battery and the converter using a stored charge nor teaches the processing circuitry is configured to charge the capacitor by supplying electric power stored in the first battery to the capacitor.
Nozawa teaches a capacitor configured to reduce a potential difference between the second battery and the converter using a stored charge ([0053] Since the capacitors 214, 23 are charged by the pre-charging, no large inrush current flows when the system main relay 12 is switched to the connected state) and charging the capacitor by supplying electric power stored in the first battery to the capacitor ([0035] Thus, when the main switch 41 is turned on, the controller 13 charges the capacitors 214, 23 in advance by using the auxiliary battery 15 and the boost converter 14 prior to switching the system main relay 12 from the open state to the connected state).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar charging system of Go to wherein the capacitor configured to reduce a potential difference between the second battery and the converter and the processing circuitry is configured to charge the capacitor by supplying electric power stored in the first battery to the capacitor so that no large inrush current flows when the system main relay is switched to the connected state [0053].
As to claim 2, Go in view of Shibata in view of Nozawa teaches the solar charging system according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, when a state of charge of the first battery before starting charging the second battery is less than a second prescribed value, charge the first battery by supplying electric power generated by the solar panel to the first battery ([0017] [0022] and Fig. 4 S401-S403 of Go: The charging mode immediately after the charging control system 1 is activated may be set in advance as either the solar battery charging mode or the drive battery charging mode, or it may be determined each time based on the state of charge (SOC) of the solar battery 20 immediately after activation. In solar battery charging mode, the solar ECU 30 determines whether the stored energy (SOC) of the solar battery 20 is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold SOC_H. The solar battery charging mode is a mode in which the electricity generated by the solar panel 10 is used to charge the solar battery 20, as shown in Figure 2).
Go does not disclose/teach and supply electric power from the first battery to the capacitor after charging the first battery until the state of charge is greater than or equal to the second prescribed value.
Nozawa teaches and supply electric power from the first battery to the capacitor after charging the first battery until the state of charge is greater than or equal to the second prescribed value ([0035] of Nozawa Thus, when the main switch 41 is turned on, the controller 13 charges the capacitors 214, 23 in advance by using the auxiliary battery 15 and the boost converter 14 prior to switching the system main relay 12 from the open state to the connected state).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar charging system of Go to and supply electric power from the first battery to the capacitor after charging the first battery until the state of charge is greater than or equal to the second prescribed value so that no large inrush current flows when the system main relay is switched to the connected state [0053].
As to claim 3, Go in view of Shibata in view of Nozawa teaches the solar charging system according to claim 1.
Go does not disclose/teach wherein the first battery is an auxiliary battery configured to supply electric power to an auxiliary device of a vehicle.
Nozawa teaches wherein the first battery (15) is an auxiliary battery configured to supply electric power to an auxiliary device of a vehicle ([0022] Devices supplied with power from the auxiliary battery 15 are collectively called “auxiliary devices”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar charging system of Go to wherein the first battery is an auxiliary battery configured to supply electric power to an auxiliary device of a vehicle in order to use Go’s application in electrified vehicles well known to have auxiliary batteries.
As to claim 4, Go in view of Shibata in view of Nozawa teaches the solar charging system according to claim 1, wherein the second battery is a driving battery (drive battery 50).
Go does not disclose/teach the driving battery is configured to supply electric power to a motor configured to drive a vehicle.
Nozawa teaches a driving battery is configured to supply electric power to a motor configured to drive a vehicle ([0024] The main battery 11 is a power source mainly for the traction motor 50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the driving battery of Go to configured to supply electric power to a motor configured to drive a vehicle as it is a old and well known use of drive batteries within vehicles.
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nozawa (20190135120) is cited for having the capacitor is configured to reduce a potential difference between the second battery and the converter using a stored charge and charging the capacitor by supplying electric power stored in the first battery to the capacitor.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859