DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 30, 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on April 21, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but
are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palermo et al. (hereinafter “Palermo”, US 2024/0014892) as cited in IDS dated June 18, 2025 in view of Medles et al. (hereinafter “Medles”, US 2024/0098507), and further in view of Cho et al. (hereinafter “Cho”, US 2024/0022317).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Palermo discloses a method, a computing device, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform actions, comprising:
obtaining first history data on terrestrial network cell-to-user device transmissions in a terrestrial network (i.e., terrestrial interference is identified by the AI model based on at least one measurement of radio interference observed ongoing or previously measured between the SCS network communications and the terrestrial network, and the AI model comprises earth-centric learning model as described in paragraphs 0071, and 0079);
obtaining second history data on user device-to-non-terrestrial network satellite transmissions in a non-terrestrial network (i.e., terrestrial interference is identified by the AI model based on at least one measurement of radio interference observed ongoing or previously measured between the SCS network communications and the terrestrial network, and the AI model comprises space-centric learning model as described in paragraphs 0071, and 0079);
employing an artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data to generate a model of historical terrestrial network cell transmission interference on historical non-terrestrial network satellite transmissions of a non-terrestrial network satellite in the non-terrestrial network (i.e., employing AI-enabled model to detect, generate and mitigate interference as described in paragraphs 0050-0051 and 0071);
predicting current terrestrial network cell transmission interference on current non-terrestrial network satellite transmissions based on the generated model (i.e., predicting of the interference as described in paragraphs 0044, and 0049-0051); and
modifying at least one bandwidth utilization scheme for at least one terrestrial network cell of the terrestrial network and the non-terrestrial network satellite of the non-terrestrial network based on the predicted current terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference (i.e., changing to different frequencies based on AI-enabled analysis, predicted or evaluated interference as described in paragraphs 0052-0054 and 0070-0073).
However, Palermo does not disclose:
employing and determining the terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference on non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions of a non-terrestrial network satellite in the non-terrestrial network; and
the at least one bandwidth utilization scheme identifies an order in which the terrestrial network cell or the non-terrestrial network satellite allocate physical resource blocks.
In a similar endeavor, Medles discloses spectrum sharing between terrestrial network and non-terrestrial network with interference control. Medles also discloses:
employing and determining the terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference on non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions of a non-terrestrial network satellite in the non-terrestrial network (i.e., TN interference on UL transmission from NTN as described in paragraphs 0004, 0038-0040, and Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to effectively share the spectrum between the terrestrial network and the non-terrestrial network.
The combination of Palermo and Medles fails to disclose the remaining features of this claim.
Furthermore, Cho discloses method and apparatus for assigning frequency resource in non-terrestrial network. Cho also discloses the at least one bandwidth utilization scheme identifies an order in which the terrestrial network cell or the non-terrestrial network satellite allocate physical resource blocks (i.e., determining a frequency resource allocation order for allocating frequency resources to beams in consideration of a frequency band of a terrestrial system and degrees of interference to the terrestrial system as described in paragraphs 0008, 0015 and abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to maintain optimal performance while reduce the interference.
With further regard to claim 8, Palermo also discloses a computing device (i.e., a computer node 2100 as shown in Fig. 21) comprising: a memory configured to store computer instructions (i.e., memory 2106); and a processor system configured to execute the computer instructions (i.e., processor 2104 configured to execute program store on memory 2106).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Palermo, Medles and Cho disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Palermo also discloses wherein employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data to generate the model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions, comprises:
employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data for at least one target terrestrial cell in the terrestrial network to generate the model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference from the at least one target terrestrial cell on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions of the non-terrestrial network satellite (i.e., a 5G TN only zone 321, which is “target terrestrial cell in the terrestrial network” of claim language as described in paragraphs 0044-0047 and as shown in Fig. 3. Also, predicting of the interference as described in paragraphs 0044, and 0049-0051).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Palermo, Medles and Cho disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Palermo also discloses wherein employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data to generate the model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions, comprises:
employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data for at least one target terrestrial cell within a selected geographical area in a coverage area of the non-terrestrial network to generate the model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference from the at least one target terrestrial cell on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions of the non-terrestrial network satellite (i.e., SCS Zone 322, which is “target terrestrial cell in the non-terrestrial network” of claim language as described in paragraphs 0044-0047 and as shown in Fig. 3. Also, predicting of the interference as described in paragraphs 0044, and 0049-0051).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Palermo, Medles and Cho disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Palermo also discloses wherein employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data to generate the model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions, comprises:
employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data for a group of target terrestrial cells in the terrestrial network to generate the model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference from the group of target terrestrial cells on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions of the non-terrestrial network satellite (i.e., a 5G TN only zone 321, which is “target terrestrial cell in the terrestrial network” and a coverage area 320, which is a “group of cells” of claim language as described in paragraphs 0044-0047 and as shown in Fig. 3. Also, predicting of the interference as described in paragraphs 0044, and 0049-0051).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Palermo, Medles and Cho disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Palermo also discloses wherein employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data to generate the model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions, comprises:
employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data for a group of target terrestrial cells within a selected geographical area in a coverage area of the non-terrestrial network to generate the model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference from the group of target terrestrial cells on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions of the non-terrestrial network satellite (i.e., SCS Zone 322, which is “target terrestrial cell in the non-terrestrial network” and a coverage area 320, which is a “group of cells” of claim language as described in paragraphs 0044-0047 and as shown in Fig. 3. Also, predicting of the interference as described in paragraphs 0044, and 0049-0051).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Palermo, Medles and Cho disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Palermo also discloses wherein employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data to generate the model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions, comprises:
employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data for a first target terrestrial cell of the terrestrial network to generate a first model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference from the first target terrestrial cell on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions of the non-terrestrial network satellite (i.e., employing AI-enabled models to detect, generate and mitigate interference as described in paragraphs 0050-0051 and 0071); and
employing the artificial intelligence mechanism on the first and second history data for a second target terrestrial cell of the terrestrial network to generate a second model of historical terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference from the second target terrestrial cell on historical non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions of the non-terrestrial network satellite (i.e., employing AI-enabled models to detect, generate and mitigate interference as described in paragraphs 0050-0051 and 0071).
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palermo in view of Medles in view of Cho and further in view of Gopal et al. (hereinafter “Gopal”, US 2024/0089823).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Palermo, Medles and Cho disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but do not expressly disclose features of these claims.
In a similar endeavor, Gopal discloses smart network edge for hybrid space and terrestrial connectivity. Gopal also discloses wherein predicting the current terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference on the current non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions, comprises:
inputting a current time of day/day of week and a current traffic load on the at least one terrestrial network cell to predict the current terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference on the current non-terrestrial network satellite uplink transmissions (i.e., predicting the likely occurrence of interference events to/from unwanted NGSO satellites as a function of time of day as described in paragraph 0058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to prevent the likely occurrence of interference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 15, in addition to other references the Examiner found previously, Cho et al. (US 2024/0022317) teaches or suggests method and apparatus for assigning frequency resource in non-terrestrial network. Cho et al. also discloses determining a frequency resource allocation order for allocating frequency resources to beams in consideration of a frequency band of a terrestrial system and degrees of interference to the terrestrial system. This teaching of Cho et al. reads on the bandwidth utilization scheme identifies an order in which the terrestrial network cell or the non-terrestrial network satellite allocate physical resource blocks. However, Cho et al. does not expressly disclose “modifying a first bandwidth utilization scheme for a terrestrial network cell of the terrestrial network and modifying a second bandwidth utilization scheme for the non-terrestrial network satellite of the non-terrestrial network based on the predicted current terrestrial network cell downlink transmission interference, the first bandwidth utilization scheme identifies a first order in which the terrestrial network cell allocates physical resource blocks and the second bandwidth utilization scheme identifies a second order in which the non-terrestrial network satellite allocates physical resource blocks, wherein the second order is different from the first order such that the second bandwidth utilization scheme is different from the first bandwidth utilization scheme.”
Therefore, the Examiner allows independent claim 15 at least for the above reasons, in combination with all other features recited within claim.
Claims 16-20 depend either directly or indirectly upon independent claim 15; therefore, they are also allowed by virtue of their dependencies.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644