DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-8, 10-12, and 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/19/2026.
Claim Interpretation- 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a drawer configured to generate an airflow to draw in garbage in claim 1, which is interpreted as a fan and equivalents thereof; and
a dust cleaner configured to vibrate the air filter in claim 1, which is interpreted as a vibration motor and equivalents thereof; a collision motor and collision block that is driven between a retract position and an extended position to collide with the filter and equivalents thereof; and a vibrating elastic member and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tiekotter et al. EP 3581082, machine translation referenced herein).
Regarding Claim 1: Tiekotter teaches a cleaning system comprising:
a cleaning robot comprising a body (Fig. 1, element 10);
a drawer disposed inside the body and configured to generate an airflow to draw in garbage disposed along a traveling path of the cleaning robot (abstract, Fig. 1);
a dust box (element 16) disposed inside the body to collect the garbage, wherein the airflow flows through the dust box and is discharged outside the cleaning robot;
an air filter (element 22) disposed inside the dust box to filter out dust in the airflow;
a dust cleaner (Figs. 2 and 3, element 20) configured to vibrate the air filter to shake off the dust in the air filter; and
a base station (Fig. 6, element 56) comprising a collector configured to dock with the dust box and configured to collect the garbage from the dust box, the collector comprising a fan configured to generate a collection airflow to draw the garbage from the dust box into the base station (pg. 6, first full paragraph).
Regarding Claim 9: Tiekotter further teaches wherein the dust cleaner is disposed inside the body of the cleaning robot (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiekotter et al. EP 3581082, machine translation referenced herein).
Regarding Claim 13: Tiekotter teaches the elements of Claim 9 as discussed above. Tiekotter further teaches wherein the dust cleaner comprises a collision drive device (element 12) and a collision component (Fig. 2, elements 24; Fig. 3, element 26) that is connected to the collision driving device; the collision drive device is configured to drive at least a part of a structure of the collision component to move between an extended position and a retracted position; and the collision component collides with the air filter when the collision component is at the extended position (see arrows, Figs. 2 and 3; pg. 5, second and third full paragraphs).
Tiekotter does not expressly disclose the collision drive device as a collision motor. However, Tiekotter teaches that the drive device may be the drive device of the cleaning robot. The use of a motor as a drive device for a vacuum robot is well known and conventional. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tiekotter with a motor as the driving device with a reasonable expectation of efficiently driving the collision component as claimed.
Regarding Claim 15: Tiekotter further teaches that the collision motor and collision component are disposed outside the dust box (see Figs. 2 and 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the reviewed prior art does not anticipate or fairly suggest the features including a pushing block connected to the collision motor, driven to rotate and configured to push the collision block; and an elastic member configured to apply elastic force to the collision block, as required by claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pang (CN 210810779) teaches an industrial cleaner having a dust cleaner to clean an air filter of the industrial cleaner (Fig. 2).
/NATASHA N CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714