DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to the application filed on 03/08/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application, with claims 1,9 and 17 being independent.
Attorney Information Request
For efficient and faster prosecution of the current application, please provide direct phone number and email address of an attorney filing a response to this office action.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
Following limitations of Claim 17:
- means for determining an expiration time of an uplink transport block;
- means for transmitting an indication of the expiration time of the uplink transport block; means for transmitting the uplink transport block;
- means for determining an expiration of the indicated expiration time;
- means for refraining from retransmitting the uplink transport block based at least in part on the determined expiration.
Are being treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because they use a generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language “determining, transmitting and refraining” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f), claim 17 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation: Published Specification Para[0163], Figure 7.
Following limitations of Claim 19:
- means for means for configuring a new data indicator (NDI) associated with the uplink transport block to further indicate the expiration time; and means for transmitting the NDI.
Are being treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because they use a generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language “configuring” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f), claim 19 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation: Published Specification Para[0163], Figure 7.
Following limitations of Claim 20:
- means for receiving an uplink retransmission grant for the uplink transport block; and means for transmitting at least a portion of the uplink transport block based on the received uplink retransmission grant and prior to the expiration of the indicated expiration time.
Are being treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because they use a generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language “transmitting and receiving” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f), claim 20 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation: Published Specification Para[0163], Figure 7.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4,9,12,17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Terry (US 2017/0134147 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Terry”).
Regarding Claims 1,9 and 17, Terry discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication and method, comprising: one or more memories (Terry Fig.1 Para[0017] A memory (i.e. controller)) storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors (Terry Fig.1 Para[0017] A processor (i.e. controller)) coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine an expiration time of an uplink transport block (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-25] A lifespan timer (i.e. expiration timer) for data transmission); transmit an indication of the expiration time of the uplink transport block (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-25] The WTRU sends indication via NDI when the Node-B needs to clear the buffer); transmit the uplink transport block (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-26] The WTRU transmits transport blocks); determine an expiration of the indicated expiration time (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-28] The lifespan timer is checked and is expired); and refrain from retransmitting the uplink transport block based at least in part on the determined expiration (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-29] When the lifespan timer is expired, the WTRU discards data and releases HARQ process (i.e. no retransmission)).
Regarding claims 4,12 and 20, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry further discloses receive an uplink retransmission grant for the uplink transport block; and transmit at least a portion of the uplink transport block based on the received uplink retransmission grant and prior to the expiration of the indicated expiration time (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-29] The physical resources are assigned (i.e. UL grant) for retransmission and the WTRU sends data till the lifespan timer expires).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3,10-11 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry in view of OH et al. (US 2021/0168849 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Oh”).
Regarding claims 2,10 and 18, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry does not explicitly disclose wherein the expiration time is determined with respect to one or more of: an ending symbol of a service request (SR) message, or an end of a physical uplink shared channel transmission containing the uplink transport block.
However, Oh from the same field of invention discloses wherein the expiration time is determined with respect to one or more of: an ending symbol of a service request (SR) message (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or an end of a physical uplink shared channel transmission containing the uplink transport block (Oh Para[0180,0223] A PUSCH transmission end symbol is utilized to determine time resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry to have the feature of “wherein the expiration time is determined with respect to one or more of: an ending symbol of a service request (SR) message, or an end of a physical uplink shared channel transmission containing the uplink transport block” as taught by Oh. The motivation would have been to efficiently allocate resources (Oh Para[0001]).
Regarding claims 3,11 and 19, Terry in view of Oh discloses the method and the UE as explained above for Claim 1. Terry further discloses configure a new data indicator (NDI) associated with the uplink transport block to further indicate the expiration time; and transmit the NDI (Terry Fig.3 Para[0024-25] The WTRU sends indication via NDI when the Node-B needs to clear the buffer).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry in view of SAKODA et al. (US 2016/0205609 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Sakoda”).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the expiration time comprises an index to a table of standard expiration time values.
However, Sakoda from the same field of invention discloses wherein the indication of the expiration time comprises an index to a table of standard expiration time values (Sakoda Para[0147] An index for a record in a table containing exptime is provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry to have the feature of “wherein the indication of the expiration time comprises an index to a table of standard expiration time values” as taught by Sakoda. The motivation would have been to properly generate and manage communication path (Sakoda Para[0007]).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry in view of MOON et al. (US 2018/0049227 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Moon”).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted as a multi-bit service request (SR).
However, Moon from the same field of invention discloses wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted as a multi-bit service request (SR) (Moon Para[0184,0203-204] The scheduling request contains multiple bits for buffer status and latency requirement)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry to have the feature of “wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted as a multi-bit service request (SR)” as taught by Moon. The motivation would have been to reduce uplink data delay (Moon Para[0017]).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry in view of Shaheen et al. (WO 2018/232034Al, hereinafter referred to as “Shaheen”).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted over a grant-free uplink data channel, and wherein the indication of the expiration time is separately encoded with uplink data.
However, Shaheen from the same field of invention discloses wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted over a grant-free uplink data channel, and wherein the indication of the expiration time is separately encoded with uplink data (Shaheen Para[0060] A grant-free resource for UL is used to send fast BSR report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry to have the feature of “wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted over a grant-free uplink data channel, and wherein the indication of the expiration time is separately encoded with uplink data” as taught by Shaheen. The motivation would have been to enhance scheduling request (Shaheen Para[0002]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry in view of FAN et al. (US 2020/0374888 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Fan”).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Terry discloses the UE and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Terry does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted in a buffer status report (BSR) message.
However, Fan from the same field of invention discloses wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted in a buffer status report (BSR) message (Fan Para[0139] A remaining time information is in the BSR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry to have the feature of “wherein the indication of the expiration time is transmitted in a buffer status report (BSR) message” as taught by Fan. The motivation would have been to ensure service data transmission for high reliability and low latency (Fan Para[0005]).
Although specific columns, figures, reference numerals, lines of the reference(s), etc. have been referred to, Applicant should consider the entire applied prior art reference(s).
Additional References
The following prior arts are made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0106924 to Seidel (Fig.11 and associated paragraphs)
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/defau1Vfiles/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415