DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit – Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO may have changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2675.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the claims
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 13, 16, and 18-27 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 have been amended.
Claims 26 and 27 are new.
Claims 3, 8-12, 14, 15, and 17 have been cancelled.
Response to Remarks/Arguments on the Merit
Please refer to the following references cited in the Non-Final Office Action Dated 6/25/2025:
Chauvin et al. (US 2019/0258437 A1) “Chauvin”
Walton (US 2008/0259363 A1) “Walton”
The Applicant’s arguments, on pages 15 through 23 of the Remarks section filed on 12/23/2025 are fully considered, with respect to independent claims 1, 5, 24, and 25.
Independent claims 1, 5, 24, and 25 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chauvin in view of Walton.
Regarding claims 1, 24, and 25:
The Applicant argues: The combination of Chauvin and Walton do not teach: where “a degree of compression of the first color conversion of a first color gamut corresponding to a plurality of pixels included in the first partial page into a print color gamut and a degree of compression of the second color conversion of a second color gamut corresponding to a plurality of pixels included in the second partial page into the print color gamut are different from each other.”
The Examiner agrees.
Regarding claim 5:
The Applicant argues similarly to claims 1, 24, and 25.
The Examiner responds: Claim 5 is not argued separately. Claim 5 does not include the limitations of claims 1, 24, and 25 as amended. Therefore, claim 5 is rejected in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because:
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) mathematical concepts and a mental process. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the abstract idea is merely a method which can be performed by a person using a writing instrument and paper with the aid of a calculator to perform mathematical calculations.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because setting pages with a particular color gamut can be performed by a person using conventional tools.
Step 1. The claims are directed to a Process, Machine, and Article of Manufacture.
Step 2A. Prong 1. The invention comprises an Abstract Idea of: Mathematical Concepts and a Mental Process.
Mathematical Concepts of: “color conversion” and “compression” Please refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I C. e.g. “Mathematical Calculations”.
A Mental Process of: preparing “partial page”(s) having “color gamut”(s) . MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III B. e.g. “A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process”.
Step 2A Prong 2. There are no additional elements which are directed to integration into a practical application and tied to a particular device. There is no stated technical improvement for gamut mapping and compression. The claims are not directed to a device such as a printer and the claims are not directed to produce a printed product. MPEP 2106.04(d)(1), 2106.05
Step 2B. Are there additional elements that amount to significantly more?
The claims cite a process which can be performed by a human using mathematical concepts with the aid of conventional tools and a human performing the processes mentally. There are no additional elements that amount to significantly more. Converting colors on partial pages is generic, can be performed by a human using conventional tools, and lacks the details for a significant technical improvement or an inventive concept. MPEP 2106.05.
Therefore Claims 24 and 25 are rejected as an Abstract Idea and are non-statutory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 5, 6, 7, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chauvin et al. (US 2019/0258437 A1) “Chauvin” in view of in view of Walton et al. (US 2008/0259363 A1) “Walton”.
5. Chauvin teaches: An image processing apparatus ("printing system 100" [0020]) comprising: one or more circuits ("circuitry" [0021]); or one or more processors ("controller 134 [0021]) and at least one memory ("memory 132" [0021]), the at least one memory being coupled to the one or more processors (The memory and controller are coupled to each other as shown in FIG. 1) and having stored thereon instructions executable by the one or more processors ("hardware processor executing programmed instructions" [0021]), wherein at least one of the one or more circuits or the execution of the instructions cause the image processing apparatus to function as: an acquisition unit (acquire a "print job 112" [0026])"
Chauvin does not explicitly teach where the acquisition unit acquires a plurality of partial original data including at least a first partial original data and a second partial original data, wherein the plurality of partial original data is included in original data of a print target of a print unit a setting unit configured to set a color gamut of the first partial original data based on a predetermined color gamut corresponding to a print color gamut of the print unit and a color of a pixel value included in the first partial original data, and to set a color gamut of the second partial original data based on the predetermined color gamut and a color of a pixel value included in the second partial original data; a decision unit configured to decide, based on the set color gamut of the first partial original data and the print color gamut a first color mapping method of the first partial original data to the print color gamut, and decide, based on the set color gamut of the second partial original data and the print color gamut, a second color mapping method of the second partial original data to the print color gamut; and a color conversion unit configured to perform color conversion of the first partial original data into the print color gamut and perform color conversion of the second partial original data into the print color gamut, wherein regarding each of the first partial original data and the second partial original data, in a case when all pixel values of partial original data are included in the predetermined color gamut, the setting unit sets, as the color gamut of the partial original data, the predetermined color gamut, and in a case when at least one pixel value of the partial original data is not included in the predetermined color gamut, the setting unit sets, as the color gamut of the partial original data, an expanded color gamut including the at least one pixel value.
However, Walton teaches: acquiring a plurality of partial original data including at least a first partial original data (“text 54” [0020) and a second partial original data ("graphics 56" [0020]. Shown in FIG. 2) , wherein the plurality of partial original data is included in original data of a print target of a print unit a setting unit configured to set a color gamut of the first partial original data based on a predetermined color gamut corresponding to a print color gamut of the print unit and a color of a pixel value included in the first partial original data (“ANALYZE COLOR GAMUT OF ALL PORTIONS OF PRINT JOB 202” FIG. 4 [0027] to "PRINT PORTIONS WITHOUT EXTENDED COLOR GAMUT 206" FIG. 4 [0029]) , and to set a color gamut of the second partial original data based on the predetermined color gamut and a color of a pixel value included in the second partial original data (“ANALYZE COLOR GAMUT OF ALL PORTIONS OF PRINT JOB 202” FIG. 4 [0027] to "PRINT PORTIONS WITH EXTENDED COLOR GAMUT 208" FIG. 4 [0029]) ; a decision unit configured to decide, based on the set color gamut of the first partial original data and the print color gamut a first color mapping method of the first partial original data to the print color gamut (identify portions of the print job that do not need an extended gamut (step 204) in FIG. 4 [0029]), and decide, based on the set color gamut of the second partial original data and the print color gamut, a second color mapping method of the second partial original data to the print color gamut ("the system identifies portions that include colors that lie outside the base color gamut, these portions are then printed with the extended color gamut (step 208)." FIG. 4 [0029]); and a color conversion unit configured to perform color conversion of the first partial original data into the print color gamut ("rendered in a more common (e.g. four-color) process " [0017]) and perform color conversion of the second partial original data into the print color gamut ("extended gamut (e.g. 6 color) color file" [0016]), wherein regarding each of the first partial original data and the second partial original data, in a case when all pixel values of partial original data are included in the predetermined color gamut, the setting unit sets, as the color gamut of the partial original data, the predetermined color gamut ("PRINT PORTIONS WITHOUT EXTENDED COLOR GAMUT 206" FIG. 4 [0029]) , and in a case when at least one pixel value of the partial original data is not included in the predetermined color gamut, the setting unit sets, as the color gamut of the partial original data, an expanded color gamut including the at least one pixel value ("PRINT PORTIONS WITH EXTENDED COLOR GAMUT 208" FIG. 4 [0029].) .
The acquisition of acquiring a print job of Chauvin can be modified by Walton to partition a print job and print portions of the print job using a predetermined color gamut, or to print portions of the print job using an extended color gamut.
The motivation for the combination is provided by “If the extended gamut is not required, this system turns off the extra colors for that page only, saving the customer money, and reducing the time to print that page, and subsequently the whole print job.” [0017].
Therefore, the Applicant’s claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and the claim is rejected.
6. The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein in the second color mapping method, a degree of compression of a color space in the print color gamut is lower than in the first color mapping method (The second color mapping method expands the gamut whereas the first color mapping method does not expand the gamut. The second color mapping method is compressed lower than the first color mapping method of Walton.) .
Therefore, the Applicant’s claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and the claim is rejected.
7. The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein in the second color mapping method, compression of a color space is not performed in the print color gamut (The second color space points “114” and “116” is not compressed to include the internal gamut boundary of the first color space points “112” and “110” in FIG. 3 of Walton).
Therefore, the Applicant’s claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and the claim is rejected.
16. The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein a target of the decision setting unit is a double-page spread in double-sided printing, which is included in a plurality of pages, to the target (A double page spread “48” “50” and double sided printing “36” are shown in FIG. 2 of Walton [0020].).
The images for printing of Chauvin can be modified by Walton to include double-sided and double-page images for printing.
The motivation for the combination is provided by “If the extended gamut is not required, this system turns off the extra colors for that page only, saving the customer money, and reducing the time to print that page, and subsequently the whole print job.” [0017].
Therefore, the Applicant’s claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and the claim is rejected.
18. The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of partial original data include at least one of a text area, a box area, and an image area ("the various print pages can include text 54 and graphics 56, which can include color images, text, design elements, etc." [0020] shown in FIG. 2 of Walton.) .
The images for printing of Chauvin can be modified by Walton to include text and images.
The motivation for the combination is provided by “If the extended gamut is not required, this system turns off the extra colors for that page only, saving the customer money, and reducing the time to print that page, and subsequently the whole print job.” [0017].
Therefore, the Applicant’s claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and the claim is rejected.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chauvin et al. (US 2019/0258437 A1) "Chauvin" view of Walton et al. (US 2008/0259363 A1) "Walton" and further in view of Shirasawa (US 2008/0218779 A1) "Shirasawa".
13. Chauvin and Walton teach: The apparatus according to claim 5 having a first and second color mapping..
Chauvin and Walton do not explicitly teach: where the first and second color mapping is from a color gamut of a display to the print color gamut.
However Shirasawa teaches: where the first and second color mapping is from a color gamut of a display to the print color gamut. ("Colors appearing on display devices, however, cannot be reproduced as they are because a color reproduction range (color gamut) of an electrophotographic printer or an ink-jet printer is significantly smaller than that of display devices." [0006]).
The conversion of original data to print data of Chauvin and Walton can be modified by Shirasawa to compress the original data as viewed by the color gamut of the display to the color gamut of a printer.
The motivation for the combination is provided by Shirasawa to provide "an image processing apparatus that converts an input color signal to a color signal reproducible by an output device" [0016].
Therefore, the Applicant's claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and the claim is rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 4, 19-23, 26, and 27 are allowed.
Claims 24 and 25 would be allowed if the 101 Abstract Idea rejection is overcome.
The following is an Examiner' s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest reference of record is Chauvin et al. (US 2019/0258437 A1). In the Applicant' s independent claims 1, 24, and 25 the reference of Chauvin does not teach:
setting a first partial page and a second partial page different from the first partial page based on performing a first color conversion of a first color gamut corresponding to a plurality of pixels included in the first partial page into a print color gamut and perform a second color conversion of a second color gamut corresponding to a plurality of pixels included in the second partial page into the print color gamut, wherein each of the first color gamut and the second color gamut includes a color gamut that is not included in the print color gamut, and a degree of compression of the first color conversion and a degree of compression of the second color conversion are different from each other.
Chauvin fails to directly anticipate or render the above underlined limitations obvious (to be used with other claimed limitations).
Relevant Prior Art
WO (2013/066719 A1)
Abstract
A method and apparatus are provided by which optimum usage of available color space of an output device, e.g. an inkjet printer or laser printer, is achieved. Gamut compression is dynamically computed by being dependent on contents of a print job, as opposed to only using pre-calculated or static tables or ICC rendering intents.
Conclusion
/TED W. BARNES/ Ph.D. Electrical Engineering
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2682
/TED W BARNES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682