DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the remarks filed in response to the restriction and/or election requirement filed on May 27, 2026.
Claims 1-7 and 14-26 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 14, 15, 17, 21, 22 and 24 are rejected.
Claims 3, 5-7, 16, 18-20, 23, 25 and 26 are objected to.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-7, 14-20 and 21-26) in the reply filed on May 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 12, 2025, June 18, 2025, August 19, 2025 and May 27, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 14, 15, 17, 21, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorond et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0036769, hereinafter Sorond, in view of Dae-Sub Oh et al. “Compatibility Study on Terrestrial Radio System Operated in the Coverage of Multi-beam Satellite System”, cited in the IDS, hereinafter Dae-Sub.
Regarding Claim 1, Sorond discloses a method (Abstract; Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0041-0044]), comprising:
determining that terrestrial network downlink transmissions for a terrestrial network and non-terrestrial network downlink transmissions for a non-terrestrial network utilize a same frequency band (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016-0025] terrestrial and non-terrestrial downlink transmissions utilizing a channel bandwidth that is shared by both NTN and TN);
identifying one or more terrestrial cells of the terrestrial network that are in a coverage area of a non-terrestrial network satellite of the non-terrestrial network; determining a coverage area of the one or more terrestrial cells; generating an exclusion zone based on the coverage areas of the one or more terrestrial cells (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Regions 220 represent regions in which a UE receives a high signal strength from base station; Regions 230 represent regions in which neither the NTN and TN has a significantly greater signal strength. To decrease interference, a BWP within the channel bandwidth that does not conflict with a second BWP within the channel bandwidth used in region 210 may be used for communication. Therefore, a UE is determined to be in region 230, the BWP used for communication with a BS may not overlap with a different BWP used for communication between the NTN and UE. different UE use different BWP definitions when communicating with a same BS to avoid interference with a NTN. This arrangement is in stark contrast to a conventional arrangement in which all UE communicating with a BS may use the same BWP; That is a coverage area of non-terrestrial cells and terrestrial cells are identified and a coverage determined to prevent interference);
selecting a first bandwidth utilization scheme for first user devices within the exclusion zone; instructing the non-terrestrial network satellite to utilize the first bandwidth utilization scheme for non-terrestrial network downlink transmissions with the first user devices within the exclusion zone (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] BWP 320 represents a BWP that can be used for uplink (and/or downlink) communications between UE and satellites of an NTN. BWP 320 may be fixed—that is, the NTN may not be able to adjust the frequencies used for such uplink and/or downlink communications. In other embodiments, the specific frequencies and bandwidth of BWP 320 may be adjustable. BWP 320 may be adjacent to, but may not overlap BWP 310. The sum of BWP 310 and BWP 320 may equal bandwidth part 300 or may be a subset of the frequencies of BWP 300. Therefore, UE communicating with a TN using BWP 310 does not interfere with UE communication with an NTN using BWP 320);
selecting a second bandwidth utilization scheme for second user devices near the exclusion zone, wherein the second bandwidth utilization scheme is different from the first bandwidth utilization scheme (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Bandwidth part 300 can represent the BWP that is active for UE in a region with a high signal strength with a terrestrial network, such as region 220. In regions near base stations of a NTN, such as regions 220 of FIG. 2, bandwidth part 300 may be used for communications (uplink or downlink) between UE and base stations 221);
and instructing border terrestrial network cells of the one or more terrestrial cells to utilize the second bandwidth utilization scheme for terrestrial network downlink transmissions to the second user devices near the exclusion zone (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] BWP 310 represents a BWP that has overlap with bandwidth part 300. UE that experiences a lower signal strength with a base station and, thus, can be expected to be closer to the edge of a cell of the TN, may communicate using BWP 310 with the TN. BWP 310 and BWP 300 may use the same subcarrier spacing. Further, the base station may manage scheduling such that interference between UEs using BWP 300 and BWP 310 does not occur. UE may be located with region 230 of FIG. 2 when assigned BWP 310. To be clear, there is no interference issue with UE that are closer to the base station and using bandwidth part 300 since individual communications between UE and the base stations are scheduled. By a UE being closer to the edge of the cell, the UE's communications are scheduled to occur within BWP 310).
Sorond discloses identifying coverage of cells in a terrestrial network and non-terrestrial network and disclose different bandwidth utilizing schemes between coverage areas but may not explicitly disclose generating an exclusion zone based on the coverage areas of the one or more terrestrial cells.
However, Dae-Sub more explicitly teaches generating an exclusion zone based on the coverage areas of the one or more terrestrial cells (Figure 3 and 4; Section 3 and 4 frequency sharing method which is implemented in a multi-beam satellite system and improves frequency sharing feasibility with terrestrial radio system within the same coverage area; A hexagonal indicates a satellite cell on the ground and the terrestrial system within a satellite cell uses the sub-bands which are not allocated in the corresponding cell for satellite services; In order to enhance the interference mitigation performance the concept of an exclusion area in the satellite cells. The exclusion area means a certain area near the border of cell where terrestrial stations do not use the frequency bands of corresponding and adjacent cells; (fig.3 & 4; §Ill: "the satellite cell, C7 employs the sub-band, f7 for satellite services"); Section IV "Using the band segmentations method, terrestrial stations in the cell C7 can use 6 sub-bands; {f1, f2, , f6}. If we set the exclusion areas at the border of the C7, the possible number of sub-band is five in these areas, so the terrestrial stations in the exclusion area cannot use the two subbands of corresponding and adjacent cells. Fig. 4 also shows the possible sub-bands in exclusion areas of C7 taking into account adjacent cells").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sorond with the teachings of Dae-Sub. Dae-Sub provides a solution to enhance interference mitigation to allow terrestrial and satellite system share the same frequency bands efficiently (Dae-Sub Abstract; Introduction and Conclusion).
Regarding Claim 2, Sorond in view of Dae-Sub disclose the method of Claim 1. Sorond in view of Dae-Sub further disclose selecting a third bandwidth utilization scheme for third user devices connected to at least one non-border terrestrial network cell of the one or more terrestrial cells; and instructing the at least one non-border terrestrial network cell to utilize the third bandwidth utilization scheme for terrestrial network downlink transmissions to the third user devices (Sorond Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Different bandwidth utilization schemes; A channel bandwidth that is to be shared among a TN and a NTN may be determined. The channel bandwidth may be based on frequencies that have been allocated to the NTN and TN. In some embodiments, the portion of the bandwidth allocated to the NTN may be fixed. At block 430, a second BWP may be assigned to UE that receive a low signal strength downlink signal from one or more base stations of the TN).
Regarding Claim 4, Sorond in view of Dae-Sub disclose the method of Claim 1. Sorond in view of Dae-Sub further disclose generating the first bandwidth utilization scheme to instruct the non-terrestrial network satellite to utilize a first frequency band for user devices within the exclusion zone; and generating the second bandwidth utilization scheme to instruct the border terrestrial network cells to utilize a second frequency band for user devices closest to an edge of the exclusion zone, wherein the first frequency band is separate from second frequency band (Sorond Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Different bandwidth utilization schemes; BWP 310 represents a BWP that has overlap with bandwidth part 300. UE that experiences a lower signal strength with a base station and, thus, can be expected to be closer to the edge of a cell of the TN, may communicate using BWP 310 with the TN. BWP 310 and BWP 300 may use the same subcarrier spacing. Further, the base station may manage scheduling such that interference between UEs using BWP 300 and BWP 310 does not occur. UE may be located with region 230 of FIG. 2 when assigned BWP 310. To be clear, there is no interference issue with UE that are closer to the base station and using bandwidth part 300 since individual communications between UE and the base stations are scheduled. By a UE being closer to the edge of the cell, the UE's communications are scheduled to occur within BWP 310).
Regarding Claim 14, Sorond discloses a system, comprising: a non-terrestrial cell of a non-terrestrial network; a plurality of terrestrial cells of a terrestrial network; and a computing device, comprising: a memory configured to store computer instructions; and a processor configured to execute the computer instructions (Abstract; Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0041-0044]) to:
determine that terrestrial network downlink transmissions for the terrestrial network and non-terrestrial network downlink transmissions for the non-terrestrial network utilize a same frequency band (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016-0025] terrestrial and non-terrestrial downlink transmissions utilizing a channel bandwidth that is shared by both NTN and TN);
determine that the plurality of terrestrial cells are in a coverage area of the non-terrestrial cell; determine a coverage area of the plurality of terrestrial cells; generate a terrestrial network cell exclusion zone based on the coverage areas of the plurality of terrestrial cells (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Regions 220 represent regions in which a UE receives a high signal strength from base station; Regions 230 represent regions in which neither the NTN and TN has a significantly greater signal strength. To decrease interference, a BWP within the channel bandwidth that does not conflict with a second BWP within the channel bandwidth used in region 210 may be used for communication. Therefore, a UE is determined to be in region 230, the BWP used for communication with a BS may not overlap with a different BWP used for communication between the NTN and UE. different UE use different BWP definitions when communicating with a same BS to avoid interference with a NTN. This arrangement is in stark contrast to a conventional arrangement in which all UE communicating with a BS may use the same BWP; That is a coverage area of non-terrestrial cells and terrestrial cells are identified and a coverage determined to prevent interference);
select a first bandwidth utilization scheme for first user devices within the exclusion zone; instruct the non-terrestrial cell to utilize the first bandwidth utilization scheme for non-terrestrial network downlink transmissions with the first user devices within the exclusion zone (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] BWP 320 represents a BWP that can be used for uplink (and/or downlink) communications between UE and satellites of an NTN. BWP 320 may be fixed—that is, the NTN may not be able to adjust the frequencies used for such uplink and/or downlink communications. In other embodiments, the specific frequencies and bandwidth of BWP 320 may be adjustable. BWP 320 may be adjacent to, but may not overlap BWP 310. The sum of BWP 310 and BWP 320 may equal bandwidth part 300 or may be a subset of the frequencies of BWP 300. Therefore, UE communicating with a TN using BWP 310 does not interfere with UE communication with an NTN using BWP 320);
identify one or more border terrestrial cells of the plurality of terrestrial cells adjacent to the exclusion zone; select a second bandwidth utilization scheme for second user devices near the exclusion zone, wherein the second bandwidth utilization scheme is different from the first bandwidth utilization scheme (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Bandwidth part 300 can represent the BWP that is active for UE in a region with a high signal strength with a terrestrial network, such as region 220. In regions near base stations of a NTN, such as regions 220 of FIG. 2, bandwidth part 300 may be used for communications (uplink or downlink) between UE and base stations 221);
and instruct the one or more border cells to utilize the second bandwidth utilization scheme for terrestrial network downlink transmissions to the second user devices near the exclusion zone (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] BWP 310 represents a BWP that has overlap with bandwidth part 300. UE that experiences a lower signal strength with a base station and, thus, can be expected to be closer to the edge of a cell of the TN, may communicate using BWP 310 with the TN. BWP 310 and BWP 300 may use the same subcarrier spacing. Further, the base station may manage scheduling such that interference between UEs using BWP 300 and BWP 310 does not occur. UE may be located with region 230 of FIG. 2 when assigned BWP 310. To be clear, there is no interference issue with UE that are closer to the base station and using bandwidth part 300 since individual communications between UE and the base stations are scheduled. By a UE being closer to the edge of the cell, the UE's communications are scheduled to occur within BWP 310).
Sorond discloses identifying coverage of cells in a terrestrial network and non-terrestrial network and disclose different bandwidth utilizing schemes between coverage areas but may not explicitly disclose generating an exclusion zone based on the coverage areas of the one or more terrestrial cells.
However, Dae-Sub more explicitly teaches generating an exclusion zone based on the coverage areas of the one or more terrestrial cells (Figure 3 and 4; Section 3 and 4 frequency sharing method which is implemented in a multi-beam satellite system and improves frequency sharing feasibility with terrestrial radio system within the same coverage area; A hexagonal indicates a satellite cell on the ground and the terrestrial system within a satellite cell uses the sub-bands which are not allocated in the corresponding cell for satellite services; In order to enhance the interference mitigation performance the concept of an exclusion area in the satellite cells. The exclusion area means a certain area near the border of cell where terrestrial stations do not use the frequency bands of corresponding and adjacent cells; (fig.3 & 4; §Ill: "the satellite cell, C7 employs the sub-band, f7 for satellite services"); Section IV "Using the band segmentations method, terrestrial stations in the cell C7 can use 6 sub-bands; {f1, f2, , f6}. If we set the exclusion areas at the border of the C7, the possible number of sub-band is five in these areas, so the terrestrial stations in the exclusion area cannot use the two subbands of corresponding and adjacent cells. Fig. 4 also shows the possible sub-bands in exclusion areas of C7 taking into account adjacent cells").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sorond with the teachings of Dae-Sub. Dae-Sub provides a solution to enhance interference mitigation to allow terrestrial and satellite system share the same frequency bands efficiently (Dae-Sub Abstract; Introduction and Conclusion).
Regarding Claim 15, Sorond in view of Dae-Sub disclose the system of Claim 14. Sorond in view of Dae-Sub further disclose wherein the processor is configured to further execute the computer instructions to: select a third bandwidth utilization scheme for third user devices connected to at least one non-border terrestrial network cell of the one or more terrestrial cell; and instruct the at least one non-border terrestrial network cell to utilize the third bandwidth utilization scheme for terrestrial network downlink transmissions to the third user devices (Sorond Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Different bandwidth utilization schemes; A channel bandwidth that is to be shared among a TN and a NTN may be determined. The channel bandwidth may be based on frequencies that have been allocated to the NTN and TN. In some embodiments, the portion of the bandwidth allocated to the NTN may be fixed. At block 430, a second BWP may be assigned to UE that receive a low signal strength downlink signal from one or more base stations of the TN).
Regarding Claim 17, Sorond in view of Dae-Sub disclose the system of Claim 14. Sorond in view of Dae-Sub further disclose wherein the processor is configured to further execute the computer instructions to: generate the first bandwidth utilization scheme to instruct the non-terrestrial network satellite to utilize a first frequency band for user devices within the exclusion zone; and generate the second bandwidth utilization scheme to instruct the border terrestrial network cells to utilize a second frequency band for user devices closest to an edge of the exclusion zone, wherein the first frequency band is separate from second frequency band (Sorond Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Different bandwidth utilization schemes; BWP 310 represents a BWP that has overlap with bandwidth part 300. UE that experiences a lower signal strength with a base station and, thus, can be expected to be closer to the edge of a cell of the TN, may communicate using BWP 310 with the TN. BWP 310 and BWP 300 may use the same subcarrier spacing. Further, the base station may manage scheduling such that interference between UEs using BWP 300 and BWP 310 does not occur. UE may be located with region 230 of FIG. 2 when assigned BWP 310. To be clear, there is no interference issue with UE that are closer to the base station and using bandwidth part 300 since individual communications between UE and the base stations are scheduled. By a UE being closer to the edge of the cell, the UE's communications are scheduled to occur within BWP 310).
Regarding Claim 21, Sorond discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions that, when executed by a processor system, cause the processor system to perform actions, the actions (Abstract; Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0041-0044]) comprising:
determining that terrestrial network downlink transmissions for a terrestrial network and non-terrestrial network downlink transmissions for a non-terrestrial network utilize a same frequency band (Figure 1; Paragraph [0016-0025] terrestrial and non-terrestrial downlink transmissions utilizing a channel bandwidth that is shared by both NTN and TN);
identifying one or more terrestrial cells of the terrestrial network that are in a coverage area of a non-terrestrial network satellite of the non-terrestrial network; determining a coverage area of the one or more terrestrial cells; generating an exclusion zone based on the coverage areas of the one or more terrestrial cells (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Regions 220 represent regions in which a UE receives a high signal strength from base station; Regions 230 represent regions in which neither the NTN and TN has a significantly greater signal strength. To decrease interference, a BWP within the channel bandwidth that does not conflict with a second BWP within the channel bandwidth used in region 210 may be used for communication. Therefore, a UE is determined to be in region 230, the BWP used for communication with a BS may not overlap with a different BWP used for communication between the NTN and UE. different UE use different BWP definitions when communicating with a same BS to avoid interference with a NTN. This arrangement is in stark contrast to a conventional arrangement in which all UE communicating with a BS may use the same BWP; That is a coverage area of non-terrestrial cells and terrestrial cells are identified and a coverage determined to prevent interference);
selecting a first bandwidth utilization scheme for first user devices within the exclusion zone; instructing the non-terrestrial network satellite to utilize the first bandwidth utilization scheme for non-terrestrial network downlink transmissions with the first user devices within the exclusion zone (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] BWP 320 represents a BWP that can be used for uplink (and/or downlink) communications between UE and satellites of an NTN. BWP 320 may be fixed—that is, the NTN may not be able to adjust the frequencies used for such uplink and/or downlink communications. In other embodiments, the specific frequencies and bandwidth of BWP 320 may be adjustable. BWP 320 may be adjacent to, but may not overlap BWP 310. The sum of BWP 310 and BWP 320 may equal bandwidth part 300 or may be a subset of the frequencies of BWP 300. Therefore, UE communicating with a TN using BWP 310 does not interfere with UE communication with an NTN using BWP 320);
selecting a second bandwidth utilization scheme for second user devices near the exclusion zone, wherein the second bandwidth utilization scheme is different from the first bandwidth utilization scheme (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Bandwidth part 300 can represent the BWP that is active for UE in a region with a high signal strength with a terrestrial network, such as region 220. In regions near base stations of a NTN, such as regions 220 of FIG. 2, bandwidth part 300 may be used for communications (uplink or downlink) between UE and base stations 221);
and instructing border terrestrial network cells of the one or more terrestrial cells to utilize the second bandwidth utilization scheme for terrestrial network downlink transmissions to the second user devices near the exclusion zone (Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] BWP 310 represents a BWP that has overlap with bandwidth part 300. UE that experiences a lower signal strength with a base station and, thus, can be expected to be closer to the edge of a cell of the TN, may communicate using BWP 310 with the TN. BWP 310 and BWP 300 may use the same subcarrier spacing. Further, the base station may manage scheduling such that interference between UEs using BWP 300 and BWP 310 does not occur. UE may be located with region 230 of FIG. 2 when assigned BWP 310. To be clear, there is no interference issue with UE that are closer to the base station and using bandwidth part 300 since individual communications between UE and the base stations are scheduled. By a UE being closer to the edge of the cell, the UE's communications are scheduled to occur within BWP 310).
Sorond discloses identifying coverage of cells in a terrestrial network and non-terrestrial network and disclose different bandwidth utilizing schemes between coverage areas but may not explicitly disclose generating an exclusion zone based on the coverage areas of the one or more terrestrial cells.
However, Dae-Sub more explicitly teaches generating an exclusion zone based on the coverage areas of the one or more terrestrial cells (Figure 3 and 4; Section 3 and 4 frequency sharing method which is implemented in a multi-beam satellite system and improves frequency sharing feasibility with terrestrial radio system within the same coverage area; A hexagonal indicates a satellite cell on the ground and the terrestrial system within a satellite cell uses the sub-bands which are not allocated in the corresponding cell for satellite services; In order to enhance the interference mitigation performance the concept of an exclusion area in the satellite cells. The exclusion area means a certain area near the border of cell where terrestrial stations do not use the frequency bands of corresponding and adjacent cells; (fig.3 & 4; §Ill: "the satellite cell, C7 employs the sub-band, f7 for satellite services"); Section IV "Using the band segmentations method, terrestrial stations in the cell C7 can use 6 sub-bands; {f1, f2, , f6}. If we set the exclusion areas at the border of the C7, the possible number of sub-band is five in these areas, so the terrestrial stations in the exclusion area cannot use the two subbands of corresponding and adjacent cells. Fig. 4 also shows the possible sub-bands in exclusion areas of C7 taking into account adjacent cells").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sorond with the teachings of Dae-Sub. Dae-Sub provides a solution to enhance interference mitigation to allow terrestrial and satellite system share the same frequency bands efficiently (Dae-Sub Abstract; Introduction and Conclusion).
Regarding Claim 22, Sorond in view of Dae-Sub disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of Claim 21. Sorond in view of Dae-Sub further disclose selecting a third bandwidth utilization scheme for third user devices connected to at least one non-border terrestrial network cell of the one or more terrestrial cells; and instructing the at least one non-border terrestrial network cell to utilize the third bandwidth utilization scheme for terrestrial network downlink transmissions to the third user devices (Sorond Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Different bandwidth utilization schemes; A channel bandwidth that is to be shared among a TN and a NTN may be determined. The channel bandwidth may be based on frequencies that have been allocated to the NTN and TN. In some embodiments, the portion of the bandwidth allocated to the NTN may be fixed. At block 430, a second BWP may be assigned to UE that receive a low signal strength downlink signal from one or more base stations of the TN).
Regarding Claim 24, Sorond in view of Dae-Sub disclose he non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Claim 21. Sorond in view of Dae-Sub further disclose generating the first bandwidth utilization scheme to instruct the non-terrestrial network satellite to utilize a first frequency band for user devices within the exclusion zone; and generating the second bandwidth utilization scheme to instruct the border terrestrial network cells to utilize a second frequency band for user devices closest to an edge of the exclusion zone, wherein the first frequency band is separate from second frequency band (Sorond Figure 1-4; Paragraph [0016-0035] Different bandwidth utilization schemes; BWP 310 represents a BWP that has overlap with bandwidth part 300. UE that experiences a lower signal strength with a base station and, thus, can be expected to be closer to the edge of a cell of the TN, may communicate using BWP 310 with the TN. BWP 310 and BWP 300 may use the same subcarrier spacing. Further, the base station may manage scheduling such that interference between UEs using BWP 300 and BWP 310 does not occur. UE may be located with region 230 of FIG. 2 when assigned BWP 310. To be clear, there is no interference issue with UE that are closer to the base station and using bandwidth part 300 since individual communications between UE and the base stations are scheduled. By a UE being closer to the edge of the cell, the UE's communications are scheduled to occur within BWP 310).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-7, 16, 18-20, 23, 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409