DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group II, namely claims 18-20 in the reply filed on 11/07/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20120039060; “Kim” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 18: Kim discloses: a system comprising:
an optical module (100, fig. 1) comprising:
one or more optical components (121, fig. 1, image sensor, ¶[0026], ¶[0029]);
an optical module substrate (110, fig. 1), wherein the optical module substrate protrudes on at least one side of the module (figs. 1-3), wherein the protruding portion of the module substrate comprises one or more grounding pads (111, fig. 2); and
an EMI shield (130, fig. 1, ¶[0031]), wherein the EMI shield comprises at least one shield component (133, ¶[0035]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 18, and further discloses:
wherein the EMI shield is coupled to the optical module substrate via at least one of:
conductive adhesive;
solder paste; or
jetted solder (140, fig. 4-5, ¶[0041]-[0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Zhao et al (US 20180020131; “Zhao” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 18, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the optical module substrate comprises grounded conductive vias which span across the thickness of the optical module substrate and wherein the conductive vias surround the perimeter of the optical module substrate.
However, Zhao discloses:
an optical module substrate (112, fig. 1A) comprises grounded conductive vias (124, 126, fig. 1A) which span across the thickness of the optical module substrate and wherein the conductive vias extends towards a perimeter of the optical module substrate (¶[0035], [0051], [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Zhao’s teaching into Kim, so that the optical module substrate comprises grounded conductive vias which span across the thickness of the optical module substrate and wherein the conductive vias surround the perimeter of the optical module substrate, since claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Zhao. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have conceived the idea of creating such configuration. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 20090021635 A1 Camera Module. This invention relates generally to a camera, and more particularly to a circuit board of the camera having an electromagnetic shielding device.
US 20220113608 A1 Camera Module. This invention generally relates to a camera module, comprising: a housing; an elastic member; a holder; a magnet; a coil; a lens module; and a filter.
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841