DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response filed on 06/04/2026 has been entered. No Claim has been amended. No Claim has been canceled in this amendment. No New Claim has been added in this amendment.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application, with claims 1,9 and 17 being independent.
Attorney Information Request
For efficient and faster prosecution of the current application, please provide direct phone number and email address of an attorney filing a response to this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claim Interpretation 112(f) have been considered. The further information provided by the applicant has been added. The applicant has provided more supporting evidence that the corresponding structure for claims 17 is described in the specification in the following sections including, but not limited to, Figures 6-9 and paragraphs [0156-0188].
1. Applicant's arguments filed on 06/04/2026 on pages 7-8
of applicant's remark regarding Independent Claims, the applicant argues that Terry does not teach transmitting lifespan timer indication.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's
arguments for the following reasons: Terry discloses NDI to inform Node-B for buffer clearing which is an indirect indication of data being stale (Terry Para[0024-28]). The applicant here also fails to provide specific information on indication itself as the just mentioned indication of the expired time is interpreted broadly. It is the claims, not the written description, which define the scope of the patent right.” Laitram Corp. v. NEC Corp., 163 F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1998). “The main purpose of the examination, to which every application is subjected, is to try to make sure that what each claim defines is patentable... . [T]he name of the game is the claim.” In re Hiniker Co., 150 F.3d 1362, 1369 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (quoting Giles S. Rich, Extent of the Protection and Interpretation of Claims—American Perspectives, 21 Int’! Rev. Indus. Prop. & Copyright L. 497, 499 (1990)). “Though understanding the claim language may be aided by the explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not a part of the claim.” SuperGuide Corp. v. DirecTV Enters., Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875 (Fed. Cir. 2004)The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The dependent claims 2-8 are rejected based upon same motivation and rationale used for claim 1.
The dependent claims 10-16 are rejected based upon same motivation and rationale used for claim 9.
The dependent claims 18-20 are rejected based upon same motivation and rationale used for claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4,9,12,17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Terry (US 2017/0134147 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Terry”).
Regarding Claims 1,9 and 17, Terry discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication and method, comprising: one or more memories (Terry Fig.1 Para[0017] A memory (i.e. controller)) storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors (Terry Fig.1 Para[0017] A processor (i.e. controller)) coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine an expiration time of an uplink transport block (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-25] A lifespan timer (i.e. expiration timer) for data transmission); transmit an indication of the expiration time of the uplink transport block (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-25] The WTRU sends indication via NDI when the Node-B needs to clear the buffer); transmit the uplink transport block (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-26] The WTRU transmits transport blocks); determine an expiration of the indicated expiration time (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-28] The lifespan timer is checked and is expired); and refrain from retransmitting the uplink transport block based at least in part on the determined expiration (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-29] When the lifespan timer is expired, the WTRU discards data and releases HARQ process (i.e. no retransmission)).
Regarding claims 4,12 and 20, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry further discloses receive an uplink retransmission grant for the uplink transport block; and transmit at least a portion of the uplink transport block based on the received uplink retransmission grant and prior to the expiration of the indicated expiration time (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-29] The physical resources are assigned (i.e. UL grant) for retransmission and the WTRU sends data till the lifespan timer expires).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3,10-11 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry in view of OH et al. (US 2021/0168849 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Oh”).
Regarding claims 2,10 and 18, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry does not explicitly disclose wherein the expiration time is determined with respect to one or more of: an ending symbol of a service request (SR) message, or an end of a physical uplink shared channel transmission containing the uplink transport block.
However, Oh from the same field of invention discloses wherein the expiration time is determined with respect to one or more of: an ending symbol of a service request (SR) message (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or an end of a physical uplink shared channel transmission containing the uplink transport block (Oh Para[0180,0223] A PUSCH transmission end symbol is utilized to determine time resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry to have the feature of “wherein the expiration time is determined with respect to one or more of: an ending symbol of a service request (SR) message, or an end of a physical uplink shared channel transmission containing the uplink transport block” as taught by Oh. The motivation would have been to efficiently allocate resources (Oh Para[0001]).
Regarding claims 3,11 and 19, Terry in view of Oh discloses the method and the UE as explained above for Claim 1. Terry further discloses configure a new data indicator (NDI) associated with the uplink transport block to further indicate the expiration time; and transmit the NDI (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-25] The WTRU sends indication via NDI when the Node-B needs to clear the buffer).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry in view of SAKODA et al. (US 2016/0205609 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Sakoda”).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the expiration time comprises an index to a table of standard expiration time values.
However, Sakoda from the same field of invention discloses wherein the indication of the expiration time comprises an index to a table of standard expiration time values (Sakoda Para[0147] An index for a record in a table containing exptime is provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry to have the feature of “wherein the indication of the expiration time comprises an index to a table of standard expiration time values” as taught by Sakoda. The motivation would have been to properly generate and manage communication path (Sakoda Para[0007]).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry in view of MOON et al. (US 2018/0049227 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Moon”).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted as a multi-bit service request (SR).
However, Moon from the same field of invention discloses wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted as a multi-bit service request (SR) (Moon Para[0184,0203-204] The scheduling request contains multiple bits for buffer status and latency requirement)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry to have the feature of “wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted as a multi-bit service request (SR)” as taught by Moon. The motivation would have been to reduce uplink data delay (Moon Para[0017]).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry in view of Shaheen et al. (WO 2018/232034Al, hereinafter referred to as “Shaheen”).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted over a grant-free uplink data channel, and wherein the indication of the expiration time is separately encoded with uplink data.
However, Shaheen from the same field of invention discloses wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted over a grant-free uplink data channel, and wherein the indication of the expiration time is separately encoded with uplink data (Shaheen Para[0060] A grant-free resource for UL is used to send fast BSR report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry to have the feature of “wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted over a grant-free uplink data channel, and wherein the indication of the expiration time is separately encoded with uplink data” as taught by Shaheen. The motivation would have been to enhance scheduling request (Shaheen Para[0002]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry in view of FAN et al. (US 2020/0374888 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Fan”).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted in a buffer status report (BSR) message.
However, Fan from the same field of invention discloses wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted in a buffer status report (BSR) message (Fan Para[0139] A remaining time information is in the BSR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry to have the feature of “wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted in a buffer status report (BSR) message” as taught by Fan. The motivation would have been to ensure service data transmission for high reliability and low latency (Fan Para[0005]).
Although specific columns, figures, reference numerals, lines of the reference(s), etc. have been referred to, Applicant should consider the entire applied prior art reference(s).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415