Applicant’s Submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 2/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blount (US 2002/0185447) in view of Faur et al. (US 2002/0008012).
Regarding claim 2, Blount teaches at least one primary treatment subsystem with means capable of adjusting the pH (“adding alkali or acidic catalyst: alkali metal hydroxide”), at least one reactor/vessel capable of being heated above 240 C (464 F) at elevated pressures further capable of maintaining a liquid therein, at least one heat exchanger/heat exchange system capable of controlling the temperature of the liquid in the reactor and a means capable of separating solids from liquids (filtering) as a tertiary treatment process ([0018] and Claim 1).
It is noted that Blount teaches the reactor temperature is controlled via a heat exchanger ([0018]). One skilled in the art would recognize that heat exchangers heat one fluid/liquid by the heat of a different fluid and most heat exchangers have a first/main chamber for the fluid being heated and a second chamber adjacent the main chamber for the heating fluid that heats the liquid in the main chamber (see Faur heat exchangers 12 15 in Figs. 1 and 7-9). It is Examiner’s position that one skilled in the art would understand the heat exchange system for the reactor to have the structure as claimed, or it would have been obvious to provide the structure claimed as it is how heat exchangers are typically made.
Blount fails to teach a heating vessel that heats the incoming liquid to the reactor with the liquid exiting the reactor. Faur teaches an apparatus where a liquid to be treated is combined with chemicals and heated to specific temperatures in a reactor and after exiting the reactor, the heated and treated liquid is passed through a heat exchanger/heating vessel in order to heat the incoming liquid to the reactor thereby using the waste heat of the heated and treated liquid thereby reducing the amount of heat necessary to reach the desired reactor temperature ([0061]). As such, it would have been obvious to provide a heating vessel as claimed in order to preheat the incoming stream going to the reactor with the waste heat from the stream exiting the reactor thereby reducing the heat necessary to heat up the fluid inside the reactor to the desired temperatures.
It is noted that the specific method steps the apparatus is intended to perform as well as the material worked upon and the results of the treatment processes are not given patentable weight. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (The preamble of claim 1 recited that the apparatus was "for mixing flowing developer material" and the body of the claim recited "means for mixing ..., said mixing means being stationary and completely submerged in the developer material." The claim was rejected over a reference which taught all the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of mixing flowing developer. However, the mixer was only partially submerged in the developer material. The Board held that the amount of submersion is immaterial to the structure of the mixer and thus the claim was properly rejected.). "Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).
Regarding claim 3, Blount teaches a means to add chemical additives and that pH can be adjusted. The specific pH claimed is an intended use based on a specific fluid being treated and is not given patentable weight. All necessary structure is provided allowing the pH level to be 10 is taught and the apparatus claim is considered to be anticipated.
Regarding claims 4-7 and 9, Blount teaches that the fluid being treated can be mixed with multiple chemicals/components that can perform different functions ([0006]-[0017]). As no specific sources of chemicals is claimed only desired chemicals added as part of operation, the specific chemicals used are not given patentable weight, only the structure capable of adding different chemicals. Therefore, Blount reads on claims 4-7 as it teaches multiple components being added.
Regarding claim 8, Blount teaches the primary treatment subsystem is capable of removing solids ([0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Blount teaches a tertiary treatment subsystem capable of remove insoluble material downstream of the reactor (claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Blount teaches multiple means that are capable of disinfecting, such as high temperatures to kill pathogenic organisms, distillation, and evaporation/burning (claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, as discussed in claim 2 above, Blount teaches a primary treatment subsystem capable of adding various chemicals and a secondary treatment subsystem having a reactor capable of being operated at the temperatures claimed and at a high pressure, wherein the reactor is comprised of the main and secondary chambers, and the heating vessel is capable of operating as claimed. Further, the specific chemicals added, pressures, temperatures, and results of using the apparatus are not given patentable weight as apparatus claims are directed to the structure claimed and not the intended use.
Regarding claims 13-21, see claims 3-11 respectively.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13, 17, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,827,536. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claims 2 and 12 are disclosed in claims 13, 17 and 20 of `536 teaches a system capable providing a primary treatment process in a primary treatment subsystem, a reactor capable of being heated to 350F and liquid maintained therein, and a tertiary treatment process being performed via filtering and polishing subsystems while claim 17 of `536 teaches that pH adjustment chemical additives are capable of being added as part of the primary treatment subsystem and claim 20 teaches a heat exchanger/heating vessel. It is noted that the reactor is not explicitly claimed to have a heat exchanger type design of two separate chambers but such designs are known in the art and would be one of the few possible means to heat the contents within the reactor (direct or indirect/heat exchange heating). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide all structural elements in claims 13, 17, and 20 and the heat exchange type design for the reactor. Claims 3-7, 9, 13-17, and 19 merely recite operational parameters or potential chemicals that can be added during the process of using the apparatus. The apparatus of claim 17 is capable of being operated and providing different chemicals and therefore meets the claim limitations. The subject matter of claim 8 and 18 is present in claim 13 of `536. It is submitted that the polishing means in claim 13 of `536 would also provide disinfecting results thereby reading on the claim limitation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The above rejection has been modified to address the added claim limitations and structure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER KEYWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777