DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/29/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 06/29/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 1 and 13 both recite pyrolyzing a hydrocarbon feedstock into pyrolysis gases at a pyrolyzation temperature in a pyrolysis reactor, and therefore there would not be a serious search and/or examination burden to examine both the product of claims 1-12 and the apparatus of claims 13-19.
This is not found persuasive because, while as Applicant notes the product and apparatus claims both relate to pyrolysis of a hydrocarbon feedstock, as noted previously, the product of claims 1-12 could be produced by any apparatus that can reduce metal. Further, the product of claims 1 (metal oxide reduction product, i.e., reduced metal), incorporate almost entirely product by process limitations, such that the only structure implied by the steps is that it is a reduced metal. Therefore, relevant prior art to claims 1-12 would extend far beyond reduction of metal by use of pyrolysis gases or hydrocarbon feedstocks. This is demonstrated by the Examiner’s observation that a DRI shaft furnace using hydrogen and/or carbon monoxide (i.e., not necessarily the pyrolysis gases or even the same gas(es) used by the apparatus of claim 13), or even a blast furnace (as blast furnaces also produce reduced metal, and nothing in the instant claims requires the reduction in CO2 emissions noted by Applicant). There is further a serious search/examination burden between Groups I and II in view of their different classifications (reduced metals are classified in C22B5/12, while a system or obtaining metal [i.e., furnaces] are classified in F27 of the CPC scheme).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of MPEP 609.04(a)(III), which states in part that “Each information disclosure statement must further include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information listed that is not in the English language.” In the instant case, no English language translation or explanation of the relevance of the CN 113030568 B has been supplied with the IDS filed 05/17/2024. While the IDSs are being considered at this time, subsequent IDS documents are expected to conform to the aforementioned standards.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7: “methane, natural gas” should read “methane and natural gas” to clarify that methane and natural gas comprise the complete list of potential hydrocarbon feedstocks
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Astoria et al. (US 20200385827 A1, cited in IDS filed 05/17/2024).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-12, Astoria teaches a process for the production of direct reduced iron (DRI) (i.e., a metal oxide reduction product) (Title, abstract), obtained in a metal oxide reduction reaction with hydrogen [0014].
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are product-by-process claims because they seek to define the claimed product by its method of manufacture. The preamble of the claims is directed to a metal oxide reduction product, but the body of the claims recites limitations directed to the method of manufacturing the reduced metal, or limiting an apparatus used to perform the method of manufacturing.
The patentability of product-by-process claims is determined by characteristics of the product itself recited in the claim, not on its method of manufacture. When the prior art discloses a product appearing to be identical or substantially identical to the claimed product, the burden falls on applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP § 2113. In this case, the product is a metal oxide reduction product (i.e., reduced metal) and prior art disclosing the limitations of the reduced metal will meet the claim limitations regardless the method of manufacture and precursor components used. As the remainder of the limitations of claim 1 and all of the limitations of dependent claims 2-5 and 7-12 are directed to the method of manufacturing the reduced metal, or limiting an apparatus used to perform the method of manufacturing, and would not be expected to affect the characteristics of the metal oxide reduction product, Astoria teaches all of claims 1-5 and 7-12 in their entirety.
Regarding claim 6, Astoria teaches wherein said metal oxide reduction reaction is practiced with a metal oxide selected from iron ore (Claim 1, [0014])
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Despen et al. (US 20120285080 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Despen teaches high-carbon biogenic reagents and uses thereof (Title), where the biogenic reagent is obtained by pyrolysis [0012-0019], and where the uses may include turning the biogenic reagent into a syngas (a mixture of CO and H2) that is used for reduction of iron ore (i.e., a metal oxide reduction product obtained in a metal oxide reduction reaction with a pyrolysis-derived hydrogen) [0572]. Despen teaches wherein said metal oxide reduction product is obtained by a process comprising providing a pyrolysis reactor [0021-0023] for pyrolyzing a feedstock comprising hydrocarbons (i.e., a hydrocarbon feedstock) [0462] into pyrolysis gases at a pyrolyzation temperature [0015]. Despen teaches said pyrolysis gases essentially comprising volatile carbon content (i.e., a pyrolysis carbon product) [0364, 0462], methane and other light hydrocarbons (i.e., a hydrocarbon fraction ) [0372, 0373], and said pyrolysis-derived hydrogen [0372]. Despen teaches feeding said pyrolysis gases 124 to a phase separation 200, resulting in phase separated pyrolysis gases 204 from said pyrolysis reactor to at least one high-temperature carbon separator 500 for separating said pyrolysis carbon product from said pyrolysis gases (Fig. 5, [0240, 0246]). Despen teaches maintaining a pyrolyzation temperature of about 250 to about 700 °C [0015], and that biomass is cooled prior to being fed to the carbon recovery unit 500 where it adsorbs/absorbs carbon in the pyrolysis gases [0017-0018], therefore, the temperature in the carbon recovery unit (and the temperature of said pyrolysis gases) would be lower than said pyrolyzation temperature.
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are product-by-process claims because they seek to define the claimed product by its method of manufacture. The preamble of the claims is directed to a metal oxide reduction product, but the body of the claims recites limitations directed to the method of manufacturing the reduced metal, or limiting an apparatus used to perform the method of manufacturing.
The patentability of product-by-process claims is determined by characteristics of the product itself recited in the claim, not on its method of manufacture. When the prior art discloses a product appearing to be identical or substantially identical to the claimed product, the burden falls on applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP § 2113. In this case, the product is a metal oxide reduction product (i.e., reduced metal) and prior art disclosing the limitations of the reduced metal will meet the claim limitations regardless the method of manufacture and precursor components used. As the remainder of the limitations of claim 1 and all of the limitations of dependent claims 2-5 and 7-12 are directed to the method of manufacturing the reduced metal, or limiting an apparatus used to perform the method of manufacturing, and would not be expected to affect the characteristics of the metal oxide reduction product, Despen teaches all of claims 1-5 and 7-12 in their entirety.
Regarding claim 6, Despen teaches wherein the metal oxide reduction reaction is practiced with iron ore [0572].
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/NIKOLAS TAKUYA PULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1733