CTNF 18/600,461 CTNF 89919 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-25 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in JAPAN on 01/11/2022 . It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2022-002023 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Examiner notes that Applicant provided an access code for retrieval of the foreign priority document through the Priority Document Exchange Program (see the Application Data Sheet received on 03/08/2024). While the Office has attempted retrieval, Applicant was notified on 04/02/2024 that retrieval was unsuccessful. When retrieval is unsuccessful, Applicant must nonetheless provide a certified copy of the foreign document within the appropriate timeframe. See MPEP §215.01 for more information on the Electronic Priority Document Exchange Program. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. At this time, some of these errors make it difficult to determine whether Applicant has complied with the enablement requirements of §112; as it is unlikely that Applicant would intentionally recite subject matter which is not properly enabled by the disclosure as filed, Examiner has not presented rejections under §112(a) at this time. The portions of the claims which might raise such issues are discussed in the §112(b) rejections, below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As noted above, the claims appear to be a literal translation of a foreign document, resulting in numerous instances of limitations that are unclear or otherwise indefinite. Due to the pervasive nature of issues arising as a result of probably translation errors and issues, Examiner has provided a copy of each claim below, annotated to identify issues of clarity and definiteness. 1. A connector comprising: connection conductors 1 , 2 that include a braided wire that has been braided in a tubular shape, and a conductor that has been inserted into the braided wire, and extend in the first direction 3 ; first terminals 1 that have been joined to a first end of each of the connection conductors 4 , and include connection portion 1 connected to a counterpart terminal 5 ; second terminals 1 that have been joined to a second end of each of the connection conductors 6 , and connected to electric wires 1 ; and a housing that retains the first terminals and second terminals, wherein two of the connection conductors are arranged in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction 7 , two of the first terminals are arranged in the second direction 7 , and two of the second terminals are arranged in the second direction 7 , the conductor extends from the first end to the second end, in the conductor, a portion 8 between the first end and the second end has a columnar shape or a cylindrical shape, and a rotation position of the first terminal 9 and the rotation position 10 of the second terminal 9 relative to an axial direction of the connection conductor 9 are different from each other in such a way that an interval between the connection portions in the second direction relative to an interval between the electric wires in the second direction is small 11 . 2. The connector according to claim 1, further comprising: third terminals 1 that have been joined to the electric wires, wherein the second terminal 9 is connected to the electric wire via the third terminal 9 , and the second terminal 9 and the third terminal 9 are fastened to the housing by a bolt. 3. The connector according to claim 2, wherein the electric wire is led out in a third direction that is orthogonal to both the first direction and the second direction, the second terminal 9 includes a second connection portion that is connected to the third terminal 9 , and a swaged portion that is joined to the connection conductor 9 , the second terminal 9 is joined to the connection conductor 9 in such a way that an axial direction of the swaged portion matches the axial direction of the connection conductor 9 , and the second connection portion is orthogonal to the axial direction of the swaged portion, and inclined relative to the third direction. 4. A terminal connection method comprising: a process of joining a first terminal to a first end of a connection conductor; and a process of joining a second terminal to a second end of the connection conductor, wherein the first end and the second end before joining 12 include a braided wire 13 that has been braided in a tubular shape and a conductor that has been inserted into the braided wire 14 , the conductor having a columnar shape or a cylindrical shape, and the first terminal and the second terminal are joined to the connection conductor in rotation positions 11 that are different from each other relative to an axial direction of the connection conductor. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0051286 (“Itsuki”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0316573 (“Uno”), as best understood by Examiner in view of the rejections under §112, above . Regarding claim 1, Itsuki discloses: A connector (title, abstract, FIGS) comprising: connection conductors (FIG 3:50) that include a flexible wire (51) having a tubular covering (see FIG 4, where the core of wire 51 is shown surrounded by a tubular covering), and a conductor (the portion of inner wire 51 which is surrounded by the unlabeled tubular covering, as shown by FIG 4) that has been inserted into the insulation (as seen in FIG 4), and extend in the first direction (conductive members 50 extend along the direction labeled “FBD” in FIG 4); first terminals (52) that have been joined to a first end of each of the connection conductors (as shown in FIG 4; see also para. [0034]), and include connection portion connected to a counterpart terminal (52A; see para. [0035]); second terminals (53A) that have been joined to a second end of each of the connection conductors (as shown in FIG 4; see also para. [0034]), and connected to electric wires (70); and a housing (20) that retains the first terminals and second terminals (as shown), wherein two of the connection conductors are arranged in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction (see FIG 8 15 ; the direction “FBD” shown in FIG 4 would correspond to a line passing vertically through FIG 8; thus, FIG 8 depicts two connection conductors, 50, arranged along an axis which passes horizontally through FIG 8), two of the first terminals (52) are arranged in the second direction (as shown in FIG 8), and two of the second terminals (FIG 8, where intermediate terminals 231 of the second embodiment correspond to intermediate terminals 53 of the first embodiment) are arranged in the second direction (as shown, the intermediate terminals are also arranged along the horizontal axis), the conductor extends from the first end to the second end (as seen in FIG 4), in the conductor, a portion between the first end and the second end has a columnar shape or a cylindrical shape (as shown by FIGS 3 and 4), and a rotation position of the first terminal and the rotation position of the second terminal relative to an axial direction of the connection conductor are different from each other in such a way that an interval between the connection portions in the second direction relative to an interval between the electric wires in the second direction is small (as seen in FIG 8, the distance between first terminals 52 is narrower than a distance between electric wires 70, thus Examiner finds that “a rotation position” of the first terminals is different from “a rotation position” of the second terminal as recited by the instant claim). Itsuki does not explicitly disclose the tubular covering of the flexible wire 51 is specifically a braided wire. Uno discloses a similarly configured connector wherein a connection conductor (FIGS 3, 11; flexible conductive member 29) comprises “a flexible conductor and a braided wire that may be formed by braiding thin metal wires of aluminum or aluminum alloy into a mesh” (para. [0042]). While not explicitly stated to be tubular, it may be reasonably inferred from FIGS 3 and 11 that the connection conductor is tubular. Since the connection conductor of Uno “comprises a flexible conductor and a braided wire,” it may also be reasonably inferred that the braided wire is tubular and surrounding the flexible conductor. Thus, Uno discloses “connection conductors that include a braided wire that has been braided in a tubular shape, and a conductor that has been inserted into the braided wire” as recited by the instant claim. While Uno does not explicitly disclose a motivation for providing a flexible braided wire surrounding a flexible conductor, it is generally known in the art to provide wiring with such a flexible braided wire covering for the purposes of shielding the wiring core. As such, Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (prior to the effective filing date) to modify Itsuki such that flexible wire 51 is surrounding with a flexible braided wire made of conductive material, as disclosed by Uno, for the purposes of shielding flexible wire 51, preventing undesirable electromagnetic interferences that would emanate from or into flexible wire 51, as is generally well-known in the art. Regarding claim 2, the combination of Itsuki in view of Uno (“the first combination”) discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and Itsuki further discloses third terminals (FIG 3:53B) that have been joined to the electric wires (70), wherein the second terminal is connected to the electric wire via the third terminal (second terminal 53A is connected to third terminal 53B by intermediate portion 53C), and the second terminal and the third terminal are fastened to the housing by a bolt (140; see also para. [0053]). Regarding claim 3, the first combination discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 2 and Itsuki further discloses the electric wire is led out in a third direction (with reference to FIG 3, the first direction corresponds to line “FBD,” the second direction is the axis along which the view of FIG 3 is provided, and the third direction is the line “VD”) that is orthogonal to both the first direction and the second direction (VD is orthogonal to FBD and the axis along which FIG 3 is viewed), the second terminal includes a second connection portion (53C) that is connected to the third terminal (as seen in FIG 3), and a swaged portion that is joined to the connection conductor (as seen in FIG 4), the second terminal is joined to the connection conductor in such a way that an axial direction of the swaged portion matches the axial direction of the connection conductor (both the connection conductor and the swaged portion extend in the same axial direction), and the second connection portion (53C) is orthogonal to the axial direction of the swaged portion (as shown), and inclined relative to the third direction (para. [0036] provides that portion 53C is bent into an L-shape, thus at least some portion of 53C is “inclined” relative to the third direction). Regarding claim 4, Applicant effectively recites a method of assembling the connector of claim 1. The first combination discloses the connector of claim 1, as detailed above. As Itsuki further discloses the means of connecting the various elements of the connector, Examiner finds that Itsuki inherently discloses the method of assembling the connector. As such, the rejection of claim 1 applies, mutatis mutandis , to the subject matter of claim 4. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THOMAS K QUIGLEY whose telephone number is (571)272-4050. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, TULSIDAS PATEL can be reached at 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THOMAS K QUIGLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/600,461 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/600,461 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/600,461 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/600,461 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/600,461 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/600,461 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/600,461 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/600,461 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/600,461 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/600,461 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834 1 This is not a clear and positive recitation of the element. 2 As the element is not clearly and positively recited, Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “ a plurality of connection conductors….” 3 This limitation is indefinite for lack of antecedent basis; Applicant does not previously recite “a first direction” such that “the first direction” might be referenced. Appropriate correction is required. 4 It is unclear from the claim language whether the “first terminals” are joined to all of the first ends, or if each of the first ends are connected to a respective one of the first terminals. As both of these options are plausible interpretations of the claim language, the scope of the claim is indefinite. Appropriate correction is required. 5 It is unclear what constitutes a “counterpart terminal” in context of the claims. Applicant does not elaborate on what the “counterpart terminal” is or what elements it is connected to other than the first terminals. A review of the disclosure as filed provides no clear insight, as the only other reference to a “counterpart terminal” is in the Summary of the Invention section of the Specification. Every other reference to a “counterpart” is made to “counterpart equipment.” As a result, Examiner is unable to determine whether a “counterpart terminal” is meant to refer to, for example, a mating connector , or if it is instead a translational error meant to refer to another terminal within the claimed connector . 6 The discussion of footnote 4 applies equally here, save for the changes in language to “second terminals” and “second end of each of the connection conductors.” Appropriate correction is required. 7 It is unclear how connection conductors which “extend in the first direction” might simultaneously be arranged “in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction.” With reference to FIG 2, connection conductors 2 extend along the X axis (as denoted by the figure) and are arranged in the same direction. It would appear that these conductors are arranged along a second direction, e.g. , the Y axis of FIG 2. For purposes of examination, the limitations noted with this footnote will be interpreted as reciting arrangement along the second direction rather than in the second direction. Appropriate clarification is required. 8 It is unclear what “portion” is being referenced due to Applicant’s recitation of “in the conductor.” As best understood by Examiner, Applicant is attempting to claim that a portion of the conductor between the first end and the second end is columnar or cylindrical in shape. Appropriate clarification is required. 9 These limitations are indefinite because they reference a singular instance of each element when the claim previously establishes multiple of each element without specifying which of the plural elements is being referenced. Appropriate clarification is required. 10 This limitation is indefinite for lack of antecedent basis; Applicant does not previously recite “a rotation position of the second terminal such that “the rotation position of the second terminal” might be referenced. Appropriate correction is required. 11 It is unclear what constitutes a “rotation position” in context of the claims or the disclosure as filed. There does not appear to be any element or component of the claimed device which is capable of rotating or being rotated. Discussion of “rotation positions” within the Specification reference FIGS 7 and 8. There, Applicant appears to discuss the angle of the terminals relative to an axis of the connector . Furthermore, it is unclear what Applicant is attempting to convey by reciting the space between the connection conductors ( i.e. , “the interval”) is “small” relative to the space between the electric wires. Does this limitation required the distance between conduction connectors be smaller than the distance between wires? Or does it require that the differences in the distance values be small, e.g. , a distance between the conduction connectors is larger than a distance between the wires, but the difference between the distance values is negligible? The disclosure as filed provides no additional insight, as Applicant states “the interval Wd1…can be freely set relative to an interval Wd2,” thus implying that it is possible for Wd1 to be arbitrarily set to be wider or narrower than Wd2. Appropriate clarification is required. 12 The lack of appropriate grammar creates an issue of ambiguity; the limitation may be plausibly interpreted as “the first end” and “the second end before joining” such that “the first end” would not include braided wire or a conductor prior to joining. As best understood by Examiner, this is not Applicant’s intent and, thus, appropriate clarification is required. 13 It is unclear whether this recitation is the result of translational errors, or whether Applicant is attempting to recite subject matter which is inconsistent with the disclosure as filed. As disclosed, it is not the first and second ends which “include a braided wire,” but instead it is each of the connection conductors which include a braided wire and a conductor inserted within the braided wire. The first and second ends are a portion of the connection conductors , specifically opposing end portions of the connection conductor . Thus, the recitation of claim 4 is not consistent with that which is disclosed by Applicant. 14 As a result of the seemingly improper recitation of subject matter, it is also unclear whether each of the first and second ends have a respective braided wire and conductor, i.e. , whether there are plural braided wires and plural conductors for each of the connection conductors. 15 While FIGS 5-12 depict a “second embodiment” as disclosed in para. [0055], this second embodiment is disclosed as differing solely in that the intermediate terminals are press-fit rather than screwed or bolted as in the first embodiment. Thus, the positioning of the elements would remain the same within the first embodiment.