DETAILED ACTION
The instant application is a continuation of Application No. PCT/CN2022/117506, filed on 7 September 2022, and claims priority to China Patent Application No. 202111112845.6, filed on 18 September 2021. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2 January 2025 and 20 May 2025 were filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a transceiver configured to receive first indication information indicating one or more positioning areas” in claim 18. Support for this means-plus-function limitation is found in at least paragraph 306 of the Specification and figures 5-11.
“a processor configured to perform cell reselection” in claim 18. Support for this means-plus-function limitation is found throughout the Specification.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0116089 to Khoryaev et al. (hereinafter Khoryaev).
As per claim 1, Khoryaev discloses a cell reselection method (“a mechanism for Tx/Rx beam pair selection for positioning,” see abstract), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal, first indication information (PRS, positioning reference signals, see paragraph 3) indicating one or more positioning areas (TRPs/gNBs transmitted to terminal, see figure 2A, Step 206),
wherein each of the one or more positioning areas comprises a plurality of cells having same resource configuration information (PRS settings may be associated with ID settings that may be assigned to multiple TRPs/gNBs, see paragraph 73), and the resource configuration information is used to configure a reference signal resource (see figure 2 and paragraphs 114-115); and
performing, by the terminal in accordance with the first indication information, cell reselection to reselect a cell in the one or more positioning areas (see paragraph 116).
As per claim 8, Khoryaev discloses a cell reselection method, comprising:
determining, by a network device, one or more positioning, wherein each of the one or more positioning areas comprises a plurality of cells, and the plurality of cells in the positioning area use same resource configuration information areas (gNB/TRP preconfigures a set of PRS resources, see paragraph 113); and
sending, by the network device to a terminal, first indication information indicating the one or more positioning areas for cell reselection (see paragraphs 115-116).
As per claim 18, Khoryaev discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a transceiver, configured to receive first indication information (PRS, positioning reference signals, see paragraph 3) indicating one or more positioning areas (TRPs/gNBs transmitted to terminal, see figure 2A, Step 206),
wherein each of the one or more positioning areas comprises a plurality of cells, the plurality of cells in the positioning area have same resource configuration information (PRS settings may be associated with ID settings that may be assigned to multiple TRPs/gNBs, see paragraph 73) that is used to configure a reference signal resource (see figure 2 and paragraphs 114-115); and
a processor, configured to: perform cell reselection in accordance with the first indication information, to reselect a cell in the one or more positioning areas (see paragraph 116).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 9-11, 13, 14, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev as appli9ed to claims 1, 8, and 18 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0051569 to Jiang (hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 2, Khoryaev further discloses that the UE is associated with multiple network slices (i.e. positioning areas) and, for reselection, dedicated priorities can be used (see paragraph 270). Khoryaev does not however, disclose how the UE is notified of these priorities and how cells having different priorities are mapped.
Jiang disclose an analogous system for cell reselection (see abstract) that involves receiving, by the terminal, second indication information notifying the terminal that a priority of a first-type cell is higher than a priority of a second-type cell (see figure 4 and paragraphs 33, 34, 50, and 51) wherein the first-type cell comprises at least one of a serving cell or a cell that is in one or more neighboring cells of the serving cell and that belongs to the positioning area, and wherein the second-type cell is a cell that is in the one or more neighboring cells of the serving cell and that does not belong to the positioning area (see figure 4 and paragraphs 33, 34, 50, and 51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to implement the invention of Khoryaev using the analogous teachings of Jiang, as Jiang provides a mechanism that makes Khoryaev’s reselection according to priorities possible.
Regarding claim 3, although Khoryaev discloses support for inter-RAT mobility (see paragraphs 164, 247, and 947) and inter-frequency cell reselection (see paragraph 270), Khoryaev does not explicitly disclose the performing the cell reselection comprising: determining, by the terminal in accordance with the first indication information, candidate cells that comprise the first-type cell and the second-type cell and belong to inter-frequency cells having different priorities or belong to inter-radio access technology (RAT) cells; and reselecting, by the terminal, the first-type cell having the higher priority in the candidate cells.
Jiang further discloses the use of inter-RAT or inter-frequency considerations priority-based cell reselection (see paragraphs 224-225).
Therefore it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have implemented Khoryaev’s inter-RAT mobility and/or inter-frequency reselections as per Jiang.
As per claim 4, Khoryaev further discloses wherein the second indication information indicates that a priority of a frequency of the first-type cell is higher than a priority of a frequency of the second-type cell (see paragraph 270).
As per claim 5, Khoryaev further discloses wherein the second indication information indicates that a priority of an identifier of the first-type cell is higher than a priority of an identifier of the second-type cell. Since Khoryaev’s positioning areas are associated with Resource ID’s (see paragraph 113), their respective priorities would be associated with their identifiers.
Regarding claim 6, Jiang further discloses receiving, by the terminal, third indication information notifying the terminal that the quality of a first-type cell is greater than the quality of a second-type cell, the first-type cell comprises a serving cell and a cell that is in one or more neighboring cells of the serving cell and that belongs to the positioning area, and the second-type cell is a cell that is in the one or more neighboring cells of the serving cell and that does not belong to the positioning area (see paragraphs 49-58). Jiang also states that signal quality may be received signal strength (see paragraph 55). One skilled in the art would recognize that R is a measure of received signal strength in such systems and would use R values in the implementation of Khoryaev and Jiang’s teachings.
Regarding claim 7, the performing the cell reselection to reselect the cell comprises: determining, by the terminal, candidate cells that comprise the first-type cell and the second-type cell and belong to inter-frequency cells having a same priority or intra-frequency cells; and reselecting, by the terminal, the first-type cell having the larger R value in the candidate cells. As above, a larger R value is associated with a greater signal quality, rendering this limitation obvious.
Regarding claim 9, Khoryaev further discloses that the UE is associated with multiple network slices (i.e. positioning areas) and, for reselection, dedicated priorities can be used (see paragraph 270). Khoryaev does not however, disclose how the UE is notified of these priorities and how cells having different priorities are mapped.
Jiang disclose an analogous system for cell reselection (see abstract) that involves receiving, by the terminal, second indication information notifying the terminal that a priority of a first-type cell is higher than a priority of a second-type cell (see figure 4 and paragraphs 33, 34, 50, and 51) wherein the first-type cell comprises at least one of a serving cell or a cell that is in one or more neighboring cells of the serving cell and that belongs to the positioning area, and wherein the second-type cell is a cell that is in the one or more neighboring cells of the serving cell and that does not belong to the positioning area (see figure 4 and paragraphs 33, 34, 50, and 51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to implement the invention of Khoryaev using the analogous teachings of Jiang, as Jiang provides a mechanism that makes Khoryaev’s reselection according to priorities possible.
As per claim 10, Khoryaev further discloses wherein the second indication information indicates that a priority of a frequency of the first-type cell is higher than a priority of a frequency of the second-type cell (see paragraph 270).
As per claim 11, Khoryaev further discloses wherein the second indication information indicates that a priority of an identifier of the first-type cell is higher than a priority of an identifier of the second-type cell. Since Khoryaev’s positioning areas are associated with Resource ID’s (see paragraph 113), their respective priorities would be associated with their identifiers.
As per claim 13, Khoryaev further discloses wherein the second indication information is carried in a system information block (SIB), a position system information block (Pos SIB), or a radio resource control (RRC) message (see paragraph 247).
Regarding claim 14, Jiang further discloses receiving, by the terminal, third indication information notifying the terminal that the quality of a first-type cell is greater than the quality of a second-type cell, the first-type cell comprises a serving cell and a cell that is in one or more neighboring cells of the serving cell and that belongs to the positioning area, and the second-type cell is a cell that is in the one or more neighboring cells of the serving cell and that does not belong to the positioning area (see paragraphs 49-58). Jiang also states that signal quality may be received signal strength (see paragraph 55). One skilled in the art would recognize that R is a measure of received signal strength in such systems and would use R values in the implementation of Khoryaev and Jiang’s teachings.
As per claim 17, Khoryaev further discloses wherein the third indication information is carried in a system information block (SIB), a position system information block (Pos SIB), or a radio resource control (RRC) message (see paragraph 247).
Regarding claim 19, Khoryaev further discloses that the UE is associated with multiple network slices (i.e. positioning areas) and, for reselection, dedicated priorities can be used (see paragraph 270). Khoryaev does not however, disclose how the UE is notified of these priorities and how cells having different priorities are mapped.
Jiang disclose an analogous system for cell reselection (see abstract) that involves receiving, by the terminal, second indication information notifying the terminal that a priority of a first-type cell is higher than a priority of a second-type cell (see figure 4 and paragraphs 33, 34, 50, and 51) wherein the first-type cell comprises at least one of a serving cell or a cell that is in one or more neighboring cells of the serving cell and that belongs to the positioning area, and wherein the second-type cell is a cell that is in the one or more neighboring cells of the serving cell and that does not belong to the positioning area (see figure 4 and paragraphs 33, 34, 50, and 51).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to implement the invention of Khoryaev using the analogous teachings of Jiang, as Jiang provides a mechanism that makes Khoryaev’s reselection according to priorities possible.
Regarding claim 20, although Khoryaev discloses support for inter-RAT mobility (see paragraphs 164, 247, and 947) and inter-frequency cell reselection (see paragraph 270), Khoryaev does not explicitly disclose the performing the cell reselection comprising: determining, by the terminal in accordance with the first indication information, candidate cells that comprise the first-type cell and the second-type cell and belong to inter-frequency cells having different priorities or belong to inter-radio access technology (RAT) cells; and reselecting, by the terminal, the first-type cell having the higher priority in the candidate cells.
Jiang further discloses the use of inter-RAT or inter-frequency considerations priority-based cell reselection (see paragraphs 224-225).
Therefore it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have implemented Khoryaev’s inter-RAT mobility and/or inter-frequency reselections as per Jiang.
Claims 12, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev in view of Jiang as applied to claims 9 and 14 above and further in view of WIPO Patent Application Publication No. WO2019/192000 to Li et al. (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 12, Khoryaev and Jiang do not disclose the formula for the computation of R values.
Li discloses that R values may be calculated by the formula:
Rn = Qmeas, n – Qoffset - Qoffsettemp + offsetpos
Wherein, Qmeas, n is an RSRP measurement value of the candidate cell, Qoffset is an offset of the candidate cell, Qoffsettemp represents a temporary compensation value for the candidate cell, and offsetpos is a positioning offset of the candidate cell.
In this formula the second indication information carries a first adjustment value (Qoffset).
Since this is disclosed as a manner for calculating R is the context of cell reselection, it would be obvious to use this formula in implementing Khoryaev in view of Liang such that the first adjustment value is used to perform an operation with a value of a first target parameter or a value of a second target parameter, to increase the value of the first target parameter or decrease the value of the second target parameter, the value of the first target parameter indicates the priority of the first-type cell, the value of the second target parameter indicates the priority of the second-type cell, the value of the first target parameter is positively correlated with the priority of the first-type cell, and the value of the second target parameter is positively correlated with the priority of the second-type cell.
Regarding claim 15, Khoryaev and Jiang do not disclose the formula for the computation of R values.
Li discloses that R values may be calculated by the formula:
Rn = Qmeas, n – Qoffset - Qoffsettemp + offsetpos
Wherein, Qmeas, n is an RSRP measurement value of the candidate cell, Qoffset is an offset of the candidate cell, Qoffsettemp represents a temporary compensation value for the candidate cell, and offsetpos is a positioning offset of the candidate cell.
In this formula the second indication information carries a first adjustment value (Qoffset).
Since this is disclosed as a manner for calculating R is the context of cell reselection, it would be obvious to use this formula in implementing Khoryaev in view of Liang such that the third indication information carries a second adjustment value, the second adjustment value is used to perform an operation with a value of a third target parameter or a value of a fourth target parameter, to decrease the value of the third target parameter or increase the value of the fourth target parameter, the third target parameter is a temporary offset of the first-type cell, a reselection offset of the first-type cell, or a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the first-type cell; and the fourth target parameter is a temporary offset of the second-type cell, a reselection offset of the second-type cell, or an RSRP of the second-type cell.
Regarding claim 16, the above formula essentially satisfies the formula:
Rn = Qmeas, n – Qoffset − Qoffsettemp + Qoffsetdeta, where offsetpos is a constant in place of Qoffsetdeta.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW E HENEGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992