DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henry et al (US 2018/0070295).
Regarding independent claim 1, Henry teaches a method comprising: determining a client is going to roam to a new Access Point (AP) ([0027], [0038] and [0042]); and in response to determining the client is going to roam to a new AP: determining an estimated path of the client ([0027], [0038] and [0042]), determining one or more candidate APs based at least in part on the estimated path ([0027], [0038] and [0042]), determining probabilities of roaming to the one or more candidate APs based at least in part on the estimated path ([0027], [0038] and [0042], “likelihood”), generating a directional neighbor report including a list of the one or more candidate APs and the probabilities ([0027], [0038] and [0042]), and transmitting the directional neighbor report to the client ([0027], [0038] and [0042]). See also fig. 2.
Regarding independent claims 8 and 15, the claims are the corresponding apparatus claims and recite similar subject matter as in claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 1.
Regarding dependent claims 2, 9 and 16, Henry further teaches wherein determining the client is going to roam to the new AP is based on any one of (i) receiving a neighbor report request from the client, (ii) determining the client is moving outside a range of a connected AP, or (iii) a combination of (i) and (ii). See fig. 2 and [0027], [0038] and [0042].
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 10, Henry further teaches wherein determining the estimated path of the client comprises considering roaming patterns of the client, including any one of: (i) a sequence of APs the client has connected to, (ii) a movement speed of the client, (iii) a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) variation over time, or (iv) any combination of (i)-(iii). See [0025] and [0027].
Regarding dependent claims 6, 12 and 20, Henry further teaches wherein determining the probabilities of roaming to the one or more candidate APs comprises assigning weights to the one or more candidate APs indicating the probabilities. See [0009] and [0028].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry et al (US 2018/0070295) in view of Paredes Cabrera (US 2023/0140473) or Henry et al (US 20200008169).
Regarding dependent claims 3, 14 and 17, Henry teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach determining the estimated path of the client comprises utilizing an artificial intelligence algorithm (AI). However, using AI for estimating likely path of a UE/client device is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. For example, Paredes Cabrera or Henry, from the same field of endeavor, teaches using for estimating path or direction of a device. See Paredes Cabrera: [0041] and [0119] or Henry: [0023], [0033] and [0053]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Henry by employing the teachings as taught by Paredes Cabrera or Henry in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 11, 13, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Cao et al (US 2014/0098682) and Kumar et al (US 2022/0116838) are cited because they are pertinent to the method and apparatus for performing handover in network communications. However, none of the cited references teaches or suggests the further arrangements as recited in the dependent claims 5, 7, 11, 13, 18 and 19.
/DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634