DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of a new grounds of rejections. Nevertheless, to advance prosecution, Examiner addresses the following arguments:
Applicant argues that Ren does not disclose “a clinician operated multi-patient spot measurement device” that is “distinct from the mobile monitoring device and capable of measuring respective physiological parameter data from multiple patients including the patient”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in Fig. 4, Ren discloses two distinct devices the first being a mobile monitoring device (101; [0044]: “ECG-POD”) and the second being multi-patient spot measurement device (102; [0044]: “NIPB-POD”). Regarding the limitation “clinician operated” it is apparent that the multi-patient spot measurement device would be considered clinician operated, as blood pressure cuffs are often used by clinicians in a variety of different medical settings.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In re claim 15, the limitation “wherein the mobile monitoring device is one of a plurality of mobile monitor”, should read “wherein the mobile monitoring device is one of a plurality of mobile monitors”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 1,
The limitation “transmit, in the second wireless transmission manner, to the central station and/or to the bedside monitor according to a pairing between the bedside monitor and the monitoring system”, raises a clarity concern. Specifically, it is unclear how the data would be transmitted according to a pairing between the bedside monitor and the monitoring system given that the bedside monitor is a singular component of the monitoring system. Examiner believes applicant intended the data to be transmitted to the central station and/or to the bedside monitor according to a pairing between the bedside monitor and the mobile monitoring device. Therefore, for examination purposes, as best understood, the limitation “transmit, in the second wireless transmission manner, to the central station and/or to the bedside monitor according to a pairing between the bedside monitor and the monitoring system” will be interpreted as requiring the data to be transmitted to the central station and/or the bedside monitor according to a pairing between the bedside monitor and the mobile monitoring device. Examiner notes that dependent claims 2-11 inherit the same deficiencies.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the multi-patient spot measurement device”, for Examination purposes all instance of “the multi-patient spot measurement device”, will be interpreted as “the clinician operated multi-patient spot measurement device”. Examiner notes that dependent claims (2-11 and 21) inherit the same deficiencies.
In re claim 12, see above (In re claim 1 (II)).
In re claim 14, see above (In re claim 1 (II)). Examiner notes that dependent claims (15-20) inherit the same deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (WO 2020/133541), in view of Ahmed et al. (US 2021/0290184).
In re claim 1, Ren discloses a monitoring system (Fig. 4- Fig. 7), comprising
a bedside monitor (108; [0048]: “monitoring device is a bedside dock station 108” ,
a mobile monitoring device (101; [0044]: “ECG-POD”; see Fig. 4 for an additional illustration of 101) and
a central station (Fig. 10: bottom right most box; [0052]),
wherein:
the bedside monitor is configured to monitor a patient and pair with the mobile monitoring device (Fig. 7: indicated by two icons in between box 101 and 108; [0048]);
the mobile monitoring device is configured to be worn on a body of the patient for obtaining monitoring data from the patient (Fig. 4),
wherein a working mode of the mobile monitoring device comprises a continuous monitoring mode and an intermittent monitoring mode [0006],
wherein the mobile monitoring device is configured to:
when working in the intermittent monitoring mode,
perform intermittent monitoring on the patient [0028],
receive, in a first wireless transmission manner (Fig. 7; [0044]: “paired via NFC”) from a *clinician-operated multi-patient spot measurement device (102; [0044]: “NIPB-POD”; apparent that 102 is “clinician-operated” given that blood pressure cuffs are known to be used by clinicians in a variety of medical settings; Examiner also notes that a blood pressure cuff is listed as an example of a spot measurement device in Applicant’s specification [0123]), physiological parameter data of the patient that is measured by the multi-patient spot measurement device ([0044]: “The ECG-POD is…used to received patient monitoring related data collected by the NIPB-POD”),
wherein the multi-patient spot measurement device is
distinct from the mobile monitoring device (Fig. 4) and
capable of measuring respective physiological parameter data from multiple patients including the patient (apparent; see above section “Claim Interpretation”), and
transmit, to the central station (Fig. 10: bottom right most box; [0052]),
the monitoring data which is obtained by the mobile monitoring device during the intermittent monitoring mode [0052],
the physiological parameter data which is measured by the multi-patient spot measurement device ([0044]: “The ECG-POD used to receive patient monitoring related data collected by the NIPB-POD”; [0052]), and/or
when working in the continuous monitoring mode ,
perform continuous monitoring on the patient to obtain the monitoring data [0005],
receive, in a first wireless transmission manner (Fig. 7; [0044]: “paired via NFC”) from multi-patient spot measurement device (102; [0044]: “NIPB-POD”), physiological parameter data of the patient that is measured by the multi-patient spot measurement device ([0044]: “The ECG-POD is…used to received patient monitoring related data collected by the NIPB-POD”) and,
transmit, in the second wireless transmission manner ([0044]: “communicate with monitoring device 103 via WMTS or WIFI”), to the central station Fig. 10; [0052]) and/or to the bedside monitor (Fig. 7) according to a pairing (indicated by Wi-Fi looking symbols between 108 and 101) between the bedside monitor and the monitoring system (regarding limitations “monitoring system”, see above section “Claim Rejections § 112”),
the monitoring data that is obtained during the continuous monitoring mode by the mobile monitoring device [0052] and
the physiological parameter data of the patient, that is measured by the multi-patient spot measurement device ([0044]: “The ECG-POD used to receive patient monitoring related data collected by the NIPB-POD”; [0052]).
Ren does not disclose the mobile monitoring device being configured to, during the intermittent monitoring mode:
associate the physiological parameter data of the patient with identification information of the patient and
transmit identification information the associated with the physiological parameter data;
Ahmed discloses an analogous system (Fig. 28A) for patient monitoring that includes a mobile monitoring device (2812), sensor (2810) and a server (2816). Ahmed further discloses the sensor system having the ability to wirelessly transfer physiological data to the mobile monitoring device (2184; [0036]). Once the physiological data is received by the mobile monitoring device, the mobile monitoring device associates the physiological data with patient identification information and transmits the physiological data to the server (2818, [0370]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile monitoring device, taught by Ren, to associate the physiological parameter data measured by the spot measurement device with identification information of a patient, as taught by Ahmed. One would have been motivated to make this modification because doing so would allow a clinician to effectively monitor multiple patients at once (Ahmed, [0370]). Accordingly, such a modification would yield transmission of “identification information associated with the physiological parameter data”.
In re claim 2, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ren) further comprising:
the multi-patient spot measurement device (apparent, see above (In re claim 1)),
wherein the multi-patient spot measurement device includes a processor and a memory [0044] , the memory stores instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the multi-patient spot measurement device to:
measure at least one physiological parameter ([0044]: “blood pressure”) of the patient based on a user operation to obtain the physiological parameter data ([0044]; Examiner notes that “a user operation” would be a user operating and or setting up the “NIBP-POD”), and
enable the mobile monitoring device to obtain the physiological parameter data in the first wireless transmission manner (Fig. 7: indicated by the icons between box 102 and 101; [0044]: “paired via NFC”).
In re claim 4, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ren) wherein the mobile monitoring device is further configured to:
transmit intermittently, to the central station in the second wireless transmission manner (Fig. 10), the physiological parameter data measured by the multi-patient spot measurement device when operating in the intermittent monitoring mode [0108]; and
transmit in real time, to the central station in the second wireless transmission manner (Fig. 10), the physiological parameter data measured by the multi-patient spot measurement device, when operating in the continuous monitoring mode [0108].
In re claim 6, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ren) wherein, when working in the continuous monitoring mode but not pairing with the bedside monitor ([0032]: “…each bed side monitor can be paired with a portable monitoring device”), the mobile monitoring device is further configured to perform continuous monitoring on the patient alone, and transmit, to the central station in the second wireless transmission manner, monitoring data which is obtained during said continuous monitoring and the physiological parameter data of the patient, which data is measured by the multi-patient spot measurement device (Fig. 10; [0044, 0052]).
In re claim 7, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ren), wherein the central station is configured to:
receive the physiological parameter data, which is measured by the multi-patient spot measurement device and transmitted by the mobile monitoring device, and display, according to the patient, the received physiological parameter data ([0031]: “…main control circuit 113 calculated physiological parameters and sends calculations and waveforms to the…central station”;); and
receive the monitoring data, which is transmitted by the mobile monitoring device, process the received monitoring data ([0032]: “…data generated during mobile monitor can be…transmitted to a central station for doctors or nurses to view”), so as to obtain and display, according to the patient, a physiological parameter value [0034, 0035], a parameter curve [0035] and an alarm event; or
determine whether the physiological parameter data exceeds a first threshold, and if yes, output alarm information when the physiological parameter data exceeds the first threshold; or
determine whether one or more physiological parameters in the monitoring data exceed a second threshold, and output alarm information when the one or more physiological parameters exceed the second threshold.
In re claim 8, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ren) wherein:
during a first *preset period ([0061]: “patient condition is judged as severe”), the bedside monitor is configured to perform continuous monitoring on the patient ([0061]: “continuous monitoring required”);
after entering into a second preset period ([0061]: “patient’s condition is good”) from the first preset period, the mobile monitoring device is further configured to work in the intermittent monitoring mode ([0061]: “intermittent monitoring can be used”); and
when entering into a third preset period ([0061]: “patient condition is judged as severe”) under a condition that preset physiological parameter(s) in the monitoring data is obtained in the intermittent monitoring mode, exceed(s) corresponding threshold(s), ([0061]: parameter “exceeds threshold”) the mobile monitoring device is further configured to switch from the intermittent monitoring mode to the continuous monitoring mode [0061].
*Examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) a “preset period” is being interpreted as a time period that is associated with specific monitoring instructions. For example, a patient’s condition being recognized as “severe” is a period of time that adheres to specific monitoring instructions i.e., more rigorous continuous monitoring (Ren, [0061).
In re claim 9, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ren)
wherein the mobile monitoring device is further configured to, under trigger(s) of a first preset condition ([0083]: “T1 ≥ the first continuous mode working time”) or an instruction to switch the working mode, switch from the continuous monitoring mode to the intermittent monitoring mode ([0083]: “ when T1 ≥ the first continuous mode working time…the intermittent monitoring mode needs to be used”),
wherein the first preset condition comprises:
a duration, in which the mobile monitoring device works in the continuous monitoring mode, exceeds a preset time length ([0083]: “T1 ≥ the first continuous mode working time”, where T1 is defined as the “current continuous mode working time”);
a preset time is reached; or
the mobile monitoring device disconnects from the bedside monitor.
In re claim 11, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ren)
wherein
a measurement frequency for one or more physiological parameters of the mobile monitoring device in the continuous monitoring mode is higher than that in the intermittent monitoring mode [0108]; or
a frequency for transmitting monitoring data to the central station or the paired bedside monitor by the mobile monitoring device in the continuous monitoring mode is higher than that in the intermittent monitoring mode [0108]; or
the bedside monitor is configured to measure at least one of: a blood oxygen parameter, a blood pressure parameter, a pulse rate parameter, a body temperature parameter, an ECG parameter, a respiratory parameter, and a sleep parameter ([0048]: “ear temperature measurement module”);
the physiological parameter data, which is measured by the multi-patient spot measurement device, comprises at least one of:
parameter data for body temperature
parameter data for blood pressure ([0044]: “blood pressure”), and
parameter data for blood sugar;
the monitoring data, which is obtained by the mobile monitoring device, comprises at least one of:
parameter data for blood oxygen,
parameter data for blood pressure,
parameter data for pulse rate,
parameter data for body temperature,
ECG parameter data ([0044]: “ECG-POD electrocardiogram monitoring module”),
respiratory parameter data,
sleep parameter data, and
exercise parameter data; or
the first wireless transmission manner is short-range communication ([0044]: “The ECG-POD and NIBP-POD can be paired via NFC”; Examiner notes that “NFC” stands for near field communication [0037]) and the first wireless transmission manner is different from the second wireless transmission manner (see above (In re claim 1)).
In re claim 12, see above (In re claim 1).
In re claim 14, see above (In re claim 1).
Ren also discloses a monitoring method [0106-0108].
In re claim 16, see above (In re claim 4).
In re claim 17, see above (In re claim 6).
In re claim 18, see above (In re claim 7).
In re claim 19, see above (In re claim 8).
In re claim 21, the proposed combination does not yield wherein the multi-patient spot measurement device is not worn by the patient.
Ren further discloses using an ear temperature measurement module (Fig. 7: 109) as spot measurement device [0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multi-patient spot measurement device of the proposed combination to be an ear temperature measurement module, as taught by Ren. One would have been motivated to make this modification because ear temperature measurement devices are known in the art and the result of the modification, that is, collecting patient’s temperature is reasonably predictable. Moreover, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the ability to select the multi-patient spot measurement device that would best meet their needs. Accordingly, such a modification would yield “wherein the multi-patient spot measurement device is not worn by the patient”.
Claims 3, 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (WO 2020/133541), in view of Ahmed et al. (US 2021/0290184), in view of Ikonen et al. (US 2017/0372024).
In re claim 3, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ren)
wherein some mobile monitoring devices (101) respectively pair with one bedside monitor (108) and jointly work with said bedside monitor when working (Fig. 7: indicated by the icons between box 101 and 108)
Ren does not disclose
wherein, in the monitoring system, a number of mobile monitoring devices is greater than a number of bedside monitors,
wherein some mobile monitoring devices respectively pair with one bedside monitor and jointly work with said bedside monitor when working, wherein some mobile monitoring devices do not pair with any bedside monitor when working.
Ikonen discloses an analogous medical monitoring system (FIG. 4) that includes three wireless devices (10, 12, 14; [0041]: “for example body worn sensors”) and a monitor (22; [0041]: “host monitor or hub”). Al-Ali further discloses only two (10, 12) of the three wireless sensors being connected to the monitor (FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring system, taught by Ren, to have a number of mobile monitoring devices be greater than the number of bedside monitors and have some mobile monitoring devices not pair with the bedside monitor when working, as taught by Ikonen. One would have been motivated to make this modification both because doing so would enable more data to be collected, and prevent patient monitoring from being disrupted, in the event that one of the mobile monitoring device becomes non-functional (Ikonen, [0024]).
In re claim 5, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ren)
wherein, when a first mobile monitoring device (Fig. 7: 101) pairs with a first bedside monitor (108) and jointly works with the first bedside monitor [0048], *the first bedside monitor is further configured to disconnect from the first mobile monitoring device and pair with a second mobile monitoring device, which is different from the first mobile monitoring device, in order to jointly work with the second mobile monitoring device.
*Regarding the limitations, “the first bedside monitor is further configured to disconnect from the first mobile monitoring device and pair with a second mobile monitoring device, which is different from the first mobile monitoring device, in order to jointly work with the second mobile monitoring device”, these limitations comprise functional language and have been given patentable weight only in how they materially alter or add structure to the apparatus of the claims. See MPEP 2114. The prior art need only be able to perform these functions in order to anticipate the claimed invention. It is clear that the system of Ren could be operated in the claimed manner if desired.
In re claim 15, the proposed combination yields
wherein
the mobile monitoring device is one of a plurality of mobile monitor (Fig. 3: each 213 represents one mobile monitoring device) ,
the bedside monitor is one of one or more bedside monitors (Fig. 3, each 212 represents one bedside monitor)
a number of the mobile monitoring devices is greater than a number of the one or more bedside monitors (see proposed modification above (In re claim 3)),
wherein some of the plurality of mobile monitoring devices respectively pair with one of the one or more bedside monitors and jointly work with the one bedside monitor when working, while some of the plurality of mobile monitoring devices do not pair with any bedside monitor when working, (see proposed modification above (In re claim 3)).
wherein, when a first mobile monitoring device pairs with a first bedside monitor and jointly works with the first bedside monitor (see above In re claim 5),
The proposed combination does not yield
the first bedside monitor is further configured to disconnect from the first mobile monitoring device, so as to pair with a second mobile monitoring device, which is different from the first mobile monitoring device, and so as to jointly work with the second mobile monitoring device.
Ikonen further discloses the monitor of the medical device system having the ability to disconnect from a first wireless device (one of 10, 12, 14) and reconnect to a second wireless (any other device (any other one of 10, 12, 14) in the event that the first wireless device exhibits low performance and/or battery capacity [0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bedside monitor, of the proposed combination, to be further configured to disconnect from the first mobile monitoring device, so as to pair with a second mobile monitoring device, which is different from the first mobile monitoring device, as taught by Ikonen. One would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure monitoring could continue even in the event that a mobile monitoring device ran out of battery, broke, or became non-functional (Ikonen, [0023, 0043]).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (WO 2020/133541), in view of Ahmed et al. (US 2021/0290184), in view of Gegner et al. (US 2013/0338543).
In re claim 10, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Ren) wherein:
when the mobile monitoring device does not pair with any bedside monitor ([0032]: “each bedside monitor can be paired with a portable monitoring device”) and works alone in the intermittent monitoring mode, the central station is configured to:
obtain a current health metric of the patient ([0061]: “determine a patient’s condition”; Examiner notes this is done using physiological data like heart rate, blood oxygen saturation, blood pressure, and body temperature [0060, 0061]); and
control the mobile monitoring device to
switch from the intermittent monitoring mode to the continuous monitoring mode ([0061]: “when a patient’s condition is serious…continuous monitoring is required”), or
output information, which indicates a user to pair the mobile monitoring device with one bedside monitor for working jointly and to use the continuous monitoring mode,
when the current health metric is higher than a preset value ([0061]; Examiner notes that a patient’s condition is deemed “severe” if the “weight of a physiological parameter exceeds the preset weight”); or
when the mobile monitoring device does not pair with any bedside monitor ([0032]: “each bedside monitor can be paired with a portable monitoring device”) and works alone in the continuous monitoring mode, the central station is configured to:
obtain the current health metric of the patient ([0061]: “determine a patient’s condition”; Examiner notes this is done using physiological data like heart rate, blood oxygen saturation, blood pressure, and body temperature [0060, 0061])); and
control the mobile monitoring device to
switch from the continuous monitoring mode to the intermittent monitoring mode ([0061]: ““when a patient’s condition is good… intermittent monitoring can be used”), when the current heath metric is lower than a preset value ([0061]: Examiner notes that a patient’s condition is deemed “good” if the “weight of a physiological parameter” does not exceed the “preset weight”); or
when the mobile monitoring device pairs with the bedside monitor ([0032]: “each bedside monitor can be paired with a portable monitoring device”) and jointly works with the bedside monitor in the continuous monitoring mode; the central station is configured to:
obtain a current health metric of the patient ([0061]: “determine a patient’s condition”; Examiner notes this is done using physiological data like heart rate, blood oxygen saturation, blood pressure, and body temperature [0060, 0061]); and
control the mobile monitoring device to
switch from the continuous monitoring mode to the intermittent monitoring mode ([0061]: “when a patient’s condition is good… intermittent monitoring can be used”) or
output information, which indicates a user to disconnect the mobile monitoring device from the paired bedside monitor,
when the current health metric is lower than a preset value ([0061]: Examiner notes that a patient’s condition is deemed “good” if the “weight of a physiological parameter” does not exceed the “preset weight”).
The proposed combination does not yield the health metric being an “EWS Score” and thus lacks:
when the mobile monitoring device does not pair with any bedside monitor and works alone in the intermittent monitoring mode, the central station is configured to:
obtain a current EWS score of the patient; and
control the mobile monitoring device to
switch from the intermittent monitoring mode to the continuous monitoring mode, or
output information, which indicates a user to pair the mobile monitoring device with one bedside monitor for working jointly and to use the continuous monitoring mode,
when the EWS score is lower than a preset score; or
when the mobile monitoring device does not pair with any bedside monitor and works alone in the continuous monitoring mode, the central station is configured to:
obtain a current EWS score of the patient; and
control the mobile monitoring device to
switch from the continuous monitoring mode to the intermittent monitoring mode, when the EWS score is lower than a preset score; or
when the mobile monitoring device pairs with the bedside monitor and jointly works with the bedside monitor in the continuous monitoring mode; the central station is configured to:
obtain a current EWS score of the patient; and
control the mobile monitoring device to
switch from the continuous monitoring mode to the intermittent monitoring mode, or
output information, which indicates a user to disconnect the mobile monitoring device from the paired bedside monitor,
when the EWS score is lower than a preset score.
Gegner discloses an analogous monitoring system (FIG. 1: 100) used by a hospital that processes physiological data to determine whether or not a patient needs immediate medical attention (abstract: “detects deterioration”). Gegner discloses using the processed physiological data to calculate an early warning score [0029]. As shown in FIG. 2, specific physiological data used to calculate the early warning score includes heart rate, respiratory rate, temperature and consciousness level.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the central unit, taught by Ren, to obtain an EWS of the patient, as taught by Gegner. One would have been motivated to make this modification because the EWS score of Gegner, and the health metric of Ren are functionally equivalent- as they both use physiological data to assess a patient’s current condition. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have the ability to pick an assessment method that would best meet their needs. Examiner notes that such a modification yield the central station responding when the “EWS score is lower/higher than a preset score”.
In re claim 20, see above (In re claim 10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/OLIVIA WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/DAVID HAMAOUI/SPE, Art Unit 3796